Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX20 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SX20 IS

Average Customer Rating:
4.466 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(223 Reviews) 223
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (223 reviews)
5 stars
148
4 stars
46
3 stars
17
2 stars
9
1 star
3
193 out of 223(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX20 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SX20 IS
Nickname: linda
Location: Utah
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

I have really enjoyed this camera and its features

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2011
This has been a fantastic camera. We had so much fun until it and I took a fall into a creek the other day. The pictures were all saved it even took a movie of what it saw until it quit under water. It has been fantastic and I want to replace with the same thing.
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX20 IS
Nickname: San Jose Foto Nut
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Another great Canon camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, has hot shoe for external flash
Cons: have to print user manual
Finally getting the chance to put this camera to the test and after some not so great photos (totally my fault) I am getting pics of pro quality, i.e. very sharp crisp pics, very satisfied. The only thing that is disapointing is that the camera doesn't accept filters to protect the lens.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SX20 IS
Nickname: duck
Location: Bernalillo New Mexico
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

growing with camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2010
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I have had other canon cameras and they get better I bought the 20 And a week later the 30 came out but that is ok. I have a 10 and that camera has taken over 100 gig of picts and movies. the movies are great for work and kids. Hockey players get thier goal and the parents ask me for a copy of thier kids making thier goals. I enjoyed the 10 and hope the 20 is better. so far I like the camera.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX20 IS
Nickname: JIMIR
Location: Great Smoky Mountains, TN
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Little Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2010
Pros: ease of use, great stills, fantastic video, price, easy use of the lcd monitor
Cons: slow continuous shooting, a little heavy, cheap strap, cheap lens hood
I must start by revealing that I am a loyal Canon user. I have used a Rebel for over three years now and love it. But, sometimes there are instance where all those lenses and bags full of stuff do not work(Birthday parties, Family reunions and such. I read hundreds of reviews all over the internet concerning this product and am glad I did. I purchased this camera for an easy-to-use product for my wife, but boy, did I ever get my money's worth. This little camera takes fantastic stills and unbelieveable HD video! All the features (which I will let Canon list) are very easy to use and easy to remember. Colors are great and sound on the video is a great surprise for anyone use to a regular camcorder. I don't understand some of the reviews talking about weak colors and such. Methinks this is due to a lack of curiosity concerning all settings available for use by the customer! I absolutely love this camera for above average photos and video for average users, such as my wife. I may swipe it quite often for uses where I may be taking reference photos and such. My recommendation is YES! BUY THIS CAMERA!!
25 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SX20 IS
Nickname: iamqueen
Location: Harrisburg Pa
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

I love my Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2010
The Best camera at a good price. I use my camera for Photography and Videography.Very clear image and good zoom:)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SX20 IS
Nickname: neil
Location: Bangalore, India
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Good camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2010
Pros: great camera for budding serious photographers
Cons: no manual - great loss
I have been thinking of buying an advanced digital camera for some time. Few weeks ago, I happen to see some shots posted by one of my friend. I enquired and with some research on the net - finalized on the sx20 IS.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX20 IS
Nickname: Gunny
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2010
Pros: easy on batteries when using diopter view-finder, dedicated flash hot shoe, good ergonomics, easy to adjust for most lighting situations
Cons: none
First it is important to note that it's a good idea to have some rudimental knowledge of photography to fully appreciate the SX20. This is a feature packed camera with countless ways to capture images from manual shooting modes to fully automatic. I've been using this camera for three months as my primary and only camera with great results right out of the box. However, I get the best results on a consistent basis shooting in a shutter-preferred mode.
I have tried other modes with good and some really fun results. Unless you shoot a lot every day it will take some time to really discover all of this camera's capabilities. If you are considering the next best thing to a DSLR, the SX20 iS should be on your list. Read this web-site's specs and details concerning this camera. I have not had any experience as described in some of the negative reviews. This is a great camera that truly deserves consideration. Oh yeah, the camcorder function is phenomenal. Two cameras in one.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX20 IS
Nickname: PenPen
Location: Puyallup, WA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

