Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A490

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot A490

The Canon PowerShot A490 has the compact sophistication and relaxed simplicity that make it a natural for beginners and everyone else who craves style and convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
3.941 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
13 out of 17(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A490
Review 1 for PowerShot A490
Nickname: Paul FL
Location: Orlando
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Versatile compact Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Dim LCD
The A490 uses AA batteries, which it you buy rechargeable NIMN last a long time. Using regular akaline batteries is not a good idea. On a recent trip a set of NIMN batteries allowed over 100 shots plus about 30 min of video and they still had a charge.
The LCD dispay is impossible to see in bright Sun as in Las Vegas or in Florida, but that is true for most cameras with LCD. This camera has no viewfinder so that can be a bit of a problem in bright Sun.
The pics are as good as several of my other Canon cameras and it is lightweight easy to carry in you pocket.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A490
Nickname: Mom
Location: NJ
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Waste of money

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2011
Pros: Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Short battery life, non existant battery life!!
This camera overall is a waste of money. The battery life is non existant. I have had this camera for 8 months and I dread using it. I have changed the batteries at least 3 times in one day alone & that's only after taking a few pictures at a time. The camera always says it is charging the flash. Maybe if it wasn't charging the flash so much I wouldn't go through so many batteries. My advice to anyone who is looking for a camera is to stay clear from this one....it's horrible.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A490
Nickname: irulethe70s
Location: NOYB
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Beware of a design flaw!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2011
Pros: excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, battery cover design flaw
This is a update to my earlier review on this camera
I just noticed this a few months ago and it got worse
Over time,the battery cover can take stress and bend during use and batteries over the life of it and cost you that one shot
But,besides that,it was nice before this happened and now i have a T2i and i am more then happy with that
Simply put,i think i officially lost trust in this camera model and will not suggest it anymore
This will not be taken lightly and needs attention
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A490
Nickname: blobbb

Terrible Gift

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2011
Cons: everything with or about the lense
I got this camera from my aunt during christmas and it worked perfectly fine. Toward spring break the in the lense was this black dot that grew as it gets closer to summer. During a recent summer vacation, the lense just stopped working, then it flashed back on a few turn offs later. about a few days later, the camera shut off lense/ cover would not retract. After taking the battery out and puutted it back in, the inside lense would not take any pictures. By the way, the came is currently in perfect condition... Would not recomend it!!!!!
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A490
Nickname: kookygirl1995
Location: Henry, IL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not so good.

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Dim LCD, Short battery life
Bought camera, an A490, in Feb. 2011. Used it a few times no problem. I like the ease of use and it's settings. Went on a two day trip to St. Louis in late April. I had to replace the batteries four times within the two days. Once in day one, three times on day two. Now two weeks later the door to the battery/ card compartment doesn't close properly and camera doesn't function. I will be sending it in for repair.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A490
Nickname: douginrrnm
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

First experience with the A490

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: pre-focus needs detent
I really like this camera, it is my first digital. But, I had some problems taking shots, because the half-shutter feature, which allows the lens to fully focus, is not detent-sensitive. I wanted a positive feel when I got to the half-shutter point, but sometimes the switch went all the way down to take the shot when it was not fully focused. It really needs a tactile feel.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A490
Nickname: R Cubed
Location: Central Arizona
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

A490 and the old man

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, aa batteries
I have used this camera now for five (5) weeks. It replaces a high end DSLR and a film SLR. I wanted a camera I could carry in a vest pocket, pull and shoot with one hand without any fuss, and used regular AA batteries. I spent three (3) months looking, reading, touching (in various stores), and talking about compact digital cameras before I purchased this unit, a Canon A490. Price was not my top limiter, very near the top along with size, but image quality and recycle time between shoots rested No 1 No2 equally.
The change to compact digital (cameras) took me years! I started with a view finder 35mm in the 60's, went SLR manual in the '70s and replaced that camera with a much better manual SLR (well used) in the early 80, upgraded to a Auto Focus, Auto almost everything SLR (new) about ten years ago, only to do a final upgraded on that manufactures product line to a very well used DSLR that would accept all my lenses I accumulated over the years. That lasted about eighteen months before I came to realize I do not need to carry around all the "stuff"!
That is when I started looking into compact digital cameras. I am much older now than when I shoot and printed my first (and only) B&W film in the late 60s. My hands do not flex like then dor does my body want to carry around a full camera bag spending time changing out lenses, flashes, while wondering if that shoot really came out.
So, it should be apparent why a compact digital camera is now in my life. I like the compactness of the A490. Small enough to fit in a pocket yet large enough for the controls buttons to be easily seen for this old man. The screen sized works and gives good representation of what the image will appear like. I also like the speed it writes to memory. The camera is still on the original factory AA batteries. (I have enough gadgets that use rechargeable power sources and did not want to carry around another charger).
I have shot images in sub-zero temperatures and, since I live in Arizona, expect to shoot images when it is well above 100 degrees this summer. I did not see any image issues in the cold, something tells me I will not when it is hot either.
Another criteria I had but have not addressed yet is image storage. The camera needed a removable memory card I could easily eject and slip into my laptop. Engineering the battery area to take the SD memory card using the same door is genus. One less opening i had to contend with. Pop the door open to remove the card also shuts down power to the camera by interrupting the battery connection. This help to prevent any issue with power surge while removing or inserting the card. I like it!!!
I think I have covered how I got to my Canon A490, why I made the change to a digital compact, and why I chose this camera. I am glad I did my leg work before I chose, I think I chose wisely.
Thank You...
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A490
Nickname: JOHNNY BOY

