Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / Flash Memory Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Flash Memory Camcorders or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
5 out of 5
4.75 out of 5
4.625 out of 5
4.25 out of 5

Customer Reviews for FS200

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

FS200

Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
20 out of 25(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FS200
Review 1 for FS200
Nickname: wscrane
Location: Longview TX

Best Video Camera Ever.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2013
Easy to use take good videos with good sound quality, it is easy to move the videos to the computer and transfer to a dvd.
Review 2 for FS200
Nickname: wally
Location: Ky
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Pixela Software

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2010
Pros: easty to use
Cons: software doesn't work
Nice camcorder, good value easy to use. Microphone very sensitive to wind noise. Biggest complaint: the bundled Pixela software (including all available online updates) does not recognize .MOD files which, of course this camera uses. Don't waste your time trying to get it to work, I spent several hours using a variety of video converters and workarounds. Nice camcorder so long as you resign yourself to using third party video converters/editors. I generally like Canon products but not this time. BTW I am running Win7 64 bit.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FS200
Nickname: musicteacher
Location: Redlands, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great product!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, Good Software Compatibility, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
This is a great product-I am a music teacher, grad student, and a parent and I use it to document all three. I use it to record concerts and events (in horrible lighting) and I use it to make home movies of my family. It is incredibly simple to use and its quality is good for what it is-an SD camcorder.
I have seen complaints about transfer and compatability, but if you are buying an SD camcorder I don't know why you would waste time plugging in a USB and trying to transfer through some software. The convenience of an SD camcorder is the SD-you get to pop the card out, pop it into your PC, and you're ready to edit.
I recently had a project as part of my dissertation qualifying exams that required me to film a workshop of some choreography I had done. The lighting was terrible, the sound system was terrible, and I had less than 12 hours to film it, edit it, burn it, and hand deliver a DVD. This camera is the only thing that let me get done on time-I filmed, transferred (via the SD card), edited in Vegas, and burned DVDs in a few hours.
Great product, great price, good quality for what you are paying.
19 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FS200
Nickname: Grumpy
Location: South Africa
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Not Recomended !

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2010
I have been trying to load my pictures onto a pc for the last two hours, its about to be returned or distance checked !
3 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FS200
Nickname: db
Used this product for: Less than 1 month

Hard to use

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2010
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility
All other cameras I have owned, I could hook up to the USB port and the computer would reconize and the software would come up and I could download my videos. I have been at this an hour and I still haven't been able to get my pitures off the camera. What a Pain!!!!!!!
19 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FS200
Nickname: Pete
Location: Thomasville, Ga
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Best Camcoder I've Tried

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
This is the only Cam Corder that I didn't take back. And of course, the last one that I bought. I purcased 5, one at a time and tried them for a week. I took 4 back, keeping the Canon FS200. These were all leading brands. The Canon FS200 has a excelllent image quality. Excellent low light, plus it's own bult in Light. Good sound quality and is very easy to use. It has 3 quality picture ranges. This gives you the choice of quality for your pictures. Battery charges fast
and on the highest quality setting, lasts about 1hr and 20 minute's. The only Con I have is that it doesn't come with a case. You have to puchase that extra. I am used to WMM so I have not usd the Canon Software.
20 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FS200
Nickname: Stewart7
Location: Dayton OH
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Nice Camcorder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility
I am an advanced amateur still photographer [5D Mk II, 40D, S90IS. I still am in the beginner stage of using a camcorder. That being said, the FS200 is excellent for a beginner. Easy to carry, easy to use, Quick Start a very nice feature, and the price is right. I like the Flash Memory/SDHC record capability, much more reliable than my old tape camcorder. I have so far taken numerous small clips and made one longer movie in difficult conditions. The one weakness is the Pixela s/w. It doesn't work on Windows 7 64bit. There was no indication of this until I installed it. I feel there should have been a notice on the disc envelope. I would have at least saved me some time.
I still highly recommend this as a good beginner's camcorder.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FS200
Nickname: Apathfindr
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camcorder for the Price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: bulky battery charger
I bought this camcorder to take pictures of the grandchildren and an up comiing son's wedding. The picture quality is great and even in low light. Battery life is good and I'm not the best with software but have had no problems tranfering from the camera to the computer. This is not my first camcorder and I love this one. The price was good for what you get, I only wish it had come with a more compact battery charger like the one that comes with the Cannon Power Shot cameras. The charger is almost as big as the camcorder. All in all can't find anything else I don't like about this camcorder
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FS200
Nickname: Rick
Location: Albany, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Canon FS200

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: spotty motion pans/zooms
I recently have bought the FS200 and am pretty satisfied with it. It is compact and easy to use. The picture quality is excellent but the motion shots appear a bit too jumpy needing de-intelacer assistance back in the video editor. Zoom range is good but not as controllable as I would like. It is hard to make it variable zoom the way you want it to. The stereo sound quality is great! perhaps too good. Picks up wind gusts very easily. Other then that love it so far!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FS200
Nickname: Lidwish
Location: Maui Hawaii
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Action Photography

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, Easy TV Connectivity
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
I make little surfing videos. I had to zoom to the max and still achieved good quality. I never expected a budget sd camcorder to take such good pictures, and the software I used to make the video is basic windows movie maker.
I am impressing the surfers with the action capability of this camcorder. I can't wait to get a Canon professional quality camcorder. This is the third camcorder I tried , the others didn't work out cuz they weren't Canon quality.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FS200
Nickname: FIJIMAN
Location: LAS VEGAS/HENDERSON, NV
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

