Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX120 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SX120 IS

Average Customer Rating:
4.277 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(217 Reviews) 217
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (217 reviews)
5 stars
125
4 stars
56
3 stars
17
2 stars
9
1 star
10
181 out of 217(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX120 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SX120 IS
Nickname: disappointed
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

DISAPPOINTED

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2011
Cons: picture quality is aweful
I purchased this camera as an "Upgrade" to our older Powershot A530. I had been please withthe A530, so I purchased another Canon product. I am EXTREMELY disappointed withthe Picture Quality--it is no where near as good as the 530, and borders on downright terrible. I have tried several settings, whihc make the images "less grainy," but still of poor quality.
I was hoping for a "point and shoot" similar to the 530, but using this camera on"Auto" results in UNACCEPTABLE picture quality.
16 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX120 IS
Nickname: markhoppusrules
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Camera :)

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2011
Pros: mostly everything
Cons: kind of slow
I love this camera! Everything about it is great I loved taking pictures of the buildings downtown and pictures and zoom are amazing! The only thing I didn't like was that the camera is kind of slow. But besides that I would really recommend this camera to anyone that wants to have great pictures and quality for an great price. It's worth every penny. My camera lens messed up when I went on a camp trip with my family, but I don't know why because it was with me the whole time and I kept it safe from anything. My warranty expired so I can't send It back. I'm sure I'm going to get it fixed because this camera is too good to be thrown away like that. I miss the great pictures :/
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SX120 IS
Nickname: CanonEnthusiast
Location: Easton, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Quatlity Photos

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2011
I really enjoy this camera alot. I've had at least 3 other digital camera and they were just ok. I believe this one is the best thus far. It is easy to use. Like every other camera, rechargeable batteries are a must.
PROS: Takes wonderful quality photos. Easy to use with many different modes and settings available. Easy to use even if you are just beginning.
CONS: I have only two complaints. First, I wish that a paper manual would've been included. Secondly, I wish their was a sports or action mode to accomidate and make easier action shots.
Since purchasing this camera I've gotten into photography quite a bit and love to display my shots. I even just recently won a runnerup spot in a photo contest earning me a cool $250.00. This will go towards a future purchase of an even better model and quality Canon. Thank you CANON!!!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX120 IS
Nickname: Butch
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years

The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2011
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, Heavy/Bulky
The Good:
Modest price, great picture quality, easy to use.
The Bad:
Trouble getting the camera to work after putting in new batteries.
The camera is a bit heavy, probably because of the AA batteries.
The Ugly:
Batteries, batteries, batteries. Too many batteries. Modest use (2-3 times per week) of the camera over the last 6 months and I went through at least 50 AA brand name batteries. I recommend getting something rechargable instead.
I've had the camera for 8 months and I can't get it to work, not even turn on. Not sure what the problem is but I won't re-purchase this camera.
12 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SX120 IS
Nickname: Trekker
Location: Monterey Bay, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great All-around Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2011
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Wonderful image quality; and huge benefit of ability to use AA batteries. (I use rechargeable NiMh AAs.) Camera is a perfect, slightly larger size, which makes it easier to hold than those smaller compact cameras This also helps prevent the user from inadvertently pushing the wrong buttons. Reading the Owners' Manual and correctly using the available multitude of user-friendly features virtually guarantees great images.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SX120 IS
Nickname: Reviewman
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Awesome Camera, Except One Thing

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, poor colors in low-light
This camera was a really great buy for me, and I've really been enjoying it. I like the knob on top because it helps to access different modes quickly. The image stabilizer is great until the shutters and zoom are both longer, like 1/4 second or more, but then you just use a tripod. The pictures in normal light are crisp and crystal clear, so there's no worry there. But the darker the environment, the worse the picture quality. In darker areas of the pictures, it is especially noticeable that the colors there are very chunky, not smooth.The borders between colors there are too defined when they shouldn't be. Thes is the one thing I dislike. The overall picture quality begins to degrade at 400 ISO, so don't do any more than that. Macro is great, video is average, but manual mode is the best because you really get to explore. Of course, the camera is still awesome when you just want the event recorded. I dropped it once; it still is working like it was. The battery life is very good, lasting me a good while, and since they're AA's they are easy to change. This camera is perfect for its price, but for anybody who likes indoor pictures more, or evening pictures, without flash, then, no, you don't want this. But to anyone else, buy this. This is the one.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX120 IS
Nickname: vm
Location: washington state
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

next to useless

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2011
Cons: Short battery life
i have always used Canon cameras and been extremely happy - until now. This is a great little camera except after taking a few pictures it says the batteries are low and will quit. Everytime I have tested the batteries, they are at least 90% good. So to use the camera the batteries have to be right out of the package, use them for a few shots and get more. I would assume there is some sort of sensor in the camera that isn't reading correctly. Of course, I had so much faith in canon I don't think I sent in the registration stuff - worst news is I bot one just like it for my husband- same thing.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX120 IS
Nickname: HME
Location: Norwalk, CT
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wonderful camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Bought and used this canon camera for about a year. Love it and how it takes clear pictures. The zoom is great and the many features are excellent. Takes time to learn how to use it properly but it is worth knowing. Always use the liltium bstteries and you will never have a problem. these batteries last a very long time.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX120 IS
Nickname: DARTHVADER49
Location: STATEN ISLAND, NEW YORK
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2010
Pros: Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Short battery life
EATS BATTERYS LIKE THERE IS NO TOMORROW. NEW BATTERY LASTS 6 TO 10 SHOTS AND THEN DEAD.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX120 IS
Nickname: michele
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Product replacement: No

