Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / Flash Memory Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Flash Memory Camcorders or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
5 out of 5
4.727 out of 5
4.625 out of 5
4.25 out of 5

Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF S10

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

VIXIA HF S10

Average Customer Rating:
4.586 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
26 out of 29(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF S10
Review 1 for VIXIA HF S10
Nickname: Broadcast Engineer
Location: Vermont
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Fabulous fun consumer camcorder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I own professional SD and HD camcorders but I was looking for something tiny, unobtrusive for informal fun as well as a "B" camera for multi-camera shoots in HD or as a small POV camera. This Canon fills the bill admirably.
Tapeless recording plus the ability to take high resolution snapshots are pluses. The lens focuses all the way down to macro within a fraction of an inch of the lens. It's like having an electronic magnifying glass.
Smear is very low but dynamic range leaves a lot to be desired. Highlights will bloom unless you under expose the scene. The small lens plus the small imager with over 8 megapixels while providing very good still imaging doesn't permit sufficient light capture per pixel. So, low light performance is somewhat deficient. If you limit gain to +18 dB the noise won't be too objectionable but the video will be quite dark. You can slow the shutter down, but selecting anything below 1/60th will create objectionable motion blur.
There is no manual way to compress black or to control peak white compression. As a result, in low light, you lose all detail in dark areas. I mention this in comparison to my professional HD cameras which can mimic the human eye regarding dynamic range. At one sixth the price you can't expect the Canon to be nearly as good.
Image detail is also a bit lacking compared to a pro HD camera. But then I'm comparing apples to oranges, single chip imaging block compared to three chip imagers.
Back to consumer requirements, this camcorder produces images that are far superior to comparably priced standard definition DV camcorders. And that includes some professional cameras too!
There are a lot of menu choices for those who like to fiddle, but don't expect to be able to do the serious customization available with pro cameras.
Controls are reasonably laid out. Unlike a pro camera there is very little real estate for buttons and switches. However, you can choose to keep one important function available at a button press on the LCD display and another on the camera body for quick access. For example, manual exposure override, manual audio level control, etc.
The servo zoom can be controlled to nice slow crawl, but the rocker switch is very tiny. Thus it isn't easy to control zoom rate compared to a full size rocker on a professional lens. The lens also suffers from some color aberration which is especially evident when shooting outdoors in daylight.
The on demand electronic tele converter works well, giving you a 1.7X boost without artifacting. But the lens does not go wide enough. A zoom through wide angle adapter will be a necessary accessory when shooting indoors in tight quarters.
Don't plan on doing much shooting without a tripod or shoulder support even with optical image stabilization turned on. The camcorder is just too tiny and light. It's mass is insufficient to help absorb normal muscle shakes and jerkiness. A full size shoulder mounted camera is far easier to hold steady.
The instruction manual is not well written. The only way to learn to use the camera settings is to play with it.
Stock battery capacity is somewhat limited. The biggest available battery will provide decent, all day, shooting power, but it sticks quite far out of the body, almost getting in the way of your thumb. And it makes for a tighter fit in your camera bag if you already had a snug fit with the standard battery.
For consumer uses this camcorder is excellent and will provide tons of fun and opportunities for self expression. For professional use you'll have to abide by its limitations. In good light it could be intercut with other cameras, but you will have to use caution.
747 of 764 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIXIA HF S10
Nickname: marksb
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Disapointing purchase

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, records reasonable length to built in memory
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, Limited Software Compatibility, small view screen, view screen diffcult to use in high light backgnd, tedious menu structure, no simple fast forward review, no simple fast rewind review, poor image quality with lots of movement in scene
Really need to use largest battery available
Problem with camera occasionally switching into Manual Focus mode
Lack of viewfinder limits usage in bright light with active tracking or movement.
Small view screen will require reading glasses for older users. This can make it difficult to be actively moving while taking action video (such as in various sports like skiiing, biking, soccer)
0.7 wide angle lens has significant field distortion.
Solar lens flares problematic
Bundled software package has poor support and poor workflow.
Camera exposure can result in double images for faster moving objects
Lacks direct computer connection for video capture.
10 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIXIA HF S10
Nickname: freedml
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

