Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot S90

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot S90

Canon's HS SYSTEM with 10.0 Megapixel sensor and DIGIC 4 Image Processor RAW + JPEG, with P, Tv, Av, and M shooting modes Bright f/2.0, 3.8x IS zoom lens Customizable control ring for easy operation of manual or other creative shooting settings
Average Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
68 out of 75(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot S90
Review 1 for PowerShot S90
Nickname: El Badasso
Location: Los Feliz, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

So good I still haven't learned everything

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2010
Pros: the sensor
Cons: no image stabilization
Basically this is an amazing camera in every respect. But the one that counts is the low light shooting. With that sensor you get the kind of pics the pros take and you can do it on the sly. No flashes required
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot S90
Nickname: S90
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

good pictures, horrible user interface

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2010
+ Picture quality for such a small camera
- Wheel is horrible, gets accidentally activated the whole time. It's even too loose to change the settings reliably.
- by switching to 'view mode' settings like self timer and manual focus get lost.
-- this even is the case in custom mode!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot S90
Nickname: Wang
Location: Catlettsburg, Kentucky
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Best digital compact camera ever!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2010
Pros: quality of pictures
Cons: baterry life
Used my camera to take pictures at dusk in DC. Amazed how it turned out to be. Beautiful detail clear pictures. Even when you`re walking while taking pictures, even if it's againt the light. And when I posted my pictures online, i had a lot of compliment. That's how perfect my pictures turned out ot be with this point and shoot camera. Awesome!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot S90
Nickname: Akii
Location: New york
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Love it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2010
Pros: image quality, nice macro mode, excellent display, great sensor, features
Cons: battery life, no hd video recording
This is a excellent camera for those who are looking for image quality, manual mode, build quality. It has a very good sensor. This compact camera has image quality better than other expensive cameras. It has features similar to SLR.
If you intend to buy an SLR this is the right choice to start with.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot S90
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: Less than 1 month

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2010
Pros: amazing quality of photos, great features, night photos turn out great
Cons: battery life, no charging through your computer
I just bought this camera for a trip to Italy. I love the pictures that it takes. The features are great and a wonderful variety. The night settings take great quality photos. I want to say I would like to recommend this camera BUT I have major issues with the battery life! If you are going on a vacation and like to take a large amount of photos, this camera might not be for you. I love taking tons of pictures but this camera's battery died by 7 pm. Lost out on pictures because I didn't realize that the battery was this bad. If you buy it, definitely get a second battery and carry it with you. Also, apparently the camera does not charge when it is plugged into your computer! Canon NEEDS to fix these issues. It is really frustrating and poor quality. Other than that the pictures this camera takes are AMAZING! loved it, when the battery wasn't dead.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot S90
Nickname: 2cents
Location: greatest city every, chicago
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

great little pocket cam

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 21, 2010
fits in your shirt pocket, start up fast, clear photos
2.8f lense works great for 'no flash' situations
just a sweet little cam to tuck away for those "i gotta have moments". Yes, hit enter and just purchase it already!!!
Review 7 for PowerShot S90
Nickname: Rhett
Location: AL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Nice camera, but....

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2010
Pros: good photos for a compact, pocketable, quality
Cons: loose adjust wheel, no viewfinder, cr2 raw format, mov movie format
Takes nice photos in evenly lit day scenes; just about as good as my DSLR. However, it's hard to see what you'll get if the sun is out since there is no viewfinder. This in the same as any other camera without viewfinder.
The wheel on the back is easily knocked out of it's setting by simply dropping the camera in your pocket or an inadvertent brush of the hand. It should have light click stops. You might take a number of shots before you see the mistake.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot S90
Nickname: NewsGroupNet
Location: Washington, DC
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Super Quality, RAW Format, Small

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2010
Pros: small and shoots raw format.
Cons: cannot think of any faults.
There are several things I like most about the Canon S90 - It both shoots RAW format and delivers impressive images, especially in low light levels, and it fits easily in my pocket. Having carried larger cameras for years, I'm hooked on the S90 and recommend it to both pro and serious amateur.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot S90
Nickname: Svejk
Location: Columbus, OH
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Pocket Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2010
S90 produces excellent JPGs out of the camera, which means minimum PP fiddling. Camera fits nicely in shirt pocket, which I attach to a neck strap for safety and security. However, I've added a Franiec hand grip. Over time the rear control dial became too loose and changes EV settings; so I've added a control dial solution. While the LCD is excellent, I do miss a viewfinder. If it had a polycarbonate body it might be a bit lighter.
Review 10 for PowerShot S90
Nickname: Lady Di
Location: Upstate South Carolina
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Exceeded expectations

