Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot SD/ELPH Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot SD/ELPH Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD970 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SD970 IS

Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
21 out of 24(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD970 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SD970 IS
Nickname: Baeyung
Location: Los Angelos, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Best camera, so far!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
My very first time owning a Canon. It doesn't disappoint me one bit, although I wish that it would just focus on the video much more better. Other then that, pictures are taken very good quality.. good contrast and everything. I love it!
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SD970 IS
Nickname: Milk
Location: SFO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
since i own this camera since the 2nd week it came out, i am very satisfy on it and i only talk about the things i don't like on this review. it lacks a manual mode, which is what i wanted to play with, however, i bought it for my asia trip and it takes excellent pictures as a pocket size camera.
on the video recording, the it does not have optical zoom, only digital... also, i'm not satisfy with low light performance, and it took me many tries to get a good picture, sometimes the whole picture is a bit blurry even though i use a tripod, any thing more than iso400, it shows.. on overcast days, it's not too good.. and the price is a bit expensive. o.. well, i am happy with it even though it has its own down side, and i am looking to buy another canon if i want to replace this in the future.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SD970 IS
Nickname: carramrod VA
Location: Suffolk,VA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

GREAT CAMERA

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2010
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor Low-Light Performance
I bought this camera for my wife in April'09 9 months later no problems
6 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SD970 IS
Nickname: Kris
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Love this camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I got this camera as a gift, and I have been really impressed with the features. It's a great alternative to my SLR when I don't feel like carrying a big camera. I've been very happy with the color, and I've done night shots, low light without flash, and most often it's not blurry. I really love this camera!
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SD970 IS
Nickname: msergey2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Best Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Exellent camera. I recommend to everyone.
This is best camera ever.
10 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SD970 IS
Nickname: V
Location: LI, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Great photos and video. Never had an issue with Canon, this is my 3rd Digital Elph. They just keep getting better.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SD970 IS
Nickname: chad
Location: taguig, philippines
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

awesome

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2009
Pros: Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
i just bought this camera a week ago before my party starts at 28 i took some pics... and i reviewed it ,it was awesome, nice quality,big screen it was so cool . but it takes like 5 seconds delay after taking a new shot . and it focuses slow
but still i love this cam.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SD970 IS
Nickname: Unhappy traveler
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Didn't last long

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Short battery life, Flimsy Construction
Mine lasted only one week. On day 3 lense cover wouldn't open, on day 5 lense cover would not close. Automatic mode doesn't always detect correct mode. AF performance in low light seems to be not as good as SD870 I've had before. Also SD870 seems to have wider angle.
Other than that it was a very nice camera. If it wouldn't have lense cover problems I would've kept it.
20 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SD970 IS
Nickname: Detail oriented person
Location: Arizona
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

BEST POINT AND SHOOT CAMERA

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
This is the best camera! I love it! Quality is superb. Easy to use. Large display, HD movie (8 GB card does 45 mins of video in HD). Shopped around a long time for this camera. Other cameras were cheaper, but did not offer the quality, the performance, or the HD movie. I am so happy with this purchase. Buttons are easy to push, camera auto focuses, recognizes when macro is needed, when you are in sunlight, uses face detection, etc. Can't say enough about this camera other than I LOVE IT!
44 of 50 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SD970 IS
Nickname: mandy4384
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

It is going BACK!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2009
Pros: Simple controls/menu, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, blurry shots, no super fine, no viewfinder, poor lcd image quality
I bought this camera yesterday - I take pictures of small items indoors - a doll collector , their faces, jewelry, etc.
This camera doesn't have SUPER FINE - the 12 MP end up in nothing since the camera lense has no definition, my 4 year old Powershot S 500 (5MP) takes better pictures.
For regular shots (my living room) if you leave them at 19% they look focused but when put in 100% they are all blurry.
I tried using the manual functions and the blurry problem persisted.
I can't say about battery life because after 5 tries (different camera settings / lighting) and still blurry pictures I gave up.
Also in my old cannon I could use Macro under the auto setting - can't in this one - if you use auto you can only change the flash from automatic to no flash...
30 of 70 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SD970 IS
Nickname: Mrs IL 1988
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Love this Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
This is my 2nd Canon camera and I absolutely love it! It is very user friendly. The quallity of the pictures is spectacular. It focuses immediately on any type of shot I have tried. Lighweight and feels comfortable in your hand.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SD970 IS
Nickname: Troybuilt
Location: Ca
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Con

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor Low-Light Performance
The sd790IS had more setting features & sound features.
Pro: the focal is better than the 790
8 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SD970 IS
Nickname: FM
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Really great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable
I have sd970is as well as sd880is. sd880is is a wonderful camera and I thought it was the best camera in it's class. I was pleasantly surprised to discover that sd970is is even better
24 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SD970 IS
Nickname: Carlos
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

