Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A1100 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot A1100 IS

Average Customer Rating:
4.097 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(144 Reviews) 144
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (144 reviews)
5 stars
83
4 stars
28
3 stars
9
2 stars
12
1 star
12
111 out of 144(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A1100 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot A1100 IS
Nickname: Big Ed
Location: Auburn, PA 17922
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Gift

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2011
Pros: easy to use
Cons: could use more zoom
Received this camera as a gift from my daughters Christmas 2009. It is the best camera that I've ever owned.
I only wish that it had a little more Zoom but for 2009 3X zoom was high.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A1100 IS
Nickname: Ama GK
Location: Charlotte, NC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Structural Design Flaw

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2011
Pros: good quality pix, easy to use
Cons: bad design on battery door latch
The camera is easy to use and takes great pictures, when the battery door stays closed. The latch on the battery door is poorly designed and allows the door to partially open, causing power to disconnect. Now, for the 3rd time in less than 2 years, I must go thru the process of returning it for repair. Hoping for a long term fix this time. I am quite experienced at using electronics...
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A1100 IS
Nickname: Queen Bee
Location: Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not happy with this camera

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2011
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu
Cons: Dim LCD, Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
This camera just eats batteries. We are able to take maybe 10 photos before the battery goes dead. Most pictures come out burry. I have had Canons before and loved them. It is hard for me to believe that this camera is a Canon. I would recommend getting something else, especially if you have children or animals. It takes way too long to take the photo and no child or dog is going to sit still that long. We have missed a lot of priceless memories because the camera is fickle.
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A1100 IS
Nickname: SteveJ
Location: Southern California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Managing battery life

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2010
This is my 3rd Powershot, all very good. The A1100is battery life can be managed by (1) setting "IS" for ONLY when the picture is actually taken, instead of continuously running. (2) use high capacity rechargeable, not alkaline. (3) in bright daylight turn off the LCD and use the viewfinder instead. All cameras have problems with LCDs when it's sunny. Canon is one of the few who still have viewfinders. When the battery warning light goes on, I switch off the LCD and can get another 30-40 shots. (4) in my small camera bag I keep a 3 sets of AAs (two rechargeable, one Lithium). This works great..
32 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A1100 IS
Nickname: Javier
Location: Miami
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

It's a Canon Should I say More

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2010
I would recommend this brand and style of camera for anyone who is looking for simplicity and ease of use. I would like a better flash charge but still acceptable.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A1100 IS
Nickname: gone hiking
Location: Maine
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2010
Pros: compact size
Cons: photo quality, 4x zoom, slow lag time
Very disappointed in this A1100 model. Forced to replace my A720 model because of the date/time feature failure that was not cured by replacing the date/time battery. I find the quality of the photos grainy and poor color quality. The shutter lag time is extremely frustrating. I want a camera to take the picture when I'm ready. Many missed photo ops because of shutter lag. Miss the 6x zoom to the 4x. Big difference. Like something small and compact for hiking. A camera that will respond quickly for those key, spontaneous moments of people, nature and wildlife.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A1100 IS
Nickname: Buster
Location: Shawnee mission Ks
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Canon a1100is

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2010
Pros: small
Cons: eats batteries, sometimes doesn't focus
I like the size. It takes really good pictures. It eats batteries
like nothing i have ever seen. Unless you have unlimited access to cheap batteries don't buy. When the camera says change batteries they are about 10% used and the battery tester still says good . I tried rechargeable ones and they last about 4-8 pictures on a good day. I have used 8 fresh new alkaline batteries today on 7 pictures. I am going to find an ac adaptor or get a new camera. I cannot afford the batteries.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A1100 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Maybrook, NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera at Affordable price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2010
Pros: viewing screen, multiple camera settings, 12.1 mega pixels, 4x optical zoom, compact and lightweight, image stabilizer, a a batteries
When searching for a camera for my mother, I found this one to have a lot of features at an affordable price. It also had a nice sized viewing screen. After showing her how to use it, and seeing the quality of the camera, I ended up buying one for myself. For a camera that takes great pictures and is simple to use, I would recommend this one. Canon's quality really shows.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot A1100 IS
Nickname: Olivia
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Take my advice - do not buy!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2010
I've had the Canon A1100 for less than a year (6 months?) and today have received an error message for "lens error" upon turning on the camera to take a picture. The camera makes a short grinding noise but the lens is locked in the closed position while the error msg flashes onto the screen briefly. Nothing else will happen. This item has been used responsibly and not abused. And I am not the only one to experience this error. Do a google search and find out for yourselves. In this economy, I would have to say this is not a smart purchase. There is no telling how long this camera will function.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot A1100 IS
Nickname: NoMorCanons
Location: CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

What a piece of junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 28, 2010
The camera takes decent pictures but IT EATS BATTERIES. I average 6 to 10 pictures on a set of batteries. This is the worst Digital Camera I have ever owned.
You have lost my business Canon.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot A1100 IS
Nickname: Grant
Location: Sacramento, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

An exceptional camera for the price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2010
We have several digital cameras that range from ultra compacts to DSLRs. This one replaces a camera similar in size that my wife carried in her purse or pocket. It had just too much shutter lag for quick shots. She still wanted the convenience of using easily available AA batteries. I also like having a viewfinder. The viewfinder is small but it is still nice to have in brighter areas and quick photo shots. I found the macro mode very excellent. I took some photos well within two inches. I was very impressed with the CD user guide. I think that is well written particularly for people less familiar with digital cameras. The printed quick start guide is the best I have seen. This is a fun and easy to use little camera.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot A1100 IS
Nickname: Anonymous

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2010
Most pictures are blurry. It takes a long time to get a shot, even with a high speed card. Liked my old Canon, but am frustrated with this one. It also doesn't stay on the setting that I set it on.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot A1100 IS
Nickname: Notta BatteryMogu
Location: Wisconsin
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Are There Enough Batteries in the World for This?

