Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / Flash Memory Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Flash Memory Camcorders or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
5 out of 5
4.75 out of 5
4.625 out of 5
4.25 out of 5

Customer Reviews for FS300 Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

FS300 Silver

The Canon FS300 Flash Memory camcorder is among the most affordable ways to get stunning video in a light, compact and very user-friendly package.
Average Customer Rating:
2.583 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
3 out of 12(25%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FS300 Silver
Review 1 for FS300 Silver
Nickname: LeeCanon
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Windows 7 nightmare

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 28, 2011
I have spent way too much time trying to move the videos from my camcorder to my windows 7 desktop. The Canon web site states it works and is supported ... but it doesn't work! I've tried it on other windows 7 systems and the same problem occurs. I've viewed Canon as a leader until this purchase.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FS300 Silver
Nickname: bduff
Location: Washington DC / Metro area
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice features - poor battery

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2011
Pros: Compact Design, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
Bought this camera as an anniversary gift for my wife & she was thrilled with the camera, function and ease to take along to the kids school & sports functions.
However, after only 6-months of light/moderate use, the battery stopped accepting a charge.
Now can only be used in proximity to an electrical outlet - or purchase a new battery.
Disappointed that such a nicely designed package should have an issue like this while still basically 'new".
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FS300 Silver
Nickname: Redhead
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

smooth capturing

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, easy to use
I need a wide angle lens for this and i cant find one!!!!!!!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FS300 Silver
Nickname: RedxSaint
Location: Brunswick,GA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

This is an awsome camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Good Software Compatibility
I have used many Camera's to record my Semi-Pro games, but this one here not only has a great shot but it captures everything.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FS300 Silver
Nickname: Cosette
Location: U.S.A.

Very Disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Compact Design, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Poor sound/audio, no memory
I was excited to receive this camera as a gift- until I started using it. First off, it doesn't film well in low light, second, it comes with almost no memory (you'll have to buy a memory card.) But the clicker was the audio, every video has loud camera noise in the background. On the plus the camera connects easily to the TV, is small and compact, and has a long battery life. Overall however, I cannot express my dissatisfaction for this product and will NEVER buy from Canon again.
8 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FS300 Silver
Nickname: jplv
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months

poor in low light

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance
The camcorder is very easy to use, good price,easy to handle,controls are easy to operate,good battery life. On the negative side ,image in low light conditions is very poor ,"very "grainy", and the audio is not to good either,very disappointing for a canon camcorder
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FS300 Silver
Nickname: Jen
Location: AR
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Defect not acknowledged by Canon

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Poor sound/audio, Flimsy Construction
I received this camera as a gift and was very disappointed! The small camera is lightweight and easy to use and would be fine as long as you don't mind the "film reel" noise in the background. The Canon rep. that I spoke with said the noise is from a combination of things: the highly sensitive microphone and the placement of the mic next to the camera motor! This camera was poorly designed...unless you are hard of hearing, do not buy this unit!!!
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FS300 Silver
Nickname: Cindy
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Heck of a time using it with an iMac

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2010
Bought this cause my boyfriend had a videocam with a mini DVD and it seemed like this was the latest craze...the flash card memory. I knew the software didn't work with an iMac but supposedly the iMac would recognize the camera when attached, and I could use it with iMovie. As another reviewer said, my iMac doesn't recognize the camera OR the SD card. I'll call Canon (it's after hours now) but it looks like I might be returning it to good old Target (90 day guarantee!). It's small, cute, fits in any bag...but, it has to work with my computer or they should give me their highly recommended DW-100 DVD burner!
13 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FS300 Silver
Nickname: itsmeLAURAAA
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Yeah, no.

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2010
I'm a YouTuber, and filmmaker. I was expecting to be able to create decent short films with this. Don't get me wrong, if you're looking for a simple camcorder to record events and family gatherings, it's fine. But it's not for what I had in mind with it. It has horrid battery life, not good in low light, and after a while, the focus gets lazy. It also has a constant droning sound in recordings that sounds something like a film reel, so you never get a silent recording. The picture is grainy as well. I don't like using it. I want it to die so I have an excuse to get a new one.
26 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FS300 Silver
Nickname: george
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

FS300 Canon video recorder

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2010
So far the recorder is easy to use. At the moment I am trying to upload the video from the SD video card. My iMAC is not recognizing the data on card. The manual is only good for windows and apparently not MAC OS. I am going to contact customer service to see if they can help. I do know that the photos taken aren't the best quality it seems. I can only hope that the video is good.
14 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FS300 Silver
Nickname: eos

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2010
Cons: no microphone input
It was not what I expected.The next model should have a mic input.
30 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FS300 Silver
Nickname: Daleyfish
Location: Oregon
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Not what I expected

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2010
Pros: Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use, good zoom
Cons: Short battery life, Limited Software Compatibility, hassle to edit movies, limited instructions, trial and error for advanced operations
Good for point and shoot. Small size, easy to use on the dual shot setting. Good zoom. good clarity.
Replay OK on Camera. Dissapointed in manual not user friendly. Video software for making and editing movies -BAD-adding music etc. BAD My son bought one and returned it for a Flip camera. Smaller and easier.
43 of 46 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site