CANON'S GREAT LITTLE SD DV CAM

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use, great for travel, very portable
VERY VERY PORTABLE
GREAT CANON DIGIT DV PROCESSOR
GOOD VIDEO SENSOR
SD CARD CAPABILITY
WHILE USING AC POWER, AUTOMATICALLY RECHARGES THE BATTERY PACK (BP-808)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FS200
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: nh
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
this product is great-i can take pictures and video with a flick of the switch-it's very fast-turns on fast, takes fast action photos-never miss a great picture or video again-very happy with this product!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FS200
Nickname: pawdank
Location: Tulsa
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Worst Camcorder ever!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, Easy TV Connectivity
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult Computer Connectivity, Difficult to use, Short battery life, Poor sound/audio, Limited Software Compatibility, poor zoom ability
I am sorry I purchased this product. This camera has extremely poor picture quality, the audio also is inferior to other cameras I have used. It is difficult to adjust the zoom, it has 41 power zoom, but push the button to zoom or unzoom and will go from 1 to 41 times almost instantly, it is impossible to adjust. Could not install the software on my computer. The battery doesn't last long enough. It's just a bad investment. I am giving mine away to charity and buying a good camcorder.
9 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FS200
Nickname: LILBIT63
Location: Tampa
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best camcorder I've ever purchased!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
I have owned several video cameras from the shoulder held video cameras to the hand held camcorders. I can honestly say that I did my homework on the Canon FS200 camcorder. I'm very glad I shose this particular camcorder . Not only is it worth the price, but after extensive testing and experimental camera and video shots, I can honestly say this is a GREAT buy! I even tried some shots at night, the FS200 camcorders night setting is excellent. Canon is a great name with excellent products!!
24 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FS200
Nickname: TheBeamanater
Location: born and raised in Georgia, currently in Iraq
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

awesome christmas

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2009
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, Limited Software Compatibility
My parents bought this for me for Christmas i took it to Iraq with me. The guys in my unit and I have been playing with it pretty hardcore out here. So far, it survived the cold (which was really not that bad here) and the sand/dust. All the electricity out here is 240 volts, so I was happy to find that the adapter was dual voltage compatible (it'll take anything from 110 volts (American) to 250 volts (the rest of the world) and change it to whatever the camera needs and send it to the camera).
It has no low light functions like night vision effects and things of that nature. Also, the software package is not any good. It comes with the drivers and a program required to take videos from the camera and put them on your computer, but that's about all it's good for. The battery life is about an hour and a half on the video mode and probably two hours on the picture mode. A 4 gigabyte card will get you about an hour and a half video time though so it at least matches the card, which is good enough but nothing to get all excited about. Another problem I had is I have a widescreen laptop, and the videos on my laptop are showing up real thin, like a widescreen video on a standard monitor. There needs to be a tool to fix that, but Windows Media Player doesn't have one. The software package needs a toolbox or an independent media player. The camera works great, but the software doesn't.
I'd call this a great buy for beginners or a hobby type person, but not for filming your kids opening christmas presents. You need more battery life for that in my opinion.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FS200
Nickname: Seadog
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Dollar for Dollar, The Best!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: adequate low-light performance
I was looking for a camcorder to replace the 8mm camcorders I already had. I did a lot of research on which Canon product to choose. I chose the FS-200 because of the features it had. I did not need an HD camcorder at this time. After using it several times, I found that the ease of use, quality of movies, size, weight, and cost have all been Super. I am absolutely happy with my choice. I will forever be a Canon customer. They also have the best and fastest Customer Service of any camera company I have ever experienced.
42 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FS200
Nickname: Lady Ben
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Good Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility
Love the lightweight of the camera. Software is hard.
10 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FS200
Nickname: KidReporter
Location: Port Townsend, WA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best of Breed For KidReporter Covering Olympics

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use, external mic, headphone jack
A 10-year-old TIME For Kids Reporter and I purchased Canon FS200 camcorders a couple of days before Thanksgiving. As a budding journalist that is planning to cover the Vancouver 2010 Olympics Games the KidReporter's basic requirements in his second flash based camcorder were:
- external mic for interviews
- headphone jack to monitor audio levels (handheld mic to close, not close enough, background noise to loud, etc.)
- optical zoom to capture action that far away
- battery monitor in real time
- fast battery charge ( 20 minutes charging a depleted FS200 battery yields 60 minutes of recording time)
For price/performance, the FS200 is the “best of breed” on the market today. It is the perfect portable pocket camcorder for a KidReporter that has to get their reports online ASAP.
The free Windows editing program is used to edit. The .MOD files import with zero issues.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FS200
Nickname: Mac Owner
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Don't buy if you own a Mac

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2009
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, Difficult to use, Short battery life, Limited Software Compatibility
If you own a Mac computer and expect to use the SD cards to transfer movies to your Mac or send the cards to friends with Macs, don't buy this camera. Despite the vendor assuring us that it included Mac software, that saftware was worthless. This was my first and last Canon product!
45 of 66 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FS200
Nickname: selva
Location: Norristown PA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, good battery life, Great sound/audio, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
Good Quality video. All the videos are good. The only concern is the click sound when zooming,, otherwise it is a good product..
14 of 16 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site