Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA Corporate & Graphics Art Printers Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA Corporate & Graphics Art Printers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA iX7000

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA iX7000

Average Customer Rating:
2.818 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
6 out of 11(55%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA iX7000
Review 1 for PIXMA iX7000
Nickname: Mlemm
Location: Napa ca
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Good printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2011
Pros: duplexing, cross platform, great print quality, flexible paper handling
Cons: no duplex from rear tray, high ink cost
A very good printer for it's intended purpose have not had any of the problems others have mentioned. It's works in my home network on both macs and pcs just fine and the print quality is very good.
Review 2 for PIXMA iX7000
Nickname: techguy
Location: Los angeles
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Cheap in both meanings of the word

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2011
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: High Running Cost, Difficult to use, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, Poor Media Handling, Flimsy Construction
It's the best "cheap" large format printer out there. But you get what you pay for!
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA iX7000
Nickname: BJ
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2011
Pros: Easy Setup, durable, Good Media Handling, High Productivity, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: cartridges not found locally
This printer has been a workhorse and I really do like it, but two things would make it better--the refill ink cartridges are not available locally, even through a national office supply store, and it doesn't print on banner paper unless you make custom paper settings, and then I've had mixed luck. Overall for photos and my typical printing needs, it has been terrific.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA iX7000
Nickname: Kellita
Location: Iowa City, IA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Crafts/Scrapbooking
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Wonderful Printer for high quality graphics

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2011
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Good Media Handling, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: High Running Cost
Personal professional use - no network setup required...
I bought this printer for high quality graphics, and that's exactly what I get from it - Outstanding quality!
Initially I had a difficult time setting the printer up, as the print-head wouldn't move. I called tech support and got very courteous service within minutes. I figured the issue out on my own, but the tech rep requested to stay on-line during the rest of the setup to make sure everything went smoothly for me (even past business hours). Despite the initial mechanical malfunction, set-up was a breeze.
One note, you should experiment with the paper settings and feeders. The rear feeder prints on specialty paper only and the front cartridge prints on plain paper only. The rear feeder does not use the clear ink, but the front and manual feed cartridges do. I initially tried to use Bristol vellum two-ply paper in the rear feeder as "matte" and the quality was terrible. When I manually fed the paper using the "plain paper" setting, the quality improved greatly.
The ink is a bit pricey and difficult to find around my area, but it's easily obtained on-line.
I love this printer and that's all I can say.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA iX7000
Nickname: Donn
Location: Alabama
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great prints; terrible headaches

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011
Pros: durable, High Quality Output
Cons: Low Productivity, High Running Cost, Difficult Setup, unreliable, not accessible on wireless network, low capacity ink tanks
We are using this printer in an multi-user LAN network with the primary purpose of text and report printing. The print quality is outstanding and the throughput is acceptable. But, I have these list of Cons:
1. Setup for network installation is way too difficult and creates a non-standard print address. Wireless laptops cannot access this printer.
2. Jams frequently and loses the print job after clearing the jam.
3. Ink is expensive and comes in very small tanks. The printer is not frugal with ink. Tanks are not refillable.
4. Almost impossible to submit a print job and walk away. Something always causes an interruption which requires restarting the print job.
5. Ink always bleeds through when duplex is on. I think the clear coat softens the paper and making it more porous. There is no way to turn the clear overcoat ink off.
6. Draft printing is tediously slow. High quality printing is acceptable for speed.
Photo and graphic prints are truly outstanding. But simple text printing is not done very well.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA iX7000
Nickname: Justin
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

I am very disappointed!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2010
Cons: Difficult Setup, Poor Media Handling, network setup poor
I am very disappointed!
I am a IT pro myself and with our Network CCIE we could not get the printer to accept and or hold an IP address after trying for 2 hours. We tried MAC 10.6 and windows XP sp2.
Large footprint, much heaver then you would think not big issues but surprising, and the paper tray could be better.
USB worked fine, however that was not its intended purchase.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA iX7000
Nickname: lg
Location: Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

worst purchase ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2010
Purchased this product and have other Cannon products.. This is the worst printer I have ever purchased and will return immediately--- the color is sooo bad and it is the slowest to print of any printer I have used in my offices.
DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT IF YOU HAVE ANY THING ELSE TO DO AS IT WILL CONSUME ALL YOUR TIME JUST TO PRINT 10 PAGES~~~then the color will not be excellent
18 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA iX7000
Nickname: Tootsie
Location: Columbia, SC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2010
This is an upgrade from my previous Cannon; I find the time it takes towarm-up longer than I expected, however it is for my personal/home use, so has not been too much of a problem.
Had problems finding the Serial number; why is it under the machine? That is troublesome, and difficult to decipher for this senior citizen.
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA iX7000
Nickname: Anonymous

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2010
Feature rich printer with business quality speed. Chews inks fairly quickly like many Canon printers, but the quality is very high - even on plain paper. Should be strongly considered by any shop needing occasional 11x17 color capabilities and laser like quality text.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA iX7000
Nickname: MichiganMacUser
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointing

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2009
Pros: nice 8 1/2 by 11 quality
Cons: no user flexibility regarding paper source, too difficult to get quality legal size documents
I have used past Pixma models in my small office. I had high hopes for the iX7000, but there are serious limitations regarding the printer's ability to handle multiple paper sizes and types. The printer uses clear ink, for a laser-like look. It makes 8 1/2 by 11 pages look great. However, if you print on Legal size paper, you can only feed this printer MANUALLY! You cannot use the rear tray or the cassette. If you do a work-around to use the rear tray, the quality suffers, because ANY paper fed through the rear tray doesn't use the clear ink; resulting in poorer print quality and curling paper. Labels are difficult, too, and require a work-around to feed them through the printer in a straight paper path. If this printer is idle for more than 1 hour, the start-up time to print is exceptionally long; it spends too much time on the self-check and "shaking" the ink. Overall, this is a printer only for an office that prints 8 1/2 by 11 paper 99% of the time. If you switch paper sizes and types frequently, this printer will drive you crazy. Photos printed were adequate, if a tad dark. I'll be shopping for a different printer.
64 of 71 people found this review helpful.
Response from Canon:By Internet MarketingNovember 16, 2009
The paper cassette for the PIXMA iX7000 will support legal size paper. For assistance, please refer to the PIXMA iX7000 series On-screen Manual. Click the icon for the 'Basic Guide.' On the contents page, click the 'Loading Paper' section. Next, click the 'Loading Paper in the Cassette' or 'Media Types You Can Use' link.
Review 11 for PIXMA iX7000
Nickname: pcdigital
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Good printer. High Cost

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2009
Pros: high quality
Cons: cost
Good Printer. Very expensive. Canon printers have always offered reliable printers for a reasonable cost. But not in this case. The quality of the images produced on photo paper have always been outstanding. However Document printing has been the biggest challenge. The paper sometimes rubs the carriage and gets smudged. The cost of this printer is hard to swallow especially in today's economy. The print head has always been a problem with all of my previous models. They only seem to last for a few ink refills and need to be replaced. Overall I have been satisfied with Canon printers. I used to use competitors models for home use until we introduced Canon printers at work. I found the quality to be good and the inks affordable.
13 of 16 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site