Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A2100 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot A2100 IS

Average Customer Rating:
3.917 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 12(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A2100 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot A2100 IS
Nickname: Gego
Location: United States
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Very disappointed

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2010
I purchased this camera so I could go to my grandkids ballgames and just carry a pocket camera rather than my large SLR. Nowhere in the info I researched did I find notice that the camera was just about useless in bright outdoor light. I returned to Canon twice for repair and after the second time they advised me of that problem and that it could not be fixed. Now I'm shopping for another compact with an optic viewfinder and I'm sure not looking at Canon.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A2100 IS
Nickname: Jeff
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Incomplete user's manual

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2010
Cons: i wish the manual would explain all the features
The camera has lots of features, and takes good pictures, but the scant abbreviated printed owner's manual does not explain most of the camera's extensive features, so I am missing out on what I could potentially do. I would like to get a print copy that is as extensive as the PDF file one can get on line. I would like to buy a print copy but the website does not direct me or link me to a place I can do this.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A2100 IS
Nickname: Rob
Location: Austin, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

No re-format warning

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Short battery life
Twice we accidentally erased all our pictures from the memory card because the camera contains no warning that this would happen if we accidentally selected the re-format card option. We urge Canon to include such a warning in camera software in the future.
Otherwise, it is a very good camera and we are pleased with it.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A2100 IS
Nickname: Nikki
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Overall A Good Buy

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2010
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor Low-Light Performance, no viewfinder
Overall I did very much like this camera. But having had the previous version in the series, I was disappointed with some things.
It seems to not want to pick up when a picture should be a closeup, since that feature is automatic. Also, a viewfinder would be nice because in bright light the LCD is completely useless. The last thing I was unimpressed with was its lack of quality with action.
It is a good camera dont get me wrong, I especially love the zooming capabilities that dont leave a picture grainy, but a step up from the last version it is only barely.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A2100 IS
Nickname: DDawg54
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Nice camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
So far this has proven to be alot of camera for the money. The only feature I haven't found is an adjustment for shutter speed but it handles action shots and other movement well. Put it on a tripod and it really shines.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A2100 IS
Nickname: SLR guy
Location: Portland, OR
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Stunning

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2009
Pros: easy to use, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, great detail in enlargements, lack of noise/grain in photos
Cons: usb cover flimsy
I wasn’t really in the market for a new camera. I had a nice digital SLR that took good pictures, although it was falling behind current technology, being only a 5MP camera. However, after spending a wedding taking pictures with a compact camera, I was hooked. I knew I’d be doing a lot more photography, and having a lot more fun, if I could carry a camera in my pocket, rather than having to strap on a camera bag. I sold my SLR the next day and started reading the reviews for compact cameras.
I’ve had the Canon A2100 camera for a month now, and really like it. The images are clear with very little noise or grain, color rendition is stunning, and the camera is exceptionally easy to operate. Face detection works well, as does the i-contrast system for ensuring that faces are appropriately exposed. On Auto mode, the camera almost always selects the correct mode for the shot, but you can always override it and choose the mode you want. Having the Program mode available allows those of us who have been shooting for years more leeway in setting individual parameters for special shots. The camera seems to have an exceptional ability to capture shots without using the flash (which I hate to use unless absolutely necessary). Even shots taken outdoors at night on the special ISO 3200 setting are clear and show almost none of the grain or noise you’d expect at this high an ISO value.
Some users have expressed concerns about the battery life with this camera. Admittedly, when I used standard alkalines, I got a low battery alert after about 65 shots. I then switched to Energizer “Ultimate Lithium” batteries, and have taken over 500 shots- and they’re still going. I consider this very good performance for both the battery and the camera. I heartily recommend this camera for those who want an easy to take along, easy to operate camera that produces excellent quality photos.
71 of 71 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A2100 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Center Harbor, NH
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Short battery life
This was one of the best purchases I have made this year! Easy to use, awesome pictures, great size! I have recommended it to many of my friends!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A2100 IS
Nickname: John
Location: Fort Wayne IN
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Sorely Misses A View Finder

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2009
Pros: Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Missing features/settings, very poor lcd viewing in bright light
This camera is fine in all respects EXCEPT in sunlight the LCD is nearly useless for taking pictures. It sorely needs a view finder of some sort.
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot A2100 IS
Nickname: Rena
Location: Everett, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great Purchase

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Short battery life
This camera so far is just great. Very easy to use. The pictrues are just awesome. The only thing I've found that I wish was different is it doesn't seem to snap the picutres quickly but it's not so bad that I regret the purchase with everything else being so easy. After seeing the pictures it took I am impressed.
32 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot A2100 IS
Nickname: photogenic
Location: PK
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

great cam

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: i m behind the cam always :(
Its a great digital cam i ever used. great pic quality. if there is no view finder its ok bcoz LCD is big 3 inches wide. design is very good. i got real return of money.
14 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot A2100 IS
Nickname: BR3NN4N

Good Overall

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, big lcd, iso 80-600
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Heavy/Bulky, made of plastic
It takes great pictures. It is great resolution. But the bad parts are that it is like plastic... really it feels like plastic. it's bulky for the AA batteries. Good show back images. There isn't a view finder which is definetly a con. Decent zoom. Could be better but still worth it.
7 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot A2100 IS
Nickname: doctorgo
Location: Detroit
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Not a favorite.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Missing features/settings
vs. A1000: Lost an f-stop.For me 6X Optical is perfect. AA batteries and viewfinder are a MUST!
No viewfinder = No Sale!
Returned for refund.
40 of 74 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site