Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Flashes Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Flashes or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Speedlite 270EX

Speedlite 270EX

New compact, lightweight design, adds power and flexibility for enhanced flash photography anywhere 28mm and 50mm 2-step Coverage Angle Selection Bounce feature for an even greater range of picture-taking options Simple set-up
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Speedlite 270EX
Review 1 for Speedlite 270EX
Nickname: aproulx
Location: Maynard, MA

270 EX Flash - Poor Quality

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2013
This product was perfect for my needs up until the day it stopped working. The flash is a significant upgrade over the stock flash on the Canon Rebel T1i. I was able to take excellent pictures. After owning and using the flash for a couple years, it stopped working one day and would not turn on.
Review 2 for Speedlite 270EX
Nickname: BN
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Good purchase

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011
Pros: quiet, Good Exposure performance, Fast recycling time
I needed a flash for an event. It was good for close shots and semi distances. Gave me the clear crisp sharp images that I was expecting. Recycle time is fast but not fast enough for the images that I was taking. The flexibility of the flash was okay but I should have saved some time and money by purchasing the 580EX II.
28 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Speedlite 270EX
Nickname: canon user
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

good match for my g11

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2010
Pros: quiet, Good Exposure performance, Superior build quality, Fast recycling time, good size for g series
bought this item 2 months ago for my G11 .works perfect
for my camera,the size is just right not to bulky,it turn on slow at first but once is set ,recycling is fast .so far no problem using it ,recomment for the G series.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Speedlite 270EX
Nickname: Scott2373
Location: Rochester
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great for High-End Compacts / "Bridge" Cameras

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 28, 2010
Pros: lightweight, versatile, high value
Cons: none
I've owned this flash for over a year now and have been using it exclusively with an SX1 IS. The flash is the perfect size for this more compact line of cameras. The 430EX and 580EX flashes are nice but completely impractical for a camera this size. The flash performs as expected. When the camera is set properly, this flash delivers a very nice, even light spread and reaches out when you need it to. Indoors, the light covers the entire frame with few to no dark spots and rarely blows up the scene depending of course on your shooting conditions. If you're shooting in a room with brightly painted walls, they might look a bit overexposed and unnatural, however since the flash can be controlled in-camera, you can overcome this by dialing down the flash exposure and a little experimentation. Unless you're shooting in a studio, ideal conditions are rare, but this flash compensates and overcomes with just enough fill light to make the scene look quite natural. Outdoors, this flash will do a nice job of illuminating a subject within a reasonable distance. It is a bit small however if you're trying to do nighttime landscapes. You'll notice more pronounced dark and rapidly fading edges. Really though, that's not what this flash was designed to do, but it's just something I noticed. It doesn't diminish my opinion of the unit at all. The versatility and adjust-ability of this little flash-gun put it in a high-value category, making it invaluable whether you're shooting with a compact or a high-end DSLR. The fact that it is powered by 2 AA's makes it even more portable. No dedicated batteries or charger have to be carried with the flash. On two freshly charged AA's (Duracell 2650mAh) the flash recharges almost instantly and will get you several hundred shots. You'll know ahead of time when the batteries need changing because there will be a noticeable increase in time for the flash to charge, so you won't miss that critical shot because your batteries die suddenly. This may also depend on your batteries, so I would suggest using only high quality rechargeables and not standard alkalines, though in a pinch they work for a few good shots. Overall I would highly recommend this flash regardless of what level of equipment you use. The cost, value and versatility make this flash a must-have!
81 of 83 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Speedlite 270EX
Nickname: Aure
Location: San Jose
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Excellent with Digital Rebel Cameras

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2010
I absolutely enjoy using this flash with my Canon Xsi. It is an excellent match and provides excellent results. A great addition to my photo equipment. Great small size, easy to carry around.
14 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Speedlite 270EX
Nickname: Rick
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Compact Bounce flash, but no IR or red-eye?!

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2010
Pros: quiet, Good Exposure performance, Superior build quality, Fast recycling time, compact, light weight, only needs 2xaa's
Cons: no ir auto-focus assist, no red-eye strobing
I own this flash. I DO recommend it as a compact lightweight bounce flash for inanimate objects. I don't think there is a better 2xAA flash compatible with Canon's menus. I bought it for my X2, X4, and 5D Mark ii. It is great to have a 2xAA flash I can keep in my pocket. I bought it primarily to help the cameras focus in very low light. This it does well on my X4 and 5D (not on the X2). Once the 5D Mark ii gets a focusing solution, the flash power goes off and I take the shot. (for this simple purpose an on-board flash would have worked fine, but 5D has none).
However, I do not recommend this flash for shooting people for the obvious reason that there is no IR auto focus assist. Instead of IR, this flash uses full power strobing visible white light which annoys and temporarily blinds people. They close their eyes, squint, even turn away. I can't imagine why some Canon manager forced the engineers to remove the IR light from this flash design? So the 270 would not compete with the 430?
Also, Canon did not program the visible strobe to be used before shutter for red-eye reduction. (another use for IR). If Canon included IR for AF and red-eye this would have been a classic piece of kit; a 5-star hit and a great value. As is, it is a serious compromise. I would have gladly payed more to have the IR onboard.
I use 2,500 mah Lithium Ion rechargables. I don't know how many hundreds of shots I'd get because I re-charge them after a few days; but 2x modern rechargable batteries is plenty for this flash. I don't even carry spares.
The old 220EX used IR, but had no bounce. This one has bounce but no IR. Canon, please release a 2xAA with both! You would have a classic pocket IR/AF/red-eye, bounce flash which would just be awesome. Canon has some of the lightest and most compact leading technology such as the relatively light 5D mark ii; I hope they keep it up with intelligent engineering decisions for accessories as well.
Summary: It has no competition at this weight/size/cost; but add IR and it would be awesome.
139 of 143 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Speedlite 270EX
Nickname: Richard
Location: Austin, TX
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

