Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Scanners Reviews / CanoScan Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop CanoScan Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for CanoScan LiDE 700F

CanoScan LiDE 700F

Average Customer Rating:
3.905 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
0
16 out of 21(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CanoScan LiDE 700F
Review 1 for CanoScan LiDE 700F
Nickname: sterven c
Location: Gulf Coat retirement
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: more than 20 years

excellect scanner

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, easy to use
I am scanning family photos for my family and my parents. I am up to 8,500 photos scanned and this scanner is still making crystal clear scans. For the price this has been a great buy.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for CanoScan LiDE 700F
Nickname: ElderGeek
Location: Sacramento, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Software is Pathetic

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 25, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, vertical install
Cons: Difficult to use
I bought this to upgrade from a LiDE 600. Nice, solid scanner absolutely undermined by software apparently designed as a high-school programming project. No logic or rhyme or reason for menu options, poor, slow results. I've had to buy third-party software (PaperScan) to make it usable. I know I'm a mere novice (57 years in the computer industry), but this scanner gets less use than the older LiDE 600 Ihave.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CanoScan LiDE 700F
Nickname: SamSpade
Location: Kansas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great fast scanner

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, durable, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use
I've been VERY pleased with this scanner for the cost VERY good, seems fast and accurate. Cannon seems to contine support for new drivers and software OS, some companies do NOT.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CanoScan LiDE 700F
Nickname: Harry

Problem understood

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2013
I have had this scanner for 2 years, using it mostly for pdf documents. I had a problem with speed and disfunction as mentioned in a number of the negative reviews. I learned that the cause of the problem was my USB port. When I used my usb extension port the scanner was slow and disfunctional. When I plugged it into my Mac installed port it worked fine. You might explore this yourselves in such cases.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CanoScan LiDE 700F
Nickname: I Babe
Location: North Haledon, NJ
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

was Disappointed

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2012
Pros: Compact Design, High resolution, easy to use, easy to transport
Cons: Slow-speed scanning, doe not do slides well
I went to use my scanner and realize it does not do slides.
very well. I need the adaptor for the slides if it comes with one .The adaptor is only for negatives. I was told it was just like the one I had which did slides and was great . That why i went with this one .
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CanoScan LiDE 700F
Nickname: Pianist
Location: Maryland
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Fills the Bill, Perfectly

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2012
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use, minimal warm up time
Small footprint, low profile, big features....this unit beats the others hands down. Running exclusively on USB power, this unit has all of the advanced features. It is the most user-friendly scanner that I have ever used. The hardware and the software are both superb. Canon has a winner with this one!
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CanoScan LiDE 700F
Nickname: JJ
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Glad this was suggested by salesman.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2012
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use, inexpensive
I bought this to scan decades old photos of my family, and am very glad I picked this unit. It was easy, and guick.
My sister and I figured it would take all day, and were pleasantly surprised when we finished in less than 3 hours. Several hundred photos that would have been lost to fading or neglect are now saved in a digital format. I would buy it again if anything ever happened to this one.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CanoScan LiDE 700F
Nickname: Shayno
Location: Southern California
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Skip this one....

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2012
My main dislike of this scanner is that when I want to use it it takes forever to get it to respond. I have to unplug it from the computer several times before it comes to life. This should not be---all you should do it click on the scanner icon.
Definitely will not buy another Canon scanner!
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CanoScan LiDE 700F
Nickname: bpowell
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

disappointed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2012
was very disappointed. product was reported to do 9600dpi output, but the best it would ever do was 2400dpi, without erring. and that took 6 minutes for an 8x10 photo. Utilities provided only allow 600 dpi as output from the options menus.
So had to use native utilities to even get that level of output.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for CanoScan LiDE 700F
Nickname: jt
Location: portland, or, usa
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

wonderful until it broke

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2012
Pros: top quality
Cons: mechanical failure 3 months out of warranty
This was a wonderful scanner for the money and for the size. The software is a bit clunky, and had odd defaults but works just fine. The photo and document scanning quality and speed are superb. Mechanical failure 3 months after the warranty expired means it's going straight to be recycled.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CanoScan LiDE 700F
Nickname: jt
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

great scanner, mediocre software

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2011
Pros: Compact Design, High resolution, High-speed scanning
Cons: Difficult to use
The quality of the scanned images, and the speed with which the machine scans are both excellent. No complaints about the construction or operation. The scanner software leaves something to be desired. It is tedious to use and sometimes allows for only odd output formats for color documents (tiff). It's not terrible, but just not very well thought out.
10 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for CanoScan LiDE 700F
Nickname: Dr. Mike
Location: Worldwide
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

