Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot SD/ELPH Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot SD/ELPH Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD880 IS Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SD880 IS Silver

Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
53 out of 60(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD880 IS Silver
Review 1 for PowerShot SD880 IS Silver
Nickname: cc
Location: FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Lens error

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2010
Cons: add a con
Pro-Great compact camera, over all got great pictures.
Con-After 15 month under great care,out of blue, lens got stuck and error message says lens error, costly to repair. Time for new one?
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SD880 IS Silver
Nickname: TahoeGuy
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Not Impressed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2010
This is my third Canon camera and my last. Too bad because I really had hight hopes for this spendy camera. Major gripes are as follows:
- Cannot charge via USB. Seems like a major requirement these days that was overlooked. (dedicated charger is a pain and replacements are way overpriced)
- Camera died after a year and now only flashed the green LED and powers down. Poor quality as with the other Canon products I've owned.
- Poor nighttime picture performance. Flash does not quite cut it and there are often artifacts in the pictures.
Things I liked:
- Used to boot fast.
- Could take pictures in rapid succession.
- Nice LCD screen.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SD880 IS Silver
Nickname: ML
Location: Maple Grove, Mn
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Great Little Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
This camera takes excellent pictures.Its easy to carry around and easy to use.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SD880 IS Silver
Nickname: chocolate - E
Location: Dallas, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera - Great Service

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I love my camera - the bset part is how durable it is. I have dropped it twice now - once at the zoo and once at home. I thought it would be toast - but it is holding up great. I have had it for a year and a half - I bought my mom the same camera and she loves it too. It is so easy to use, that my 3 and 5 year old can take great pictures with it too.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SD880 IS Silver
Nickname: CameraLover
Location: Raleigh, NC
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

This camera is amazing!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable
I bought this camera a few months ago and I have been using it non-stop ever since. The many different features allows the user to take pictures in all types of settings. Anytime anyone talks about cameras or is interested in purchasing one, I ALWAYS tell them how great the camera is and show off how well it works. The pictures come out so crisply. The fireworks settting turned out AMAZING photos during the 4th of July and the daytime setting also captures the skyline beautifully! I LOVE LOVE LOVE this camera!
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SD880 IS Silver
Nickname: cornhusker
Location: nebraska
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

just great

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, good battery life
Cons: longer zoom
my third Canon, and they keep getting better. The LCD works great, even in sunlight, lowlight shots are much better, and the battery life is super. I hardly ever get a blurry shot. The stabilization system really works.
My only wish would be for a bit stonger zoom, and this camera would be perfect! (although it's very close)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SD880 IS Silver
Nickname: :(
Location: Louisiana
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

too many features

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality
Cons: Difficult to use, Poor Low-Light Performance, flash stopped working!
Great camera, however, I had too many problems with it to give it a great review. My flash never worked, the pictures were always blurry and half the time it wouldn't even take a picture. It was also hard to navigate through the features. I put up without the flash for about 8 months but finally couldn't handle it anymore! The retailer I bought it from offered to replace it, but they don't even carry it anymore because they had so many people bring it back!
6 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SD880 IS Silver
Nickname: KMS in TN
Location: Nashville, TN
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

I LOVE THIS CAMERA!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
My husband bought me this camera for my birthday after reading the great review in Consumer Report Magazine. I totally love it. It's small but takes incredible pictures. It's hard to mess a picture up. It is definitely my favorite camera purchase and would recommend it to anyone looking for great quality pictures, many features, and small enough to put in your purse!!
15 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SD880 IS Silver
Nickname: promediate
Location: Battle Creek, Michigan
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

What a relief

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
My wife is 68, I am 70. She does not like to do a lot of "stuff" to take photo. I do not understand a lot of terms, etc., used in photography. I wanted a point and shoot camera that we could just "point and shoot", but one that had additional "stuff" if we wanted any of that "stuff". I did a ton of research and decided on the 880IS.
Although she won't let me carry the camera around by myself, she will let me take a photo now and then as long as I put the strap around my wrist. She "clicked off" a few hundred in the first couple of days.
I can't imagine what more I would want in a digital camera. Mama is happy and therefore, I'm happy too!
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SD880 IS Silver
Nickname: Ole'
Location: Indio, Ca
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

As good as its pictures!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: what cons? :), ok maybe low light.
Lets just put it this way.. my whole family has digital cameras and somehow they just end up wanting to take pictures with my Sd880 over theirs. This camera has some nice features that you just cant stop playing with. I do some work on digital imaging and let me tell you these pictures are amazing to work on. I took this camera to the beach and got sand inside the lens and started to malfunction and the lens wouldn't retract but after a couple of tries I heard sand cracking in the lens as it extended and after a while it went back to normal. have never had a problem with it since, and i use every feature! seriously best camera ever! Takes a licking and keeps on ticking!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SD880 IS Silver
Nickname: BlueMoon
Location: Lakewood, Washington
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great little camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
This camera has an amazing assortment of features, especially with its small size. I also found it to be much more user friendly than my previous PowerShot A95. The menus are intuitive and the camera has a comfortable feel in the hand with the controls easy to use. Best part is it's small size: it goes everywhere with me. Oh, and I hardly ever have to charge the battery.
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SD880 IS Silver
Nickname: Nicky
Location: Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Good camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 10, 2009
Pros: Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I was disappointed about the poor quality of the indoor pictures, The pictures are gettung too dark, even if I decrease the distance. The I ISO settings iin Auto are too high and therefor the picture quality is poor. I switch then to P mode and adjust some settings to get decent indoor pictures.
It's my first Canon and I'm not sure if I will get another one.
12 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SD880 IS Silver
Nickname: Smitty
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert

