Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX1 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SX1 IS

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
3
44 out of 57(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX1 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SX1 IS
Nickname: SayCheese

suggestion

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2009
i love the fact that it takes AA batteries, for when you're abroad and can easily buy any batteries anywhere, but the better tip is to buy Rechargeable AA batteries, 2 sets if you can, so you'll always have a charged set ready to go. Energizer and Duracell both make them. I use them and they last a while before they need recharging.
354 of 425 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX1 IS
Nickname: bartman
Location: boise idaho
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Its no DSLR but darn close

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2012
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, nice manual controls
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor Low-Light Performance
I love this camera.. it doesn't have the abilities of a DSLR but i wouldn't expect it to do so.. Compared to all the point and shoots Ive used this camera feels like a dslr.. I love the manual controls with my only grievance is the manual focus being a but hard to use with the turn wheel, its a bit notchy in the movement thru the focal length.
The zoom is awesome and the image stabilization is awesome as well at the large focal length. The manual controls along with the IS allow you to take some nice panning shots that a point and shot could only dream of.
The 1080p movie mode is amazing in clarity and the stereo surround sound is amazing as well
Image quality is very good even up to 800ISO but you do start seeing some noise in prints larger the 5x7.. But try putting a point and shoot at ISO 800 and you can see the superior quality of the SX1 IS. The photo stitch is a awesome feature as well. I have printed some panoramic shots i have stitched together of about 10x30" size and they came out good enough to frame and put on the wall.
The limits of the camera are when the light level get low, but that doesn't mean that you get bad photos, but rather the shutter speeds start to get slower so taking photos with movement are a but harder to attain without blur, this is where a nice tripod really helps this camera. Even with the struggles of lower light i have taken way more natural light pictures then i have had luck with our canon SX130 IS, which tends to want to use flash anytime the light gets dimmer as is the case with every point and shoot cameras. With the hot shoe and a quality flash with a diffuser you can take some awesome pictures that arn't bleached out like with a point and shot.
I have done quite a bit of night photography with the SX1 IS and have been amazed with the quality of pictures.. The best results i have seen doing this has been when in the night shooting mood, this allow a shutter speed of up to 15seconds... the only draw back is that in this mood you dont get a preview on the LCD like in other moods but a little trial and error gets you some amazing crisp and noise free shots as the the night mood is locked on ISO 80.
Since this is a small sensor camera the advantage you get is a extremely large depth of field the F8 is equivalent to about a F32 which you dont see in the lower end DSLR's. The draw back is the F2.8 is only equivalent to a F8 on a DSLR so getting those awesome shots with very shallow depth of field doent happen unless you use the macro mode..
The macro and super macro moods are awesome and take some amazing pictures as long as you have fast shutter speeds or preferably always use a tripod to get the best sharpness.
Battery life is good as long as you use some NI-MH batteries of 2500ma or higher. I like the heavier weight of this camera as it makes for a more confident feel on the hand compared to the canon SX10,20,30 or the new SX40 IS.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SX1 IS
Nickname: hubb
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

good video poor photo's

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 27, 2011
I was very let down on this camera. the photos are very grainy. no good at all for sports , average for scene photos
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX1 IS
Nickname: Dave
Location: Redding, CT
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Exactly What I looked for

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2011
Pros: great video, flip lcd, impressive zoom
Cons: heavy
This camera isn't the best picture taking camera in the world but obviously that isn't its main function when it takes a 1080p video. It's stabilization feature works beautiful 20xoptically zoomed in and taking video.
If you weren't satisfied buying this camera, you should have researched more about the camera before buying it. If you want pictures and decent video look up Cannon Powershot SX 20 is
And the complaints about the battery life is legitimate, but when using recharable AA's it's actually quite long. 50+ pictures and 20 minutes of full HD video and still going!
Review 5 for PowerShot SX1 IS
Nickname: LT
Location: Seattle
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

This camera is lame

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2010
Pros: takes great movies, easy to use, awesome lens
Cons: bad photo quality, drains batteries, pricey
I have the SX1 IS and hate it. If you are going to spend the money do it on a camera that takes crisp pictures. We have a canon point and shoot camera that takes better photos then this expensive battery draining hunk of junk. It does take good movies though, 1080p is impressive. It is a better camcorder then a camera!
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SX1 IS
Nickname: photofoodie75
Location: Princeton, NJ
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

