Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / miniDV Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop miniDV Camcorders or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for XH A1S

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

XH A1S

Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for XH A1S
Review 1 for XH A1S
Nickname: DinosaurJr.

Next best thing to an ENG camera...

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2011
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I bought this camera to shoot my first documentary. i couldn't afford a crew, so i purchased this camera, separate mike, boom, the works. the image quality is excellent. shooting in manual and making adjustments is easy. everything is right at your fingertips. having xlr inputs and phantom audio is a big plus. i work in the broadcast industry and see more and more broadcast people going out and shooting with this camera. most times it's hard to tell the difference between this one and the high end eng's...
12 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for XH A1S
Nickname: Scott From Idaho
Location: Boise, Idaho
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

XH A1s Review

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: a lot of noise in low light.
Canon XH A1s
There are too many positives about this camcorder (in my opinion) to mention, but listed is some pros and cons of
the camcorder (in my opinion).
As of writing this Review, I have owned and used the camcorder for about 6 months.
Pros:
* High Definition.
* Zoom is impressive (20X) and with Magnify you can even get closer (you will probably want it on a tripod for the Magnify).
* XLR Audio Inputs.
* The Audio Can be Customized for each channel - 1 & 2.
* Image Stabalizer.
* You can take Still Photos at the same time as the Video (it is nice that you do Not have to go into Camera Card
just to take a picture).
* It can film in really low light (at the cost of quality).
* Easy to Operate.
* LCD Screen is nice.
* Many custom controls.
* There are 2 Custom Keys - which you can assign different functions for quick and easy changes.
* It has a Letterbox feature for play the Widescreen video on an old 4:3 TV.
* Being a little bit bigger and heavier then some other camcorders - it does not jerk at the slightest flinch.
* Bigger lens provides a bigger view.
* Camcorder has a Flat Bottom - setting in on a Surface - it is stable.
* The Zoom lever can be set for a Constant or variable Zoom Speed.
* Manual Focus ring, zoom focus ring, iris ring.
* Side Display on Camcoder of Tape Info (nice when you have Displays Turned Off on the LCD Screen/Viewfinder - so you can still see Recording Time, etc.)
* AWB and Custom White Balance.
Cons:
* There is NO Self Timer (which I have used on the GL2 on other camcorders on a regular basis).
* There is NO Fader (which I have used on the GL2 on other camcorders on a regular basis to fade out or in for the day).
* A lot of Noise in the picture in really low light.
* It does NOT have the Record Search buttons that let you easily Play Back a Scene to a previous time (I used this feature all the time on the Canon GL2 to cut off the end of a scene).
* The Record Review does NOT Play back any Audio (which would be nice to make sure the audio was picked up (without having to go into the VCR Mode and Play it).
* The Letterbox feature is ONLY available on video but Not Still Pictures.
* It does NOT Remember the Letterbox setting (when you turn the camcorder - it resets back to the default setting).
* The Terminal Covers somtimes easily come off - there has been a couple of times that I almost lost a few of them.
* It would be nice if the Date & Time Record (Char Rec) could be turned On or Off via a Custom Key.
* It would be nice if the Search Features worked on the Still Photos (on the memory card) - for instance Date
Search.
* It would be nice to assign a Custom Key to bring up the Customize Menu.
* It would be nice to have a 3rd or 4th Custom Key.
* It would be nice to have a Bigger Viewfinder.
NOTE: Do NOT try to use the BP 945 Camcorder Battery that the Downloaded Manual Lists as a Compatible battery - it is Too Tall for the battery compartment.
22 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for XH A1S
Nickname: JSA
Location: New York
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, excellent image quality, durable
Cons: you have to use your brain
Great camera- good features- spend some time looking at all the custom settings and download custom settings for color from the WEB.
Good lens and picture quality- don't buy the add on wide angle lens- fuzzy optics unless you are up close and you cannot put a UV filter on it.
Don't run on auto if you are between sun and shade- put it on manual or the exposure will pop in and out as objects move. Still learning the camera but I think it is a great machine.
Lastly- if you are going to shoot long events- buy the optional battery
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for XH A1S
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Indianapolis
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

affordable quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2010
Pros: audio flexibility and performance.
Cons: no shoulder rig attachment.
Outstanding quality, affordable price, and durability. As a student I had to have competitive equipment, and I had to be frugal. I bought 2. Nuff said!
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for XH A1S
Nickname: aslam
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

