Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF R100

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

VIXIA HF R100

With the Canon VIXIA HF R100 Flash Memory Camcorder, you'll find that high definition video has hit new levels of convenience, ease, performance- and value.
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
5 out of 8(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF R100
Review 1 for VIXIA HF R100
Nickname: cooljim
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use, priced right
Cons: Short battery life
Many good features, but mostly an external mic jack. Good job, Canon!
Review 2 for VIXIA HF R100
Nickname: Deborra
Location: Miami Beach Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Compact & Comfortable

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2011
Pros: easy to hold
I just purchased this for my Cruise to the Caribbean.. I've been reading the manual online and taking videos and pictures... I just love the simplisity of this camera. Takes wonderful videos and pictures. So many fun options to use. Can't wait to see the Holiday pictures.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIXIA HF R100
Nickname: PhorZ
Location: Vegas
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Sound quality issues

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2011
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Poor sound/audio
I have been having the same problem as another reviewer in that this camera makes noise that is picked up by the mic and makes horrible artifacts that you cannot get rid of. I have also hooked up external mics but this does not fix the problem. As the return period at the place of purchase was over before I found out this problem existed I am going to try to get this replaced under the manufacturer warranty.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIXIA HF R100
Nickname: Mr. Blue
Location: Washington, DC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Bad Audio Noise

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2011
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Compact Design, excellent image quality, easy to use
Cons: Poor sound/audio
This camera makes a small noise once powered on, you have to put your ear close to the camera to hear it. This noise is being captured with the video footage and is very loud and intrusive upon playback. This created a major problem for me because I often need to record footage in a quiet environment. I am returning the camera. I found some similar other online reviews reporting this very same issue which seems like it is not likely to be addressed at least in this model. I will try a different camera.
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIXIA HF R100
Nickname: Coronado
Location: Colorado Springs
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Can't record direct to DVD

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2011
Cons: Difficult to use, Limited Software Compatibility
In this day and age of plug and play I had assumed that when I recorded my family events I would easily be able to save the videos and then burn a DVD. This camera will not allow me to do that easily or simply. It saves in a MTS format that your computer will not read. I am now having to research how to convert tonot make this a burdensome event. UUUGGGHHH!
10 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIXIA HF R100
Nickname: Omid
Location: California
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Good Low-End HD Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2011
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity
Not a bad camera for the price, and very easy to use. Certainly an improvement over the HG10, but I have a couple of suggestions for Canon;
-The default video quality setting of SD is too low,and yields a grainy picture especially in low light. I recommend setting the default to maximum quality - which gives 1 hour of video on an 8 gigabyte card
-This camera should not be advertised as a "Full HD 1920 by 1080" camera. since the maximum resolution it can do is approx. 1600 by 900.
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIXIA HF R100
Nickname: Klaus
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great Unit for the Price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Easy Computer Connectivity, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility
Compact, Easy to use, Battery Life is good,TV hook-ups are simple and easy, Bought it on sale after XMAS-Lot of Camcorder for the Price, Cables for HD Hook-up to TV incuded.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIXIA HF R100
Nickname: Studderman
Location: Baltimore, Md
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camcorder For Home Use

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility
Great camcorder for home use, If your looking for a camcorder
to record your kids sports games, a birthday or just to have some keep sakes on video..... Than this buy is for you....
I would suggest this to a friend or family....Thank You
Chris McC. From Baltimore, Md
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site