Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA iP Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA iP Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP4700

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA iP4700

Average Customer Rating:
3.921 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
3
29 out of 38(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP4700
Review 1 for PIXMA iP4700
Nickname: carver
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Expensive to use

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2012
Pros: High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: very few prints for the amount of ink used
The quality of the printing is great but the amount of ink used and the cost is very prohibitive. Also, the larger of the black cartridges gets used up so fast I have several of the smaller black cartridges sitting on a shelf. What a waste.
So to sum it up. I like the quality of the prints but the cost is way beyond reasonable.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA iP4700
Nickname: just want a good
Location: ky
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2012
Printer will run (cleaning cycles?) for 10 minutes to print one page. An extreme ink hog. Quality of prints poor. Costly refills. Has chips in tanks to prevent manual refilling. I will never buy another Canon printer. I am so tired of getting shafted on printers.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA iP4700
Nickname: john
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

awful photo prints

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2011
have tried many times to print photos...always come out too blue....have even tried adjusting colors...tried everything...no good, and the canon knowledge database is useless to help
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA iP4700
Nickname: Jack
Location: Indianapolis. IN area
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Ink hog

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2011
Prints super high quality pix - at a ridiculously high price due to excessive ink usage from unreasonably small cartridges. Also: when I print using grayscale and fast settings, it uses up a ton of all of the color inks during the cleaning process.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA iP4700
Nickname: Senator
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Dissappointed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2011
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption
Takes forever to print. Always waiting for the clean cycle to end. Very little ink in the expensive cartridges. Cartridges cannot be refilled due to a computer chip on the tanks that have to be reset. I miss my old reliable, inexpensive Bubblejet!
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA iP4700
Nickname: flight93
Location: Oklahoma
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption, high ink prices
Bought this to replace an IP3000.Primarily used for printing photos.Great quality photos.The only drawback is that it's cheaper for me to buy another printer than buying new ink cartridges.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA iP4700
Nickname: light

Too expensive

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2010
Pros: good quality
Cons: expensive ink
The price and the quality is good, but the cartriges are too small and don't allow you to print more 3 full pages of color pictures before running low, if you want to print the photos from your last vacation forget it it will cost you so much.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA iP4700
Nickname: Fish
Location: Detroit, MI
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Good Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2010
This does a nice job on photos. I have a company that does a variety of digital photos that we print on site at events. The biggest drawback with this printer is the ink consumption. My last batch of printers were the IP4300s and those cartridges are about $1 more expensive than the ink for the 4700 but much bigger. I looked to see how many ml for each but if that information is out there, I couldn't find it.
Canon is certainly not the only manufacturer out there making money on the consumables. That said, I would recommend this printer.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA iP4700
Nickname: Chris
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Good value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2010
Pros: add a pro
I'm satisfied, all-in-all, with my purchase. The price was good, the product works as advertised. Ink costs, of course, like most of thes low-cost printers is high, though certainly not prohibitive. It has features that I like and does all tha tI wish it to. Yes, I could purchase a more expensive printer, but this is just what I needed. Thanks for making it available.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA iP4700
Nickname: Louise
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Affordable printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2010
Cons: sometimes it doesn't feed easily.
This printer is a good value for the price. High quality printing. And also a photo printer.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA iP4700
Nickname: Tod Smith
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Best Value!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2010
Pros: photos, hq prints
I have had no problems with this printer. Photos and HQ prints great.
Stardard Black text is good. Not Laser quality text yet. Canon has come a LONG way since the first BJ!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA iP4700
Nickname: Jersey
Location: Northern NJ
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great as long as you don't have to print 4x6

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, fast print speed, easy to use
This is my second ip4700. I have one coming back from repair and another in a box in reserve. Wonderful printers until the rollers age and you want to print glossy 4x6. I use a Costco paper, which is ordinarily excellent. Failed to feed on older machine. Fed well on new machine - now it doesn't.
I am not crazy about color reproduction. I use authentic Canon inks. Could be better.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA iP4700
Nickname: sequinheights
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Definitely snazzy