LOVE this camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2010
I wanted a camera that took beautiful zoom shots, yet I was afraid it might be complicated or more than I needed. It is very user-friendly and I love it. My whole family loves it and we are so glad we made this investment. The USB cable connects the camera to my PC so pictures download with one push of a button. I didn't even need the software that came with the camera. I recommend this camera to anyone!
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX20 IS
Nickname: fairyrose
Location: Uncasville, CT
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

best birthday present ever!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2010
Pros: easy to use
Cons: lens cap not attached
I've been taking pictures for 30 years now! I'm not a professional photographer but take just as good pics! everything about this camera is awesome! I have been wanting a newer camera for about 3 years now and have finally found the perfect one for me! (thanks to my husband)! Takes great quality pictures, easy to use and love the viewer! Great for taking pics of children!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX20 IS
Nickname: toomanycameras
Location: washington dc
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

great pictures-not so great body

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2010
This camera takes great pictures. I love the fact that the viewer folds out and it has all the features I need for landscapes to faces. I was however disappointed in the sturdiness of the camera. As I have a tendency to drop the camera (out of cars, ski lifts, pockets, etc.) the ability of the camera body to take a bit of punishment is important.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX20 IS
Nickname: Hawaiian Ian
Location: Washington State
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2010
Amazing features, the camera's screen rotates out and angles for viewing high overhead or taking pictures or videos of yourself. It also snaps into place at the back of the camera for viewing.
The zoom is amazing. The first test of it was a landscape shot. I took a picture of our valley and then zoomed in on a house across the way. It wasn't until I loaded the pictures onto my computer for viewing that I realized how great the zoom really is. The detail of the house was surprising and very clear.
The lens cover conveniently pops off and a built-in hook on the back of it keeps it on the camera strap for storage. This is nice because it is not swinging around on a string.
The camera's ability to capture detail and color is beautiful.
Really enjoying this camera and highly recommend it. Pictures are crisp and clear and the video function is unreal.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX20 IS
Nickname: barrett
Location: jacksonville
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Shortcomings

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2010
Cons: no manual
Blame it on my age or whatever, but i am still using my s3 because I cannotstand this camera without a paper manual. It requires constant referal to the manual while in the field. the computer manual seems sleazy for this kind of camera cost.
I am not going to carry a laptop into the field to use.
9 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX20 IS
Nickname: gslide
Location: Amatuer photographer for 40 years.
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointed

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2010
Pros: nice looking day camera.
Cons: slow poor low light camera!
Slow....slow...slow cycle time and poor quailty indoor and low light settings!!!! Using AUTO settings in low light or indoors produced fuzy poor quaility shots...forcing flash in all low light settings helped but didn't fix it!
Anti shake feature only works in bright light or daylight!
Camera came with a very thin operating manual for a novice! I was unable to change format to JPEG to speed up cycle time!!!
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX20 IS
Nickname: w
Location: glen burnie,md
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

everything i was looking for

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2010
this was a great investment. my first purchase of a digital camera after always having 35mm. Wife has a point and shoot and i was looking for something with a little more powerful zoom and i got it with this camera.
the only thing i have been unable to capture has been lightening from some summer storms, but hopefully i can do that soon
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX20 IS
Nickname: tperki
Location: Hartford, CT
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Pretty good but...

