Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA Pro Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA Pro Series or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II

PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II

The best way to reach extraordinary heights is to print, exhibit and preserve your works of art up to 13" x 19" with the Pro9500 Mark II Inkjet Photo Printer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.053 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
5
28 out of 38(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II
Review 1 for PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II
Nickname: Mat
Location: Forida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not for the professional

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2013
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, no support for 11x14 paper, canon does not sell 11x14 paper, front paper feed is a joke
If you started in photography with a dark room, like i did, a print size of 11x14 is standard. There is no support for this in the paper profile. This is not acceptable. I will get rid of this printer as soon as i can. I have been a fan of Canon for about 20 years but no longer. Yes you can make a custom size 11x14 but not borderless. That would be ok only the borders are not equal and the bottom is about twice the size of the rest. Changing the numbers in the dialog box does nothing. I expected more from Canon. I am completely disgusted with this product.
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II
Nickname: ticked
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Shoddy quality

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2013
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: unreliable
Purchased the Pro9500 Mark II to enable me to print large pictures after vacation trips. I have owned it for about 2 years now. First impression, excellent. Pictures come out with amazing clarity. After printer was left unused for a couple months, the paper feed for large prints quit working. Called Canon and got it repaired. Now here it is about a year later and minimal usage in that time, same exact problem. It is broken again. Do not waste your money on this printer. It is completely unreliable.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II
Nickname: granpa billy
Location: Montclair, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

After Reviewing other printers

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed
I had been lookingfor a photo printer that gave me a quality picture plus a size larger than 8X10. I reviewed printers for a long time and finally decided on the Pixma pro 9500 MK ll. Quality is the key word, The images on photo paper have exceeded my expectations and I am very happy to have purchased this Canon product.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II
Nickname: Toe McAnkle
Location: High Ridge, Missouri
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Photo from the Pixma 9500 Mk II

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, easy to use
I've owned my printer for about a year. I've had no
problems with it. Each and every picture looks
just like the exposure. I could not be more satisfied
with my purchase!
9 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II
Nickname: JayhawkMAH
Location: Lawrence, KS
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

DO NOT BUY THIS PRINTER!!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2012
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, unreliable, huge ink usage (or wasted), stopped printing yellow & magenta, expensive to own, expensive to operate
I purchased this printer at the end of March 2010. It printed perfectly for the first 7 months. With the exception of going through large amounts of ink, it printed high quality images. I was going through a set of ink cartridges about every 12-15 4"x6" and 5"x7" photos on Platinum Pro paper. Cost per photo is a lot higher than I expected. It would be cheaper to have someone else print them.
In October 2010, I noticed that the yellow stopped printing, so I tried cleaning and then deep cleaning of the nozzles. When that failed, I contacted Canon and they ended up sending me a new cartridge tray since it was still under warranty. Everything worked fine again for about a year. With the exception of high ink usage.
Now the yellow and the magenta has stopped printing. I have cleaned and deep cleaned to no avail. And of course the warranty has run out. Now this is nothing but an expensive doorstop.
I would highly suggest purchasing something other than the Canon Pixma Pro9500 MKII.
33 of 35 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II
Nickname: Bear
Location: Denver, CO
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Photo printing

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint
Excellent print productions. Foot print is large but still very compact for the output size.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II
Nickname: photo16
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Very bad on ink

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2012
There is no issue with the quality of the images produced by the PIXMA PRO 9500 II. For me it is an issue with ink. The ink cartridges are small and the printer cleans regularly which wastes the ink. The 'ink low' feature is not very accurate and it is difficult to tell how much ink there is left to go. So, once the 'refill ink' light comes on and you change the cartridge the printer goes through a clean process again which often puts another cartridge out of ink. So off you go again. It's great if you have a batch of photographs to print, but very costly if you're only printing one or two at a time
20 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II
Nickname: robbo
Location: Uk
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Just the best

