Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot SD/ELPH Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot SD/ELPH Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD990 IS Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SD990 IS Black

Average Customer Rating:
4.59 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
54 out of 61(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD990 IS Black
Review 1 for PowerShot SD990 IS Black
Nickname: Charrlie
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2012
I have had this camera for a couple years and it still looks and functions like new. Great high quality pictures.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SD990 IS Black
Nickname: Norta
Location: Sarasota, FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu
Absolutely love this camera. I bought it as a replacement for my SD700 which was also a wonderful camera. I bought my 990 in the limited edition red and couldn't be happier. Excellent image quality, great ability to crop. Only problem is once in a while it is too slow to capture a fast moving object.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SD990 IS Black
Nickname: oldman53
Location: CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great Little Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have had this camera for a year now and it has performed excellent each time I use it. First I read the instructions and then tried each feature to familiarize myself with it and I have been taking great pictures ever since. What I like most about it is the viewfinder. Not too many cameras have them unless you get an SLR. Not everyone can see an LCD screen in the daylight. If I had the extra money, I would buy another one and put it away for later.
Review 4 for PowerShot SD990 IS Black
Nickname: Nice features, du
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2010
I previously owned a SD 870 and LOVED it!!! I was unfortunately forced to buy a new camera because I wasn't able to get a replacement. I did a ton of research before deciding on this camera and much of it was really positive. I don't know what I'm missing or if I got a lemon but this camera hasn't been good. It's supposed to be a "point and shoot" but I have to spend so much time prefocusing that I miss my shots and even when I do get a shot, many times it's out of focus. I don't get it, I never had this problem with my SD 870. I do get the occasional crisp, in-focus photo but it's too rare to make this camera worth it. I'd be purchasing the SD 870 or even SD 800 if they weren't so overpriced on the internet.
4 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SD990 IS Black
Nickname: Ray
Location: Indiana
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Downloading problem

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, download software doesn't work
The camera itself is fine (although I'd like it to be able to take less noisy photos in low-light situations). Quality is good, I like the way it fits the hand. Fits very nicely into a little Tamrac case. The only problem I have had is with the software to download photos to the computer. The "Camera Window" software simply doesn't work. I have found a simple work-around that actually is easier to use, but the Canon supplied downloading software doesn't work, at least for me.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SD990 IS Black
Nickname: ebw
Location: Seattle Wa
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
A very easy camera to master. It is my second Canon digital camera and I have yet to be disappointed. I was always a traditional 35mm format guy but the Canon cameras work great and are good for on the go stuff. I would highly recommend this camera to anybody. I know there are a lot of cheaper models out there, but the resolutiona dn features make it a must buy.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SD990 IS Black
Nickname: MReview
Location: OC, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Bulky

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, durable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
Looks: BULKY!!! I hate bulky cameras!
As for the camera itself, the shutter speed is fast, which is EXCELLENT. However, it has a hard time focusing on an object and also, the picture/video quality is poor to my liking. The AUTO or P program works better than features (although this camera provides A LOT of features). However, for the P mode, it makes a lot of noises...
3 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SD990 IS Black
Nickname: Binie
Location: San Jose
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

PLEASED!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Got this camera as a gift. At first I was overwhelmed by the new features it had so ..it took awhile to get use to..still kind of learning something new each day! so many new features!!! cant keep up! loving the sleek black look to it and its pretty light compared to my last camera. The picture quality is FABULOUS! Also, the video quality is pretty clear and sharp. Overall, by far the best camera on the market!! total upgrade from the SD900! and the price..LOVEE ITT!!
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SD990 IS Black
Nickname: buffy452
Location: oregon
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

not to be used for a vdeo camera

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: long video isn't compatible with my computer
I really like this camera in every way except one. If you take a 26 minute video of a wedding you can't download it to your computer. If I take a 5 minute video it will download. Why be able to take long videos if you can't post them to your computer and who really wants to cut up a wedding into five minute segments. Takes awesome photos and video.
18 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SD990 IS Black
Nickname: Frankj
Location: Allen, Tx
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Purchased to replace other Canon camera lost on vacation. Easy to use. Recessed on-off switch prevents accidental hit. Quality of pictures excellent. Used aquarium setting to take pictures of ceramic pieces behind a glass case with great results. Would definitely recommend to others
31 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SD990 IS Black
Nickname: Mark
Location: Boston, MA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great, but not perfect

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2009
Pros: easy to use, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, usable high resolution, is takes place of a tripod
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, slow exposure in auto mode, doesn't fit in canon case!
Upgraded from an SD500 primarily to get more pixels so the "perfect shot" could be enlarged a printed at 11x17 or larger. Overall this is a solid performer in point and shoot mode. In some conditions the IS works absolutely amazing - I've done a few hand-held lanscape photos that can be zoomed nearly to the individual pixel level - the 14.7 MP resolution is real and usuable - pretty amazing for such a small aperature and such high resolution.I'd say that at least 50% of the time the IS makes a tripod obsolete. Some quirks - in auto mode, the delay from pressing to the button to taking the shot is agonizingly long for any kind of action. The quick shot mode is a little better, but you do lose a few of the features. There's a lot of power in manual mode, but the complexity and depth of the menus is maddingly complex and the controls are a little small to quickly set what you want - and forget about setting anything w/ gloved hands! The full field has some optical distortion - not really noticeable until you try to stitch images together - you need to overlap by at least 30% to get good results, other wise the curvature of the field will get you (i.e. don't expect dead straight horizons in distant landscape shots). Lastly - the video clip mode is only adequate - it's really a shame that you're limited to 480x640 - sure would be nice to use that high res sensor to capture HD video at 30 fps or better. And one last thing - the camera simply doesn't fit in the case (PSC-55?) than Canon makes for it!
36 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SD990 IS Black
Nickname: epingle
Location: kansas
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Love it but focusing drives me crazy

