Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX210 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SX210 IS

Decidedly slim and sleekly refined, the PowerShot SX210 IS packs a feature set that reads like a wish list.
Average Customer Rating:
3.961 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(128 Reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (128 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
31
3 stars
17
2 stars
8
1 star
11
95 out of 128(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX210 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SX210 IS
Nickname: HONEY
Location: Mesa, AZ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Lots of learning opportunities

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2012
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, lots of great features. i'm still learning about t, wonderful customer service
Cons: shuts itself off frequently at bad times, heavy so hard to hold steady, can be difficult to change setting quickly
This camera is larger & heavier than my previous cameras & I was very surprised by this when I received it. It's more difficult to change settings & to see the desired setting on the wheel due to extremely small writing & small controls. Difficult to hold steady with the auto pop up flash position. I haven't learned if it's possible to change the size of pixels it uses yet. It takes wonderful, clear pictures & movies. I really like being able to zoom while taking the movie. All in all it's another super Canon Camera!
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX210 IS
Nickname: Murphy
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

My surprise purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2011
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: average battery life
While traveling overseas I dropped my Cannon G-7 and the lens jammed and would not retract. I still had 2 weeks to go on my trip and could not be without a camera so went into a camera shop in Edinburgh to see if they could possibly fix it. Unfortunately they advised me I would have to send it in. So I looked at what replacements were available and after a recommendation by the clerk I purchased this camera. I have been very pleased with it's performance, ease of use, low light pictures, and how portable it is. The price was great too. I liked my G-7 but this camera is a strong competitor as far as I am concerned.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SX210 IS
Nickname: Don
Location: Leesburg Florida
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Disappointed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2011
Pros: good battery life, durable, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance
I have been extremely disappointed with the quality of the pictures I have taken. I have an older digital camera that takes great pictures but I wanted to upgrade from a 4 times zoom to the 14 times zoom with the Canon. The quality of the pictures taken indoors at concert events are no where near as good a s my older camera. Many pictures are not clear as they should be and trust me I'm no beginner at taking photos. Pictures are dark, fuzzy and poor quality. I even had other people attempt to use the camera and they said that no way would they buy this camera. I just can't recommend this camera
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX210 IS
Nickname: Greg
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Dust is a Big Problem

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2011
Pros: easy to use, good video
Cons: Flimsy Construction, dust, lens construction
I purchased this camera in the Spring and on the first day I used it noticed a problem with dust getting on the lens and inside the lens. Withing two months, dust and hair actually got inside the camera causing for significant quality issues. For the price of this camera, this should not be happening. Even worse, there is no way to fix this. I have used an air gun to try to loosen these particles, blown inside the camera, etc., and nothing works. You will see that the lens has a gap between the metal casing and the lens. Dust enters into the camera around all sides. There is no way to clean the inside of the camera. Otherwise, this camera could be great. Picture quality is fantastic and video quality was great when there was not this dust problem. Verdict: don't buy this camera.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SX210 IS
Nickname: Beki
Location: Marshall, MN
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Best Purchase

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Image quality is amazing! I can work with apertur and shutter speed like a non digital camera. It's portable and easy to use. One thing I will say is the flash lense is the only thing that sticks out from the camera. if I would to ever drop it, it would probably be the first thing to break on my camera.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SX210 IS
Nickname: Mule Lady
Location: Safety Harbor, FL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, great zoom
I bought this camera after my older canon finally bit the dust. Carried my old one in my saddlebag for well over 2000 miles of riding everywhere in the USA and took 1000's and 1000's of pictures. I was sold on canon! So far with this one, I have taken it everywhere in Israel and Egypt and taken 100's of shots of grandchildren. It has never failed me. I love the high zoom and get some great shots from far away that I never thought would come out so clear. I was a little worried about the placement of the flash because I always seem to have my finger in the wrong place when I turn on the camera but MOST of the time I do not need it. This is such a great low light camera, I normally get a great shot without the flash. The majority of the time I have just used the easy setting and get sharp beautiful shots. The clips of video also come out crisp and clear. I am very happy with this camera!!
Review 7 for PowerShot SX210 IS
Nickname: Special Lady
Location: Perry, Florida
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

