Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / miniDV Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop miniDV Camcorders or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for VIXIA HV40

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

VIXIA HV40

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
16 out of 21(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIXIA HV40
Review 1 for VIXIA HV40
Nickname: MAP
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

top notch

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2014
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Good Software Compatibility, easy to use
I bought this camera to start live-streaming and to my surprise, it was a piece of cake! connecting mixers, mics, ect. easily connects through Firewire, component, Hdmi, mini DV. and the tape storage is now a thing of the past. There is a reason most commercial grade cameras still utilize tapes. Best consumer grade camera in my opinion.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIXIA HV40
Nickname: videonut
Location: Seattle wa
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice little work horse

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Accurate, Vivid Colors, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
I like this little camera. wish it had a usb for video. but there are a lot of accesories for it that make it almost professional looking
Review 3 for VIXIA HV40
Nickname: Bill
Location: Pasadena,CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Product replacement: Yes

Can not download to laptop

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2013
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity
Pretty good camera, easy to use, CAN'T download to laptop without firewire. Computer does not have firewire input. Now I have to pay to put cassett video on to a DVD. Should have been told this when purchased. Would like to trade this in for one I can transfer to my laptop
5 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIXIA HV40
Nickname: Bud
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great buy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2013
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: small for my big shaky hands
I heard that the camera is hard to connect to a TV and hard to get into a computer. That's the way I felt about every camcorder I've gotten over the years. It was my own fault because I didn't know what to do in the computer. I didn't know that in editing programs that you need to go into settings and tell what kind of video codecs you want such as AVI, MPEG and the like. The editing program that comes with computers are not all that great for what I do, so I spent a little on a better one.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIXIA HV40
Nickname: Les
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent still and video picture quality.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
I bought a new cassette camera because my old unit died.
I had years of old cassettes and no way to save or view them.. To my surprise the HV40 was much more the than a cassette recorder. The HD video and still shots are great.
The HDMI out is easy to use and connect to our HD TV. The cameras remote allows me easily review old and new video cassetts and stills. I've used the camera for 2 yrs, it takes beautiful pictures and worked without any problems
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIXIA HV40
Nickname: Zguri
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great Camcorder

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2012
Pros: excellent image quality, Good Software Compatibility
Cons: Poor sound/audio, Difficult TV Connectivity
Getting used to this product. Every time I use it I learn more about how it works and what I missed before.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIXIA HV40
Nickname: Buddy
Location: Burbank, CA.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great HD camcorder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, excellent image quality, durable, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
I own the HV 30 Which is the same as the HV40 with a few less perks and a few years older.The bad reveiws on this camcorder are incorrect. The camcorder is easy to operate and Windows 7 has no problem downloading from it as long as you have a Video editing program. The fact that it uses HD mini tapes is a plus for me as I can video as many hours as I have tape and not worry about how much room is left on a internal memory or memory card. The added DM-50 mic solved slight sound problem. Remember that a computer with limited capabilities is not the camcorders fault. If you want great video then this is the one..
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIXIA HV40
Nickname: mswank
Location: monterey, ca
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

100+ hours troubleshooting

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2012
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Great sound/audio, excellent image quality
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, Limited Software Compatibility
still wont work in win7 64 cant capture video, except on a old xp machine with a new ieee1394
2 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIXIA HV40
Nickname: ponerd
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Inconvenience of files dowloading

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2012
Cons: very difficult to download video files
This is the most inconvenient cam-recorder I have ever used. I am a teacher teaching the video based class, none of my students will be able to easily downloading the files from the camera without going through some troubles of the compatibility of different computers. Very poorly described information on the user's manual too. It is very poorly designed for transferring the video files as well as without appropriate cables included in the package. If it is designed for HD video recording and there is no way to download the files without using the firewire cable, why it is not specified in the manual as well as including a cable with the product? I was a Canon camera user for many years; however, I do not think I will invested any dimes on Canon's camrecorder product in the near future.
12 of 35 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIXIA HV40
Nickname: klklk2029
Location: Reading, PA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Must have Firewire Port or Card

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2011
Pros: lightweight
Cons: no way to transfer video without firewire card
Cannot transfer video to computer without a firewire port or a firewire card. Took video at my daughter's dance conference and now I have no way to transfer the images to the computer to edit. Computer will not recognize the Canon Vixia unless it has an installed firewire card, port, or high definition software already installed on the camera. Others said to use a DV but none are available that fit this camera. Canon is negligent with not informing the public that the only way to edit film is to have the firewire card or port. They should include some kind of wire for transfer with the cost of the camera.
16 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIXIA HV40
Nickname: nagzter
Location: Bay Area, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