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2010
Pros: zoom, ease of use, compact size is easy for travel, battery charger easy and compact
What a welcomed experience to purchase a product that surpasses the promises from the manufacturer and performs better than all the reviews! I unpacked my new camera the night before a trip to charge the battery. Although I took my instruction book with me, the camera was so user friendly the book was used very little. My travel partner, an amateur photographer who had a large brand name camera with multiple large lens, could not believe what my little camera could do. She left her bulky camera in the room after the first day. We shared my camera for the rest of the trip and had double prints made. The zoom feature is amazing! I have begun some amateur shooting of my own because of the impressive results I have gotten with the S90. The only problem is that I get so many really good shots, editing is difficult. I'm not sure I have been as pleased with a purchase since my red hoop skirt evening gown in high school.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot S90
Nickname: Jimbo
Location: Bayside, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

The Best in its Class

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2010
Before buying the product I did some extensive reviews on compact digital cameras exploring a wide range of cameras in the price range the S90 is in. All the reviews point to the S90 when compared with competitors.
boy did I make the right decision buying this camera. It is a g11 in stealth mode. The image processing chip is the same as in the g11 as well as the manual functions.
Image quality is great! It can save in RAW so you can have the pure image you captured. It has many modes in automatic and very easy to use in manual mode. It's awesome capturing images in low light, its known for that.
I've been using it for a few months and It is a sweet camera. I'm using this to get used to manual controls to move unto DSLR's. Actually, photographers who use DSLR's carry compact cameras for when DSLR's become inaccessible. In that situation they recommend the S90 because of is fully manual mode and superb image quality.
all in all I recommend this camera for those who want to play around with the settings, for people who just want to use it as a point-and-shoot in auto mode, then it might be a bit pricey for that.
good luck, hope you make the right decision!
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot S90
Nickname: ed s

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2010
great camera for its picture quality, esp low light. its a little slow for multiple shots. worst part is the power button and multi-function ring button are very similar and close--missed a few shots when I hit the function button by accident.
Review 13 for PowerShot S90
Nickname: tobes
Location: traverse city, mi
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

great little camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2010
a very high quality little camera with lots of flexibility
if it were a bit longer on the tele end of the zoom, it would be even better
Review 14 for PowerShot S90
Nickname: mscada
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Bad Design

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2010
Pros: 2.0 app
Cons: bad control wheel placement, bad flash design
Would be a great camera, but...
1. Control wheel is always in the way in all "creative" modes. As a result settings get inadvertently changed all the time.
2. Pop-up flash is very inconvenient. It is too easy to cover it with your hand by accident before it pop ups. And then it gets stuck mid way.
19 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot S90
Nickname: DanieB
Location: Green Bay, WI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Investment

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2010
Pros: great in low light, tons of modes to shoot in, nostalgia feature is neat, adjustable flash intensity
Cons: wheel on back moves too freely, learning curve
I research my electronics like you wouldn't believe! This one came out on top for the camera I was looking for. I wanted something better than a regular point and shoot, but not as expensive or bulky as a DSLR.
I scoped this out at Best Buy and loved it! Ive had it since March and am still getting used to all the customizable features, but there are so many to chose from.
Only issues I have had was it focusing on super close things, like water drops on a car window vs outside of it. But I keep it in "P" mode and it's been great.
I can't get over how great it is in low light, and the stabilization is perfect. It is an investment, but definitely worth it if you want quality and quantity! The scrolly wheel on the back is a bit touchy and moves super easily, but you learn to deal. The flash never gets stuck for me, it always pops my finger up when it opens, I don't CLAMP onto the camera so it's strong enough. My cons are very minor in the overall picture of the s90.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot S90
Nickname: Artist
Location: NYC
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 4, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, excellent camera and video images
Cons: Short battery life
Fully satisfied w/camera and purchased extra battery.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot S90
Nickname: PowerShot
Location: Maryland
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Compact Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
Love it very much! Best compact camera I ever used.
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot S90
Nickname: Nelson
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Bad Design for Cannon

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD
Cons: Flimsy Construction, delicate construction, flash delicate, to pricy for quality
The flash construction is very delicate. It locks if you leave your finger on top of it very easily.
For the price thi gitch is unaceptable !!!
I DON'T RECOMEND THIS MACHINE IF YOU WANT TO LEAVE OTHERS TO USE YOUR CAMERA.
7 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot S90
Nickname: Marauder
Location: Boston
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

S90 Flawed Genius

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor image quality, Short battery life, no superfine jpeg
So have had the product now for 4 months, really like it but I would say there is one big drawback for me.
There is no SuperFine setting for jpegs, so the only way to get really high quality images out of this camera is to go to RAW and then create my own jpegs with high quality.
Why Canon only off Fine on this camera and have left out SuperFine jpeg quality is beyond me, lets hope they product a firmware update to fix this simple but annoying issue.
18 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot S90
Nickname: tdog
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
Great Camera!!!! I have been a Canon fan for quite a few years & this has sealed the deal. Easy to use, professional results with manual capabilities of much more expensive SLRs
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site