Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit

Average Customer Rating:
4.799 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(313 Reviews) 313
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (313 reviews)
5 stars
266
4 stars
35
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
1
300 out of 313(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Review 1 for EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: squirrelsilver
Location: TN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2012
Pros: vary easy to use
Cons: can't aford another one
I ENJOY ALL IT QUALITIES EASY TO USE AND NEVER HAD A PIC FAILURE AS OF 2/25/2012. BOUT 8/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: CSMUSARET
Location: NEW YORK
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

GREAT CAMERA!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2011
Pros: simple to use
Cons: none
NO CONS AND THE CAMERA IS SIMPLE TO USE AND THE BATTERY LIFE IS SUPER LONG.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: Lunchbox
Location: Rapid City, SD
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great quality and features for the price!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2011
Pros: Quick Start-up time, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu
Cons: not full frame
Really like it, easy to use, menu is easy to navigate. No problems, doesn't seem to have any durability issues. I do wish it was full frame and had a faster fps, however I cannot complain given the price.
Review 4 for EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: Bob
Location: Arkansas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Best Purchase you will never regret!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2011
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This camera is the perfect camera for even the most novice photographer. It will make you look like a
Pro! The pictures and video are absolutely spectacular. It is quite easy to get started right away. Super
battery life. The extra telephoto lens is an outstanding add. This is the best purchase I have ever made!
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: olhippie
Location: Jacksonville, AR
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2011
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have had this camera about 6 months and have taken quite a few pictures with it and the quality of these photos has been excellent. I get so many compliments on how good a photographer I am it makes me plush. The auto settings are good and take good photo's however, I have learned to use the manual setting and the picture quality has improved greatly. The lens is good, I am adding a much better one but, this one works well, the focus is good.
I just like my camera and if you enjoy photographer you will like it as well.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: imfranz

Great Camera for Great Price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Solid Operation
Bought this for my girlfriend back in December and she struggled with the complexities of going from a point and shoot to a digital SLR. Although I was into photography quite some time ago, I was unable to help her much. Read up on the EOS manual which helped, but still trouble with indoor pictures and high speed pictures. While on a plane to Puerto Rico, received some tips from another passenger and wound up with over 600 great pictures. Starting to really like this camera and would recommend it to anyone willing to invest some time into learning if they are considering the same jump we did. The quality of pictures are amazing and am now starting to experiment with various settings to capture some great images.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: pro
Location: Louisville
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: noisy
I got this to increase my love for photography. I've had this for about 8 months. it is awesome and canon is an awesome brand. it is easy to use and light weeight. i had no issues so far. there is one thing i dont like. like all dslr cameras they make noise but i think this is more noisy than others i have used. the battery life is ok and is easy to hook up to the computer. it also has full hd video so that is a realy good option. but you have to focus it your self.this is the best and i think i will not get rid of it until it become out dated
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: GMom in Detroit
Location: Detroit, MI
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic Product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2011
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I purchased the Canon T1i as an upgrade and it has been phenomenal. It's performance is fast, it responds nicely and starts up very quickly. Pictures are sharp and crisp. Color is pretty accurate too. I've used it for weddings, and portraits and it has never let me down. This is my third Canon product and I'm a Canon-Lifer!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: gibson
Location: Wayland, MA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Good bang for your buck

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I have had this camera for a little less than a year and I have to say I love it is a bit heavy but that is made up for by its great picture quality I highly recommend this over any compact digital if your thinking about buying one do it
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: Sarah
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Good at First

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Quick Start-up time, Superior build quality, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, noisy, Difficult to use
I've had this camera for about 2 years now and I loved it at first. Now that I've had it for a while, I've realized that the image quality isn't acceptable for me. When I bought this camera, I was just getting into photography and I didn't really know what I was doing. I found that the photos were very grainy, even with the proper settings. Another problem is that it is very noisy. One thing that I did find that was nice about it is that it is very easy to use and is a good camera for a beginner. Now that my skill has progressed, I find that it's not enough.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: joy

simply amazing!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2011
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I am a beginner at photography and I absolutely love this camera! Many people have recommended this product to me so I bought it a few weeks ago. This camera is pretty easy to use once you read the manual and the quality of the pictures is amazing. The body is durable and easy to handle. I think that this camera is a great camera for beginners like me as a starting foundation. The buttons are easy to control and it makes it so much more fun to take pictures for me!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: sreenivas
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

loving every bit of it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2011
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: fixed lcd display
I got T1i kit which included 18-55mm and 55-250mm lense along with Canon bag. I used Canon point an d shoot.
With the Rebel T1i feels like a whole new world didnt know DSLRs are so much fun.
Pros:
* Great images, even with higher ISO
* Canon supplied Tutor DVD saved lot of time
* solid build
Cons:
* Auto modes arent great, must use manual modes to get nice shots.
*
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: Happy
Location: Rockford, IL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Satisfied

