Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF S200

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

VIXIA HF S200

Canon's VIXIA HF S200 Flash Memory Camcorder, with two SD memory card slots, offers Canon's most sophisticated feature set to date - blurring the line between consumer and professional.
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
9 out of 13(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF S200
Review 1 for VIXIA HF S200
Nickname: umbilicalbungee
Location: Asheville NC
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Included Video Transfer Software is a Problem

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2011
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality
Cons: Difficult to use, Limited Software Compatibility
This is a great camera for the price. My major complaints about it are the variable speed zoom control is not very smooth with the slowest speed not being fast enough. Also Its frustrating that not all the settings are saved when it goes into standby mode. I've had major headaches with transferring video to my PC using the included software. Canon doesn't offer tech support for the software, and the company that makes it doesn't either! If you shoot clips larger than 2GB they are divided up on the memory card, and are missing frames if you try to copy them off directly. If you transfer with the software it copies the 2GB clips, and then makes an additional copy of the long clips with the missing frames. This works ok on windows XP, but on Win 7 64bit, it often hangs and does not write out the long stitched together clips at all.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIXIA HF S200
Nickname: Eric
Location: Manassas, VA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome Camcorder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2011
I've had this camera for about 6 months now. I use it primarly to capture indoor sporting events, but also use it for vacation videos and videos of kids. I use 16GB Class 4 memory, and the recorder works fine with this speed memory, even in the highest resolution/data rate modes.
I especially like the 3 second pre-record feature. It's a feature that I read about, and said "no big deal" but after using it, it's great. Picture that your 10 year old is playing in his first football game. You don't want to record the whole game, you only want the highlights. So you turn on the 3-second pre-record and fix your camera on your all star. When he/she breaks a tackle and starts heading for the end zone, you hit the record button, and whammo, you've got the whole play recorded from the very beginning. Awesome feature for videoing small children, as you never know when they're going to do something cute.
The video quality is top notch. I can't speak for the canon editing software, as I use Adobe for all my video processing, but the included utility works great to transfer video directly from the camera, or from the memory card (if you're using a memory card reader) The transfer software renames the recorded videos with the Date/Timestamp in the format YYYYMMDDHHMISS. This is very nice for organizing clips in your video library, as they are all stored in chronological order.
The Video display screen is the best I've seen on a camcorder. The videos are very watchable right on the camera. The speaker on the camera is terrible, but that's to be expected.
The touch screen interface is very nice, and extremely responsive. It took me a few minutes to get used to the interface, but now that I'm used to it, it's very nice.
I don't use the "still shot" very much, but the still picture output is reasonable, considering that you're using a video camera.
Battery life could be better (it's about 1.5 - 2 hours) of actively using the camera, but I've purchased 2 non OEM extended life batteries from a popular online auction house, and they work very well (and they were only $10 each)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIXIA HF S200
Nickname: Canonholic
Location: Houston,Tx
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Simply one of the best

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2011
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
Picture quality is super clear and sharp with plenty of light but it struggles a bit in the dark.Software is easy to use but very limited.Some transitions and some faders would've been nice with the software.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIXIA HF S200
Nickname: hawkman
Location: longIsland, new york
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

troble with useing the veiw screen while shotting

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Uncomfortable to hold
I am finding it difficult to see the veiw sceen while fliming out doors. You can not see the screen if it is sunny outside
2 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIXIA HF S200
Nickname: buycanon

The Best Stabilization!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2011
Pros: HD quality is stellar. It's ability to focus in on items practically on the lens is absolutely amazing. It's dynamic stabilization is very effective. Compared to previous generations of canon's, this camera surmounts them all.
Cons: 10x optical zoom. Oh well. A slight inconvenience. It has comparable digital zoom to make up for it.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIXIA HF S200
Nickname: Biker
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Newest HD camcorder

