Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD1400 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SD1400 IS

Shy and modest is so yesterday. Get ready for brilliance that's the center of attention once the PowerShot SD1400 IS Digital ELPH camera is in your hands.
Average Customer Rating:
4.049 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(102 Reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (102 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
18
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 star
6
75 out of 102(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD1400 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SD1400 IS
Nickname: Buddy the Elf

Amazing CLEAR shots!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2010
Pros: Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I bought this for my daughter out of randomness! I believe this camera was the best choice! i think eveeyoneee shoudl buyy it for kids! SIMPLY AMZING!
84 of 233 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SD1400 IS
Nickname: mikecomp
Location: west palm beach
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon is the better choice

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This camera will let you change the format of the photo from normal to; sepia, black and white, Vivid, intence red or green and light skin tone or darker skin tone. It will let caterlog the photo or photos.
In addition to the picture quality this camera has many other features that you can change including piture size.
The new ones are Wi FI capable and the soft ware is easy to use and wonderful to use for all you photo needs.
Review 3 for PowerShot SD1400 IS
Nickname: Elle
Location: California
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not happy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2011
Pros: Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor image quality
I always want to keep updated with the new canon cameras, so I have been a loyal canon customer for 10 years and have maybe had 6 different cameras. I have always been happy with their products except for this one. I purchased this camera 3 months ago and was really excited about the light weight and sleek design especially for the price that it was going for. The pictures don't come out as clear as the other cameras I've used in the past. One night for my birthday all the pictures came out horrible, my iphone took better pictures than the camera did. This camera really made me want to change and see other camera companies.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SD1400 IS
Nickname: SandyC
Location: North Topsail Beach, NC
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

An Excellent Little Camear

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This camera is a gem. It takes great pictures and offers a range of settings that make being creative and capturing great shots a joy. My camera has been put through the paces this summer, and it has fared incredibly well. So worth it.
Review 5 for PowerShot SD1400 IS
Nickname: Sara
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Flimsy Construction
While I love the small, sleek shape of this camera, I do not recommend it. Mine broke 4 times in just over a year (lens issues that were not my fault). Luckily I bought an extra warranty through the store I purchased the camera from. Each time the malfunction was deemed unreparable and I received a new camera. I appreciated that but seriously-- what a waste! I'd much rather buy a better quality camera that doesn't break, thereby saving me 4+ trips to the store and saving 4 products.
Also, I was never impressed with the focus on close-up objects-- sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn't.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SD1400 IS
Nickname: Maggie
Location: St.Paul
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Do not buy

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2011
Pros: good battery life
Cons: Dim LCD, Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult to use, Complicated controls/menu, Flimsy Construction
Software disc did not load, poorly constructed, access to ports is clumsy and seems like access panel will break easily, the access panel to the battery compartment already broke and I only opened it twice, labels for menu and other function keys are printed in a small font in a dark color so the keys are very difficlut to read especially if taking photos at night or in dim lighting. This was a gift, I would not have selected this camera.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SD1400 IS
Nickname: Spotter
Location: Austin, Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera EVER

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, color feature
This is my third or fourth digital camera, all of the previous cameras have been of various makers. But this by far is the best camera I have ever had. I have taken it on multiple vacations, with varying settings from busy traffic to landscapes and every picture comes out clear and perfect.
I have recommended this camera to my friends, my parents and even my co-workers. I would highly recommend this camera to ANYONE who is interested in beginning to learn photography or anyone that just wants to take a great picture in any setting.
If you get a chance, check out the color features, which allow you to choose one color to focus on while all the other colors are blacked out. This is probably the most amazing extra the camera has to offer, but again it was something i found after i bought the camera. So just another plus.
Again... HIGHLY RECOMMEND TO ANYONE... Easy to use, easy to maintain, great photo quality and some additional advancements for those interested in photography.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SD1400 IS
Nickname: Richard
Location: Washington, DC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Surprisingly good

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I am surprised that such good pictures can come from such a small camera. I've only used a few features so far and like everything I've used.
My only complaint is the packaging. I was not aware that the camera had no memory and that it had to be bought separately. Just as toys are marked "Requires 2 D batteries - not included" the camera box should have printed in easy to read letters "Requires memory card - not included". The camera as sold is not usable.
But nevertheless I still think it's a terrific camera for the price.
Review 9 for PowerShot SD1400 IS
Nickname: Bosco
Location: Washington
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Too smart for its own good?

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor image quality
I was looking for a very compact point and shoot for traveling. This camera had all of the features - decent zoom with nice wide angle for indoor, fairly fast lens for lower light, very compact and supposed to be 'super smart' in figuring out the best setting for the picture you are trying to take. There are very few manual controls, so the camera needs to be smart.
For me, I have a lot of problems with the settings that the camera selects. It often uses wide open lens (f2.8) and fast shutter speed when I want more of a landscape picture (more depth in focus). Also seems to chose shutter speeds to slow for me to hand hold (1/10th) while leave the ISO around 120. The result is a lot of less than in-focus pictures. Far more than I had with any of my other canon cameras (I have 5 canon total). I'm trying to figure out how to assure clear pictures, but it will definitly mean I will have to fight the auto features of the camera.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SD1400 IS
Nickname: Robster
Location: Texas
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