A Little Beast

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2009
Pros: quiet, Good Exposure performance, Superior build quality
Cons: Slow recycling time
This flash is just perfect for what it is intended to do. I use it with both my G11 and 5D Mark II. It is great for close-up fill-in flash during the day and excellent for short-range flash. I use a Sto-Fen flash diffuser in all uses and it really reduces the harshness of the flash.
The only negative is its start time (slow) and recycle time. But, it was know and expected. You can carry it everywhere, even in a shirt pocket. I can't imagine shooting without this "lil beast" of a flash.
Happy shooting.
30 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Speedlite 270EX
Nickname: Sleepy
Location: texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

missing the powerful lil thing

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Fast recycling time, small
Cons: no catch light panel
Had one and sold it to get my 580ii, i love my 580ii, but this lil flash went everywhere with me and worked perfectly for what it was supposed to do. i actually just ordered another one!! the only thing that it doesn't have that i would love to see is a catch light panel that its big brothers have, but other than that its perfect. love the menu controls as well!
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Speedlite 270EX
Nickname: JWPC
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

good power in small size

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Good Exposure performance, small form factor
I love using this flash with my 5Dmk2 for indoor parties, fill flash outside, etc. Using rechargeable AAs provide a fast recycle time for almost any shooting condition. I like the menu-driven controls (especially the second-curtain sync ability), the tilt-zoom head and its size. Now it's a no-brainer to carry a flash wherever I go-- small enough to put in a shirt or coat pocket and whip out when necessary. Sure, the 270ex isn't like its big brothers, but then, it isn't supposed to be-- use it as a back-up, spontaneous flash, dont expect it to be your primary strobe. Overall, excellent (and inexpensive) addition to any kit-- I use it on a G11, too, with excellent results!
22 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Speedlite 270EX
Nickname: chocolate city photography
Location: N'awlin,La
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User

Great little flash

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Fast recycling time, Good Exposure performance, quiet
Cons: none
works well with my G9 & G7 but works great on my G10. love this flash. i can also use it on my 40D & rebel xt when i don't fell like carrying my 580 or 580ii. i may get a second one. it great.. Go Canon !! also smaller than my 220ex..
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Speedlite 270EX
Nickname: ddub
Location: California
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

great add-on

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Fast recycling time, Good Exposure performance, quiet
Very nice addition to an s-5 is. It does what it is supposed to do in a nice compact package!
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Speedlite 270EX
Nickname: JoMa
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

On the nark

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Good Exposure performance, quiet
Cons: Slow recycling time
I bought this to go with my G9. Although they worked well together, the sight of a G9 married to a 580EX pro Speedlite was a little off putting to say the least. The 270EX is well balanced in weight and size to the "G" series cameras and is performs very well within its specified parameters. The recycling time is a bit slow, but I don't use it for fashion shoots.
Its the perfect combination to take along to cover events and for travel. Now to find a small case that will handle the G9 and the 270EX!
50 of 54 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Speedlite 270EX
Nickname: Flying Scotsman
Location: Charlotte, NC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Just what the Dr. ordered ...

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 26, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Fast recycling time, Good Exposure performance, quiet
Used primarily on a couple of G-series point-shoots, this has turned into my "don't leave home without it" flash. No, it's not super powerful. No, it's not feature-packed. Yes, IT GETS THE JOB DONE! So much more powerful than the G built-in flashes, it's also the only way I can used the tiny cameras with a lens hood on the lens adapters and not blank out part of the image. It's not what it's missing that an issue with me; it's what it does so well. Balances PERFECTLY with the G7 / G10 and the bounce feature is truly astounding. Two thumbs up!!!
41 of 43 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Speedlite 270EX
Nickname: FIJIMAN
Location: LAS VEGAS/HENDERSON NEVADA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

FLASHGUN FOR ENTRY LEVEL

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2009
Pros: Fast recycling time, Good Exposure performance, quiet, compact, good features, low cost
Cons: short range only
GOOD FOR SHORT RANGE 28MM AND 50MM
VERY VERY COMPACT
LIGHTWEIGHT
REAR LCD SCREEN
89 of 110 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site