Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD1300 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SD1300 IS

It's all about the power of contrast. Color that defies convention. Sleek, gentle curves that merge art and technology into a camera designed to inspire.
Average Customer Rating:
3.944 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
12
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
5
51 out of 72(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD1300 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SD1300 IS
Nickname: ANSOS
Location: Texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 19, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised with this camera. It takes wonderful pictures even in the dark. I was even able to take some fireworks pictures on July 4. That is amazing!!!!
It is also smaller than my previous Canon and I like that very much. I wish it had an optical viewfinder but I am getting used to that.
It is a great camera for the prize and I enjoy the pictures from it very much!!!
181 of 191 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SD1300 IS
Nickname: Mare
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Survived ATV Drive-Over!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, wish to create folders to organize pics by subject
Rec'd this, 1st digital camera, as a gift in Dec '10. Thought I'd never find something good enough to replace my Canon Elph--but I was wrong, this has been it! It's obviously small, and it takes very good pic's (esp compared to lesser 10- & 12-megapix cameras some friends own). BEST part: While 4-wheeling in Tucson's Box Canyon this past weekend, my camera slid out of my pocket & onto the dirt. Didn't realize it until approx 10 mins later...I turned around & trailed back until I found it--laying in the sand/dust/dirt/pebbles, pressed down HARD so that it was flush w/the surface. It had obviously been driven over per it's position & abrasions on the exposed top--the shutter side of the camera was up. (Either I or my husband who followed me had driven right over it!) I blew off the dust, opened the shutter, took a picture, and voila! WORKED PERFECTLY! I'm THRILLED about this. Thanks!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SD1300 IS
Nickname: Angela
Location: Midlothian, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

So Disappointed.

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2011
Pros: Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance
We had an awesome compact digital camera by Canon, and then we dropped it. And the lens messed up. I figured by the time we paid someone to fix it, we could almost buy a new one. I thought, since we were upgrading to a newer model, I would be even happier with this (newer, upgraded) camera. I should have just paid to have the old one fixed. This new one is so grainy, I can never get a good photo. It takes me hours of editing before I can even post them to facebook because they come out so dull/grainy/blurry/all of the above. I miss my old camera. And the money I spent on this one!
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SD1300 IS
Nickname: starlet__14
Location: Cokato, MN
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Broke Two Of These In Four Months!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2011
Pros: Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, breaks randomly and easily
I got this camera about four months ago. Seemed pretty good at first...nice, portable, fairly good image quality, easy to use. However, about 2 1/2 months later, it broke. The lens refused to open, therefore not allowing you to take pictures. I sent the camera in, a little frustrated, seeing as how I didn't do anything unusual or wrong. However, customer service was very plesant and the next week I recieved a new camera, the same kind. This time I noticed how awful the zoom is--it barely zooms at all! Still, it's a camera and I'll use it. Then tonight I was using it like normal, and it did the same thing! First the lens wouldn't go all the way in, and now it won't go out at all. I am super frustrated. Don't waste your money on this camera!!!!
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SD1300 IS
Nickname: birdfeed
Location: Nebraska
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great compact camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2011
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Recently our SD790 camera was damaged while on vacation, so purchased the 1300. Very similar to the old one except much better indoor photos, and the dial to change settings is much easier to use.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SD1300 IS
Nickname: photobear
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Enjoying My Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: no printed users manual
I've had my Canon PowerShot SD1300 camera for about a month now and have enjoyed using it. I recently took it on a trip and shot many pictures. It was easy to use and the photos turned out very nicely.
I wish there were a printed manual to use while learning about the features instead of a 165 page manual to read on the computer. It would be much more useful.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SD1300 IS
Nickname: Casey
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great little camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Just got back from a two week vacation and used this camera for the first time. I loved it because it is so easy to use and and takes really great pictures. The color is true and focusing was easy even when taking pictures out my car window going at 70 mph. The subject was always very sharp and clear. This was lightweight so I could carry it everywhere in my purse. I highly recommend this camera.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SD1300 IS
Nickname: syrbint
Location: New Mexico
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Inadequate Instruction Manual

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult to use, Complicated controls/menu
I like the camera and quality of pictures. What I don't like is that the instruction manual is inadequate.
The camera has MANY other functions and DISPLAYS on the screen. I don't know what all of the symbols stand for. Or how to use all of the functions. NO INSTRUCTIONS OR EXPLANATIONS. Manuevering between screens is not always easy.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SD1300 IS
Nickname: Biz
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not my favorite Canon

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 9, 2011
Pros: Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance
I have only used Canon Powershot cameras since I first bought a digital camera. I was excited to upgrade to the Powershot SD1300is. The first day I used the camera extensively (at a wedding) it kept producing hoorrible blurry shots. I switched to manual which worked better but not great. After the wedding I went back to the local camera shop and brought my camera and my images. They thought there was something wrong with the autofocus and replaced it with the same model. Next weekend I was at another wedding and I had the same issues with the new camera. After a few months I realized that the feature that automatically switches the functions was slow to adjust. For instance, if you are holding your camera at your side it switches to the macro mode and when you quickly return it to take a picture of somebody it's slow to adjust back to automatic. While this function is something I was excited for, it has made this camera virtually impossible to use to capture unexpected moments. While I will still buy Canon (the Powershot s95---wonderful) I wouldn't recommend this model. After I realized the issue it was too late to return the camera.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SD1300 IS
Nickname: Beverly
Location: Massachusetts
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

No Manual?