most disappointing Canon camera I ever purchased.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2010
Pros: none
Cons: extremely bad battery life, images weren't crisp, results not worth the weight that must be carried.
This camera has been traded for credit on the purchase of a PowerShot SX210 SI. I have been using Canon cameras ever since the 1990's when I purchased the Canon Elan II camera. Since then I have switched to digital (except for the first, they have been Canon cameras) & upgraded regularly, I have used three of the G series, two of the S series, & three of the SLR Rebel series. I recently took the Powershot SX1 IS on a trip and found that the battery life was atrocious. I do not review my photos until they have been downloaded, but I still could not get through a day of shooting without replacing the batteries at least twice each day. Add to that it was difficult to get good focus thus the photos had very poor image quality.
4 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX1 IS
Nickname: Second CanoCamera
Location: Redford, Michigan
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, great menu system
Cons: no more than 5 items on my menu settings
First of all, I love the fact that this camera uses AA batteries. I was already used to that from a previous Canon camera. I like the outstanding features this camera has. I have had this camera for about one month, it is a real upgrade from the PowerShot A95. Love the zoom ability during video recording. Love the 20x optical zoom, it is more than enough to get the great photos. The menu system is easy to understand and practical for this camera, one downfall for the menu system is that you can't more than 5 items for personal settings. Love the 2.8 widescreen lcd view panel. Love the "popup" flash controll.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX1 IS
Nickname: QuakerVille
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

SX1 a great replacement camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, combines excellent video with still acquisition.
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor Low-Light Performance
I purchased the SX1 online in June of 2009 with the thought of replacing my DSLR and my video cameras that I always carried along as I photographed wildlife. When I received the camera I decided to put away my DSLR and really retrain myself to shoot with the SX1 because it's so different from shooting with the DSLR I knew I really needed to spend some quality time with the camera.
Advance ahead 10 months of shooting with the camera and I can give you a fair review from my experiences. So far I've shot over 30,000 stills and more than a hundred hours of HD and regular video, almost enough to fill an entire 500 gig hard drive. I carry 32 gigs of class 6 SD chips into the wilds of Florida almost every weekend in pursuit of the perfect picture and I only use my SX1.
To be proficient with the camera I think a seasoned DSLR user has to really spend some time learning the camera and getting used to it's differences to really enjoy shooting with it. A "newbie" shooter won't have any trouble migrating to this format but us older shooters are so used to grabbing the lens of our camera and giving it a quick rack to focus that the electronic version seems extremely slow and archaic. BUT with a little practice a seasoned photog. can retrain his mind and body to the differences, enough so to make some pretty outstanding photos.
Shooting low ISO (80-100) offers the best pictures as long as there is enough light. The picture starts breaking up the higher the ISO/ASA setting. The lens itself is pretty good, it somewhat takes the place of the lower grade Canon lenses but probably won't replace the stabilized EF lenses any time soon, except for price.
Other than not being able to manually rack focus on the camera all the "electronic" devices employed in the camera are a bit of a let down when comparing the experience of a DSLR with direct view through the camera prism versus the view looking into the eyepiece at the fairly low quality TV screen. Even after 10 months I'm still shocked a bit at the low quality of picture seen in the eyepiece versus looking through an SLR. On the other hand I had the very same problem when I converted away from large format cameras to the 35mm format. The transition from 4 X 5 was rather shocking.
Having the ability to carry around a small form camera that shoots excellent pictures and video with a zoom range from 28mm - over 500mm is pretty outrageous. Shooting in HD mode even renders great video when using the built in lens doubler which extends your view to almost 1200mm.
All in all I really like the convenience of the camera, I am getting used to it's differences from a DSLR but would certainly buy another one should this one disappear. I have also owned a SX3, SX5, SX10. All three of those cameras were pretty good too but the SX1 is much better.
Beginners, buy the SX1, you will be able to learn a lot. Veterans, consider it's purchase but remembering that you should get used to it before returning it because of its differences of how you normally work.
51 of 51 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX1 IS
Nickname: Crash001
Location: folsom, ca
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great for families

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
Love the camera for everything, except lacks performance in low light conditions and chews up batteries fast! Recommend this camera. Also, wish it had a lit display on the top of the body.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX1 IS
Nickname: wanderingshoes
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Worst of Both Worlds

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Heavy/Bulky, Flimsy Construction, glitchy
I fell in love with the description of this camera after my old Canon powershot was stolen. It seemed like it would move me to the next level without pushing me into the pricey dSLR world. I loved the features, including the HD capability and zoom. Unfortunately, I've found it to offer the worst of the dSLR and point-and-shoot worlds. It's essentially as bulky as a dSLR with little added benefit. This may be because I seem to have a glitchy, wacky one that's being sent in today for warranty repair (fingers crossed), but I'm skeptical. Here are some of the specific issues I've had with this generally glitchy and unreliable yet expensive point and shoot:
-fuzzy focus, even using 'auto' mode in reasonable light with still subject
-difficulty with 'macro' focus, even in reasonable light with still subject from pretty much any distance
-video is disrupted for over a second when a still is taken
-body is very creaky, especially near grip
-display change button went haywire for about a week
-stops shooting stills without warning when memory card is close to (but not) full. somehow has room for video...
Basically, I'm getting worse photo quality from this big, pricey point-and-shoot than I did from my entry level powershot (720is--A series?). NOT WORTH IT--BIG DISAPPOINTMENT.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX1 IS
Nickname: Cameraman plus
Location: Pittsburgh
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
My SX1 IS is a great camera. It takes great pictures in even the most difficult situations ( lighting, et.) and that is just on the auto setting.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX1 IS
Nickname: FSKCMC
Location: TULSA, OK
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