Very good digital camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu
You have to use lithium batteries or you will be ripping through the batteries. Other than that, it is a really good digital camera. There are so many options and settings, that you can get yourself in a place where you've messed yourself up, so I recommend making sure you know exactly how they all work before changing them. The only thing that I think could improve in terms of performance is the zoom. It is good, but I've seen even better. For the price it is an excellent camera. I post on facebook, and people tell me my pics are great.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX120 IS
Nickname: Twin A
Location: MISSOURI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, durable, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
I love my canon. I wouldn't trade it for any other camera. The only bad part is the battery life and also the flash. This camera doesn't take pictures very well in low lighting. When you use the flash it takes 10 secs or so for the picture to actually take.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX120 IS
Nickname: grizzy
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

This Camera does not hold a charge on the battery

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2010
Pros: Bright LCD
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
I've had this camera fixed once for not holding a charge on the battery and now I have to have it fixed again for the same problem. I would never buy this camera again and never recommend it to others. The $250.00 I paid for it is very expensive for a camera that doesn't work. It has low-light performance also.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX120 IS
Nickname: novice
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Product replacement: Yes

Love the pictures but it eats up batteries

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
WE love the camera and the quality of the pictures it takes. Our only complaint is it eats up batteries. I can't even get 20 pictures before my low battery light flashes. I always have to carry extra batteries with me and it's frustrating when on vacation or trying to take pictures of my kids.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX120 IS
Nickname: Muddman
Location: Utica, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Devours batteries!

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, Short battery life
I have owned six previous Canon A series cameras and I thought they were great. This replaced my last one which broke. However, I can't keep batteries in it - the rechargeables I use in it only last a very short while or a few pictures, so I have been using standard alkaline: while trying to take pictures with the camera/screen constantly on a new set lasts less than 10 minutes. I check the batteries with a tester and it says "good", but in the camera it says "change batteries"?? When taking occasional photos and I leave the batteries in the camera, it is dead after a couple days. Now after I take some photos I take the batteries out and leave them out till I use it again. All the previous Canons I owned lasted a couple weeks or longer on one set. Also the battery door is difficult to open and flimsy - worse than previous models. I also miss the stitch assist on panorama photos, Canon seems to be dropping the selection of standard features/modes that used to be on previous A series models, so I had to go to this one to get some of the ones I liked. I am frustrated with this camera....
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX120 IS
Nickname: cupcake
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Worst camera ever owned

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2010
Cons: Poor image quality, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu
I hate this camera. It cost us about $230 and it's a piece of junk. For some reason it seems to hold about 45 photos before it says the memory card is full, the battery life is VERY poor- we are going to invest in rechargeables, and I have to take several shots to get a decent photo- most come out blurry. I know it is NOT me. I don't have a shaky hand. I NEVER had a problem with the 2 other cameras I've owned in the past. Don't waste your money!
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX120 IS
Nickname: Camera Lady
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Awesome Purchase!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
This camera is great! It zooms so much and has so many features, it's unbelievable! They come out great and hold so many pics! It also takes video and audio!!!! It's a GREAT purchase, though it takes a while to get used to everything it can do.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX120 IS
Nickname: First Time Buyer
Location: Orlando, FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Happy With Purchase

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2010
Pros: easy to use, design/style, manual controls, 3in screen, quality
Cons: no printed manual, slow when using flash, video zoom quality
This is my first camera, and I am very happy with it. I am not a fan of those tiny palm-sized cameras, and i wanted a super-zoom camera, as to why I chose the SX120. I also wanted a point and shoot with full manual controls, so i can learn on it and upgrade to a DSLR. So far I love the controls on here, easy to use. One thing I don't like is the video quality when zooming in, but I am fine with that. I don't take much videos any way. I also wish it came with a full printed manual, so I can take with me when I am using the camera. It does come with a printed Basic User Guide. Another Con, is when using the Flash, it takes, what feels like forever, to take the next picture. My next camera will be a Canon, and I would recommend it to everyone.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SX120 IS
Nickname: Grandpa j
Location: Tulare, Ca
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Invest heavily in batteries

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2010
Pros: great auto and manual
Cons: 10 picture battery life.
The camera itself is all i could ask for when working properly but mine goes through rechargeable batteries faster than a kid with candy on Halloween. I am trying to get some satisfaction in this regard and "when" this is settled the camera will be great.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX120 IS
Nickname: ram
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User

Great camera except flash and battery charging

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2010
Camera as such is great. But be aware of 2 major disadvantages. If you are okay with them, then you can definitely go for this camera ... great zoom and pictures.
1. If you use flash, you literally have to wait 6-7 seconds before you click the next picture. So, if it's like a birthday event where you are using flash its painful. But if you are not in a hurry to take snaps, its fine.
2. When I bought it, I have mistaken the AC adapter as something available to charge camera battery. So, if you have a battery charger and 2-3 sets, it should be fine.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX120 IS
Nickname: Nika
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Love at first sight

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2010
Pros: stunning photos, great price
Cons: no printed manual, guzzles battery
As I'm not quite skilled enough to take on the bigger SLRs, this camera is an excellent gateway to more seasoned photography. Whether you like to point-and-shoot or tweak everything just right with the manual functions, this camera is all-around awesome in my opinion. I've owned this camera for five hours now and my mind is already blown.
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site