Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX200 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SX200 IS

Average Customer Rating:
4.361 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(130 Reviews) 130
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (130 reviews)
5 stars
77
4 stars
34
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
3
107 out of 130(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX200 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SX200 IS
Nickname: 1963 Tiger
Location: Miami, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Nice little super zoom

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable
After reading a lot of negatives, I still bought the camera as it has one of the longest zooms on the market and a lot of manual controls not available on other cameras. Thus, if you know what you are doing, you can control image quality BUT you need to read the manual first as a lot of the controls are not in the same place as previous PoerShots and there are some new features which aren't immedaiatley clear.
Battery life - I charged the battery each day before I went out (Singapore for 6 days) and never had any problems. It never even showed less than 100% the whole time and I use a lot of fill in flash.
Flash location. Nobody has really explained that when the flash pops up, there is a cover flap that also raises and you need to take your finger off that flap when powering down. BUT when you see it, understand it, you avoid it. I have very large hands and none of the issues reported in some other reviews affected me. I would have liked to see a bigger function wheel like the SX10 but it is not a deal breaker.
Size/weight - it never bothered me. I carried my old SD450 at the same time and the weight difference is marginal and the size is not that big and you are getting a 12 X zoom.
I do think a tripod is going to be useful in low light and I do appreciate the ISO 1600 and 3200 settings avaialble so you can avoid flash.
1,366 of 1,375 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX200 IS
Nickname: K4Art
Location: S. Oregon
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love this camera!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, affordable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, no stereo recording capability.
I'm amazed at how crisp and clear the pictures are when I use a tripod. Hand held still yields great pics, but I recommend using tripods on all your shots when you can.
The movies are fantastic, and when the volume is right when I record it, I feel like I'm getting professional quality movies from this very affordable camera!
There are TONS of settings available which I don't even use... I can only imagine if I were to really understand the full potential of it!!
If you can find one, GET IT.
Review 3 for PowerShot SX200 IS
Nickname: Vasili
Location: Fort Laquderdale, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2011
Pros: timelapse, zoom, hd video, long life battery, good flash, amazing night capture, tough construct
I love this camera. I have used that for more than a year and I am really satisfied. It's the best camera I ever had. Long life battery, amazing zoom and magnific video HD. I just got an EOS T3i and I will keep this one tto because is easy to cary and the quality of the pictures is the best. Almost PRO.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX200 IS
Nickname: Ally
Location: Omaha, NE
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Well worth the $$

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2010
I got this last February and take it everywhere in my medium sized purse. I'm not sure how to adjust all of the settings for daylight, nighttime, etc. There's some controls that I've never used, that need to read up on! **Well worth the money & a GREAT starter camera for anyone interested in photography. **
Review 5 for PowerShot SX200 IS
Nickname: Heelandtoe
Location: Aurora, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2010
Pros: superior image quality, size and weight, iso range, long battery life, multitude of features
Cons: pop -up flash can be annoying
I have had this camera for almost 2 years. I also have a Canon 40D SLR. There are many times when I do not want to carry the larger and heavier camera and the assorted lenses. I have been extremely impressed with the quality, and performance of the SX200is. The optics are very good. The features available on this point and shoot rival those of the big brother 40D. The battery charge lasts a long time. All in all, this is the perfect camera for a novice to learn digital photography. As a semi-professional photographer for 30 years, I am very pleased with it when I need a smaller camera.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SX200 IS
Nickname: G
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent camara

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2010
Pros: clear pictures, nice zoom, easy to use, size, battery life
Small size camara with a Super Zoom (for it's size)
Lot's of features, and takes very clear pictures!!
In a few words " Is the small version of a Professional camara"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX200 IS
Nickname: JFuhs
Location: Evansville, IN
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Pics, Hard to Use

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2010
I love the quality of pictures this camera takes and the features it has is excellent. The user friendliness of this camera is not so easy though. It takes a while to be able to find all the features and how to use them. By using a scroll system makes it difficult. By the time I find the setting I want to use, especially when taking pictures of my children, the photo opportunity is over and the kids are off doing something else. I love the setting that you can isolate a color in a picture and the rest can be black & white but getting the right color in the picture is impossible to find most of the time. Would recommend this camera for great picture quality but if you plan to use many of the different settings I would do more research for a more user friendly version.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX200 IS
Nickname: eng1dm
Location: Novi, MI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great Point and Shoot Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2010
Pros: easy to use, good battery life, simple controls
Purchased this as a replacement for a trip to Ireland. The 12x Optical zoom is fantastic. I was also impressed by the shutter speed, low light performance and battery life. I was pleased with the outputs available (mini HDMI and USB). The camera has a slightly bigger footprint, but it still fits in a pocket. LCD screen and menu and control wheel make it easy to review pictures\movies on the fly.
The flash is different than other cameras I have owned in that it pops up, and you need to be aware of how you are holding the camera when powering it on\off. After the first couple uses you will have no problem.
Used this camera to document the entire trip: dark castles, scenic cliffs and landscapes as well as people. I was extremely pleased with the results.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX200 IS
Nickname: Greg
Location: panhandle Florida
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2010
Pros: add a pro
Have used this camera inside & outdoors. Easy to use, great photo's and easy to download to TV or printer for viewing and printing.
Recommend it to all.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX200 IS
Nickname: Photo Mom
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great quality except for high contrast closeup fri