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2010
Pros: extreme telephoto lens, articulating lcd, hd video
Cons: poor picture quality
Overall a nice camera. I like the video capability and extreme telephoto. The articulating LCD is cool. Photo quality is so-so. Too soft and fuzzy for my liking. If I could have one wish for this camera is a firmware update with RAW capability and selectable jpeg compression level.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX20 IS
Nickname: maharith
Location: Qatar, QA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Best Performance for simi-Pro cameras

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2010
Pros: goog image quality, high performance in bright/ shade lights, good battery life even though no indicator, reasonable price
Cons: heavy/ bulky, low- low light performance
this is my first time to use simiPro camera, actually to try Canon as it is a brand in photography. I own my PowerShot SX20 IS for almost a year now (10 months), and I took it with me during my vacation (overseas), use it, it gave me very very nice pictures from clarity to focusing, zooming (24X), HD quality images, even while using video, I could made zooming, this feature not avalaible in most cameras,
after using this camera, I want to change now to SLR becuse the features it have makes you wanna do more than just shooting.
definitly this camera worth every penny
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX20 IS
Nickname: SoDakGal
Location: Fairfield, California
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Best camera I've ever had!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2010
When I first got this camera I didn't know much about cameras. I've only ever had basic point and shoot cameras with functions that you couldn't change. At first m pictures were fuzzy/noisey/piexely but then once I learned more about cameras I realized it was my own fault with having the ISO turned up to high. Now my photos come out crystal clear! I do have issues still with the prolonged shutter speed function, but I'm positive with time I can over come this as well. I rarely get a blurry picture. All my pictures are fantastic. I love using it to take pictures of my very active 2 yr old and nature. Best camera I've ever had!
Review 18 for PowerShot SX20 IS
Nickname: HG
Location: Marshfield, MO
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Not the best purchase

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2010
Camera has several usless features. Photos are not sharp, a very cheap camera produces far better photographs. Image quality in some macro modes is fine. Camera will not focus on small close things when there is a large close background. Image quality suffers in all modes. For a camera in this price range it lacks RAW capabilty. Very disappointed with the camera.
Pro - the camera has excellent battery life with rechargable battries
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX20 IS
Nickname: kamikazi
Location: PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Horrible pictures

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2010
Cons: hazy pictures, pictures always out of focus
I own a Canon S2 and was extremely satisfied with the quality of this camera. I decided it was time to upgrade to a newer camera with higher pixels, and new technology. Therefore, I just purchased the Canon SX20 IS
Since receiving this camera I have taken well over 1,000 pictures with it, and extremely unhappy with the photo quality, focus, and clarity. My old S2 has a much sharper image than the SX20 IS. The majority of the SX20 IS pictures are NOT in focus, or have a "haze" to them. I have been taking test pictures of the same objects with both the S2 and SX20 IS, and the S2 is MUCH clearer and sharper than the new SX20 IS. In taking these pictures I have compared by adjusting both cameras to the same settings, taking a picture of the SAME objects/lighting/angles and overall the S2 has a greater picture quality.
I have adjusted the camera setting numerous times, from Auto to the Program settings, adjusting the ISO, and several other settings. When a picture is out of focus, I have taken several pictures of the same objects with numerous settings and get the same out-of-focus results. I am not a professional photographer, but by no means should my pictures have such a low quality, with this type of camera. In the past 4.5 years of owning the S2 I am disappointed with the SX20 IS, and thought when I purchased it I was making an upgrade, but instead I feel I have down-graded. My wife and I are planning a vacation, and plan to take our OLD Canon S2, for fear we cannot capture our memories with the SX20 IS. It is disappointing that I have invested in a newer camera and must resort to my old one.
I have tried everything, and gave my best effort to give this camera a chance. Unfortunately, I am beyond frustrated and have exhausted all my energies trying to make this camera work for me.
23 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX20 IS
Nickname: Anonymous

So Far Soooo Good

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2010
Pros: super macro, 24 shooting modes, still photos while shooting video, hd tv
Cons: no automatic lens cover
I just recently bought this camera. I absolutely love everything about it, except I wish the lens cover was automatic and not something I have to take off and put on. I mainly take photos of sunsets/rises and flower extreme close-ups. The SUPER macro is awesome!! I can shoot a flower smaller than these letters, enlarge the photo and still have a clean photograph. Photography is a hobby to me, this camera... makes me look like a pro.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site