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2010
The pictures the camera takes are fine. It's just I have to take 3 or 4 sets of batteries if I go to a wedding, kayaking, camping etc. It is so annoying to change batteries all the time. It will cost you a fortune in batteries if you take alot of pictures.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot A1100 IS
Nickname: neil
Location: Oakland, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

very good, few suggestions

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2010
Pros: visual viewfinder, uses batteries
Cons: settings wheel too easy to dislodge, too easy to re-format and lose pix
So, i have two main needs in a point and shoot digicam:
a) viewfinder
b) batteries (often rafting, backpacking, without power)
This camera has both, for a good price and excellent quality images.
two important suggestions for canon (hope they read these)
a) the dial on top for settings is very easily dislodged / rotated when putting the camera in / out of your pocket. i'd often take it out, and it's moved from 'auto' (my default) to movie or program or some other setting. too easy to roll with just handling the camera
b) in using menu to check memory space on card, WAY too easy to inadvertently hit 'format' (and thus ERASE everything on your card). i found this out the hard way. it should absolutely have an 'are you sure.....you'll lose all images on card'' screen (like when deleting a computer file) before letting you reformat so easily. I'm quite tech savvy and if i made this mistake, suspect others can too
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot A1100 IS
Nickname: AZphotog
Location: Prescott, AZ
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

User friendly, good quality for the price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2010
Pros: add a pro
This Cannon digital camera is great for the user. Good quality review screen and photos. Easy to use and/or program. Using rechargable batteries is better for the camera. Easy to read and program if you have the desire. Overall, this Cannon camera is great for the first time user for the price of the camera. I did have a error with the lens, but returned to Cannon and within 10 days had the camera returned (at no cost), working excellent! Thank you Cannon for repairing and returning the camera. You will enjoy this camera for the price and quality and ease of use. Recommend a 8 gb or higher memory card if you want videos. The IS feature is great too! Recorded videos are good along with the sound. Enjoy the camera! My Cannon camera is working great!
Review 16 for PowerShot A1100 IS
Nickname: Bill H
Location: Nashua, NH
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Plays well with Ubuntu Linux

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2010
Pros: movie mode, ease of use, picture quality
Cons: Short battery life, no voice memo function
Bought this camera as a replacement for my faithful A75. Plugged it into my Ubuntu Linux box and...presto! F-Spot came up and started downloading pictures. This is a great camera. The thing I miss most is the voice memo function that the A75 had. Also, battery life isn't that great but if you use rechargables and turn the LCD display off you should get at least a day's shooting. Excellent movie mode.
In short: a great little camera.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot A1100 IS
Nickname: bananie

perfect until it breaks

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2010
Pros: great features
Cons: fragile
i have gone through this same camera twice, and unfortunately, it seems to keep malfunctioning. unlike many of canon's other quality products, this camera's retractable lens can be easily opened and jammed - therefore ruining the camera. with only a 90 day warranty, this has made an otherwise great product an unwise investment. i love the features and settings; it has survived many ski trips, snow adventures, waterskiing and kayaking trips. but with the faulty lens, i would suggest investing in something a little more durable.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot A1100 IS
Nickname: jbksmomma
Location: Portsmouth, VA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great Camera...Low Battery Life

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2010
Pros: megapixel, user friendly
Cons: Short battery life
I just bought this camera about a week ago and I have already taken over 100 pics. I love this camera and would recommend it to anyone looking to purchase a nice but decent priced camera! The only problem I have is with the batteries. I have only had this camera for a week now and I have replaced and put brand new batteries in this camera 3 times already. Yes they are brand new batteries straight out of the package, and the are Duracell. Anyone have any other ideas how to make my batteries last longer? I'd rather not use the rechargeable ones only because I'd rather be able to replace the batteries right away and not have to carry a charger around with me. Overall best digital camera I've ever owned!!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot A1100 IS
Nickname: George S.
Location: CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

PowerShot A1100 IS

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2010
Pros: easy to use, is feature, viewfinder for bright light use
Cons: no printed user guide
Great little camera with excellent features and abilities. It is consistant with Canon quality. Disappointed that it did not come with a printed version of the User Guide.
Review 20 for PowerShot A1100 IS
Nickname: lilagurl
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Wipes out card at random

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings
Cons: Missing features/settings, erases photos at random
This camera was great for about the first three months--then it started erasing the memory card at random. Putting a new card in and replacing/recharging the batteries did not help the problem. The setting for formatting the disk was also okay. Would not buy a Canon product again.
2 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site