Outstanding subcompact

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, excellent closeups
Cons: no real manual setting, no flash exposure compensation
This is my third PowerShot (SD800, SD870, SD880). It is a fabulous wide angle subcompact, easy to carry around on your belt in a generic case. My wife and I travel a lot and seem to photograph everything we eat! It takes outstanding closeups and although often I use ISO 800 in dimly lit restaurants the results are much more pleasing than they would be with flash. In brighter lit situations and lower ISOs the images are incredibly sharp and the colors saturated. I use the exposure compensation feature a lot, first looking at what I have just shot and then adjusting accordingly for either more exposure or less on subsequent shots, depending on the results. I do wish this model offered the flash exposure compensation feature that other Canon models do (e.g., G10, SX200). It's nice to be able to take a flash photo with just a tiny bit of "fill flash" that doesn't overpower the image.
Overall, it is an outstanding subcompact with a very sharp wide angle lens. Excellent video and sound too.I highly recommend it.
41 of 41 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SD880 IS Silver
Nickname: Joe
Location: Parsippany, NJ
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great second camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: Missing features/settings
Bought this camera a few months ago. I have used it for many occasions. It has is a good size to fit in a jacket or pants pocket. I bit heavy for a shirt pocket. Has good features for setting different picture environments but is missing a general 'outdoor' setting. It has indoor and various outdoor. But what is outdoor - sunset, beach, snow? Zoom feature is good. You can forget that the zoom will extend further than the flash for indoor shots. Better features than the other similar models. Still, I would recommend this camera to anyone. You cannot go wrong.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SD880 IS Silver
Nickname: sasb
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Pricey but compact HD camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2009
This camera is great for travel purposes. I owned a Power Shot for the last 6 yeras that endured many falls, hence why I decided on another cannon. Love the wide angle lense, although processor isn't as fast as I was hoping for movement shots.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SD880 IS Silver
Nickname: SPY

The Best ever!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
I lost my camera two years ago and waited that long to replace it cause I thought I had the best,,this camera was worth the wait. The video is amazing and so, saved me buying a camcorder till next year. I am pleased with everything about my camera. When I look at people who are die-hard pic addicts (family fun pics) they always have some level of the Canon Sd 700 series or up! Good job!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SD880 IS Silver
Nickname: Bike
Location: Central Ga.
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, fun to use
Cons: cannot share videos via email
We received the Power Shot SD880IS as a Gift this past Christmas, it was easy to learn and it has a wide range of features. The quality of the pictures is really very good. I take with me almost everywhere we go, it has great battery life. I really enjoy the wide range of settings that you have with this camera.
I bought a 2mg card for longer videos and more photos.
The one negative I have found is that I cannot share the videos I take via email, the format will not allow it. This camera takes really great videos with sound.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SD880 IS Silver
Nickname: alfyas
Location: brooklyn ny
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

power shot sd880 is

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 9, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
unbelievable! what a camera. coudnt have bought a better one. great quality in every way many diferrent features and modes , cristal clear qality photos and more by it and yull see for yuoure self
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SD880 IS Silver
Nickname: Marconelli
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

A Great Travel Companion

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: lens could be sharper
I got the 880is to replace my beloved PowerShot S50, which was stolen in Mexico. It surpasses the S50 in almost every respect, although that one respect is a very important one -- the images on the 880 are just a bit softer than the razor-sharp results the S50 delivered.
Otherwise, the 880 is a gem. It's light and easy to carry, with easy-to-use controls. (The S50 had the nasty habit of resetting its shooting-mode dial when I took it out of its case, so I had to be careful to reset it almost every time.) With all the Scene modes the 880 offers, and the exposure override switch, the need for manual exposure-setting is virtually eliminated. The i-Contrast feature alone is worth the price of admission, as it effectively eliminates the unpleasant dilemma of choosing between washed out highlights or murky shadow areas in a high contrast situation. What's even better is that this feature can be used either while shooting or during subsequent review. Battery life is excellent, and the LCD is bright enough that I almost never miss the absence of an optical viewfinder. (Having an optical viewfinder on a point-and-shoot is highly overrated, since, unlike an SLR, it almost never gives you a correct representation of the precise area that will be photographed.)
In short, this is a terrific little camera. My only regret is that the lens does not quite measure up to the one on the S50.
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SD880 IS Silver
Nickname: CanonGirl
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Choice Ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
This is the best camera I've had so far and its features are very easy to use. Great photo quality with or without flash and the colors are pretty vivid. The size of the LCD screen lets you enjoy and preview your photos with good quality and light. Awesome, I love my camera!!!
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site