PITA

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2010
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, no battery indicator with other chargers, no canon portable battery charger, no power saving in view mode, hard to transfer movies to picasa
This camcorder has a lot of cute features, but breaks down in the basics. Charge your battery with a non-Canon charger? Forget any battery life indicator at all. Want to transfer the movies to Picasa? A big pain. Still can't find a couple of the video clips, although I was able to get most of them transferred. But, could my wife or kids do it? No way!
Also, the 'power saving' mode kicks in when you're in 'record' mode, but not in 'view' mode. What's up with that? This could be a great camcorder with a firmware upgrade to take care of these issues.
4 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIXIA HF S10
Nickname: Zach O
Location: Kentucky
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great Product!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, very attractive!
This product is a top of the line product! It has Excellent Quality and is just overall a Excellent Product! Lots of features and options! You won't go wrong with the HF S10! It's size is small, but it packs a big punch to make up for it. I've never seen such great quality out of a Consumer Camcorder!
I personally bought the camcorder for just personal use. Weather to Post YouTube videos online, or just capture moments at home for later. I've found that it easily completes those simple tasks and is capable of much more!
Superior Product, I give it a 5 out of 5!
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIXIA HF S10
Nickname: W4rD0g
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Great prosumer level Camcorder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2010
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Poor sound/audio
I have had my Canon Vixia HF S10 for over a month now and i love it. It captures clear HD Quality video, and decent still images. The controls are fairly easy to figure out once you go through the menus a fool around a bit with all the settings. The only real gripe i have with this model is the low light capabilities.Well maybe two gripes, The audio capture could definitely be better,however a attachable mic is available. Considering all this camera does great,i can definitely live with the minor flaws. Overall a great buy 5/5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIXIA HF S10
Nickname: Diesel
Location: Buffalo, NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great Quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2010
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, excellent image quality, durable, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
I own an independent movie studio and we have just finished filming our first independent film using only this camcorder. The picture quality turned out great and with a little picture adjustment in FCP, the video looks as good as any DVD you'll see. As far as the low light video quality, the light on the camera is really not powerful enough to handle low lit settings, but if you add on a external camcorder light the picture looks great. We have screened our film in front of several "Hollywood" executives, as well as 100 person private screenings and everyone has raved about the quality of the picture as well as the movie itself (average 8/10). If you are someone who is looking to make and independent film or just filming random memories this camcorder will do anything/everything you ask as long as you know what you're doing.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIXIA HF S10
Nickname: MDGator
Location: Maryland
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

The best stuff is never cheap

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2009
Pros: Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
After extensive research and long hours pouring over specs and reviews, this unit was the final choice. Right out of the box, this unit is VERY easy to use with intuitive controls, and a simple design. We started with the HF20 but spent the extra because of the large sensor and higher rez for still shots. We have Canon for all our imaging so I will admit we are biased, but from the DSLR the point and shoot, the printer, and now the camcorder, everything has excellent build quality and ergonomics. Canon makes great products. The HF20 was also just a too small, while the feel and weight of the HF10, although small, feels a little better. I'm writing a review too soon because we haven't logged any significant hours with it, but I can say it is easy for the most entry level person. I would prefer a wider angle but am adapting quickly. My only complaint is price, but that is my issue and not Canons' However, I did buy it, and I'm thrilled that I did. If you're like me, and you research too much. Just stop, spend the money, and get this one so you don't miss any more of those moments you want to capture.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIXIA HF S10
Nickname: VideoMarketer
Location: Chicago/St Simons Island
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great under the sun, horrible inside