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2010
The photo quality and color are excellent except for purple fringing at the edges where there is high contrast. The camera works well in all types of light and is easy to use. It fits my hands well, but I do have a habit of holding it so it blocks the pop-up flash mechanism. The zoom is great and response is quick. It's small enough to fit into my fairly small purse. RAW mode capability would be nice and the fill flash could be better. Great for landscapes.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX200 IS
Nickname: Don4007
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Cannon Sx200 IS

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2010
Pros: add a pro
Cons: add a con
I bought this camera for the powerful lense. It serves its purpose but after trying to replace an digital SLR thinking it would be the same I was wrong.
This camera does not do close ups well, especially jewelry and watches. My less expensive point and shoot did a much better job taking closeups.
Considering the price of this camera I did well but I will need to get a SLR with a big flash do take night shots.
Unless as the directions state you are no more than 10 feet from the subject forget a shot in a dim area. Most of my pictures are at night and not on a perfect clear sunny day.
I wish there was a button to disable that pop up flash. It gets stuck under my finger when I am taking a non flash picture. You can disable the flash but the little flash still pops up. It would make sense to me to disable the pop up flash when the flash is turned off in the camera.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX200 IS
Nickname: gtmskier
Location: Phelps, NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2010
Pros: easy to use, great zoom, great resolution
Cons: none as far as i'm concerned
I am a novice photographer and was looking for an all around camera for the family. Also wanted greater zoom capabilities compared to earlier cameras that we owned. As far as I'm concerned, this camera has worked wonders. The AUTO setting is great if you just want to point and shoot, and the other settings such as landscape, portrait, etc. apparenty tweak settings 'behind the scenes' and I have rarely been disapointed with the results. We are now experimenting with the manual control features and having lots of fun! The micro setting for very close pics is a nice feature. The 12x optical zoom combined with the 12 mega pixels is something else. We were in Yosemite National Park last week, at the top of the valley at Glacier Point. My son zoomed in on some bikers on the valley floor (3,200 ft down, and about 2,000 out) and we could almost read the writing on their jerseys. Getting great shots and having lots of fun with this camera.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX200 IS
Nickname: CINDY
Location: yakima , wa
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

best camera i have found

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2010
Cons: none
i love canons i upgraded to this one and love it . anyone who says picture quality is bad does not know how to take pictures and must have messed with the settings. right out of the box i took pictures of my kids playing in the pool and had crisp clean detailed clear pictures, ou could see the water droplets i was so impressed . i posted them online and had people asking me what kind of camera did i have because the pictures were just amazingly clear . i have had the best pictures with this camera and do photo shoots with it and have had only amazing pictures and complements with this camera
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX200 IS
Nickname: Kevin207
Location: Maine
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great, but DUST PROBLEM

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2010
Pros: amazing zoom, amazing digital macro feature, great sound in movies
Cons: dust gets trapped in this excellent lens
I have had many Canon digital cameras. This camera has some very exceptional features in a camera that you can fit in a big pocket, and at least carry around all day with ease.The excellent and fast zoom and great wide angle capabilities make it a perfectly versatile camera, especially on family vacations. I have used the digital macro feature as a telescope...it is simply an amazing tool to check out the world in a different way.
I have a big problem now though, due to DUST ACCUMULATING INSIDE THE ZOOM LENS. It seems that the dust gets in through the edges of the telescoping zoom lens rings. I keep it in my pocket a lot when traveling and walking around as a tourist. There is no way to clean the dust off the inside of the lens. Now the dust shows up on movies I take. Maybe I can ask Canon to clean it for a fee, but I fear it is not a service that they provide (or it might be simply be too cost prohibitive to do it). I will contact them, but need a camera in the mean time.
I will probably buy the newer PowerShot SX210 IS, and then try to get my current SX200 IS disassembled and cleaned by Canon.
The camera is great, but I highly recommend trying to keep it in a case or something, and not in your pocket.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX200 IS
Nickname: mrsdiff
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

maybe faulty?