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2011
Pros: quality, build quality
Cons: foot print
I'm not going to say much apart from the fact that this is the best quality printer I have ever owned. I do not seem to have any issue with ink usage and find it no worse that other makes.
Print quality is second to none.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II
Nickname: JTH
Location: Hartford,CT
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2011
This is the best printer I have ever had. It is easy to use, prints are beautiful and clear. I have never had an issue with it that I could not take care of myself. I only use the canon inks, I tried others and did not get the quality. I print all my photos with it and for the price it was a very good purchase. I am VERY happy!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II
Nickname: discow
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years

amazing quality without question!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2011
Pros: reliable, durable, High Quality Output, easy to use
This is my first canon printer, I have had it for about 2 years and the quality is second to none. If the only thing you want to do is think about printing awesome quality photos this printer is for you.
A truly problem free printer. The richness of the colors, the quality of the print, and the ease of use. An awesome investment for the very good amateur photographer or the professional. Thank you Canon!
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II
Nickname: meli
Location: San ysirdo
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

my printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2011
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable
Cons: High Running Cost
Ink is wow... but love the printer. It prints awesome but very expensive to run I printed 4 11x14 and need new ink. I wish the ink would last longer
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II
Nickname: MacDaddy
Location: Columbia, SC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wow

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2011
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Good Media Handling, durable, High Productivity, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, easy to use
Quality of prints are just WOW. I will be using this printer for my fine art prints as well as commercial photography. Yes, inks cost more but when you want to sell the best, than expect to pay more. My clients love the quality and are willing to pay a little more for it. This printer will set me apart from the cheap guy's.
28 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II
Nickname: freedombird
Location: Wheelersburg,Ohio
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

great printer!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2011
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Good Media Handling, durable, High Productivity, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, Low Running Cost, easy to use, the ink will run more but the results will be mor
The pictures are great and the paper for printing with borders makes us look like pros. Our daughter was the test and she gave us outstanding ratings! Although the printer is large, we will still take it with us when we travel. We have an Airstream travel trailer and will be traveling all over the U.S. So we should have quite selection of photo opportunities.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II
Nickname: Amateur Photog
Location: Long Island, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Photo Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2011
Pros: Easy Setup, Good Media Handling, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: High Running Cost, Large Footprint
I have had the PIXMA pro 9500 Mark II for about four months now. It produces the best photo reproduction on standard off the shelf photo paper of any of the five printers I have worked with over the years. Good points: Very nice rich colors, nine individual ink tanks use only the precise color inks required for printing, crisp and precise image edges, moderate print times at the highest quality settings, printing to the edges of paper, takes large format papers, accepts textured papers very well, closes up to a somewhat smaller footprint that also keeps dust off all working components. Points of concern: tough to create custom size photos (ex. 4.25 X 5.5), quite a healthy consumer of ink, inks not available in local office supply stores yet, large footprint. Overall I give it an excellent rating. It is producing the best quality photos (they rival professional shops) in sizes that include large formats.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II
Nickname: Tony
Location: Snellville, Georgia
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Printer!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2011
Pros: super color and b & w
Cons: front loading is slow but tolerable.
My primary use for this printer is for creating my fine art images on archival papers. The Pro 9500 Mark II surpassed my expectations in both color and black and white reproduction.
It provides the quality that I would expect from a professional printer.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II
Nickname: PDXPhotoBug
Location: Portland, OR
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Major Limitations with Fine Art Papers