BEST PURCHASE EVER

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: have to remember to open flash
AFTER READING MANY REVIEWS I DECIDED TO PURCHASE THIS CAMERA. I CAN SAY I AM EXTREMELY SATISFIED. I REALLY LIKE THAT IT TAKES AA BATTERIES, AS I TRAVEL ABROAD AND TAKE MANY PICTURES AND I HAVE HAD MY BATTERY DIES IN THE PAST AND BEEN OUT OF LUCK FOR THE REST OF THE DAY. THIS WASY, I CAN JUST POP NEW ONES IN AND CONTINUE SNAPPING AWAY! THE PICTURE QUALITY IS GOOD AND I CAN ZOOM IN ON PEOPLE UNAWARE FOR TRUE IN THE MOMENT SHOTS! HIGHLY RECOMMEND PURCHASING AN EXTERNAL FLASH TO GO WITH IT.
13 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX1 IS
Nickname: blondebunny
Location: Houston Texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

unsure

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life, Heavy/Bulky
Overall the picture quality is good, lighting is a problem sometimes. Downside is for a camera of it's style and complexity, using AA batteries is so 1995. This camera should have a lithium charging pack. Kind makes the camera feel cheap.
7 of 55 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX1 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Iowa
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

great camera for the price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, durable, easy to use
For an amateur photagrapher that whats great pictures of all types this is a great camera. I wanted a camera with with lens power but don't want to change lens all the time. I bought this right before a cruise and loved it. My friend has a big expensive SLR camera and was always deciding what lens to take with or always changing the lens, by that time I already had my shot. When comparing the pictures afterwards mine were as good and some were even better than he took. I did put a lens filter on it. The only thing I don't like is the lens cap is not attached. And lithiam batteries work great and last longer. I took 500 + pictures while on vacation for 3 weeks and used only 1 set of the lithiam batteries.
25 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX1 IS
Nickname: G
Location: Cranberry Twp PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Its OK

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2010
Cons: Missing features/settings, Heavy/Bulky
Camera looks almost identical to the last one one we had which we loved. It was another Powershot.
What I do not like at all about this camera is there is nowhere to put the lens cap. Previous models had loop on the camer to thread a string through that was attached to the lens cap. This one does not have one and I have already misplaced the lens cap a couple of times. Couple that with the fact there is no available protective glass filter to protect the lens and I can see where this camera's lens will take a beating quickly.
Some buttons are also right where you rest your thumb so you have a tendency to turn functions on and off accidently.
5 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX1 IS
Nickname: Flying Scotsman
Location: Lake Norman, North Carolina
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Is this a just a mini-dSLR with the lens glued on?

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, hyper-speed af
Just can't understand the negative remarks on this INCREDIBLE camera - except it really burns thru batteries! (Ha! 4 AA's would barely power a dead iPod!)
Image quality is simply jaw-dropping! Colors are half-a-heartbeat behind my Canon dSLR and 2nd party lenses. Makes me wonder if this isn't just a mini-dSLR with the lens glued on ...
Video quality (full HD!) makes me sorry I bought a stand-alone video-cam. Yeah, it's THAT good!
From full "P" (Program) to spot-on metering in "M setting" (manual), this little jewel can do it all!. And do it in SPECTACULAR fashion! Auto-focus is blazing fast and dead-accurate!
Buy 2, 3 sets of rechargeable NiMH batteries and a rapid charger and this will be the best non-dSLR you've ever used.
42 of 43 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX1 IS
Nickname: Terry
Location: Denver, CO
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Filters- Yes you can

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, excellent for a point & shoot, easy once you learn it
Filters ARE available. Just buy an adapter ring for the lens. An adapter is inexpensive. Search for "Canon SX20, SX10 & SX1 IS Filter Adapter 58mm" on a good search site. For the amateur who wants very good pictures this is a fantastic camera. Put a little effort into learning it and into learning just some basic photography. No, it is not a DSLR.
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SX1 IS
Nickname: RRinNorCal
Location: NorCal
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

