Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF R10 Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

VIXIA HF R10 Black

With the Canon VIXIA HF R10 Dual Flash Memory Camcorder, you'll find that high definition video has hit new levels of convenience, ease, performance- and value.
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
17 out of 25(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF R10 Black
Review 1 for VIXIA HF R10 Black
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Review of Canon Vixia HF R10

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2013
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Compact Design, durable, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life, Poor sound/audio, Limited Software Compatibility
Good for the price, but not for professional use. Excellent for personal events.
Review 2 for VIXIA HF R10 Black
Nickname: jmanr
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Nice start to HD

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2011
Pros: great menu features full auto or manual setting, daylight outdoors takes great video, hdmi port, can connect to playstation 3 via usb wathc videos
Cons: bad low light recording quality, software that it comes with is terrible
I bought this camorder in March of 2011. I wanted to start recording video of our family in HD. I have a canon hi 8 camcorder and was always pleased with the quality from canon. The first videos I took were in daylight outdoors and the results I was impressed with. As different scenarios came with shooting video I noticed that recording in low light was terrible to my expectations. I learned through the manual and online videos (Youtube) from others how to tweek my settings to get better night shots but there is still video noise (grainy). I like the camera and use it quite often. I've been doing my research on upgrading my camcorder, the Vixia hf m40 caught my attention. The sample videos I have seen online taken in low light are impressive and it has a pro cmos lense sensor. Overall I would recommend the Vixia hf r10 to anyone entering the HD movie recording. The image stablization feature works well and the ex color feature gives your shots great color. With this camcorder if you want better night shots use the night mode or low light, but low light will be draggy. Buy a L.E.D light for low light shots.
Review 3 for VIXIA HF R10 Black
Nickname: susy
Location: florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2011
This camera is excellent, just choose manual focus and the sound is great.
Review 4 for VIXIA HF R10 Black
Nickname: DJM
Location: New Lenox, IL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Terrible - Internal Noise Problem

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2011
Cons: Poor sound/audio
Same noisy problem the other reviews talked about... but mine's doubly problematic: I discovered the problem, exchanged it for a new one (hoping it was a single product defect), and the NEXT one had the same problem.
5 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIXIA HF R10 Black
Nickname: Luke'sGrandma
Location: Somerset, KY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

I Love my Canon!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2011
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, Limited Software Compatibility
I did a lot of comparison shopping when choosing a camcorder. I looked at reviews and Youtube videos of different camcorders. One thing I noticed when watching the videos of a different competitor, when they zoomed in or out in a quiet video, there was a loud clicking noise when the zoom stopped each time. The Canon Vixia HF R10 does have a clicking noise that is noticeable, but I really had to turn up the volume on my HDTV to even hear it. It is very slight. It is certainly not a deal breaker! It includes an external mic jack, where that would not be a problem at all. The outdoor videos are very crisp and clear. The colors of the videos are brilliant. Indoor videos are not as crisp, but I am still experimenting with different settings. The joystick is better than a touchscreen LCD, no fingerprints. All in all ,this is a great little camcorder and I would not hesitate to buy it. Thanks Canon!!!
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIXIA HF R10 Black
Nickname: Nick
Location: NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Like a Jewel

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2011
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, very well made
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility
Camcorder is a pleasure to use and takes beautiful videos. Has automatic mode or more advanced manual modes so you can be as creative as you want. It is very well constructed and feels great while using. Great for travel you can just slip it in your pocket and go. Video quality in HD is very impressive.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIXIA HF R10 Black
Nickname: Pro4one
Location: North Carolina
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2011
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Compact Design, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
At the price range of this camera, I (like most) was looking for some "prosumer" features like Mic input. THe reason for this is to produce videos- may not show up on MTV, but definately at Youtube.
The mic input allows me to connect sound directly from the mixer (at church) and record the sermons. It is not a $3K camera, but the video quality, is very good. I use imovie to edit the shots, and it works for me. The compact size is super. The only thing I don't like is the battery life. Shooting a video outside, only gives me approx 45 min to shoot; meaning I will have to get a backup battery.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIXIA HF R10 Black
Nickname: videoJack
Location: Northern NJ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Product replacement: No

Seriously Flawed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2011
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Poor sound/audio, noisy auto focus
The camera makes a noise that is recorded by the camera's microphone that ruins the shot. After much experimenting I found that it is the lens auto focus that makes the noise. If you put your finger over the mic to block the outside sound you can hear this whirring sound very loud. You can get rid of it by turning off the auto focus in the menu, but that's not a good solution. This is a poor design.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIXIA HF R10 Black
Nickname: Indiana
Location: New Castle, IN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

First Cam well worth the wait

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2011
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, great with pinnacle
Cons: Short battery life
I don't make a lot of money and with a mortgage a kid on the way I thought that I would be simply limited to trying to break in entertainment merely by writing and the occasional stand up appearance. This product is better quality, value, and performance output then the 3,000 dollar or more HD quality cameras I dreamed of having 5 6 years ago. Love the features and its a perfect match for pinnacle. Thank you Canon for making an affordable quality product you have earned a loyal customer for life... As for the clicking I have had no troubles when going to manual and you can filter it out easily if you can edit also not a unnatural sound and very light easily filtered not the disaster that perfectionist can't live with. Battery lasts about an hour or little more just bought a back-up and I'm good to go....Hope this helps begging film makers realize you dont have to invest more than $500 to get started.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIXIA HF R10 Black
Nickname: SWFrustrated
Location: Richmond, VA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Product replacement: Yes