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance
I purchased this camera back in November just to have an additional camera that was lightweight and easy to take along anywhere. I also have a Canon TSI and thought I'd stick with another Canon. Every picture was HORRIBLE. The ISO setting was so high on the auto select feature that all of my pictures are wasted. The greens look yellow or lime in color and the pinks and reds are all hot pink or magenta in color. Perhaps this camera was faulty.? I sent it back and I'll wait until I find something else on the market to try.
3 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX200 IS
Nickname: Jusaphotonut
Location: CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great buy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2010
I bought this camera mainly because of the super macro.
I deal a lot in coins and stamps. I need to take pictures in macro all the time.
Since purchasing a macro lens for my DSLR would have cost me in the neighbor hood of about $700 dollars I decided to give this a try. Even a macro for my DSLR would not have as much detail.
I am in awe at the amount of detail that this camera produces even at less then an inch away. I carry this camera with me every where and I am pleased at the versatility that this camera has.
I would recommend this camera to anyone if it is too hard to carry a large camera all the time and you are just looking for a point and shoot.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX200 IS
Nickname: nikki

Lovely SuperZoom

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Short battery life, no viewfinder
I bought this camera to replace my PowerShot SD790, which had a broken CCD and zoom. I was attracted by the vintage look of the camera, with the large lens and pop-up flash.
The camera feels much larger than my last PowerShot. However, its features are comparable to the PowerShot S5 IS, which is bulky and uses four AA batteries. The SX200 uses a small rechargeable battery that keeps the camera very light.
I was also impressed by the manual control that this camera has. My last camera allowed the user to use a +/- 2 value to pick the exposure of the shot as well as ISO and metering settings. This camera allows the user to choose the shutter speed, f-value, and ISO.
Those who complain that the camera takes bad quality photos or that the pictures look grainy are probably using the Auto mode, which tends to set the ISO very high.
It is also equipped with a manual focus, but it is a little difficult to use as the user needs to rotate the circle on the back of the camera to focus; the auto focus is perfectly sufficient. The macro mode is like that of any other camera, but the supermacro mode is wonderful. It can focus extremely close to the camera; I once took a picture that was roughly focused on the dust particles on the lens!
The 12X optical zoom is fantastic, especially for pictures taken outdoors. The digital zoom past that, however, produces predictably grainy photos.
Another one of the issues I have with the camera is the pop-up flash. Though photogenic and attractive, it takes some getting used to if you want to take a photo with flash. However, it can be pushed down to turn off the flash and for more comfort.
Overall, I love this camera and I think that it's a perfect buy for somebody who wants the features of a compact camera but not the weight. It doesn't have a viewfinder or hot shoe, which are the only things that are really missing from the camera. The LCD and photos are fantastic and I recommend it for beginning photographers!
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SX200 IS
Nickname: Jimmy O
Location: New Orleans
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Excellent pocket camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: no 3:2 aspect ratio setting
I have been using this camera for about 6 months. I've had 3 cameras from two other companies, plus a Canon SD1100 IS, Canon SD780 IS (a gift), and the Canon SX200 IS. All of the Canons beat the others for consistent quality and ratio of good shots to poor. The SD1100 is a great pocket camera. The SD780 fell into my lap and is an incredible, small pocket camera with HD video capability. The SX200 can be considered a pocket camera because it will fit in a shirt pocket, but it's a little heavy for that. I just saw the SX210 IS in a store, which should fit a shirt pocket more comfortably. You'll be hard pressed to find a better camera in a small form factor with the features and zoom of the SX200. You don't have to lug around a bulky 12 oz - 1.5 pound monster to get great long distance shots. It works just as well for normal distance shots and indoors shots. I love shooting indoors with the Indoors scene setting on the function wheel. The lighting and colors are always correct. I recently shot 131 pics over a 2 day period, all in Auto mode at an outdoor concert in a football staduim under cloudy skies and at night. Very few shots were out of focus (my fault) and the long distance shots were amazing, even using digital zoom. I didn't have to charge the battery and there was plenty of life left. You have to learn to keep your fingers away from the pop up flash, but guess what, you can do it. If you want a fantastic all-around camera that can fit in your top pocket, this is the one.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX200 IS
Nickname: denmarch
Location: Alma, MI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Good value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
I have had this camera for six months and like it for still shots, which is the main purpose for this purchase. It is especially good for scenic shots and closeups of birds and such.
I took it last night to a graduation ceremony and was disappointed in the long latency time. The shutter response was slow and the recovery time between shots seemed too long for my liking.
I would buy it again. Generally, good value.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX200 IS
Nickname: kdkng
Location: Flint,MI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Very Disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Bright LCD
Cons: Poor image quality, popup flash
I purchased this to go on vacation . I've owned Canon products my whole life, F1 ,FTB , recorder and another digital SD 550 . The picture quality with this camera does not live up to name . I compared photos of this with my SD550 and they aren't even close . Would not recommend this to anyone . The popup flash is also annoying .
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site