Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A495

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot A495

The Canon PowerShot A495 has the compact sophistication and relaxed simplicity that make it a natural for beginners and everyone else who craves style and convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A495
Review 1 for PowerShot A495
Nickname: Lars
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Narrow Field of View

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Dim LCD, Short battery life, nnarrow field of view
I am very disappointed in this camera's field of view. Way too narrow for many shots. Also a battery hog.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A495
Nickname: TooTall
Location: Missouri
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Point and Click Option

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I really enjoy using my Cannon PowerShot. It does most of the work for me and the picture quality is better than I imagined would be possible with an inexpensive digital camera. It's easy to take pictures and load them on my computer for storage. The only drawback is the limited zoom capacity; but what can one expect for the price? I recommend this camera if you just want to record some great memories.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A495
Nickname: danj
Location: Salem, OR
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

An amazing value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, good flash exposures
Cons: no is, slow flash recycle
I doubt you could find a better camera for the money. It takes great pictures and is small enough to carry in a pocket. Battery life is good when you use a good nickle-hydride rechargable.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A495
Nickname: Nsomniac
Location: West Texas
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Disappointing

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2011
Some features of this camera are merely inconvenient, like the very short battery life and the wait of several seconds between flash photos. But the deal breaker is the blurry pictures that result from focus issues. I tried for several weeks to adjust to the camera, but it's just about useless with that issue. It's definitely going to have to be replaced.
I'm a Canon fan, and bought this camera to replace my venerable SD400. Very disappointing.
11 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A495
Nickname: Pics<3
Location: Canada
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
This camera was very nice, it has the Faceself timer, super vibe, and the Poster effect. None of my friends have Poster effect and ts something i use often, it makes taking pictures of people very nice because of the way it shadows. The only minus i can think of is that it doesnt have the feature that makes things black and white, or the effect that makes everything black or white but for one colour. Its the only thing i wish it had
It zooms very well and is definately a good buy,my sister is a photographer and she thinks this camera is great for day to day use.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A495
Nickname: bob
Location: Oregon
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

a good simple camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Dim LCD
I wanted an inexpensive pocket camera to supplement my DSLR and searched the web for camera reviews from many makers. Many possibilities had more features and lower price than the A495, but many of these seemed to have reliability problems. I conjecture that some manufacturers swapped features for quality control in this price range. I saw no reliability complaints for the A495, and so bought it.
Pros: Nice sharp pictures, comparable to my DSLR; good color, good recycle time, good autofocus and face recognition, screen plenty bright indoors.
Cons: No optical viewfinder, screen image does not show in bright light outdoors, at least for my eyesight. The viewing screen is essentially useless in this circumstance. However, these problem seem to be endemic to low end point-and-shoots.
All in all I think this camera is a good value. I recommend it for a beginner or someone who, like me, wants an inexpensive lightweight supplementary camera.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A495
Nickname: rigger
Location: N. Carolina
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

No rodeo

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2010
Cons: slick in dry hands.
Mistakes made, No view port, regular batteries, slow flash and picture response. They say it can be up to 6 sec. to recharge flash and snap pic. A bull ride is 8 sec. one shot, not good. Drag race forget it. Look at other models first before this one. Wife bought it, we had a PS A640 and the screen went blank. It will have to do for now.
7 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A495
Nickname: Priscilla

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2010
Just got this as a backup to my A95. I LOVE CANON. I will always buy Canon. My A95 had CCD issues. It was 5 1/2 yrs old and CANON stood behind their product and repaired it for free!! I LOVE CANON.
5 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot A495
Nickname: klad1987
Location: Cleveland, OH
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I purchased this camera to replace my other Canon Camera which needs some repairs. This camera is fast at taking pictures which is perfect if you have children. It captures nice pictures and I have not had an issue. the only things that I would change is that the flash needs to charge after a picture and it uses AA batteries instead of the lithium batteries which come in more handy and last longer.
37 of 38 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot A495
Nickname: Campjeep
Location: Clumbus,ohio
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

"A good value, that takes great pictures"

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, feels good in the hands
Cons: Dim LCD, no camera is perfect
A 2 sec delay between shots with out the flash, ( with the flash on the avg is around. 3 TO 6 secs ), and start up time is 1.6 sec.
The camera does not have optical image stabilization.
I use a 2gig san disk sd card ultra II(you do not get one with the camera) that gives you about 750 pictures, I use 2 AA energizer (lithium batterys)(or 2650-2900 mAH rechargables) and that gets about 500-550 pictures . You would not be happy with just standerd AA battery life.
The AA batterys are probably the reason the LCD screen takes so long to recharge after the flash goes off (and to take the next picture) even with the good batterys it is recharging the flash up to 8sec on a (full flash) recharge and the times that are stated above...
I set the I S mode to continous. The disp overlay to grid lines to help take a straighter picture, You may use it for the 1/3 rule also).
Some are having trouble with the shutter button trying to push it half way down trying to compose there picture, on this camera, you only have to touch the shutter button and the weight of your finger will do the trick, if you try to push it half way like the canon A480 or your old camera it will take the picture...
Other Thoughts: The A495 takes great pictures but you will not be able to tell it by the low resolution lcd screen, you will have to wait and look at them on the computer to realy see how good they are. It is sometimes hard to compose your shot in very bright sun light also.
I know this all sounds bad but for the price this camera does take great pictures and is easy and fun to use. It is on par for this price point.
I have bought these for my 4 and 6 year old grand kids ( The canon A 480s) and have had no trouble for a year now.
The next step up is a canon SD 1300 that I know anything about and you can get a upgrade on this stuff if you just can't live with the A495 (I have never used a A3100)so I can not speak for it. I am no expert and I am trying to be honest here and help out if I can, these are just my thoughts, check out the other reviews and good luck on your next camera. I have these cameras (SD 1300,A480 A 495) I really like them.
54 of 56 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot A495
Nickname: Jimmy Mustard
Location: Vancouver, WA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Solid and reliable

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I've had this camera for over 2 months and it travels great and takes great pictures. Lots of features and picture modes make it pretty easy to find the right settings. The ONLY thing I don't like (and this might be 'operator error') but I'll turn off the flash for one picture, and then it will come back on for the next picture, forcing me to turn it off again. Other than that, solid as a rock. I love Canons -- easy to use and good pictures.
55 of 58 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot A495
Nickname: Juicy
Location: Miami, Fl
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

The Perfect Gift

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I love this camera! Outstanding quality. I plan on catching my memories with this great camera. I chose the blue one, which is my fave!!!
37 of 44 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site