Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

Perfect everyday, walk-around zoom lens for APS-C cameras Focal length range equivalent to 24-136mm in 35mm format Image stabilization and robust build quality High-precision optics offer stellar performance from wide-angle through to telephoto
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
47 out of 48(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Review 1 for EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Quiet Solo Pursui
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

It works great for me!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I'm not an expert, nor do I do any pixel peeping, the only thing that concerns me is the quality of the photos that I have at the end of the day, and this lens works great for me.
I'm a nature/landscape photographer and I have been extremely pleased with the photos that I have gotten from this lens.It's been used primarily for landscapes, and for close-ups of flowers and insects. Since it focuses down to 1 foot, it almost does the job of a macro lens, but only for larger subjects.
I also own a 70-200 mm L series lens, and this lens comes very close to matching the sharpness of the L series. In fact, I get more sharp photos from this lens than the L Series when doing close-ups, as the auto-focus of this lens is more accurate up close than the L series is. I have to manually focus the L series to get photos as sharp as this 15-85 lens produces in auto-focus. It's also faster and quieter than the L series.
I also love the larger diameter of this lens, it fits my hand better, and I don't have a problem going from my two long lenses down to this lens as far as it feeling good in my hand.
The IS works extremely well, I've gotten usable shots at shutter speeds down to 1/4 second handheld in a pinch, although a tripod would probably have been better.
I use this lens on a 60D, and I have the peripheral illumination correction enabled, which may be why I've seen no vignetting with this lens for the most part. I did stack a polarizing filter on the UV filter once, and saw vignetting then, lesson learned.
Overall, I'm very pleased with this lens. The sharpness, color, contrast, and color saturation are superb, I couldn't ask for a better wide angle zoom for my crop sensor camera.
22 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: fn2p
Location: Canada
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Gets job done, but...

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2013
Pros: good quality build, easy to use, reasonable picture quality
Cons: Semi-sharp images, bulky, heavy, hunts in lower light, designed for outdoor mostly
Got this lens (separately) since the reviews were pushing it over any other lens for a crop body. The price was cheaper too, so why not?!
I've had the privilege of using this lens for almost 2 years now and here's what I've noticed.
It takes reasonable pictures. Not stellar, but far from bad. It does produce at times somewhat soft results which was a little bit disappointing. IS is always on (unless its on a tripod) and due to the weight of this lens, your wrists will be struggling after awhile.
It seems to be designed for outdoor use. It doesn't do very well indoors, unless you're throwing immense amounts of light at it, and even then - better crank up that iso. Thankfully once you bump up the ISO this doesn't seem to be such a problem.
Images are softish around f/11 (sadly). F5.6 seems to be the best bet. At f/8 its hit or miss. Any higher and you're going soft.
Focal length wise - 15mm produces some distortion, but it's likeable imho. Quite a bit of vignetting at 15 as well, but not offensive. Starts looking much nicer between 35-85. As a matter a fact, this lens really shines at 50+. *thumbs up*
Q: Would I recommend this lens to someone? A: Sure, but I'd also give them a run down of what they can experience using it. It's a nice walk around lens, but would benefit from being a little lighter, and maybe opening up too 2.8 at least. Then again, at that aperture, it would cost a lot more as well.
Conclusion: If you really want a walk around lens to take pictures with your crop, then go for it. If you want tack sharp images, then look elsewhere.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Flying Scotsman
Location: Lake Norman, NC
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Astonishing APS-C lens!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: a tad bit expensive yes
Bought this lens several months ago but wanted to really put it to a severe test before reviewing it. Test just completed: A week on the Big Island of Hawai'i! Took a T4i body, this incredible 15-85mm, a Canon's 10-22mm and 50mm macro lenses. (The 10-22 and 50 macro never even left the camera bag ... ) As suspected, the EF-S 15-85mm performed flawlessly - it's a 24-135mm lens to us old film shooters - and simply "did it all" as far as taking in every possible scene. Colors are out of this world, clarity and sharpness beyond wildest expectations and in over 30 years of recreational / vacation photography in addition to a professional business, this was - easily! - the most complete and beautifully documented travel adventure ever. Impossible to give a high enough recommendation for this lens! If there was a 10-star category for performance and quality, this lens deserves it! Shoots on par with most 'L' lenses! (Wish we could have bought this lens with the T4i body instead of the excellent 18-55mm "kit" lens - which has just been sold off ... ) Dropping the images into Lightroom for conversion (we shot all RAW files) and a little post-processing, still cannot believe my eyes ...
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: ArtGeo
Location: Charlotte, NC
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome walk-around lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Very durable, good quality lens. Works perfectly with my 7D.
This lens is always on my camera. Perfect for birthday parties, weddings, unexpected events, trips to the park with the kids, or a Saturday afternoon bike ride with the family.
It's a bit pricey, but if you check around you can get a good deal on one. Highly recommend it.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: linear
Location: Sacramento, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Hit and lots of miss