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Poor image quality, doesn't focus
I bought this camera in May and I love the light weight and easy features, it really can capture a sunset, but for some reason it too often doesn't focus correctly. Even when I slowly press the 'shutter' and have a very clear object in view, it doesn't automatically focus..not all the time but often enough to be annoying. When I read that someone else has this problem, I wonder myself if it's the camera. Also, I can't get the camera to download directly and have to remove the card and put it in a separate downloader which is another item I have to carry around with me. I've always owned canons (since 1975) and I wish this one worked right. I bought it on Amazon and they won't take it back after 30 days.
16 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SD990 IS Black
Nickname: Picture Dad
Location: Raleigh-Durham NC
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

As good as a powershot can get

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2009
Pros: Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, good battery life
Cons: would like to have a 2gb sd card included
Pros: Everything about this awesome little camera is well worth the price. If you're not quiet ready for a Canon Digital SLR then I highly recommend that you purchase one of these. It's about as close as you can get for a point and shoot camera. It replaces my Canon SD 1000 and G3.
However, you MUST take time to get used to all it's features. Practice with all the settings and you'll be taking great shots in no time.
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SD990 IS Black
Nickname: pismo gismo
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Cooked, not RAW

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
The camera is almost the best camera possible except for the fact that it shoots in JPEG and not RAW.
If it did, we would all celebrate.
Must we settle for cooked pictures?
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SD990 IS Black
Nickname: snoozer
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

unfortunate

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, durable
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance
I previously owned a SD 800 and LOVED it!!! I was unfortunately forced to buy a new camera because I wasn't able to get a replacement. I did a ton of research before deciding on this camera and much of it was really positive. I don't know what I'm missing or if I got a lemon but this camera hasn't been good. It's supposed to be a "point and shoot" but I have to spend so much time prefocusing that I miss my shots and even when I do get a shot, many times it's out of focus. I don't get it, I NEVER had this problem with my SD 800. I do get the occasional crisp, in-focus photo but it's too rare to make this camera worth it. I'd be purchasing the SD 800 or 880 if they weren't so overpriced on the internet.
17 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SD990 IS Black
Nickname: landman
Location: NC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Learning more every day

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Had the camera for less than a month and like the high res and pics. Getting used to the small size having to hold still when shooting. All is well so far and it sure is easy to carry. Have read other reviews and cons, but they are no big deal to me. Would definitely recommend.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SD990 IS Black
Nickname: tank
Location: mid missouri
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

excellent product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: none that i have found.
Quality of pictures is excellent. Camera is easy to carry in your pocket. Instructions are easy to read but numerous things to figure out to use the many features.
Power button is a little difficult to press.
17 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SD990 IS Black
Nickname: xoverxero
Location: new york, ny
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

highest megapixel camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
This was my very first canon i purchased. The quality of the pictures are great. the design is superb. the screen is smaller than what i wanted for such a new camera. it would have been better if it was a larger screen. the connection port is simple. great for a point and shoot camera. the Iso is very high. It is sturdy to handle, but a bit heavy and thick. It wouldve been much better if it was at least thinner than previous models. but it has a nicer design compared to the previous rectangular canons.
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SD990 IS Black
Nickname: HMONG
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

i cant focus

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2009
Pros: good battery life, durable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Missing features/settings
now a great camera. good for pics. but its hard to focus. when u zoom things get unclear. the macro doenst really work all too well. i couldnt get the camera to see the things on my ipod. too pricy. video quality should be better.
10 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SD990 IS Black
Nickname: Canon & Leica User
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Solid all-around point-and-shoot digital

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, excellent video quality and features, excellent construction quality
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
This is a nice camera to slip in your pocket and take snapshots, and it's an excellent camera to take video. I didn't buy it for that feature, but it takes excellent video in decent light, in Quicktime .mov format. You can take a video (switch the dial to video and hit the shutter button), plug it into your computer via USB, and upload to YouTube or import into iMovie or Canon's own software in a matter of minutes. The image stabilization is a wonderful feature in this case--I can follow my little kid around and the video doesn't jerk and lurch.
As others have mentioned, there are a lot of features, but you only have to use what you want. My most useful settings (e.g. turning off the flash) are immediately accessible on the back panel. The image quality isn't as good as I've seen from Canon, but in decent light, it performs very well.
The LCD is birght and very easy to see even in direct sunlight. I haven't used any kind of screen protector on it and I haven't had to.
I did have a focusing issue at one point, but I sent it in to Canon service under warranty and they had it back to me in less than a week.
The finish is very solid. After almost a year of sliding it in and out of my pocket and throwing it into my briefcase, it only shows the slightest amount of wear, and that's on the little "feet" on the bottom (which allow it to stand upright on a flat surface).
Battery life is kind of astonishing. I have to remember where I put the charger because I have to use it so rarely.
67 of 69 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site