Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot SD/ELPH Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot SD/ELPH Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD980 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SD980 IS

Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
2
22 out of 36(61%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD980 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SD980 IS
Nickname: Photolover
Location: New York
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

I LOVE THIS CAMERA!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This camera is by far one of the best point and shoots I've ever used. There's many different settings that allow you to take the best photos possible. The quality is great, and I couldn't be more satisfied.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SD980 IS
Nickname: Jen
Location: Rochester
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great choice

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2010
Before a trip to Australia, I originally bought the Canon IXUS 200 IS or Canon 210. I wanted a quality point and shoot to capture my memories. I was greatly disappointed with that purchase.
I returned the 210 for the Canon 980. I love this little camera. It takes fantastic photos.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SD980 IS
Nickname: JUJU
Location: Illinois
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

I just love My camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2010
Pros: good battary life easy use love the touch scree
Cons: don't have any
I just love this camera , very easy to handle , what I like is the big screen and the touch screen was so nice I let my granddaughter take pictures and she had a ball learning to erase photos we did not like , battery life is really good and the wait for the battery to charge is not bad also 1 1/2 hours to charge , we were on vaction in Colorado and I pointed the camera out the window and it took the most amazing pictures of the mountains could not have done any better just standing still I would tell any one to buy the Cannon SD980IS I just love this camera
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SD980 IS
Nickname: queenb
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

best camera i've ever owned

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2010
This camera was purchased for me last month and i must say i have had no problems with it at all. it has great battery life and takes excellent quality pictures.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SD980 IS
Nickname: TDP
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Great compact P&S

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Got this camera 8 months ago as a P&S companion to my 5D MK II. Easy to configure and use, small, light and has a great battery life. Does very well at night/in the dark outdoors and snaps of people at parties. For me, this camera has all the features I want in a small device without any I don't want or need.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SD980 IS
Nickname: luvbeinmrsdavis
Location: Philadelphia
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

I LOVE THIS CAMERA

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
I recieved this camera as a gift from my husband for X-mas it was to replace my previous camera which I thought was just the best ever which was only 10 mps by the way this is 12!!. I love that u can change the color of the pics to b/w or sepia with just the touch of a button . I love that it is touch screen. The only thing that really bothers me and it's really not that bad is the way you have to charge the battery- my previous camera had a docking station that u could just sit the camera on instead of taking the battery out see not that big of a deal right- I LOVE THIS CAMERA!! Thanks Mrs Davis:)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SD980 IS
Nickname: taz
Location: corvallis,oregon
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

canon simpley the best

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: the power button is hard to use
i have owned just about every canon model made .i have tried other brands just to compare but came back to canon because it is simpley the best in every class cameras ever made. the SD980is is the best camera i have owned to date.it just keeps getting better. the quality of canon cameras cant be beat they hold the value even years after another model is made. this camera buff would not own any other brand and canon makes something for everyone so if you dont like this model you should try another canon camera because they are simply the best and worth every $$$ spent. thanks again canon.
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SD980 IS
Nickname: Anonymous

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Absolutely LOVE IT!!!! I can't sdtop taki8ng picutres!! The best camera I've ever owned. For point and shoot I firmly believe you can not get any better then this!!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SD980 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Orlando, FL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Don't buy this camera

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Flimsy Construction
I've had this camera for about 4 months now. The camera is average as far as the picture quality, features etc. No real complaints. However, after 4 months of occasional use, the flash gave out. The camera is now basically unusable in any situation that requires a flash. Don't spend your money on this camera.
8 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SD980 IS
Nickname: hannah
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months

Excellent Quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD
I saved all my money from tutoring to buy this camera and I do not regret it. If you know what settings to put the camera on depending on the environment, then you will have excellent pictures in great quality. You would have to know a little bit about the functions of a digital camera first because the manual is too broad when describing when to use each setting. The only problem I have is that I don't know how to use the color accent and color swap and it doesn't tell you on the manual how to use it. I would really appreciate it if someone told me how to use it.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SD980 IS
Nickname: jimmy007
Location: Madison, WI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great Camera..!!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I was really confused before I bought this camera, I got lot of choices but I really wanted to go for canon powershot. I came through this SD980 IS and I compared with other brands and I found more features in SD980 with less price and good quality of photos. I have read lot of reviews for this camera about poor low light performance. but I haven't got any problem with this camera in low lights. Keep little microfiber cloth with this camera as LCD screen will catch lot of fingerprints.
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SD980 IS
Nickname: CM
Location: Long Beach, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult to use, touch screen is awkward
I had an old Canon Elph that was a 4MP that I took everywhere for years. It took fast, sharp pictures that rivaled my SLR even when enlarging. I loved it (and miss it as I gave it to a friend). Last Christmas, I thought I would upgrade to this 10MP Elph with touch screen thinking it would be even better.
Truth is after using it, I found that there is a noticeable delay when shutter is pressed and the 10MP photos are rarely sharp. Also awkward is the touch screen. No matter how you try to hold it, your finger will touch something on the back which will activate/depress something undesirable. So this is a major flaw. I would rather do without the touch screen and just use the zoom lever on the front (which is what I use anyways because it is easier).
The 2 selling points of this particular model of large MP and touch screen were a huge let down. I will most likely give this to a friend and buy another point-n-shoot model that is faster and no touch screen after reading many reviews. I still love Canon Elphs... just not this model.
CM
24 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SD980 IS
Nickname: applehowtoo
Location: California
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera Ever!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, hd movie mode
I LOVE the touchscreen and image quality this camera has to offer. It offers AMAZING features that use BREAKTHROUGH technology.
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SD980 IS
Nickname: rio rita
Location: Orange County, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