The World You can Take Your Hand

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 9, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult Computer Connectivity, Uncomfortable to hold, Difficult to use, Poor Color Reproduction, Poor sound/audio, Limited Software Compatibility, Bulky Design, Difficult TV Connectivity, Flimsy Construction
Hi
My Nmae 's Quais ... I started With canon D-SLR CAMERA. FOR still photography .. now i stard for pro video .. so i brought canon xha1s..it's give me everything and it's chainge my liffe... and also 'am happy with canon .... becouse they maide good thing pro video for bignner's ,,,, so your peppole u don't need to go for any other barands ... go for canon it's best in the world.....it's awesome video camera......
i love my canon camera's and video ... it's No.1 in the world ....
6 of 77 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for XH A1S
Nickname: gmark45
Location: Kalamazoo MI
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best HD camcorder for Beginner Videographer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity
Cons: can't record video to sd card
I purchased this camcorder in August 2009. I’m still learning how to use all of the functions. If you’re a point and shoot person and do not use the manual features / presets then just get a consumer rated camcorder. I am a Beginner Semi-pro Videographer; this is my first prosumer camcorder. The Canon XH A1S is simply the best camcorder for the price. This camcorder is great in low light when using the correct settings such as gain, shutter speed and aperture. I record weddings, training, home and music videos. The 10 watt light accessory for this camcorder works great for weddings and other lowlight recordings. The iris ring, focus ring, custom presets buttons and zoom controls are very easy to access. The only negative is the onboard microphones; they are not bad, but you can get much better sound quality by using a decent shotgun microphone; this is what makes the XLR inputs an excellent tool for recording audio.
In closing, I have never experienced any drop frames during recording or editing. My recordings before compression i.e. :( connecting the camcorder to the HD TV component inputs) are just as clean as blue ray movies.
54 of 56 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for XH A1S
Nickname: Video It
Location: Central Idaho
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use, accessory connectivity, phantom power for microphone
Cons: a few dropped frames, plug in port covers come loose, changing the mic input is a menu function, rocker switch for the zoom is squeeky
Bought this Camera 7 months ago and have used it hard under varying outdoor situations. Hot and dusty, rain, cold and snowy, you name it. The camera has produced accurate colors and is very easy to use. The auto functions adjust to the changing conditions well and the extra XLR audio inputs are great. The bad stuff would be some scenes with dropped frames. Using better tape may help with this. Also the covers over the accessory ports are flimsy and one has already fallen off. I'd also like to see the audio input switches on the outside, instead of going into the menu each time. That said, I don't know of any other camera in its class thats better. Its an excellent camera.
27 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for XH A1S
Nickname: Bad Bear
Location: Plant City, Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

It is about time....

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Flimsy Construction, extra mic holder needs reinforcing
My research into a new camera purchase was extensive. The more I read about the XH A1s the more I heard that one of the CONS of the camera was that most of the controls were located on the LEFT side of the unit. This was a major PRO factor in selection for me.
I like the selection of the Tape vs Card, most commercial gigs do not need to be archived, some do. I have a problem understanding the people that debate over tape vs hard drive. Tape is safe and solves archiving issues. Anyone debating this issue does not shoot enough to own a Professional Grade camera or money is not an issue for them. I own a small production company and if I had to archive on hard drives, I would go broke. The idea of archiving digitally is insane.
I shoot a weekly fishing show and the XH A1s has performed very well under the harsh marine environment. I would recommend this unit to any working professional as either a primary or secondary camera.
63 of 64 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for XH A1S
Nickname: GADGSTR
Location: Georgia
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

HD Video

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio
Nice Camera, is a nice addition to my other cameras. Great image quality, sound construction,
12 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for XH A1S
Nickname: Legends Studio
Location: New Albany, Indiana
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Love It !!! Love It !!! Love It !!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, durable, easy to use
This camera is not for the novice by any means because once you step out of the auto everything mode it can be quite complicated.
Now that being said if it wasn’t for all the manual settings and adjustments I would not want it anyway.
I have a Canon XLH1 and this camera make the perfect workmate for it.
The picture quality is virtually the same so for a two camera shoot it’s great.
Although it’s about half of the weight of it’s big brother the XLH1 it’s still a little hard to hold steady since you can’t rest it on your shoulder but the image stabilization is very helpful.
Also the auto focus is very fast and really comes in handy when you have to run and gun so to speak.
All in all this is a great camera with a awesome picture and I simply love it.
17 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for XH A1S
Nickname: media mechanic
Location: Waterbury, CT
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent overall

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance
This camera is excellent and does all that it should...The picture quality is excellent...I recommend using the add on 10w light accessory that is avialable for this camera as well...The camera does well in lower light situations, but, adaquate lighting should always be available for difficult lighting situations and to highlight the subject...
For me that debate over tape (miniDv) over a hard drive camera is over...I have a hard drive video camera...I much prefer the safety of tape and solves the archiving issue...The idea of archiving digitally is crazy, especially with video... the file sizes and storage capacity needed to save stuff is rediculous...
The one negative comment I do have about th XH-A1s is controling sound levels...If you are trying to get sound using the camera mics there is not much control...Just a switch to attinuate -12db...Not enough if your client is a musician and you are shooting a loud gig...granted there are many ways to set up and work around this, but, if conditions are such that you want to work off the camera mics the sound using the -12db setting can get very close to peaking or does occationally peak and the sound is now distorted...
Otherwise this camera is really very good and I am very happy with it...
12 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for XH A1S
Nickname: Rj44319
Location: Akron, Ohio
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Good Cam

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance, good sound if using ext mic
Cons: Difficult TV Connectivity, Poor sound/audio, Uncomfortable to hold
I like the cam overall. One problem i have is that it dos not have SDI. For the price i think it should. The LCD in my opinion works well for framing but dos not show the best quality of the video that is being captured. The XLR inputs work great. The only thing i would change would be the ways you could record. I wish i could record to the SD socket on board. I also wish it had a HDMI connector to connect it to HD tv's for instant playback.
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for XH A1S
Nickname: Jiffer
Location: North Saint Paul, MN
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Amazing

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance, price
Amazing quality. This is not something you use for family events, this is for professional and amateur videos. Once you use this camera with a DOFA (depth of field adapter) like the Letus35mm and a SLR lens it becomes Hollywood film. Buy this camera you will not be dissapointed
52 of 54 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for XH A1S
Nickname: Lewis

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2009
amazing price/quality. Image is beautifull, dont be scared to use presets.
26 of 46 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site