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Setup
Clean lines, straightforward set-up, excellent color images.
Acceptable printing time per color image and first-rate clarity.
I've had Canon printers since the mid-1990s and brand loyalty has once again been proven right. My one reservation is that the plain paper cassette gave me some grief - not that intuitive a process, but once achieved, clear sailing.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA iP4700
Nickname: Unhappy
Location: Glen Rock, NJ
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Spotty Performance - High Ink Consumption

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed
Cons: High Ink Consumption
Cannot print glossy 4x6 well. Does not catch paper.
13 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA iP4700
Nickname: OneShooter
Location: Darlington, Wisc.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

My Own Custom Photo Lab

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
I worked in photo labs for 17years and never had it so easy as I do know. Using a EOS50D and a laptop computer, with Canon Software, I have my own Lab and Custom Print Center able to do things I only could dream of before know. Ease of Operation, Excellent Customer Care, availability of Inks and Papers with NO Color Balancing! If you only knew what a pain that is you would indeed be most appreciative of what you can get here for a very Low Price. When and if I wear it out Canon will be getting a call from me and I will get another. For the money you cannot get a better deal and Yes I am impressed.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA iP4700
Nickname: Mandy
Location: Oceanside, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Another Great Canon Product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, great photo quality, compatible with win 7
Cons: need canon to recycle ink tanks
I have used Canon products for years. Had an i560 for years but finally it needed replacing. The iP4700 is an excellent replacement. Set up instructions, as always with Canon, were clear and EASY! I love the multiple ink tanks and can't imagine buying a printer without them!
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA iP4700
Nickname: gojo65
Location: Norfolk, VA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great little Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
I purchased my IP4700 in December of 09. Simply stated, this is a great little printer. Easy set up. Great resolution on my photos as well as my printed text documents. Cost of ink is fantastic. Compared to some of the older printers I have had in the past, the ink cost is great. I have also noticed better ink usage with this machine, seems as if my cartridges last longer than previous machines with the individual ink tanks...overall, I am very, very pleased with the IP4700.
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA iP4700
Nickname: Bud
Location: Texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Peace of mind with a printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Simple set up, beautiful prints, quiet, reliable. Ink tanks can be replaced individually. Buying a printer that puts all the colors in one cartridge is not ecologically friendly, is wasteful, expensive and I don't think it would be very likely that all 3 colors of ink would run out at the same time. With the Pixma ip4700 you only need to replace the color that has run out.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA iP4700
Nickname: Mother Dear
Location: Vernal, UT
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Repeat Customer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, very reasonable price
Cons: cassette paper tray jams sometimes
I purchased the iP4700 to replace my iP5000 which had just died. I am an amateur digital photographer, taking and printing all of my own photos, as well as post cards, greeting cards, etc. I'd had an older Canon printer even before the iP5000. I have been very happy with Canon quality. I like the individual ink cartridges. I studied about the picoliters when I was looking for my 2nd printer, and that's what convinced me to try Canon again. I love the sharpness of the photos. My new iP4700 is reasonably fast, not particularly noisy, and except for a little confusion in putting the print head together (when it said "front", I didn't realize it meant from the printer's point of view) it was easy to set up. The power cord from my previous printer fit just fine, as did the USB cable, so I didn't have to crawl under my desk to replace them. The only thing I'm a little frustrated with is the lower paper feeder tray. No matter how carefully I place the paper in it, every now and then a piece of paper jams and it's a little hard to retrieve, plus I have to move my mouse, mousepad, and other things on my desk to get to it. That's why I gave it a 4 rating for features and performance. Otherwise, I love it, and would highly recommend it.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA iP4700
Nickname: VixcB
Location: New Brunswick, NJ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Good Purchase

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: couldbe smaler
I bought this product for a good price almost a steal. I had heard that most printers do not come with the needed USB cable so that was expected. I needed a printer for a project I was doing all I needed was a printer but wanted something that would last and could be used later on for other things such as fliers and photos. It also works great with my laptop.
Great buy I like the separate ink cartridges, the photo quality is like that of CVS, Fast printing and the setup was super easy.
The printer is the size of an all in one; I feel it could be less wide. The paper cartridge has a few design flaws a little flimsy and should be able to hold more paper.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site