LCD Does't show full image

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2011
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult to use, 95% lcd view, manual focusing is a bit awkward
I have used this camera to shoot 4 different short films or scenes from features. The first time shoot was outdoors and my only complaint was the inability to lock the exposure down. A change in ambient light means the camera will try to change it's exposure. My second shoot was documentary and I was pleased with my results.
Shoots 3 & 4 are were I really noticed the limitations of this little guy. To be specific, the LCD doesn't show the entire image area. This makes tight studio work almost impossible as backdrop edges are visible and the tight framing is impossible. I'm assuming it's about 95%, but the specs do not reflect this.
In addition, it seems to have difficulty holding focus on extreme close up shots. This may be due to the attempt to evaluate the exposure, but it is extremely frustrating.
24 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIXIA HV40
Nickname: Zootron
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent all Around Camcorder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2010
If your at all a little more serious than your typical camcorder owner the HV series is perfect. The DV tape still provides the best image results and I still prefer archiving to tape anyway - you will never lose everything. The features on the camera are fantastic. External mic, headphones and manual focus. I will never buy a camera that does not at the minimum have external mic and manual focus. The ease of use is great, the additional manual capabilities are also very good. Many Mgrs offer manual features but when it comes to actually using them on a shoot it's hopeless. Having both external ports like Firewire and HDMI is great and hard to find today. Additional menu features are very much adequate and easy to use. Auto focus is best in the industry. I love this camera and highly recommend it.
If your looking for cons. The mini SD card is hopeless to find - Canon should have used a std SD card. I take stills with my Canon Rebel anyway. The auto colour balance is not very good indoors. I use manual mode pretty well all the time.
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIXIA HV40
Nickname: ACQUATICUS
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing Tape HDV Recorder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2010
Pros: firewire and hdmi connections, inexpensive product, lightweight, state of art as a minidv for amateurs, no hard disk flash card or dvds storage., no usb limited.
Cons: no cons. complete minidv solution for amateurs.
Extraordinary build and video quality and many editing features for its price. Convenience of digital tape storage. Even though this technology is called as supplanted, in my opinion it still the best of all, for offering inexpensive tapes, individual storage and real time editing. Full compatible with Mac OS Snow Leopard and iMovie HD and higher.
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIXIA HV40
Nickname: dwc
Location: San Diego
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Excellent with caveats re audio

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, excellent image quality, Good Software Compatibility, Easy TV Connectivity
Tape based recording in HDV is superior in many ways, especially when it comes to backup and storage of recorded clips automatically upon creation.
Firewire allows you to edit and then store edited high definition video back to tape from (Apple) editing software. For all of the advantages of other digital media, tape is still a good media for ease of use, high data storage and image quality. The physical mechanism does require some care, but data storage rates are excellent.
However, sound from the tape mechanism can present issues. In normal settings, the built-in stereo mics are very good. In noisy environments, they are excellent.
That said, for quiet environments, I strongly suggest that owners consider an external microphone and use the "P," not "auto" switch setting with "gain" or volume control turned down when recording audio to reduce background hiss. With care and planning, recorded sound quality can be excellent, even in very quiet settings. Read the owners manual carefully.
80 of 81 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIXIA HV40
Nickname: FGarcia58
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great HD Features for a Reasonable Price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
This beauty is easy to handle. Has a lot of great features. And the price was just right.
10 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIXIA HV40
Nickname: utopist
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Canon should upgrade HV40 to use SDHC flashmemory

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2009
Pros: Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, many connectors, filter thread, has viewfinder, may be used for analog/digital conversion
Cons: Short battery life, does not record video in flash memory, direct camera image can not be trasfered to pc
Canon can dramatically improve this camcorder with a very easy upgrade allowing to use SDHC flash memory to record video.
Also allowing to turn off the DV cassette mechanism to save battery, while recording in the SDHC flash memory or if used just as a camera or analog/digital converter.
If it is also modified to be use justa as a camera.
I would like to know if this upgrade may be achieved by a firmware upgrade, maybe changing the slot for the SDHC flash in a qualified service center.
I regret that other Canon models with HDD or internal flash memory, do not have features like viewfinder, and lots of connectors, analog/digital conversion, which motivated my interest in this model.
In many situations is more comfortable to use viewfinder, in other the screen. I do not understand why many models lack this feature.
A dust proof and rain case would be a good idea too. And an underwater case like WP-V1 would be nice for this model.
29 of 56 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIXIA HV40
Nickname: Dusty
Location: Santa Barbara
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2009
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, variable zoom speeds
Cons: not enough zoom
I did extensive research before I purchased the HV40; I am not disappointed. The ease of use is its best feature. The image quality is such that even with compression codecs, it keeps a crisp, colorful presentation. Versatility is prime in its switchability between SD and HD, both of which record on miniDV tapes (giving flexability to my archive of tapes, but allowing me to join the HD revolution). Its weight is practically weightless; I use it on a monopod for handheld shooting, which works in concert with the image stabilizer for clean motion control. The hotshoe allows either a shotgun mic or a lamp, which is mostly unnecessary, because it has good low-lux capability, and the built-in mic is more than adequate.
It feels flimsy compared to old heavy metal camcorders, but is actually quite sturdy; with care it should survive for years. The only drawback is the 10x zoom (I always want more zoom), but the variable-rate zoom is marvelous. And, just for kicks, you can steal single frame captures on the fly, on the SD card WHILE it is shooting. Easy PC downloading, and it does HDMI for the fancy TV cadre.
I have NO reservations recommending this HV40 to anyone who still likes tape and versatility. Go for it. But get the bigger battery.
31 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VIXIA HV40
Nickname: Peg
Location: Yorktown, VA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Memory Card hard to find

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2009
Pros: Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use, mindv tapes
Cons: Uncomfortable to hold, Short battery life, minisd for stills
MiniSD for still images are not available in stores. I cannot believe Canon uses such an obsolete product that is not sold in stores for still images. I was totally happy with the product until I realized how that I cannot take still pictures and need to research where to find a miniSD card.
10 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VIXIA HV40
Nickname: colin
Location: Steamboat Springs
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

epic HD Camcorder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 4, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance, great for action shots
I ski a lot so i was looking for a good camcorder to do so and i found this one. it is small camcorder but with almost all of the features of a gl1 camcorder. when i edit ski videos it looks so much cooler when i slow it down now because the true HD comes out.
46 of 47 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIXIA HV40
Nickname: Bob
Location: South Jersey
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Good Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, Short battery life, Flimsy Construction
Great HD camcorder.
Easy to use. Like that it has a viewfinder that other vixia's don't have.
light weight. Menu functions easy to use and adjust.
Video quality is excellent.
Wish it came with a IEEE cable and or video software.
The cover for the HD ports is flimsy. Thoughs are the only negatives.
23 of 36 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site