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2013
Cons: Semi-sharp images
This lens promises to be a great walk-around lens but I find the image quality to be lacking. And it has developed lens creep, such as when I shoot at 35mm and then tilt the camera down only a little to change settings by looking at the LCD on top of my 50D and 60D, it rotates on its own to 50mm when I bring it back up to look through the view screen. Also, its corner and edge image clarity at the short end (15-24mm) is poor, with lots of distortion, CA, and blur. The kit lens image quality in this range was better.
On the plus side, it has a greater zoom range and is sharp in the middle. The front element not moving or rotating is very nice also. Its color reproduction can be very good too.
But in the end, image quality outweighs features and I find that it is only satisfactory if i limit myself to f/5.6 - f/8 through the 35-85mm range. This contradicts the notion of a walk-around lens.
Bokeh at f/8 is displeasing and f/5.6 is not much better.
Perhaps wait until version "II" or pass altogether.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: DrParmesan
Location: Portland, OR
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Good for starters.

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2013
Pros: good value
Cons: Semi-sharp images, Poor build quality
I use a 60D most of the time, but needed an extra camera while doing a wedding video, so I got a T2i with the 18-55 kit lens. This lens has a good overall zoom range, and it's good for somebody who only wants one lens, and doesn't want to spend much money.
The downsides are that the images are not sharp. Even in the perfect light in perfect focus, the images are fuzzy compared to the other lenses I own. Also, it is plasticky and makes a triumphant roar when it auto focuses. (not as loud as the 50mm 1.8 though) Also, unless I'm shooting in the sunlight, f5.6 can be inconvenient.
The upsides are that even though it's a little fuzzy, it's way sharper than what you'd get with a point-and-shoot camera. It is good value for money, and if you want to buy a cheap lens with a nice zoom range, this is a good product.
2 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Wally Cleaver
Location: West Coast
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

It's just Swell

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2013
Pros: super neato
Cons: don't care for the extendo barrel much.
This is a great lens for outdoor photography. Pair it up with one of the the 70mm-200mm L models and a 50mm 1.4 and you can get most anything done you want. It is not the greatest for indoor stuff like school functions etc but then it likely wasn't built to be.
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Timcredible
Location: ohio
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

as good as an L lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
Cons: slow is
i have a t4i, and the 135L, and this 15-85. this 15-85 is as good as the 135L on my crop camera. i would assume that if i put the 135L on a 5d, it would outperform the 15-85, but on a crop, they're the same. the IS is very good, but takes a lmost a full second to spin up
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: George
Location: Houston, Texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

15-85 mm Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I purchased the T3i with the standard 18-55 mm lens. After using the kit lens, it was decided that a higher quality lens was needed. Purchased the 15-85 mm and the difference is like night and day. Optics,ease of use and the outstanding photographs make this the best all around lens available in my opinion.
The lens is as close to perfect as you can get. The lens costs more than the camera but after using you will understand why. A quality and superior lens.
24 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: StevenB
Location: Oxnard, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Really good outdoor walk around lens!

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
Cons: focus motor started squeaking
I really love this lens with my 7D. BUT, was really disappointed when autofocus motor started to squeak after one and a half years! And unfortunately it's no longer under warranty so it will cost to get repaired. I don't use auto focus anymore because its so embarrassing having a 800 dollar lens squeak like crazy when shooting photos! This is an amazing lens but sadly didn't end up so good for me after 1 1/2 years of purchase.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: brysta559
Location: Auburn, AL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great multi-purpose lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2012
Pros: Super-sharp images, nice range
Cons: variable aperature, sealing
This is a great walkaround lens, and also very good for landscapes, etc. While the 3mm difference between this and the 18-135 (or 18-55) may not seem like much, it makes a big difference on crop sensor cameras! I have a 24-70mm 2.8 L and love it, but this truly is near as sharp. I don't hesitate to use it at paying gigs. Plus, it has a much more useable range. 15mm is wide enough for landscapes with an 84 degree view, while 85mm brings you up into the portrait range, Nice! now, if it was only f/2.8 and made of metal & weather sealed. Oh, but then it would be large, heavy and cost 3x as much!
23 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Jay
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
This lens is great. I decided to get this one over the standard 24-105 mm lens based off of the excellent reviews on the Canon website, as well as many others, and boy am I glad I listened. I bought this to replace my 18-55 mm kit lens and man does it make a difference. The extra range, while 3 mm at the wide angle and 30mm at the tele end doesn't seem like a lot, really makes a huge difference. The lens is also sharp as a tack, regardless of zoom or aperture. The USM focuses quickly and quietly. Overall, this lens is basically an L lens without the extra price tag. Definitely the only lens I'll be needing for a while.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Reginald
Location: Arlington, VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice color, good and sharp