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2010
I recently purchased the Canon Vixia HFS200. I had refrained for several years to evaluate various models. I have a Canon HV20 which makes great movies, but I do not like the lag times with the mechanical drive.The HFS200 has many appealing qualities. The movie clips are great, The stills are surprizingly excellent. Great flexibility, if you can work your way throught the options and the screens ezpecially in sunlight. I find the screen difficult to use. Sometimes it works if you barely touch it. Other tmes, you must apply pressure and then more.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIXIA HF S200
Nickname: UseYourIllusion
Location: Honolulu, HI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome Camcorder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2010
This is one of the most advanced consumer camcorders i have ever seen. I love it. I have a mac, and there are a lot of people that think that this camcorder is not compatible with mac...it is! you just can't use a memory card reader, you have to used the cable that comes with the camcorder.
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIXIA HF S200
Nickname: frustated
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

repaired more than used

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2010
This is the first cannon camcorder I've purchased. In the 10 months I've had it I have recorded a maximum of 3 hours of video. I am now sending it back for repair for the second time. The first repair was to fix the lens cap which didn't shut. I just got it out to record my boys football scrimmage and now nothing shows up on my screen. I now feel like it was a total waste of money.
17 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIXIA HF S200
Nickname: Brads99
Location: Boxford, MA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Value for Cable Access Use

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2010
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable
Cons: Short battery life
We are a local public access television station. We have taped several sporting events with this camera. We also use Vixia HV30 mini-dv cameras.
Great features of this camera are 3.5" LCD, lanc remote zoom support, memory card, and superb quality of standard 16:9 playback.
We purchased 3000 mah HD battery to overcome short battery life of standard battery.
We use third party lanc zoom control from our $4K Canon Pro camera without a problem.
The 10x zoom is a limitation, but we are very happy overall and beleilve that this camera is a great find for us. The memory chip eliminates all computer connectivity issues for us.
28 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIXIA HF S200
Nickname: Rob
Location: West Chester, PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing Camcorder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I've been running tests with this camera for over a week and I'm really impressed with the quality of the images and the features. The colors are realistic and vibrant, the images are razor sharp. I shot some closeups of flowers and the little hairs on the stems just popped off of the screen.
In telephoto at close range the depth of field is very shallow giving you that shallow focus effect that everyone loves with the DSLRs.
I love the touch screen to adjust focus and exposure. I shot a green screen test and was able to pull a perfect key with no problems. I plugged the SDHC memory card into my iMac and downloaded the video clips into FCP with no problems.
The still photos are great, so there is no need to tote an extra still camera. It's nice to be able to shoot some stills to drop into my video without having to go to another camera.
Some of the other Vixia cameras DO NOT recognize class 10 SDHC memory cards but this camera DOES.
I always buy extra batteries. I purchased the BP 819 & 827 high capacity batteries and the battery life is very good with all of the batteries.
The low light performance could be better. The only other wish that I have so far is if this camera could also shoot native 30P.
I like the new features added to this model, native 24P, the touch screen, larger faster lens & sensor, etc.
I own 10 Canons / 4 different models.
21 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIXIA HF S200
Nickname: TJ
Location: Long Island of NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Missing parts for a high end camcorder

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold
Cons: low optical zoom, no shoulder strap that is common in the others, no hdmi cable only old-fashioned component cable
It's a camcorder with a high quality image. However, as a high-end and expensive camcorder, it misses some features we used to enjoy and is incomplete to today's hi-tech
1. Low range of Optical Zoom: 10X only, among the lowest in this category
2. Neck and shoulder straps are not in the box, are extra options. That's not common among the camcorders. I deem it's necessary widget to prevent from dropping.
3. Mini HDMI cable would be more suitable to high definition and today's tech, but not provided. Instead, an old-fashioned component cable is included.
29 of 62 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIXIA HF S200
Nickname: Jansin

Great Product

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2010
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use, sleeker than the competitors
Cons: Short battery life, high price
This is a great little camcorder, very sleek looking with a very sharp lens. Any time I use this camera I get comments about its looks. Just to answer the other reviewer's question, this camcorder DOES work with Mac's iMovie. You must plug the camera in using the supplied USB cable, as inserting the SD card into your Mac will not work. High price tag is the only concern.
46 of 49 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIXIA HF S200
Nickname: Mac User
Location: Vermont
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Where's the User guide for Mac?

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2010
Pros: Great sound/audio, Compact Design, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility
I like this product, but you don't have a guide for transfering videos to MAC. I've been trying to transfer my videos to my mac but I haven't been able to. I hope you read this and get back to me. I have put in my email. Now I'm thinking about returning it to get something I can use with my mac. (I have a mac book pro. it's not an old computer; it's new). All you have is Windows guide. I don't know any body who use windows to edit videos.
59 of 183 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site