AMAZING!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 19, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This is one of the best digital cameras out there. its lightweight,sexy, 14 megapixels and just the best thing out there canon is the best!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SD1400 IS
Nickname: Mami
Location: Vero Beach FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Like but with reservations

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Complicated controls/menu
I love the bright color which makes it easy to locate in my purse and when others are taking pictures of a group, I always know which camera is mine! The photos are good, upload to computer is easy, the size and weight are perfect.
I think the black on black on/off switch is a pain. In low light it is very difficult to find. I think I'll put bright nailpolish or Whiteout on the button for future use. Also, I find it very slow when trying to take a series of photos. If there is a way to make it react faster, I'd like to know.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SD1400 IS
Nickname: raj
Location: Falls Church VA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

SD 1400 IS

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, front lens pup up
CAMERA IS HANDY AND PICTURE IS GOOD FOR POINT ANS SHOT. BUT ITS LENS PUP-UP SO I CANNOT USE IT I AM NOT SURE WARRANTY HANDLED PROPERLY OR NOT? IF NOT I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND TO BUY FOR ANYONE FOR FUTURE.
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SD1400 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: York, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
This is a good camera for the price and size. It has nice features and is easy to use. It is small and very easy to carry but can be dropped easily. Use the carrying strap to help hang onto the camera. Being so small to change the settings is hard to do. If you need to change them quickly this is not the camera for you. It takes good pictures and the size makes it great to take with you anywhere.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SD1400 IS
Nickname: Margo
Location: WIsconsin
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Poor quality hardware

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2011
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult to use, Complicated controls/menu, Flimsy Construction
I took my brand new SD1400IS to Africa and came home less than impressed. The hardware on this camera is hard to use. The on/off switch is too small and awkwardly place. The battery container is covered with a flimsy piece of 'rubber-like' material that came off and was lost within the week. The TINY battery holding clip was most difficult to manage when inserting the battery. And this is the SECOND camera! The first one I had for two days, it failed altogether and when I returned it, the salesperson/expert called it a 'hockey puck!' and sent it back to manufacturer. I have just gotten home and intend to take this camera back after three weeks of using it in Africa.I'm disappointed.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SD1400 IS
Nickname: ced4511
Location: Illinois
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

So So Camera

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
This is a good camera, but it has limitations. The low light performance is probably its best feature, but I find the image stabilization to be weak. In real bright daylight there is no problem though. The battery life is very good and the resolution is great. The LCD is bright and large enough for reviewing the pictures. As usual Canon makes cameras that take very good pictures in the right conditions.
It is small and fits in your pocket, but beware of that. The previous Canon model this one replaced powered up in my pocket and jammed the lens. Canon charges an arm and a leg for repairs so it was easier to just replace the camera with this model. I don't put this one in my pocket at all which kind of defeats the purpose of it. If I were to redo this purchase I would opt for a model with more optical magnification.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SD1400 IS
Nickname: edna million
Location: boone nc
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

fantastic second camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
I bought this as a backup to my Cannon SLR, which is too big to carry around on a daily basis. My first digital was a Powershot, years ago, and I really liked it. I also recently took a trip to England with a friend who had just bought this same camera, and she got some wonderful pictures just on the auto setttings - and she is not an experienced photographer at all.
I've been using it for about a month now, and am very pleased. The pictures are clear and crisp, and all the various settings are lots of fun. The battery life is excellent. It seems very sturdy for such a tiny camera, and it's so compact that I can easily take it with me everywhere.
I did find on a recent trip to Charleston SC that it will not replace my SLR (much to my relief, really)- I like having manual control over the settings, and although this Powershot has a lot of options, you still don't have the control of an SLR, of course. But it is a very nice backup for those times when an SLR is too bulky/heavy/impractical.
My only real complaint is that the controls are confusing. I think they could have simplified the Program settings. There are two entirely different locations to go to for settings under recording mode, and I still have a hard time finding the color settings. But that's the worst thing I can say about it. Overall, I am very very pleased.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SD1400 IS
Nickname: sktigner
Location: Texas
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Bad Buy

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, bad lcd screen
Pixel burnt out within the first month and there is a shadow in the bottom left corner that appears.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SD1400 IS
Nickname: jcruplus2
Location: new jersey
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

good camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2011
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Difficult to use, Flimsy Construction
great camera fast responses especially for kids got alot of great pictures of my fast moving toddler only bad this was the lens wouldnt go back in and when i tried to push it back the lcd screen broke
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SD1400 IS
Nickname: Canon ROX!!!!!!
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

The Most Awesome Camera For ME!!!!!!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, awesome!!!!, makes me go wow!!!!
This is the best camera that can handle two things that I like. AMAZING image quality and extreme portability. This camera is probably the best blend of the two!!! (at least from my view!)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SD1400 IS
Nickname: Praetorianus_65
Location: Key West, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Smart and reliable

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, smart auto function, good image stabilizer
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, recharging takes long
This camera truly is a miniature workhorse.
The best feature is the extremely intelligent Auto function which turns you into an instant pro, and the image stabilization makes you a human tripod - well, almost.
The slick soap bar Design looks and feels good but makes the device easy to drop.
Overall, a nice if somewhat pricey gadget.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site