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Good Software Compatibility, easy to use with a mac
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Uncomfortable to hold
Pros:
--Great in full natural light. Amazing outdoor shots. --Greenery and flowers look life-like.
Small and easy to use (if you read the manual carefully).
Cons:
--Horrible in low light situations- night shots, and even slightly under-lit indoor shots.
--Problematic during moving shots- both when the subject is moving (like a car) or when the camera is moving (like filming from a car).
All in all, great for the outdoors, and worthless for indoors unless it is just for home movie keepsake.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIXIA HF S10
Nickname: susie
Location: Roseville, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

love this

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Compact Design, excellent image quality, easy to use, like dual action
Never thought I could fall in love w/ a camcorder, but this one stole my heart and made me a consider a new career (or hobby)! Clarity no matter how far or how close, but the zoom in is spectacularly clear! Really couldn't have asked for anything more! Battery life is great too! I'm not too sure about the software that comes w/ it--it's only for a pc and I like to keep my photography on my mac. Using the sd card to transfer, though, and doesn't seem to hurt quality of photos or videos.
Review 10 for VIXIA HF S10
Nickname: Pops
Location: Madison, WI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

I made the right choice

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Short battery life
I've been shooting 35mm SLR's for about 40 years and 35mm DLSR's for the last 10 years, always buying the best quality I could afford. About 3 years ago I bought what I thought was a good quality mini tape cam corder, not HD. Recently, wanting a better image quality product to show on HDTV I researched the latest HD camcorders and found Canon to be at the top of the line, both on line reviews as well as camera store sales personnel. I decided on the Vixia HF S10 because I wanted the best quality video short of investing in a pro type camera. The quality of the video even on a large screen HD TV is superb. The sound quality has been outstanding, and the low light performance has been better than expected. If I had to find at least one fault with this camera it would be a through the lens viewfinder that I can put my eye to like my DSLR. It would simplify following a subject, particularly in bright sunlight. After reading reviews suggesting poor battery life, I bought an extra long life battery along with a 16 Gig card. I have had the camera about 3 weeks and have not run out of space or power yet. I am very well satisfied with this camera and feel it worth the hefty price tag for what it is able to do. If you're considering a camcorder give this one a real look. You won't go wrong.
56 of 58 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIXIA HF S10
Nickname: BHAS
Location: Delaware
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Poor sound/audio
Very bright pictures i should have bought an external mike.
2 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIXIA HF S10
Nickname: Vintagemusic
Location: Ohio, N.E.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Vixia HF-S10 Review

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, stable and relatively easy video editing., solid state and media card recording format
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility, occasionally poor auto focus, occasionally yields overly-bright image tone, inconveniently needs a view-finder
My review of the Vixia HF-S10 is based upon ownership and extended use, since purchase 1 month ago. Love the video quality, except for occasional focus loss, towards full zoom. Focus difficulties also, occur without apparent cause with, or without wide angle lens mounted.
On-camera editing process is intuitive and truly beneficial.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIXIA HF S10
Nickname: Lawman
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Truly GREAT

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
I purchased the Canon to video and photograph family and to use occasionally at the job. The Canon truly provides the videographer with very clear, sharp and colorful images. Whether you use it for taking family pictures, nature or job related, you will not be disappointed. This camcorder does rattle when it is off and I think that that is part of the system, but when it is turned on, the rattling stops and it is one heck of a piece of equipment. The autofocus is REALLY FAST and never loses itself like on other camcorders. It also has a built in flash and video light. The screen is NOT a touch screen but the controls are so easy and utilize a joy stick type of device built onto the left side of the screen. The controls are very easy to manipulate and get around. Oh, and the camcorder is very light and I mean VERY LIGHT. I purchased a Lowe Pro belt holster that holds SLR lenses and the Canon Camcorder fit right into there. Buy yourself a larger battery also. It is a very good investment. The only other piece of equipment I recommend is the portable battery charger. WOW - is it fast! Far faster than the recharging cord that comes with the camcorder.
21 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIXIA HF S10
Nickname: drrichter
Location: Corona, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Love it...

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Great sound/audio, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, software...pixela...not good
What a great decision to go with the Canon S10. The quality of picture is amazing and I even used the autobracketing for a couple HDR shots on camera mode and they came out fantastic. For the price though I still am super selfish and don't let any other family members touch it...so they are a little disappointed, but oh well. Don't care for the fact that it is required to have the ac adaptor connected in order to transfer files to the computer. And definitely don't like the software that came with the camera...yuck...but I was planning on using something different anyway.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIXIA HF S10
Nickname: DLH
Location: NEW MEXICO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

OK BUT

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Computer Connectivity, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold
Cons: Poor image quality, Limited Software Compatibility, Poor Low-Light Performance
The over all picture is good. The camera has a nice design and is easy to use. My main problem is the shakes. They make it sound like it will record from a moving car. Forget that it won't work. You can't even walk and shoot at the same time. And if you want to share your videos with a friend that dosen't have HD the picture they will see by using standard record leaves alot to be desired.
13 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIXIA HF S10
Nickname: Keet
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic but....