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2010
Pros: reliable, durable, High Quality Output
Cons: Low Productivity, Poor Media Handling
First, let me say that I am a loyal Canon customer and have been using their products for over 30 years. This is really my first bad experience with any Canon product. Don't get me wrong, I like the quality of the images produced by my 9500 Mk II just fine. The 10 color ink system does a great job. My biggest challenge and disappointment with the printer is the fact that it will not print standard 8.5x11 or 13x19 images on fine art paper. I really like the Canon Museum Etching and Photo Rag papers but the printer will not print borderless or even handle prints with an even border (horizontal and vertical) on the Canon fine art papers. The driver imposes an arbitrary border that reduces the actual image size on a 13x19 to something like 10 7/8" x 16 1/4". This makes framing prints a real hassle. Standard size frames for 13x19 or 12x18 won't work without using a custom matte. The truth is that this printer won't handle borderless prints or standard print sizes on fine art papers. Limitations like this should be clearly identified in the specifications or marketing literature. Instead, the Canon website claims the printer to be "perfect for fine art prints" and provides not even a hint of the limitations of printing on fine art papers.
152 of 155 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II
Nickname: Photodecalman
Location: Lexington, KY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Very nice...very nice indeed

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2010
Wonderful, versatile machine that has so far worked flawlessly. Using primarly as a photo decal printer...but some 13 x 19 photos as well. Lets start with the bad. Ink usage seems like its going to be high on a few cartridges...especially GY. I print in full color, but lots of black in images. Seems the printer must tap the GY for the darks heavily. And you'll likely have to purchase them online and keep a set handy. If I had went a 9000, those are on the shelf at Staples, Best Buy, etc. Another negative is lack of network connectivity. It would be nice to not have to plug into this gem. But alas, I use netbook as my printer interface. I don't like the imposed margins with certain materials. And spool up time from power up takes a bit.
The good...it works as advertised. Colors are not muted on mine. Just did a 13 x 19 on photo semi gloss and it is spectacular. As have been all the prints and decals ran through this unit. Colors are vivid and pop. Amazingly sharp images. No grain. The printer has done a perfect job of translating on screen to on paper. Not a single jam....even using vinyl through the top feed. Print quality is very dependent on the user telling the printer the material fed through it. Excellent printer!
37 of 37 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II
Nickname: GERRITL
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Washed up

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2010
I have an old Canon i9900 that prints beautiful, vivid color 13 by 19 inch enlargements and am very happy with it still today. I purchased the Pro9500 to reach the next level of quality art prints. After thorough research into color profiles, different papers, print drivers and custom print settings, I must report that the Pro9500 prints I have produced are inferior to others. I have worked with Canon technicians extensively on this problem and to date have not been able to produce a satisfactory quality print with the Pro9500. I have concluded that the problem is probably the pigment based ink system; if you desire muted, dull and washed out prints, this is the printer for you.
54 of 75 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II
Nickname: Dale
Location: Tennessee
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2010
Pros: well built, quiet, beautifull color, folds up nicely, easy to use, easy hook up
Cons: greys comes out more of a blue then grey
I haven't printed alot on this printer yet,i've just had it for a few weeks,,And i've only printed fine art pieces,And only on three different types of canons fine art papers,its a well build piece of equipment,very quiet,,,The only problems i have found so far,is that my greys on my painting when printed come out more of a blue then grey,,i'm only using the easyprint setup,i quess it needs some ajustments,but haven't found how to do that yet,,i don't know if the photoshop element 8 that come with the printer would help in this or not,i installed it,,couldn't figure out what it did,so i uninstalled it,,but i belive once i get the hang of it, this will be a great printer,,every color but the grey comes out beautiful,,
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA Pro9500 Mark II
Nickname: HN
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Awesome!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2010
Pros: easy set-up, high quality, durable, reliable
Cons: bulky, expensive, limited paper type
This printer is just a-m-a-z-i-n-g! It's great when you use paper type recommended for the printer such as the Photo Platinum Pro. Though there is a downside to this printer which is the inability to print with glossy paper because it makes the colors a bit dull. If you print photos mostly with glossy paper, I'd recommend other printers.
I usually shoot pictures in RAW format and what I do before I run the photos to the printer is do some adjustments with photoshop such as the exposure, white balance, noise reduction, sharpening, etc. Then adjust the image to whatever size I want and save it as a TIFF file. This is how I've learned to do at school and it works great doing the same sort of work flow with this printer. It may be time consuming for some, but it sure saves you from wasting ink and paper, considering they run on high costs.
16 of 19 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site