I am happy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, works well underwater
Purchased this about a year ago (before it was available in the States). What sold me was the image sensor, the zoom, and the HD video capability. I am very happy with the camera. I purchased the ikelite underwater housing for the camera and it also works great. I have yet to use a strobe with the housing. For on-land use, we bought a small canon flash. It is much brighter than the flash on the camera. Like most camera/flash combos, this camera tends to overexpose pictures taken with a flash. This is easily fixed by using the exposure compensation. We also purchased the lensmate filter adapter for the camera. It attaches to where the hood would attach and allows the use of standard filters. We bought a red filter for underwater use. I am sure the image quality can not compare to a DSLR with specific lenses. Then again, the price is not even close to the cost of a DSLR with designated lenses. For me, the convenience of not carrying extra lenses and the cost savings outweigh any loss of quality. Besides, my eyes are not good enough to pick up on the weaknesses of the camera when I look at the photos. The video looks great. I shot a 12 minute movie at about 80ft in Key West and the movie looks great on our 50inch TV. As with any video camera, the brighter the conditions you're shooting in, the better the video quality. I wouldn't expect this camera to take spectacular video at night without the help of a light. My next purchase for this camera is going to be a strobe and a video light for underwater use. Last thing, we only use lithium batteries in ours. They seem to last long enough to make their added cost worthwhile.
24 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX1 IS
Nickname: Anonymous

disappointed

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Difficult to use, Complicated controls/menu, controls are entirely too sensitive, quality of image on lcd and vew finder
I have read the other reviews about this camera. It is a mixed bag depending on what your preferences are. This camera is a good camera full of features but it is not going to give you DSLR performance if that is what you are hoping to get. But then it was not designed to replace a DSLR camera either. I have taken a couple thousand photos from this camera. I have a DSLR that I have been using in which I've shot over 50,000 pics in the last year alone. When you take the pics from this camera and do a side by side comparison to the pics of a DSLR camera the difference in quality becomes very evident. This camera takes great pics but they will not hold up to a DSLR. I take mostly wildlife pics and there is no way I can get the shots I'm used to getting with my DSLR camera with this camera. The pics are not as sharp plus this camera is simply too sluggish to get good shots at fast moving wildlife. The long zoom is a great feature however the pics become softer and fuzzy the further you zoom. Compare a pic shot at 300mm from this camera and from a DSLR and you'll see the difference. It's all about how much detail and sharpness you are looking to acquire from your shot.
If you are looking to get the best pics possible then you need to go with a DSLR. If you are content with general picture quality, versatility, and a huge range of options that you will not get from a DSLR then this is your camera. I bought this camera looking to get great long zoom shots from a smaller camera with less weight and bulk to carry through the woods than I have with my DSLR. Unfortunately the camera takes decent zoom shots but they dont' even come close to giving me the eye popping detail that I get from my DSLR. You will have fun as I did with the macro feature as it takes outstanding closeups.
Another thing about this camera that really got on my nerves was the control buttons are far too sensitive. The low-light performance is what it is. If you want great sharp indoor pics in low light you are going to have to use a flash. This camera adjusts the iso sensitivity and shutter speed according to the light in the room. If the lighting is low the camera is going to move the iso sensitivity up to 800 or 1600 and use a slow shutter speed to boost the light. When this happens you are going to get pics that are grainy and possibly noise. This is exactly why when you go and get professional photos taken they will always use lighting. This always gets the sharpest images. If you are not looking to make portraits from your pics this will probably be ok. I read where some people complained about the pics being blurred. This is because of the slower shutter speeds. If the camera moves or your subject moves with real slow shutter speeds it will produce a blurred pic.
With all that said the average camera user that is looking for a camera that is compact and versatile this would be a great choice. Being able to go from shooting closeups...to shooting video...to shooting long range zoom shots from one camera is a plus when you are on a tripor at the zoo. This camera would be great for a zoo trip. I have a DSLR that takes better quality pics but I also have to carry a backpack to hold the different lenses and if I want video a camcorder has to be added. If I want to go from mega-zoom shots to macro shots, I have to make a lens change I can't just turn a dial and be ready. This is something to consider because it can be a hassle changing lenses.
One final thing is in order to get the most out of this camera you have to spend time with it. Shooting hundreds of shots using different settings is going to help you get the best from this camera. You don't want to be on vacation learning how to shoot pics from this camera. Learn before you go. Most of the low-light and night time settings that are on this camera will turn out better if you use a tripod. If you don't use a tripod or a mono pod and you move while taking the pic it is going to be blurred and you are going to be mad at the camera when in reality the camera did exactly what it was supposed to.
I think this camera is a little too pricey but that's just me. I gave it three stars for satisfaction only because the camera did not work for what I wanted to do with it. However the average user of this camera is probably going to like it a lot if they spend time and learn how to use it properly. If not they may find themselves frustrated. Taking time and learning what "shutter speeds", "ISO sensitivity", and "Aperture settings" are all about will improve you outcome greatly.
125 of 138 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX1 IS
Nickname: fotosdobrasil
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

To be perfect...

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2009
Cons: no filters!
A great camera, but the fact of not being able to use filters is somewhat frustrating, this camera needs only one thing to be perfect, the ability to use filters
11 of 19 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site