Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / Flash Memory Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Flash Memory Camcorders or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
5 out of 5
4.727 out of 5
4.625 out of 5
4.25 out of 5

Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF20

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

VIXIA HF20

Average Customer Rating:
4.586 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 29(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF20
Review 1 for VIXIA HF20
Nickname: lintadsl
Location: Toledo, OH
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Little monstor

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2010
Pros: 32gb hard drive, small dslr, compact size
Cons: battery run out
Compact size to carry around, it records 1080P H.D. and TV shows all the details. I love the feature on photo - close to DSLR and ability to take a snap shot during the video. And prepare extra battery - that will be handy to user.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIXIA HF20
Nickname: Fair
Location: Alexandria, VA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Best decision

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2010
Pros: excellent results, user friendly, very light and long bettery life, long hours of recording
Cons: battery charger not included, pouch is not included, software is very heavy and difficult
This is my family brand and I am using canon products from past more than 10 years. Before buying camcorder, I tried all competitive brands, however, I could only satisfy with results of VIXIA HF20 camcorder (and price in my range). I have used this camcorder on various occasions/events and found best results every time. On the other hands, I have two reservations; first is that the charger and pouch are not included. And secondly, software is very heavy and hard to understand and use. I think, canon must provide comprehensive software (with instructional guidelines) for consumers, who can use them on their ordinary computer system.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIXIA HF20
Nickname: Anonymous

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2010
Pros: option packed
Cons: thumb-nail are blank when i use the fade-in to rec
Over all love the hd cam, I only have one prob. When I use the fade-in option to record I dont like I have to view the clip to see what it is because they're all blank when I review the thumb-nail clips.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIXIA HF20
Nickname: Shalb
Location: New Orleans, LA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Perfect Camera. ALL in 1

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2010
ive been having this camera for 11 months and have not had any problem with it. It has amazing features that not available in most of other brand camcorders. it has easy software to burn the videos to a DVD or Blu-ry for Super High Definition picture. i highly recommend this camera.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIXIA HF20
Nickname: Barrington
Location: Bronx, New York
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Love My Canon Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2010
Pros: add a pro
I purchased this HD Camera about 2 months ago to use in my photography business. I was recently hired to video tape a concert for a friend, and used the HF20 to do the job. The video and sound came out excellent. Editing was another chore though. But once I found the method, it was a breeze. I used PowerDirector by Cyberlink to import and edit my video. The program allows you to produce an ACHVD DVD, which won't play in every home dvd player, but played perfect in my BlueRay player. Perfect HD quality.
For my client, I used to same clips and converted them using Xilosoft Video Converter to convert them to HD AVI files. From there, I used Convert to DVD to make my clients DVD. Of course some quality is lost within the conversion process but my client was pleased with the results. This method took alot of trial and error and I experimented with different programs and conversion methods. However, this was the method that worked for me.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIXIA HF20
Nickname: tru2037
Location: Detroit MI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera, no more disc's!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality
Cons: Short battery life, Limited Software Compatibility
Difficult Computer Connectivity? Um... not really, I purchaced this camera used and it came with nothing but the power cord so I was worried at first. Took the videos on a SD card as well as the internal HD, plug it into the PC and presto there are the two drives. It does save them as .MTS files so I've only found that Windows Media Player plays them but I'm sure there are others. Got a PS3? just put the SD card in the PS3 and it reads it also.
Get a aftermarket battery. $30-$40 for 3X the life of the OEM. Its not the greatest thing since it sticks out about a 1.5", the only way to check the remaining life is to push a button on the battery itself to light up a light bar, and everytime you turn on the camera you have to approve the non-oem battery but it beats the $160 OEM... especially if you just use it for a backup, and it came with a car charger.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIXIA HF20
Nickname: jerry
Location: Fort Worth Texas
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Good Luck on this one