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2011
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I recently purchased the Rebel T1i digital camera body as I already have several lenses from a Canon 35mm film SLR that I also own. I am extremely happy with my new digital SLR camera. I am still becoming familiar with it and trying the many features. I am especially impressed with the quality of pictures and ease of use. For a SLR camera that is at the lower end of the price range I feel it is a fantastic buy and would recommend it to anyone. My son has a digital SLR camera from Canon's closest competitor that was several hundred dollars more and the quality of prints are much better with my Canon. Needless to say my son is not very happy. I guess the best thing I can say to anyone looking for high quality results from a modestly priced camera you won't do any better than Canon.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: Sid
Location: New Delhi
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Photos that SPEAK

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Its an awesome Camera which gives you pictures which can SPEAK! Captures all the required details with great accuracy. A must buy for a photography enthusiast!
Review 15 for EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: Z-man
Location: Renton Washington
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2011
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Overall I love the camer it takes beautifull pictures I have a printer that prints up to 13"x19" and everyone likes my pictures.The recovery speed is very fast focusing is generaly not a problem (I`m the problem not the camera)the only thing I would change is the screen I would make it rotatable .I would recomend it to family and friends ,and do, I take it almost everywhere .
Review 16 for EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: Susan A
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2011
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Love taking pictures of my dogs, scenery, flowers, etc. This camera does the job. Looking to get an all-in-one zoom lens.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: Nick
Location: Elbert, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2011
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I bought this camera in 2009 and love it. I have taken this camera with me on trips around the world and across the United States with excellent results.
The only negative and why I rated performance 4 stars is with full automatic. On a bright day, outside, the flash will oftentimes come on so I switch to manual (which is what I use most of the time anyway).
If you're someone who wants a great camera then I highly recommend this. The price is right and the quality excellent!
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: FloridaPhotog
Location: Orlando, Florida
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

From drab to FAB!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2011
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable
Absolutly love this camera. I'm your typical family photographer. No experience really with F-Stops, ISO speeds, telephoto lenses. For years I have been your typical point and shoot camera fan. Point and Shoots are great for that quick shot at your reunion, picnic, or day at the beach. My daughter dances competitions, my son plays baseball. Both have some fast action and the dancing is sometimes in low light. Well, I've missed my share of those "special" moments because my point and shoot just couldn't keep up. Most pictures were blurred from fast action or keeping the shutter open for those low light pictures.
Well that has all changed now!! Wooooo Hooooo.
We bought the T1i for a family X-mas present and there has not been a day that I have regret the purchase. The best decision I have ever made. I have taken thousands close-up high action shots of my sons baseball team and have gotten some awesome action shots. I have taken low light pictures of my daughter dance competion from the back of a packed auditorium and gotten spectacular shots, and caught tons of leaps and twirls without hesiatation. Just like I was sitting in the front row!
There is no doubt in the ability of the T1i to reach out and grab those shots you want and you know that they are going to come out great. There is also piece of mind that you will be able to push the shutter button down again and again and know the camera will snap those special shots.
Everytime I take this camera out to an event I've seen the point and shoot families miss those special shots. Most blurry, and quiet a few late beause the camera was "auto" focusing and deciding weather of not to use the flash.
GO OUT AND DO IT !!! Get the camera you wish you had "AFTER" you already missed that once in a life time shot. You will not be sorry!
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: Felicity
Location: Tehachapi, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

great camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Slow Start-up time
I have had the camera for 2 weeks and so far have not found any major problems. I have gone from a Cannon G7 to this one since to shoot wildlife I needed more capabilities than what the G7 could do since it is a fixed lens point and shoot camera. I am also starting to sell my photos and needed a higher quality camera. So far I am very satisfied with the overall quality of the camera and lenses. I read most of the reviews and felt the negatives were due to the person not reading the manual and not understanding the capabilities of the camera. This manual is a lot better than the one that came with my G7. This camera came with a video that shows how to use it in all the different modes.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS Rebel T1i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: Driver
Location: NJ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera at a great price!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I wanted to upgrade from "point and shoot" digital cameras, and I had a bunch of decisions to make. I chose the Canon Eos Rebel T1I. The camera takes phemonal pictures, it's easy to use, and there are so many options to help you take the perfect shot. It records video in full HD! I purchased a book for this camera, and it taught me how to use the features, and that expanded my interest in photography. If you have the money to spend on this camera, I would recommend you give it a look. Canon has done it again, they simply make great products!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site