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2011
Cons: no user guide
I cannot rate this camera because I don't know how to use it! Sure, I received a "Getting Started" guide within the packaging, but no User Guide. Is any one else missing the Guide? I suppose I could download it from Canon's website...and print 148 pages on my own printer...but why should I have to?
7 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SD1300 IS
Nickname: ALM
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2011
Pros: durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, no viewfinder, limited manual settings
I originally got my sd 1300 as a replacement to my sd 1000. (Apparently they have a maximum drop number of a few hundred times.) I've had it for about a year now.
Pros:
Anyway, my sd 1300 was everything I expected for a $150 point and shoot. It's small and portable. The wide angle lens is a VERY nice bonus. It has a fairly close macro range. It has a pretty good battery life, and even an indicator for how much batter is left. (Took them long enough.)
Cons:
Like any cheap camera, the manual settings are limited. You can't change shutter speed or aperture, or even manually focus. ISO is also pretty noisy, as expected. Light filters are pretty bad as well. I would also have liked a viewfinder.
.
.
All in all, it's a great little camera. I have an S5 IS for more camera-friendly occasions, but I never leave home without my SD 1300!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SD1300 IS
Nickname: stinky
Location: Seattle, Washington
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2011
Overall great performance and apparent quality (only used a short time).
Only negative at this time is that the software, Solution Disk 57.0, will not load on Windows 2000, SP4. The systems requirements shown on the package indicate that Win2k,SP4 is compatible. Not true at my level of effort.
Review 13 for PowerShot SD1300 IS
Nickname: DeStan
Location: L. A, California
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Good camera - I would like more control though

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, quick shot-to-shot time., good magnification to check image sharpness.
Cons: Missing features/settings
Basically I am happy with this camera, though I would like more control. I miss being able to select White Balance for example (to control the color with different light sources).
But my complaints about control are really more about my failure to fully investigate this camera's capabilities before buying it.
The small size is great, and in every way it seems an excellent point and shot camera for the average snapshot shooter.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SD1300 IS
Nickname: Songbird
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Problems with1300 Power Shot

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2011
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
I purchased the Power Shot SD1300IS in Oct.2010. It worked fine for 7 months then it started to shut down by itself when I was trying to take a photo. Or it would not open. or the lens would not retract when shut down. Having had cannons before I was very surprised at this problem. Luckily I purchased a warranty from the store I bought it at. Brought it back and they gave me a new camera. They no longer carried the 1300 so I put the difference to it and got the 1400. I am hoping that this problem does not arise again. I know Cannon has quality products so I am hoping for the best. But I will always take out that extra warranty that the store offers from here on in.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SD1300 IS
Nickname: RatMan
Location: Charleston, S,C,
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Another generation, another advance in features

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2011
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
See capsule review checklist. This SD1300is replaces a previously used SD850is which I passed along to my 15 year-old niece. These "SD" model point & shoot series with "IS" (Image Stabilization) are the bomb! Perfect pictures even if you don't have a clue - serious!
Review 16 for PowerShot SD1300 IS
Nickname: Jeff
Location: Syracuse, NY (purchase in Los Angeles)
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

No Image Stabilization!!

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2011
Cons: Missing features/settings
The specs and even the manual say this camera has image stabilization, but it does not. The menu option is not available. It does not exist. The manual describes it as being between Disp Overlay and Date Stamp. It is not there nor anywhere else, Very difficult to get decent pictures.
2 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SD1300 IS
Nickname: cadaverp3
Location: St.Louis, MO.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Pictures

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: easy to mishandle
This is a very good camera. Takes great pictures in all situations. Camera is very slick and easy to mishandle.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SD1300 IS
Nickname: canonfan
Location: NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great products

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I can not express enough satisfaction with ANY CANNON product, my first canon product was an all in one printer, did not have to break the bank to buy cartridges, that all printer still work after all these years of use. I had to get another one now but still canon... the reason i bought this camera is because my old 5 years plus canon camera unfortunately was broken by me... I dropped on the floor inadvertedly and even so still my camera was working, to my disblief after that episode my camera was still WORKING... that is why I LOVE CANON,ANY CANON PRODUCT just PROOF YOU ARE BUYING LOOOONG LOONG TIME QUALITY
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SD1300 IS
Nickname: Chris
Location: El Paso, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Value for the Price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: lens broke
The Camera is very attractive, the screen is nice and large, The hardware is easy to install and use, however, when I plug in the camera to the computer to transfer the images, it takes a while to connect. I purchased the camera in October and now (March) the lens is broken and will not open when I turn the camera on. I need to call customer support and hope it can be fixed. Also, its easy to figure out except the size of the pictures, they're automatically largely pixelated, so, it takes a while to upload to facebook/ myspace and it takes up a lot of storage on my hard-drive, so I need to look at the manual on how to change that.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SD1300 IS
Nickname: polebarnnorm
Location: Almont, MI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

This is my 4th Powershot!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: body has angles added a little harder to hang on
This is my 4th Powershot!
They keep getting better!
I gave my older models to the kids, they are still working and take great pictures, but I like keeping up with the Newer features.
1 2 3 4 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site