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, Short battery life, Limited Software Compatibility
Nice camera, good video, price ok, easy to shoot video but try and load it on your computer..go ahead and try. HORRIBLE. Now would you like to take a video and hand someone the flash card so they can send it to someone out of town....go ahead and try...HORRIBLE. The process is so not intuitive. I wish I had known this months ago when I bought it because I would have returned it quickly. What a mistake. I find regular cheap cameras easier to use than this thing...at least I can make a video and just pass the stupid thing out on a flash card. Ive been working on this for 4 hours now and Im bummed out.
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIXIA HF20
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

I love this camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
I love this product. I bought the Vixia HF M30 and am trading it in for this. I don't think this has any cons.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIXIA HF20
Nickname: David
Location: Omaha, NE
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Nice little camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Compact Design, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult Computer Connectivity, no off-camera battery charger
Nice little camera. Very small and light; very easy to handle. High quality. Flash memory is great; no need for tapes and no motor noise (tape or hard drives). Auto focus is phenominal; lightning fast under most conditions. Video quality is very good, albeit low-light performance is marginal. The HF S20, with its larger lens, probably does better, but the price difference doesn't seem worth it. No viewfinder, but I've adapted and now actually prefer using the display. Have to use the power adapter when off-loading video/photo files to computer; that's inconvenient. Does not come with an off-camera battery charger, which you almost have to have. Canon assessories are great, but they're pricey. And in the case of the charger, there aren't any knock-offs with Intellegent System (shows remaining battery life, which by the way really works well).
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIXIA HF20
Nickname: mikeev
Location: Melbourne, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Good camera, with one major flaw

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2010
Pros: Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: 24p mode is recorded in 60i
The quality of this camera is excellent. For 30p/60i shooting, you won't be disappointed. Low light performance is better than most people make it out to be, and daylight shots are stunning.
However, it's 24p shooting where this camera falls short. For some reason that I cannot comprehend, Canon records all footage from this camera in 60i. You can extract the 24p data (requires 3rd party software) using a process called Inverse Telecine, or 3:2 Pulldown, but there is still minor artifacts that are left on straight edges and lines.
I sincerely hope that Canon updates the firmware with a *TRUE* 24p recording mode for this otherwise excellent piece of hardware.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIXIA HF20
Nickname: Novice Cameraman
Location: STL, MO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Really like it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2009
Pros: Accurate, Vivid Colors, excellent image quality, durable, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, Short battery life
I would recommend this camera. The picture quality is great, and they aren't kidding around when they say you can record quickly. You literally open the view finder or whatever and you can record almost instantly. We used it for Christmas this year and the quality is great. I am not a camera aficionado or anything, but this thing is great. I would definitely recommend it if you are wanting the HD quality. It's light as a feather, even the wife can hold/use it with no problem and in the past she has usually shied away from using the camcorder for this reason.
The computer connectivity is a bit tough at first, but once you get the hang of it it's not bad. The battery life is very short - pick up another one for sure.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIXIA HF20
Nickname: Lynn
Location: College Park, MD
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Should have researched it more

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2009
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I purchased this camcorder after Thanksgiving because I wanted to record in HD. The only problem is, you can not make a HD DVD. I have a Mac and the iMovie editing feature is good but when you transfer the movie over to iDVD you can only make a standard definition DVD. Why buy a HD camcorder if you can't make a HD DVD. Your better off buying one of the cheaper camcorders that aren't HD.
7 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIXIA HF20
Nickname: smiley
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Small Camcorder, Big Features

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2009
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use, sexy
Cons: Short battery life
Once you hold this camcorder you are instantly amazed how small it is. The video quality is top notch. It packs many features that you won't find in others like an accessory show. The one downside is battery life, which is a small price to pay for this awesome piece of technology. Its my first canon product, and i'm very pleased.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIXIA HF20
Nickname: Tom
Location: California USA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Excellent cam, but Underwater mode has big problem

