Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF M31

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

VIXIA HF M31

The Canon VIXIA HF M31 Dual Flash Memory Camcorder features a 32GB internal flash drive and an SD memory card slot in an ultra-sleek, compact and lightweight body.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
11 out of 14(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF M31
Review 1 for VIXIA HF M31
Nickname: V K
Location: San Jose, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

A Value Added Product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2011
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, easy to use
Cons: should have included that hdmi cable, what is that noice when you slightly shake, the device feels like something is broken inside!
I still use Canon products as old as 10 years and no complains what so ever. Great product for a great price.
I am hoping to be a Canon customer for years to come!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIXIA HF M31
Nickname: Bo
Location: West Tx
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Stepping away from tapes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, add on lens s work well with it
Cons: hooded view finder would help., screen can be difficult to see in bright light
I,ve stepped up from a Canon ZR 600 to a VIVIA HV 30 and now to this VIVIA HF M31. I still use them all and enjoy my 3 Canon cameras too. My fovorite part of using the M31 is that it creates great video and I never miss a good picture. By using the high settings on video I shoot scenes instead of pictures. (ever try to get your grandkids to all smile at the same time) Then I go back and watch the footage and (with the camera settings set high) save my pictures from it. They come out crisp and beautiful and are not missed because of digital camera lag or lack of focus time ect. Guess if there is anything I miss on this camcorder it would be the viewfinder without having to open the viewing screen. I can honestly say I've never had a Canon product I didn't like.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIXIA HF M31
Nickname: exe16
Location: Amherst, OH
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Solid!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2011
Pros: Great sound/audio
Cons: expensive to buy a better battery
I'm happy with my purchase. Good quality and easy to use.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIXIA HF M31
Nickname: California Guy
Location: California
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

PLAIN AND SIMPLE

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
I was going to purchase a less expensive camera but in comparing what you get with this camera it was an easy choice. I hate things where I have to read the manual all the time. I did have to refer to the manual a few times but simple stuff. I find the quality of videos so far very good. Ive shot live music in restaurants and misc things in general. Even had one restaurant pay me for doing a short clip of their place. The touch screen option is really nice. You can put a lot of time on the built in drive. I purchased an extra battery also. I have a new Mac Book and in a few clicks was downloading my shots and editing away. I'm sure anyone can find faults with any camera. But I am very happy with Cannon's thoughtfulness in making this user friendly camera.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIXIA HF M31
Nickname: Wash Jr.
Location: Long Beach, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Features

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2011
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, excellent image quality, durable, Easy TV Connectivity
Need to play with the camcorder and work all the features before evaluating the camcorder. Once you get familiar with the features the camcorder operates very well
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIXIA HF M31
Nickname: Indie Filmmaker

Indie Filmmaker's Dream

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2011
This camera is a work of art. I use Super 16mm and Super 8 cameras, but this is perfect for other indie work. The quality is outstanding. The picture is 100% on the money not to mention the 24P mode alone with the cine mode. I shot hours of footage at the LA Convention Center hosting the 2011 Easy Riders Bike Show and the film looked great.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIXIA HF M31
Nickname: polaire
Location: Montreal
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

What a disappointment !

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2011
Cons: very bad quality for inside filming
When filming inside, even with a reasonable amount of light,colors are dull, picture is hazy and dark. I've even got the VL-5 video light (outrageously expensive accessory)
but it did'nt change anything.
Unfortunately, it's too late to return it.
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIXIA HF M31
Nickname: jd
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great if you use a good SD card

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2010
Pros: Great sound/audio, Compact Design, excellent image quality, easy to use
This camera was the best investment! The problem with picture quality that people talk about I believe has to do with the fact that most don't realize you need a good quality SD card in order to get good quality footage. you can't just use any SD card. If you want a great camera for the money buy this one! Just remember your quality will also be dtermined by the amount of money you put in to the memory card.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIXIA HF M31
Nickname: Troy
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Worst Picture Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2010
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Color Reproduction
The picture quality was the worst. My $150 camera thats better video that this camera. The video was very "grainy". I returned it to best buy today.
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIXIA HF M31
Nickname: Rich P
Location: Raleigh, NC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Win 7 won't recognize

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2010
Pros: ok camera
Cons: won't work on win 7
Camera is not recognized by Win 7, did not have problem with XP. Sold the XP computer now I am out of luck and cannot transfer video to computer, Tried on someone elses Win 7 and it didn't work there either. Expensive camera but not worth a darn if I cannot offload video. Very very unhappy right now.
19 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIXIA HF M31
Nickname: Photo opportunity
Location: St. Louis, MO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Best picture quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2010
Pros: best picture and video quality, canon's reputation, ease of use, price range
Cons: none that i can find so far
I don't usually write reviews on anything. Before I spent any money on a high dollar item, I do at least a three day research on the web for that product. I did this for a new camcorder. I narrowed it down to two manufacturers, one of which was Canon. I work with someone who has a Canon digital camera and he says nothing but great things about it.
So I leaned a little toward the Canon brand. I mostly look at reviews and comments from other people as a gauge to decide on purchasing. This was true in this case. I chose to go with the Canon Vixia HF-M31. I also discovered other people were so happy with the Vixia HF-M31 that they posted videos on YouTube, which was another factor.
After comparing features with other Canon camcorders I chose this model. I am glad I did. Once I started to learn on how to use the camcorder and software, I found out it went beyond my expectations. My deciding factor was the size of hard drive and card slot.
Once I got the camcorder, I had a small learning curve to use some of it's best features. The unexpected benefit of this camcorder for me was the picture quality. I highly recommend the Canon Vixia HF-M31 for those who want professional looking videos and photos for whatever the occasion.
58 of 59 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIXIA HF M31
Nickname: Orange Witness
Location: Orange County, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

A darn good HD camcorder

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2010
Pros: very easy to use, it captures in 1080 hd, very good built in speaker, easy to use with a computer
Cons: slight vignetting symptoms
This is a very fun camcorder to use. No more dealing with rewinding and fast-forwarding DV tapes. 1080 high definition. The 32GB hard drive gives me plenty of storage for lots of video footage.
The playback is excellent. If you use headphones, just remember to switch the AV input setting from AV to headphones.
If you connect this to a 1080 resolution plasma screen with an HDMI cable and view your footage, you'll be amazed at the picture quality and knowing you did that with your camcorder.
If you capture the sky on video on a sunny day, you might get some slight vignetting symptoms. It's a common occurrence with camera lenses. It seems to happen more if I put the stabilization feature on Dynamic. I saw this on YouTube from someone else with the same camcorder so I know it's not just mine. But it's a slight issue and for me it wasn't a deal-breaker.
It will definitely happen more if you use a UV filter, which I still choose to do to protect the lens.
I find the camcorder very easy to hold and operate, even with the longer BP-827 battery pack.
Being able to use an SD card is also a big plus.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIXIA HF M31
Nickname: Beechtiger
Location: St. Louis, MO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

A Nice Compact HD with Dual Flash Memory

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
A nice compact camcorder with loaded features that can be put into a pants pocket.
10 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIXIA HF M31
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: new hampshire
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

4 minutes left in the game

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2010
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, excellent image quality, Good Software Compatibility, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, Poor sound/audio, photo option doesnt always keep up in auto mode
i like the ease of use, the camcoder worked great for daughters 10th birthday indoors and out, for someone who is not used to camcorders it is easy to figure out.
daughter plays aau basket ball with less than 3 total hours recording time, 4 mins left in the game the screen
goes black never to return, trying to deal with best buy now as it is 31 days old. not real happy at this point
30 of 50 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site