GREAT CAMERA

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2011
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu
THE CANON A490 CAMERA IS ONE OF THE BEST CAMERAS THAT I EVER USED----ITS SMALL COMPACT
SIZE IS VERY EASY TO HANDLE AND ITS PICTURE
QUALITY IS GREAT .....I WOULD RECOMEND IT TO
ANYONE 100%.....
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot A490
Nickname: Artist At Work
Location: Charleston, SC
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Purchase Ever!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2010
I bought this camera because I needed one and I am so glad I did! Its the right size and I keep it in my purse at all times, so when I go out I will have it to take on the spot photo shots. It is real easy to use and aIso I can make a short viedo aswell. This camera was a great purchase for me. I am happy with my Canon Power Shot!!
31 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot A490
Nickname: rojo
Location: Bristol
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Very good camera for the price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2010
Only had it a short while, but easy to use.
With ordinary AA batteries it eats them in a short time,but the rechargeable type lasts a whole lot longer.So get them .
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot A490
Nickname: oldphotos
Location: London UK
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great value, quality images

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2010
Pros: easy to use, quality images, captures the moment - quick to deploy, aa batteries, bright screen, fast photo review, top value for money, fun - encourages you to take photos
Cons: maybe a bit delicate
This is a great value camera, period. I found it easy and quick to use, with surprisingly good image quality for the price. It works out of the box with Linux Mint - no drivers need to be installed.
It's not a physically tough camera, and won't take the punishment that an expensive camera will, but for the price you wouldn't expect that.
I found the menus sensible and easy to use. AA batteries are a good idea because they are so widely available.
A super little camera which will beat all the competition at this price point. Be gentle with it, keep it dry, and it should bring you a fine harvest of great photos.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot A490
Nickname: irulethe70s
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

extremley durable!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2010
Pros: takes a drop without breaking, screen, batterys used
Cons: no internal memory, no sd card included
on vacation in key west, i was using a neck strap that lirally broke making the camera fall on the sidewalk and everything on tthe camera still works!(i was impressed myself)
it also takes excelent pictures along with the durability which is extremley good
be aware it has no internal memory or supplied card so you need a SD/SDHC card you supply with your $$
It also uses AA batteries which is convient if you need batteries on vacation and also works with rechargeable batteries as well
23 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot A490
Nickname: Xenomorph
Location: Maine
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

A smart choice for experienced amateurs

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, great review detail, fairly good zoom
Cons: no image stabilization
This is a good choice for anyone that is not a camera professional and has a reasonable price.
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot A490
Nickname: FIJIMAN
Location: LAS VEGAS/HENDERSON, NEVADA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

CANON POCKET SIZED DIGICAM

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
10 MEGA-PIXEL
3 X OPTICAL/ 3X DIGITAL ZOOM
LIGHTWEIGHT
POCKET SIZED
DURABLE
PICTBRIDGE CAPABLE - DIRECT TRANSFER TO PRINTERS
CCD SENSOR
EASY TO USE
2.5 INCH LCD SCREEN
28 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot A490
Nickname: FIJIMAN
Location: LAS VEGAS/HENDERSON
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

CANON'S DIGITAL COMPACT

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: no image stabilization
COMPACT DIGITAL CAM
10 MP RESOLUTION
3 X OPTICAL ZOOM
VERY VERY LIGHTWEIGHT
GOOD BATTERY USAGE
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot A490
Nickname: Whiplash
Location: NE Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

PowerShot A490

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, canon quality throughout!
A490, bought yesterday(9 April 2010) replaced an A480.
Have found this little camera to do all it's desighned to do. And does it smoothly. It is a bit easier to use than the 480 as control markings are easier to see. The initial set-up process is simple and straightforward. The AUTO feature for stills and movies does not not leave anything to be desired. Set it - forget it! Great little instrument!
44 of 44 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot A490
Nickname: Jim
Location: Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Initial thoughts on the new A490. Good Color. Good Image quality. Sometimes hard to know where 1/2 way is on the shutter button; and it seems easy to proceed to take the photo when I'm not sure I'm ready to shoot. Haven't figured out all the settings yet, both because of limited use, and because it takes time to read the extended manual on the computer. Overall I think I'm going to enjoy using it.
44 of 44 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site