Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MP Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MP Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MP640R

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MP640R

Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
8 out of 12(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MP640R
Review 1 for PIXMA MP640R
Nickname: confused
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: Yes

Beware of ink prices and small cartidges

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Large Footprint, unreliable, expensive and small cartridges, takes up alot of room in home office, spent a ton of money on cartridge replacement
I was sold by the salesman on the features of this printer about having separate replaceable cartridges and was told the overall cost would be lower. But was I surprised when I had to replace them all at once. The bad part is they do not last very long especially if you like color copies. I have spent a small fortune on ink and will be replacing the unit with another brand that uses cheaper ink cartridges. I can buy a cheap printer for what all the replacement cartridges cost.
Review 2 for PIXMA MP640R
Nickname: andy
Used this product for: more than 1 year

Good every day use printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed
It has been a good all-in one. It isn't fast. It is easy to use and it was not that expensive. I have been very happy with it. it is good to a regular user, it you are looking for something very high tech and very awesome, this is not y our printer. It does a good job for everyday home use.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MP640R
Nickname: Joe
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Dependable Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: ink price
I have owned this printer for 4 years now. Sometimes it takes a while to start up, but once it starts printing it prints very quickly with a high quality. Scanning is very simple when using the MP Navigator program. You get quality pictures, the only thing is you have use the easy photo printing program that comes with the software. Some of it you have to know your way around a computer a little bit. Setting it up wirelessly is fairly simple, all you need to know is your network password, and the printer will find your wireless connection to plug in the password, and then you can use it with any of the computers on the network that you set it up with. I am very satisfied with this product, and the tech support is top-notch.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MP640R
Nickname: eechaze
Location: Baton Rouge
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output
I've had this printer for 3 years. I use it mainly for printing documents wirelessly from my laptop and it has performed exceptionally well. I also scan documents wirelessly and make copies when necessary. The printer ink is not too expensive when compared to other printers in the market
Review 5 for PIXMA MP640R
Nickname: Mustangz
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

So Far, So Good!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Large Footprint
I have had this printer now for 2 years and I can honestly say it has done everything I have asked of it. It connects wireless to my network without any fanfare. Scans, copies, prints, etc. It has been reliable and was purchased at a fair prince
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MP640R
Nickname: Bob
Location: Illinois
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Stuck in Sepia

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output
Great performing printer. All in one features are great. Everything was going well until the day I printed 2 sepia prints and from that time on it will now only print sepia photos and refuses to convert back to color.
Review 7 for PIXMA MP640R
Nickname: Unhappy
Location: Washington
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User

Unhappy with product

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Low Quality Output, unreliable
I am very unhappy with this printer. I bought it because i liked the features it "comes" with, but as it turns out, the printer refuses to scan anything anyways. The ink cartridges are tiny and very expensive to replace, and its a huge and bulky printer. If i could return it, i would. Instead its going in the trash.
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MP640R
Nickname: lancer
Location: York, Pa
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents

Nice Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
I've had this printer now for about 4 years and has worked flawlessly. I use it for my wireless laptop LAN and my hard wired desktop. It prints good, scans to either PCgood after choosing which PC to send the scan to, makes copies good. I have no complaints at all. The ink may be the only slight issue. I seems to use ink at an average rate, probably due to the ink tank size. If it used ink better I don't know what I'd do with myself... but the ink replacements are cheap, so that makes it nice to replace when needed.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MP640R
Nickname: Sandy
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2012
Pros: reliable, durable, easy to use
This printer is easy to use and the drivers are easy to find on the web site when needed. Compared to other printers, the ink usage is average. I generally get new cartridges from Amazon at a great price! I would recommend this printer.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MP640R
Nickname: J
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Abysmal product not like my beloved MP600

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2012
Pros: absolutely none
Cons: small ink tanks, poor print quality, refuses to scan, paper supply fights with you
Terrible. It looked like my beloved MP600, but don't be fooled. Small ink tanks. Poor print quality. Refuses to scan. Paper feed fights with you. Absolutely ghastly. I lack adequate words to describe how terrible this machine is.
3 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MP640R
Nickname: Snook
Location: Punta Gorda, Fl.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Failed in 2 Years

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2012
Cons: failed completely
After approx. 2 years my Canon MP 640R printer failed totally. It would not turn on at all & therefore could not even be started. Canon offered me approx. $50 toward online replacement. Now my 2nd MP640 fails to communicate on my LAN.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MP640R
Nickname: LD
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Best Printer Ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
In late December I purchased another brand of printer. I'd made the mistake of not getting a printer with the duplex option (where it prints automatically on both sides). I desperately needed that. The other printer was very irritating to use as well, but I thought that was normal (all my other printers have been that way my entire life,). So I went in and saw this red Canon--it had everything I needed and it was inexpensive, so I got it. It was easy to set up. The printing job is fantastic--duplex, color, black and white. It communicates with me on my computer clearly! (It's screen is clear and easy to use as well.) The scanning is so much easier than the other two scanners I've owned that I just groan thinking of how much I suffered in the past. It's amazing. It's also attractive. I haven't had it that long--only a month or so, but I've used it a lot for many different purposes.
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site