Good Camcorder, Frustrating Software

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life, file management, can't take pictures when filming in high quality, bundled software
Camcorder shoots excellent video in daylight. The functions are fairly intuitive and there are plenty of features/options at this camera's price point. You can drag-and-drop files from the camera to PC using Windows Explorer (which is great and one of the reasons I upgraded from a tape to a flash camcorder). Generally I'm happy enough with the camera as a casual user but would have the following constructive feedback:
(1) battery life is pretty poor, especially when compared to my old tape camcorder of another brand
(2) indoor and low light video & pictures are somewhat grainy
(3) the bundled software is extremely clunky - AND if you don't use the bundled software for file transfer, it doesn't appear that you can move files back to the camcorder (e.g., want to load up a bunch of video and pictures from vacation and take to someone else's house to view on their TV).
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIXIA HF R10 Black
Nickname: vch333
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

good but not great

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2010
i absolutely love the HD. the playback in HD is great except that there is a clicking noise that u can hear when your recording, but its not a big deal
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIXIA HF R10 Black
Nickname: DG
Location: Southern Oregon
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Happy with product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2010
Pros: video quality, portability/size, easy feature set
Cons: single battery size, doesn't accept special lenses/filters
I bought this to finally graduate from Standard 8mm & Digital 8, of which I have TONS of tape and I still enjoy that camera. However, with this camera being about a third of it's size, and the obvious advantages of HD, I am not at all displeased with my purchase. I did see where some previous reviewers complained of noise in low-sound environs, my simple fix that has worked well is to go to manual audio vs. the auto selection; makes a world of difference. Also, the programmed AE should also be tuned to manual for indoor or other low-light applications for best results; the fine-tunings you can do also do wonders for the quality, though the AE is NOT that bad. My cons listed are certainly not deal breakers for me; I will at some point add another battery or two for backup.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIXIA HF R10 Black
Nickname: Maxz

Don't buy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2010
Cons: internal noise
The internal noise ruins any video indoors or in quite places. I was really excited to get this camera because of the great features: 20x zoom, HD, 8gb internal memory, etc. but when you playback the video you can hear a quiet clicking noise. I would not recommend this Camcorder.
14 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIXIA HF R10 Black
Nickname: clicky
Location: Austin, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Clicking Noise Makes It Useless

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2010
Pros: great features, great video
Cons: Short battery life, internal noise ruins video
I actually think this is a great product and wish I was able to keep it, but the clicking inside ruins any video clips taken with it that have silent periods. This is a systemic problem. I listened to 4 different units, and Canon customer service said that they were able to hear it on their unit. I would not buy any of the HF R series. I have ordered the HF M300 and will write a review there once received. I like the features and just hope that model does not suffer from this same problem.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIXIA HF R10 Black
Nickname: kblackw
Location: stockton, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2010
Pros: excellent quality videos, easy to use, compact, priced right
Cons: Short battery life
I've been using the R10 for three weeks. It's performance is awesome for an entry level comcorder. I'm using to record dog agility and herding activites in daylight outdoors. I use it in AUTO mode with no problems. The picture quality is excellent and HD playback with HDMI to my 32" HD TV is excellent. I use a 16GB SD Class4 memory card with very good results. Battery life is somewhat limited so I'll be purchasing another battery for backup. The battery mounting precludes installing a larger battery. I'm still getting accutomed to the software for burning DVD's. It's somewhat cumbersome to use.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIXIA HF R10 Black
Nickname: Lisa

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2010
I have owned the Vixia HF R10 for two months and the battery will not charge. I have barely used the camcorder for the battery to be completely dead. I do not know if it is the charger or the battery. I feel that my new camcorder should not be completely dead after such a limited time and number of uses. I will never buy Canon equipment again.
4 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIXIA HF R10 Black
Nickname: Robert Brol
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

vixia hf r10

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: internal noise
the camcorder is really good but the internal noise ruins the videos especially when you're in a quiet room
16 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VIXIA HF R10 Black
Nickname: vixiarox17
Location: new york, ny
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Vixia Rocks!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility
This is my second Canon Vixia (dropped my other one) - there is no higher quality video. This R10 model is even better than my last one because it is smaller and a bit easier to reach all of the controls. If I was to nitpick, it might be the 8gb internal memory but I prefer to use memory cards anyway. Its photos might not be quite as good as a digital camera's, but you don't buy a camcorder to take photos. The video is outstanding; the camcorder feels great my hands. The red color is pretty. The stabilization - nice and steady. I love the joystick to operate screen menus, because not only is it easier to use but it means you don't get your fingerprints all over the screen. Really cool camcorder.
19 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VIXIA HF R10 Black
Nickname: Just99
Location: Garden City, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Best HD Camcorder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
I just bought the Canon VIXIA HF R10 and I couldn’t ask for a better high definition camcorder. I can record my son’s baseball games every weekend with a stylish compact red camcorder. With the 20x HD video lens I can still catch all of the action from the bleachers and the video quality is exceptional. Love the color, features and video quality…best camcorder I have ever owned!
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIXIA HF R10 Black
Nickname: Seaneoo
Location: Newark, NJ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Easy to use, compact HD camcorder..BUY IT

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
I purchased the VIXIA HF R10 last month and cant put it down. It's lightweight so i'm able to take it everywhere I go. I'm a first time camcorder owner so I love the easy to use feaures like smart auto and video snapshot. It was a great buy and would recommend this camcorder to anyone that wants an afforable HD camcorder!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site