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 10, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, Poor sound/audio, Limited Software Compatibility
The camera performed above my expectations for clarity and crispness of image when shooting a stationary object. As soon as you have to pan across a room most everything goes blurry. Very disappointed in the fact that the camera is unable to keep focused continue to create a crisp image during the camera movement. Other than that one draw back, great low light, image stableizer and functionality. You will be very pleased. Mac software would have been nice. Don't expect much from the mic on the camera; I would say it is inadaquate for recreational shooting.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIXIA HF S10
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Pittsburgh ,PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Be Aware MAC Owners

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 10, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Good Low-Light Performance
Downloading your movies can only happen on Intel chip Apple computers. There is no warning anywhere, except when you open the box and see that the supplied software is readable only by PC cpmputers. Next, no one warns you that when you create long movies at high resolution, you will need the very large sized SDHC cards which will download very slowly on your MAC since the HD quality images will demand lots more graphic cards and computational power. Oh, and don't buy a non- Canon battery. No one tells you that you will always face a message that the battery is not recognized, but then it asks you if it should go ahead anyway ( which is illogical- why are you accepting it now?) The worst part is you will always have a battery design icon with a question mark in it and no info on power remaining. No one will help you to watch for the pitfalls and troubles of buying extended warranties. Since Canon will not go into that area, they shirk their responsibility to you and give no suggestions on their toll free numbers concerning who has a good record, buys original parts, or discusses all the options that lie ahead. The mini HDMI cord is not included, for example. As most people are getting the latest new tvs, they give us the old RCA and Component cords. Why? Can you use the camcorder, then will you be prepared to actually USE IT. i believe my review has said I like the product. The failure lies in anticipation of our actual method of buying against the pressures of accessories and computers sales which I now need to buy Canon batteries, a new Intel -chip computer,and study all the accessories just to use my Vixia. I asked Canon for help, but no one says I will make others aware and correct this. Your card reader MUST read HDHC cards and USB 2 MUST be accepted by your computer ( NO WARNINGS, AGAIN)( Do not look for help-- they do not exist. Mac owners open your wallets ( again ) if you want to see your movie and photos!
61 of 72 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VIXIA HF S10
Nickname: Captain Japan
Location: New Haven, CT
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great camcorder, but one complaint

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: file transfer requirements
I purchased this camcorder two weeks ago and absolutely love it!! I won't repeat what the the praises from the previous reviewers. I have one complaint about this camcorder and I sincerely hope that this can be fixed with a firmware upgrade. My complaint is that the power cable has to be connected to the camera in order to transfer the files. I know that I can buy an SD card for the slot as a workaround, but I shouldn't have to. So what if the battery goes dead during file transfer? Then I have to attach the power cord and redo the transfer. No harm. No foul. I'd rather return this model and get the HF S100, but I am not going to pay a restocking fee!! I wish that I knew this prior to my purchase. Canon, please fix this annoyance!!
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VIXIA HF S10
Nickname: Inigo Montoya
Location: Tulsa, OK
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

I was blown away by the image quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2009
I am VERY happy that I purchased this camera. I have not owned a Canon camcorder before, but I have been very familiar with the great quality of their lenses. The sample video footage here was amazing, so I decided to purchase this camera for my new camcorder to take videos of the kid's birthdays, and special events. Wow is all I can say. The image quality is truely amazing, and blew me away for a non-professional camera. I highly recommend this camera to anybody wanting a new HD camera at a great price.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIXIA HF S10
Nickname: Mozart #1
Location: Independece,MO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

THE HD MODEL

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, durable, easy to use
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility
this is THE HD model which I have waited for a long time. Thanks Canon !
3 of 10 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site