I trust Canon Products

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult to use, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu
I own 4 canon camers, 2 digital systems. I own the Pro 9000 Mark II Printer and 2 other Canon printers. I have absoultly no problem or repairs on any of these products. I trust Canon products and like having a service location close by if I should ever need them.
1 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SD980 IS
Nickname: ESKI
Location: NJ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Gotta Have It!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I updated from a Canon SD550 to this and sure am glad I did! No regrets, easy to use, my 70+ oldman was even capable of shooting pics and vids when I was in front of the camera, yes, it's that easy! 12 mega pixels is plenty for an everyday camera, easy to use computer photo edit pics and the image stays clear. As with most optical and digital zoom cameras the optical is going to yield the best quality and moving of from a 3.0 optical zoom on my old camera to 4.0 on this is a great plus. Still fits in my pocket and is light weight with great shots! Albeit it's not a professional camera but keep in mind that's not what you want or are buying, plus this does more! You can shoot video, on most digital SLR's that's not an option.
The low light function amazed me, I was in the dark yet it took a great pic.
This is a great camera that easily captures the moment during the moment without any hassle or fuss, you deserve this camera and should own one without question, it's great!
22 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SD980 IS
Nickname: Mrs. Paxinos

Love it!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: price
My first camera was a canon and I loved it, I strayed to other brands and they came up short. Well my canon had finally had it so for my college graduation my mom bought me this camera and I love it! I love the wide touch screen. I love the features that make taking a picture less complicated. Yes, the wide lens gets a lot of back ground in the photo, but all you have to do is go into the options and trim it! So you have a lot of photo editing options. The only thing I do not like is the on/off button is really sensitive....But other than that again I am satisfied with my canon camera....
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SD980 IS
Nickname: Jimmy Z
Location: Wisconsin
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Just a couple of complaints

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, on/off switch not easy to use
I love this camera for it's ease of use, but have a couple of complaints. First the pictures and movies in lower light are kind of fuzzy, but to be fair In good lighting the colors in pictures zoom out at you. The quality of the HD movies in good light are fantastic. The biggest complaint for me is the on/off switch. It is very picky about how you hit it and can get very frustrating at times.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SD980 IS
Nickname: sam
Location: Centreville VA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Returned after 1 day

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Complicated controls/menu
I returned this camera after one day. This year's line of Canon ELPH cameras lacks a "superfine" picture quality choice that past ones have, resulting in poor quality images, especially in low lite and when zooming in. Also, the touch screen display is "not-quite-ready-for-prime-time."Last year's SD 990, which we own, has 14.7 megapixels, but no HD video. The SD 980 has HD video but it is not that sharp in low lite or when zooming. Loved our old SD 950, but HD video was only 15 frames a second and you could not zoom in HD video. Canon engineers take note: Canon needs a camera that has 15 megapixels, "superfine" quality, zoomable HD video at 30 frames a second, an f:2.8 lens, and excellent low light and zoom quality pictures.
20 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SD980 IS
Nickname: Virginia
Location: Massapequa Park, New York
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

It's Just Okay

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, controls can be a little difficult at times
I really had some misgivings about the SD980IS after researching it, but I bought this camera anyway to replace my SD870IS (which I loved and lost!) *sob*
What attracted me to this camera was the wide-angle (24mm). Unfortunately, I discovered that you have to use the zoom in most pictures, unless you like your subjects NOT being the subject in the photo. The 28mm on my old SD870 was better.
I don't think that the IS (Image Stabilization) was as good, as there were almost just as many bad (blurry) pictures as good. Also, a few pictures had a dark shadow in the upper left corner, if I wasn't careful to make sure that my fingers were nowhere near the flash.
The very small size of the camera also bothered me. I would definitely not use this camera without the wriststrap. It feels like it's going to slip out of your hand and smash on the ground - constantly. It would be great if Canon would incorporate some kind of 'grip' or something, that you could hold onto while your shooting.
As other reviewers have stated, I also would rather do without the touchscreen and have the $$$ go towards a better camera, and not gimmicks. I really do like CANON, but I'm going to check out the SD1400 next.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SD980 IS
Nickname: Bo
Location: Big Lake, Alaska
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Poor low light quality

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance
The overall quality of this camera is excellent. Great screen...easy functions with lots of options. I have a semi pro camera but didn't want to tote it around on vacation when going in the boat etc. The idea was to leave my really good camera in the room when we were going to places that the good camera could get damaged. I returned this canon because the quality just wasn't there for low light, Sunset, or Sunrise shots. Even if I use their function settings or adjusted the ISO etc. the shot still wasn't worth saving to the computer.....just not enough detail. I guess I'll be toting the 5d (which is awesome by the way) and using my son's cheapy camera near the water.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site