A fantastic camera lacking a few options

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, feels great in the hand
Cons: limited features for the price, processor is slow at times
When looking to replace my SD870 IS, this camera fit the bill. I'm pleased to say that I love it, but for the price I expected there to be better performance, namely manual exposure controls and a faster processor.
Other Canon cameras include manual exposure controls, so I can't see why this one doesn't. Hopefully it's a hardware issue and not just something Canon didn't include in the software. If that's the case, I would love to see upgradeable firmware on this camera! This is my main gripe with the camera, but I've also noticed it being a touch slow when going from from mode to mode, or deleting movies or photos. This is probably because I got used to the quick speeds of the SD870.
While those are the things I dislike about the camera, the good definitely outweighs the bad. The screen is gorgeous, the interface is a perfect update from Canon's old one, and the pictures that I take look fantastic. The camera itself isn't extremely sculpted, but definitely not ugly. It's heavy, but not to the point where it'll weigh you down on the go. I think of it as a good heavy, one that dictates the powerful tech inside.
In the end, you'll want this camera if you want to take some incredible shots and don't mind it not being ultra-quick in the process. If you like viewing photos on the camera itself, it's great for that, and if you like viewing photos on a larger screen, the 12.1 megapixels ensure that your pictures will look nice and crisp. If you're wanting a camera that does absolutely everything for a point and shoot, maybe look at the SD990 IS. It's a touch more expensive and has a smaller screen, but packs the features that this camera is missing.
Before you buy this, consider how much the missing features and speed will affect your picture taking. Once you do that, it'll be easy to make the right decision.
87 of 88 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SD970 IS
Nickname: AP
Location: Baltimore, MD
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Good Camera - Lack some features

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 10, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor Low-Light Performance, zoom does not work when shooting video
Great camera all around.
VIDEO at 720P is fantastic and packs some serious pixels with great color.
Image is very good as well with great color.
Close ups in image and VIDEO are out of this world!!!!!
SO THE NOT SO GOOD.....
1) zoom does not work while shooting video
2) low light video is good but sometimes the camera pumps the gain UP so much that the image pixelates.
3)low light image is not very good but that is a given on a camera like this.
60 of 66 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SD970 IS
Nickname: HCK
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

No underwater use

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 10, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: mov not a good format, no underwater setting
Long time Canon SD user. I upgraded because of the high def video. Sad that Canon is using the MOV file format, AVI much more compatible and easier to use. Also the camera sepcs did say underweater shooting, I do underwater shots but after getting the camera I found it does NOT support an underwater setting. I called Canon and was told sorry WE made an error. They have since deleted the underwater setting from the specifications.
22 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SD970 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Tennessee
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Best of the best p&s

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2009
Pros: easy to use, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
With the explosion of digital point and shoot cameras this spring, I got a chance to compare many of the new models side by side. My main requirement was picture quality with an acceptable zoom. My wife wanted a fully automatic camera that produced excellent quality pictures. Well, we found it! The Cannon DS 970 pictures were much sharper than any of the rest. No need for the program/manual mode, but when selected the functions are easy to use. All the features have worked perfectly. The detail picture review with a histogram screen tells you everything about the picture you have taken.
The manual is small with very tiny print. I printed it out from the Internet on 8 1/2” x 11” paper and put in a notebook. The camera was at the top of the price range, but worth every penny.
I am glad I found this camera and if you are looking for the same features in a point and shoot. I actually tested the best of the best and I recommend it above any of the other cameras I tried.
66 of 67 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SD970 IS
Nickname: Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii!
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

No viewfinder!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, no viewfinder
Great camera! I love the HD viideo! The 12.1 Megapixels are a HUGE boost up from the small 5 Megapixels on my last camera. Besides the fact that there's no viewfinder, this is the perfect camera for me. Also, 5X zoom is very high for a camera of this size. This camera has a lot of features, too like "Blink Detection." I have had a great time making stop motion animations with this camera. Thank you, Canon!
34 of 38 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SD970 IS
Nickname: sasb
Location: Minneaoolis, MN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Advanced pocket camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use
I purchased this camera for a trip to Spain and was very happy with the photos. I expected the processor to be faster for 4X that it features. Wide angle feature comes in very handy, especially for realtors or other small spaces!
9 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SD970 IS
Nickname: scjeffcoat
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
I have been a loyal Canon customer for years and after purchasing this camera, I can definitely say I will continue to be! Great picture quality, easy controls, love the features!
32 of 34 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site