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality
Cons: Uncomfortable to hold, Limited Software Compatibility, cannot focus on close-ups when in underwater mode!
I have been using my VIXIA HF-20 camera in underwater mode, together with the WP-V1 Canon enclosure.. I notice that, even out in the surface, the minimum focal distance of the camera in Undwater mode is about 30cm. When I take it to any other mode (like Programmed AE or on a Priority mode), I can put the camera as close as I want (touching) the object and it
will still focus. But in Underwater mode I need to pull back about 1foot or it will be out of focus. This is really bad since I cannot get close-ups of underwater life. Seems like a software glitch of the Underwater mode to me, since the other modes don't do this. Many users complain about the same thing on different user Web sites. Is there a fix for this problem? How can I
incorporate the fix to my camera? There is no reason I can think of, of why you would want to purposely increase the focal distance in Underwater mode.
This should be fixed.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIXIA HF20
Nickname: JP

NO AUDIO AFTER DOWNLOAD

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2009
The HF20 comes with bundled software including the player "imagemixer 3". The problem is -it plays the files downloaded from the camera without sound.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIXIA HF20
Nickname: Plumber
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Fantastic Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2009
Pros: Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, Short battery life
This is a great camera. The menus and buttons are easy to navigate. It is compact and lightweight. The recording quality when everything turned all the way up is outstanding. Using playback via HDMI on my HDTV was easy and friends are amazed each time it is viewed.
The only drawback I have found is sharing video is a bit of a pain. Playback is limited on software video players. This is not a fault of the camera, just getting used to HD stuff. To the reviewer with the choppy video on the computer, it is because the player cannot play AVCHD video properly. The bundled video player opens all movies saved on the computer from the camera with no problems. Try using ImageMixer Player.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIXIA HF20
Nickname: amature
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

fun to use

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold
Cons: Poor image quality, Difficult Computer Connectivity, Limited Software Compatibility
Its easy and fun to use but I am realy haveing a hard time using the softwere it came with to transfer and play the videos. When I transfer onto my computore i can only seem to get jpeg quality not HD and when i play it back on my comp it looks so choppy and skipping and sound not with video. I get a better smoother video from youtube. Anyways I'm hopeing i'm just not doing something right cause when i play it back on the cam it looks great smooth and clear. I videod on the fxp mode . if anyone can help please let me know what i need to do i also tryed importing with windows media player and movie maker no luck there either cann't figure how to import and save on my pc at a better grade then jpeg. help anyone! If i could figure this out then i'll be happy and rate this cam great.
5 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VIXIA HF20
Nickname: dissappointed
Location: NW Arkansas
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Software dud

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility
I have had 4 camcorders in my life. This one has some great features. The bottom line in recording movies is the end result. How great is it to work with to produce a dvd? The software is extremely lacking. Editing, mixing, and burning a new dvd is very difficult. When I purchased this, I expected the ability to have "high quality" dvd's.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VIXIA HF20
Nickname: bandit
Location: Kingsport, TN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Bundled Software

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult Computer Connectivity, Limited Software Compatibility, transfer to pc is not consumer friendly
Canon has a great camera here!!
Now having said that, the problem is that Canon's connectivity and bundled software is not great, otherwise I would have rated the whole camera as 5 stars. A simple solution is to 1. find a different software, ..ie., I recorded 1 gb of movies (about 10 minutes), it took me 1/2 hour to burn a DVD disc (not a HD disc..just a simple DVD).
2. put an icon for transferring (movies or photos), on the camera's viewer, that then asks for the different questions as to memory or card, select the scenes or all scenes, etc.
3. Put something in the camera's instructions as to when you can dis-connect the USB and Power source after an upload to a PC. For all intent & purposes, the current instructions would have the camera connected for all eternity.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIXIA HF20
Nickname: Anonymous

Canon HF20

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2009
Pros: Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity
Great camera. Only downside is the software and connectivity to a computer.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site