Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A480

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot A480

Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
44 out of 48(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A480
Review 1 for PowerShot A480
Nickname: Mom
Location: NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Save your money

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2010
Junk,,, as far as I'm concerned. Had it less than a year. Batteries do not stay charged. Now it will not take pictures outside. Just come out white. Don't waste your money!
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A480
Nickname: Bab
Location: Milpitas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Good digital camera

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2010
Pros: easy focus featue
This camera is easy to use. It comes with all the cool features you need in a camera . For example the self-time feature which allows the camera activate approximately 10 seconds after the shutter button is pressed. If you are not looking for the best quality pictures, then this is your ideal camera.
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A480
Nickname: Diskman
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

poor battery life

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2010
Cons: battery life
Camera works well, takes goog pictures.. but, batteries run out quickly. If I put in new batteries, take 5 pics - upload them - then turn camera off and don't use it, batteries will be dead in 1.5 weeks - and flash takes awhile to charge even with new batteries. Was hoping a firmware update was available but none yet.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A480
Nickname: Nicky
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 19, 2010
I've had this camera for over a year now. It is still working perfectly. Takes clear pictures. There are enough settings for the camera to do its job. Some people may want very high quality pictures while others need fast pictures for sports. This camera can do it all. I am actually pleased with the battery life. I use rechargable batteries (very convienent) and they can last me a couple of months. Then I recharge the batteries again. I always keep a two spares with me though. The camera itself is simple in design, lightweight and easy to carry around.
The only problem that I have ever had is that night pictures may have bad lighting.
Everything else though is perfect... honestly. Great camera. Would recommend it to anyone!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A480
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

beware of dead pixels on the screen

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2010
Pros: megapixels, batteries
Cons: dead pixels
when i biught the camera, i was hoping for the best being i know a owner of a 2006 powershot and i got a dead pixel the same day with NO ABUSE
Review 6 for PowerShot A480
Nickname: viri
Location: TEXAS
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

IT FINE

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I HAVE ONE OF THIS AND IS SO EASY TO USE, THE PRICE IS PERFECT FOR THIS CAMERA JUST A RECOMENDATION BUY A CHARGE BATTERY AND A GOOD MEMORY CARD (THE MEMORY TAKE LIKE 100 PICS) AND (2 MIN. OF FILM)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A480
Nickname: mrflash
Location: Redwood City, Calif.
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
For the money this camera takes excellant pictures. It also does a fine job with short videos to post to youtube.
The features are way more than I'd expect for camera at this price. I'm inclined to buy another one as a back up before it's discontinued.
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A480
Nickname: wolfie
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life, white specs somehow get behind the screnannoying!
Great camera, flash is bright, worth the money. Very easy to use, but somehow white specs appear under the screen and I dont know how to get rid of it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot A480
Nickname: Cochise
Location: North-east Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Powershot A480

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2010
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: a bit too light weight-wise.
This little camera is doing all it's designed to do. If it lasts just half as long as the Canon it replaced, it will be good news!
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot A480
Nickname: Buckshot36
Location: Youngsville, NC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great for the price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Dim LCD
Quality product for the price. Pictures are clear, menu easy to use and battery life is good. Although the unit is not as small as some cameras I find this as an advantage because it's easy to hold and steady. Camera was purchased for pictures only and recommend at minimum a 2GB memory card be purchased.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot A480
Nickname: Camera Pro
Location: Melbourne, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great CamerA

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This camera is one of the best cameras i have ever used. Clear pics, small compact, battery last a long time, 4GB SD card will hold 1450 pics great buy would recommend to anyone. Screen is also very big and clear.
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot A480
Nickname: harouva
Location: Richmond, VA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

do not like it

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Flimsy Construction
i would recommend against this camera. The worst thing about it is that the flash takes forever to charge. You can never take pictures in a row at night because the flash will take 5 seconds to charge between each picture. Don't like the quality of the pictures either. Most pictures are blurry and you need a tripod. The lens messed up right when I bought it and I know this camera won't last for long
7 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot A480
Nickname: Spunky
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, picture quality is not consistant.
i enjoy this camera very much. Took it out of the box and it was ready to use and didn't take very long to figure out. Love the zoom and the quality of the pictures. Just wish the batteries lasted longer. Gone through alot of batteries since i got it on christmas. Have to get rechargable batteries just for this camera.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot A480
Nickname: def1938
Location: Alabama
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

More than I expected

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
A Christmas gift for wife who is digitally challenged. Once out of the box (effective, simple packaging), the A480 was taking photos in about 3-4 minutes. If you have used any modern digital products, the controls are intuitive. After some noodling around in the menus and settings, this camera really shows its versatility. Flash is well balanced indoors. Images are just like they should be. If you are going to shoot many photos, carry a spare pair of AAs...available about anywhere. With a 4 GB card, one can shoot about 1400 photos. This is an excellent point and shoot camera and an exceptional value.
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot A480
Nickname: deabug
Location: none
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

This is an awsome camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
This camera is so awsome! And the red eye correction is awsome!!
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot A480
Nickname: woodchuck
Location: ashland,ohio
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I receved this camara as a gift it is easy to use takes exelant pictuers I realy enjoy using it.
24 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot A480
Nickname: vonissk
Location: Sulphur OK
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Best camera ever

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, easy to use
Cons: software editing program is difficult to use.
I bought this camera in September 2009 after reading a lot of reviews on Amazon and I love it. Easy to figure out ez to use and takes nice charp pictures. The only complaint I have is the software editing program is a little hard for me to use. But it works well with another program I have.
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot A480
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Good for price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable
This camera is a good value for its price. The camera is easy to use in most situations and produces sharp pictures with vivid colors. The low light performance is great with the auto focus giving acceptable results under these conditions. This is a great camera for family snapshots vacation snap shots etc.
50 of 52 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot A480
Nickname: Dayton D
Location: Dayton OH
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

OK for a small camera

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Dim LCD, Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
This camera is easy to carry around in my purse or pocket, but battery life IS a big issue. Also, trying to take outside pictures, its next to impossible to see what you're shooting through the viewer. I really need to spend more to get a camera that I can do wide angle shots for my real estate business. I've tried Lithium batteries, and while they last a bit longer, I'm still having to change batteries after 30-40 shots. This would be a good camera for a teenager that just takes fun shots.
16 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot A480
Nickname: Piratelady
Location: Minden, NV
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Love this camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I bought this camera to go on vacation to Disneyland. I wanted something that I could shoot pics without a lot of wait time inbetween photos, and this camera is great ! Did just what I wanted and the pics are great!!
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site