The same EXCELLENT performance.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use
I am a factory rep / trainer for an oil rig manufacturer. I travel worldwide, and to VERY remote and rugged areas. My scanner operates flawlessly, portable or mobile. Powered through the USB, there is no need for line power, no silly transformer to lose, or fail when you need it most.
It produces excellent resolution, and is certainly plenty fast. On occasion I need to scan a slide or negative. The results are very good. It is built lightweight, but is NOT flimsy. Use good sense and it will serve you trouble-free for a long time. This unit was bought in addition to a LIDE500, which has functioned flawlessly for years, and still does. I recommend this scanner without reservation.
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for CanoScan LiDE 700F
Nickname: danny
Location: peoria ill
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

light duty best purchased ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 9, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use
i have used this scanner for nearly 2 years now and i and able to carry it within my computer case as requires only a usb driver too operate.i haved scanned alot af pdf, pictures film and slides. as well as jpeg pictures. it even divided out more than one picture on a sheet on paper and scanns them seperately. it is and all around carry aroung scanner that server any purposes.
15 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for CanoScan LiDE 700F
Nickname: Saggy101
Location: Long Island, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Very cool little film scanner

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, easy to use, High-speed scanning, High resolution
Cons: needs an adaptor kit for 35mm slides
I’m quite impressed with this small but powerful film & photo scanner. After an initial calibration process, and a little instruction on how to operate it, the scanner worked flawlessly. Thanks to the help of Canon’s customer service which helped me work through the issue. I was very impressed with the helpful way they resolved the problem. This is a quality scanner, but be prepared to spend a little time scanning your negatives. For myself I didn’t mind physically moving the adapter from one frame to the next. I like things that are simple and straight forward. The technology that let's this scanner work without a power cord is just outstanding. Just plug it into your USB input on your computer, and you are good to go. First you need to load the software provided, which by the way worked right out of the box with no confrontations with Windows Vista, or any other driver. The scanner is slender, and small enough to be portable. So if you’re looking a film scanner made by a company that is known for its optics, this is the film scanner for you. It’s probably not the fastest of all the film scanners on the market today, but it’s was not terrible either. The transferred photos were clear and detailed, but if their enhanced in Photoshop they look that much better. One more thing, if Canon could design an adaptor kit for 35mm slides this scanner would be hard to beat.
27 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for CanoScan LiDE 700F
Nickname: idaspud
Location: Wilds of Idaho
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Very good job but slow

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, High resolution
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow-speed scanning
The software is very annoying in that it prescans then the scanner retracts all the way to zero, then there is about a minute of stall time before it rescans the negative. The results are great but another annoying item is everytime you save the files you have to redesignate where they are to go to. Just some annoying items that the software guys could take care of if they wanted to. I would give the machine a 9.5 but the drivers only a 5. Idaspud.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for CanoScan LiDE 700F
Nickname: Pedro
Location: Oklahoma
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

could be better

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Fast Connectivity, single usb cable for power
Cons: Flimsy Construction, poor film handling, no 35mm slide support, poor photo editing software
Lame image editing software is crippled - a double negative. At least include the full version!
Can't scan 35mm slides, they must be removed from mounts to even be in focus. 35mm negative scans are slooooowwww. But the quality is okay.
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for CanoScan LiDE 700F
Nickname: BJ
Location: Denver, Colorado
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Pretty Good

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Fast Connectivity
Cons: use directions could be better, no ability to size scan
For the cost, it is doing the job. I wish I could size the scan so that I wouldn't end up with blank space. I think the directions to store you scanned images could be better. Most directions for electronics are confusing, these are no exception.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for CanoScan LiDE 700F
Nickname: PicNut

Scanning Negatives

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, easy to use, High-speed scanning, Fast Connectivity, High resolution
Cons: poor film guide design
I would probably give this scanner a better rating had it not been for a glitch in their programming. I was able to scan 35mm negatives just fine for a while, then it just wouldn't do it anymore. After a little research I discovered that it had decided it wanted all the frames in the film guide to be occupied. It has six frames available, but I only have four frame strips. After filling the empty frames with black construction paper it worked fine.
24 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for CanoScan LiDE 700F
Nickname: Indy
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Mixed Bag

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2009
Pros: Fast Connectivity, High resolution
Cons: Flimsy Construction
Pros: Inexpensive & easy to set up. It produces a decent image and can be fast unless you want to increase the dpi.
Cons: Lid is very flimsy. The instructions on doing film strips/slides is a joke. There is a detailed image of how to plug in the film adaptor unit but almost nothing on how to position the slide or film strip. You have to experiment with it to figure that out yourself. If you can do 10 slides/film strips in a hour you are quick. Becareful in closing the lid. It moves the items on the document glass.
30 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for CanoScan LiDE 700F
Nickname: Mickey
Location: NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great, but scans film "strips" not "slides"

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, easy to use, High-speed scanning, High resolution
Cons: Flimsy Construction, can't do 35mm slides
I'm very pleased with the overall performance of this unit. However, I was hoping that I'd be able to scan old 35mm SLIDES on this unit as well, which apparently it will NOT do. It has a separate attachment to do 35 mm FILM STRIPS but that's simply not what I need (How many of you scan "strips" these days?). How easy would it have been for Canon to have simply included SLIDE scanning as well? Anyway, considered just as a document/photo scanner it's fast and simple to use with high resolution.
33 of 33 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site