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I am surprised at the reviews that say this is not a sharp lens or that the kit lens is sharper. Mine is very sharp. If I had to express one complaint that would be aperture size. It would be perfect if it was F2.8.
The vignetting issue reported in some tests is not something I have noticed in real life.
The other issue, barrelling is apparent in the view finder but less so in images. As it is consistent, it is not so noticeable.
The sweet spot is from 60 to 70mm for sharpness.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: JHB
Location: Muncie, IN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

A great lens!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: none
I bought this lens instead of the kit lens when I bought my T2i and I have since upgraded my camera to the Canon 60 D. It is a great lens for general use and it is on the camera most of the time. I have used it to capture great pictures of the grandchildren and family, our dogs, kids in sports and plays and on a trip to Europe. Sharp, crystal clear, great color and fast focus are the best attributes.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Wolf
Location: IL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, light weight, great focal range
Cons: small manual focus ring, no lense lock, no weather sealing
I really like this lens as a walk around lens, its not overly large or heavy and fits comfortably on my T1i. This is the lens I reccomend for anyone with an APS-C as a walk around lens.
pros: Autofocus is fast and accurate, image quality is extermly good, especially compared to the stock 18-55 is II. While it lacks the feaures of a true L lens, it also doesn't have the price tag of an L. besides image quality, the best feature of this lens as a walk around is its excellent focal range.
Cons: I have two real complaints with this lens, which for
the average user might be no big deal. For me though, I find them pretty signifigant. First is the lack of weather sealing, I use my camera outside at shows and dust is a concern for me. That, above anything else, was a big reason for me to look at L lenses. Eventualy though, price and focal range won out. Complaint number two is the lack of a lock. I use this lens pointing downwards a lot taking vertical shots and I have to use a piece of tape to hold the focal length. A minor issue, but annoying to me.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: ag986
Location: Chesterfield, MO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Excited!...Then Disappointed

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2012
Pros: focal length range, well constructed
Cons: in my copy optical quality
With a focal length range equivalent to 24-136mm on a full frame camera, this lens could satisfy the majority of my needs.
I bought a used copy, thinking that it had the potential to replace my 24-105L. The 24-105L is a great lens but is not always wide enough on a cropped sensor body. I was satisfied with the quality of construction on the EFS 15-85mm and could forgive the occasional lens creep but the optics didn't measure-up. My copy was soft, particularly so at 35mm. My 18-55mm IS kit lens is sharper.
I've read a number of reviews with raves about the lens and a few where people have had issues. Maybe my copy was not a good example or perhaps I was just expecting too much.
The lens is now with its third owner and I have gone back to my 24-105L.
I would recommend this lens to a friend with the caveat that it should be thoroughly tested before they decide to keep it.
11 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: stealthpigeons
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Best Standard Zoom Below 'L'

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2012
Pros: desireable zoom range, sharp images, fast af, quiet, no barrel rotation
Cons: no enviromental sealing, narrow manual focus ring
Of the non-L lenses, this one stands head and shoulders above the others in the standard zoom category. The image sharpness and general quality is close to that of my 70-200mm f/4L USM. While I can still discern a difference in image quality between the two lenses, the 15-85mm f3.5-5.6 IS USM is closer to the L-series quality than what I have observed from the other EF-S lenses. Under some low-light conditions notable vignetting occurs, but generally is not noticeable. Some color aberration can be seen but does not generally detract from the photo. Adobe Lightroom 3 does have a lens profile for correcting images shot in RAW with this lens. The AF is fast and quiet. The lens "feels" good and has a remarkable performance to price ration.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: THEO
Location: LAUREL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

GOOD PURCHASE

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2012
Pros: just point and shoot
Cons: expensive
I HAVE USED THIS LENS WITH A T3I CAMERA TO TAKE MORE THAN 500 PICTURES AND THEY ALL TURN OUT TO BE GOOD. FRIENDS CALL ME A PRO MEANWHILE I JUST USE POINT AND SHOOT. AGAIN I PRINT MY OWN PICTURES AT HOME WITOUT RETOUCHING THE PICTURES
7 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Pam
Location: Ventura, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good all around lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2011
Pros: fast focus, quiet, sharp, great all around lens, has a good feel and weight
Cons: lens lock needed
I bought this lens (I have two) about 5 years ago and I have shot a lot of weddings with it along with other photo sessions. It has been my all around lens for travel. It has been a great all around lens. I had other 3rd party lenses and they don't work half as well. This lens is quick to focus, quiet, and sharp. Like everyone else usually comments, this lens would score a perfect 5 if it had a lens lock. It has a little problem at times focusing in really low light (receptions), but many lenses do. It has really been a work horse for me.
15 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Photoitman
Location: Aurora, il
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great non L lense

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2011
Pros: usm focus, weight
Cons: price
I tried the kit 18-135, 18-200 and 50 1.8 and this beats them all. It is a very sharp lens on my 60d. I do like the 17-55 better but would really miss the range this covers. Very fast to focus and dead on.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site