Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF R11

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

VIXIA HF R11

With the Canon VIXIA HF R11 Dual Flash Memory Camcorder, you'll find that high definition video has hit new levels of convenience, ease, performance- and value.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF R11
Review 1 for VIXIA HF R11
Nickname: coolbei
Location: Northwest / West
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Superb function and eloquent

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
This was a christmas gift surprise in 2010. I fell in love with this piece of art the second I used it after charging it.
I can not put it down. The functionality, the ergonomics, the ease of use and the end product is fabulous. I highly recommend the camcorder. I use the device daily. I have ppurchased other devices for the 3 to4 times the price. this camcorder I has captured shots and recorded data equal the other devices. Simply amazing.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIXIA HF R11
Nickname: R11owner

The R11 camcorder is good, but the software is bad

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2011
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, poor software, poor av output
I bought Canon R11 camcorder at Costco last year. The camcorder is good in general. The image quality is great most time, but it may lose focus sometimes. Connecting to TV is easy. The video image is great when using HDMI connection, but the image colors are really poor if I use AV connection. The software ImageMixer coming with it is terrible. I created a standard DVD disc and the DVD could not be played smoothly. The movie playback is jerky and will be stagnant for up to 3 seconds sometimes. If I create disc with AVCHD, the disc cannot even be recognized by Windows Explorer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIXIA HF R11
Nickname: JD Citizen
Location: Sequim, WA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camcorder for the price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold
Bought this unit at Costco just over a year ago to film our daughters wedding. Instruction book is a bit intimidating but use of the basic features of the camera are pretty straight forward. We bought a charger and a "bigger/higher capacity" battery and are more than happy with the unit. Great color, definition and sound. Canon "should", in my opinion, put a larger capacity battery and a charger in the "box". It would make the camera a "better product" or a better value... more of a "good" complete package. I have Canon cameras since the late 60's and have always liked their equipment. We now have 3 printers, movie and still digital cameras and all are just great. I do hope that Canon keeps up the great quality and work.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIXIA HF R11
Nickname: Binky
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Glad we bought it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2010
Pros: good quality, easy to use, small and light
Cons: Short battery life, no battery charger, instruction manual is not in hard copy
I'm happy with this camcorder. I bought it to replace our 12 year old 8mm tape dinosaur and am glad I did. I researched the available products and read too many reviews and thought I'd share what I've found.
First, I'm not a tech savvy guy, but I can read. This camcorder is easy to use, easy to playback on your TV and easy to download and edit on I-movie. If you have trouble with your cell phone aps (as I do), then you will need to refer to the instructions.
Video quality is great. The color and clarity of HD is amazing. However, this is a small, light camera. Shooting handheld with the 20X zoom really isn't a good option. Hand shake with, or without your morning coffee is too much. A tri-pod is a must under these conditions and takes care of the problem.
The battery life is short (about an hour) and doesn’t come with an external battery charger. You have to have the camera turned off with the battery in to re-charge. This seems a little strange to me and is an easy fix. The Vixia HF R11 camcorder uses the same battery as several Canon digital SLR cameras (Luckily, I already have one) which come with an external charger. An extra battery, or two and a charger are not that much money, but should be included with this product.
This camera is easy to use out of the box in the default settings. This is what I was looking for in HD video in this price range. The capacity to customize video and photos beyond the basics appears to be almost endless. If that is your bag, then knock yourself out. For the rest of us, just a little knowledge is required to start enjoying wonderful HD video.
I am familiar with I-movie, so opted not to download the included video editing software that came with the Vixia HD R11. Importing, editing and sharing video was quick and easy.
Overall, I’m very pleased with this camera at the price I paid.
51 of 53 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIXIA HF R11
Nickname: Matt
Location: Portland, OR
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2010
I recently purchased this at Costco because of their excellent loyalty to product warranty. The camera came with various media cables including the HD cord to connect to TV which is very easy to use. It also came with a case which is very good quality. The camera quality seems to be on point, however this is my first HD camcorder so I'm unable to compare the product. There is a clicking noise coming from inside the camcorder when I am recording sometimes, so I am going to exchange it. I called Canon and they said they would repair it, or I would be able to exchange it. Service has been good so far in dealing with this issue. Besides this problem, the camcorder is a very nice product and the picture is amazing. I would recommend this to any casual recorder who is interested in basic recording at the HD level.
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIXIA HF R11
Nickname: Eagle Bob
Location: Southwest Idaho
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Powerful unit, steep learning curve

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2010
Pros: lots of features
Cons: overwhelming instructions
I have not used video equipment for many years, am very impressed with the abilities it has especially given the size, weight, and price. I have been very frustrated by the instructions on how to most easily use the basic functions and learn the others as I go along. Recording was relatively intuitive, transferring to storage media not at all intuitive to me even with the "Easy Start Up Guide." The three instruction disks(!) give lots of details. I have had limited success during hours of printing and assembling pages so I can make my own instruction set. I look forward to learning many of the features but am still mired in trying to assemble my own instruction set from the many instructions to do the basic functions. I recommend this camera to people with experience and/or lots of patience.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIXIA HF R11
Nickname: HoneyMooners
Location: Beaverton, Oregon
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Great Camera, Great Brand, Great Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2010
I recently purchased this camera at our local Costco. Cannon has a solid reputation, and the cameras which I have purchased in the past I have been the happiest with, all were Cannon. We purchased this to have a friend video tape our wedding cerermony, and to bring on our honeymoon. This is a great basic camera, and did everything and more than I could ever ask for. Great picture quality and clarity, and love the HD feature. Looks so clear! I would reccomend this to any friend, and I am very satisfied with the purchase.
4 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIXIA HF R11
Nickname: G
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Careful with the tripod mount

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2010
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, Flimsy Construction, cheap threads in tripod mount
I love the Vixia HF R11 high def camcorder as it is easy to use and produces a good quality image. However, be VERY careful when using a tripod - the threads in the bottom of the Vixia HF R11 are exceptionally cheap and will be stripped without any effort - then good luck finding the replacement part(s). I am annoyed as it is only a month old - just purchased a tripod and a mono pod that I can not use as the threads are gone=cheap/disappointing with such a good unit.
39 of 41 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site