I love this camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2011
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I would highly recommend this camea. I have enjoyed it to the fulliest. I took on the road all in cold tempatures and it took very good pictures in the snow, in the dark and in the rain the pictures still come out clear. I am often taking pictures without the flash and they come out well in doors. I took pictures while driving and they came out perfect. I love this and you can't tell I was driving nor that I was behind the windsheild of a 18 wheeler or my personal suv. I have taken some awesome pictures from a distance and it look as I was directly up on the subject. I have no cons other than the batteries don't last long but this is ok. This is a duriable camera. Trust me it is all that I am saying it is. I keep it with me at all times in my purse. I have taken clear picutures from inside a building of something outside and you can not tell the difference. I like to take nature pictures and they come out well even for and amature.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX210 IS
Nickname: traveler
Location: Northern CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great for traveling except...

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2011
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
Compared to the camera I had used on previous world adventures this one was great.
Easy to use, light weight. Love the 14x zoom.
Best to date camera with the one exception of short battery life. Fortunately, I took a spare with me. Each charge only got me about 1-3 hours of use,,, hard to feel good about an 8 to 10 hours of sightseeing and adventure half way around the world and having to be stingy with the pic taking to make it through the day. Would not be good in areas without daily recharge opportunities.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX210 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera with one major flaw

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 4, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, fills with dust
Overall I really like this camera. I like to take my camera with me everywhere, so this camera usually ends up in my pocket or in a bag. It takes beautiful shots and pretty good video. I've been using this camera for about a year.
Now for the huge flaw I've found. The camera will easily fill with dirt, hair, and dust. Since the lens will zoom a great distance this allows dust to work its way inside the camera. I even have hair inside the lens. I believe this is from the movement of the lenses while zooming in and out. There are 3 parts that move and they seem to pull dirt into the camera - making it impossible to prevent this problem.
If I thought it were worth my time to have the inside of the lenses cleaned every couple of months or so, I'd keep this camera. You may have better luck if you keep this camera in a camera bag and out of dusty environments (do NOT store in a pocket).
Right now I'm looking for a comparable replacement. This camera takes excellent pictures when the dust inside the camera is not reflecting natural light.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX210 IS
Nickname: shutter bug

Great Little Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, durable, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Great little camera. Shoots clear pictures and has a great zoom. Easy to fit in a pocket or purse and handy to carry around.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX210 IS
Nickname: Zebeagle
Location: Vienna, VA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Awesome Zoom

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I went to a concert last night where I was sitting in the back rows, I'm guessing I was at least 200 feet away from the stage. I was able to use my camera to zoom in on the singer and take clear pictures. Today when my friends saw my pictures they thought that I was sitting in the front row. Everyone was impressed with this camera's zoom ability. I'm so glad I chose it.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX210 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Plymouth ,ma
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Very disappointed!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2011
Cons: Poor image quality
I was very frustrated with this camera. I thought it was me but after reading others reviews I now know it's the camera. The pictures were not clear no matter what setting I tried. I didn't realize this until after I developed my son's First Holy Communion pictures. It was very upsetting. Don't but this Camera. I loved my other camera but it was old and outdated....I think I'm going back to it because the pictures were wonderful.
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX210 IS
Nickname: Stormin
Location: Rehoboth Beach, De
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very disappointed with this one

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance
Camera doesn't produce crisp clear pictures, especially indoors and in low light conditions, no matter what setting I use. I returned to to Cannon and they "adjusted" it but it is still unsatisfactiory. I have had previous cheaper cameras that took better pictures than this dog. I keep thinking that it's me but even on a monopod the picture quality isn't what I was expecting. I bought this camera based on several excellent reviews. I've change the SD card thinking that may have been the problem but it doesn't seem to matter. I used it an indoor graduation and everybody elses pictures turned out better than mine.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX210 IS
Nickname: Robin
Location: Omaha Nebraska
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

disappointed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2011
Cons: Difficult to use
I have only had this camera for three months and it already needs repair. The LCD display has stopped working completely and I have to send it in. Besides that, there is a serious design flaw where the flash pops up- it is right where you would hold the camera with your left index finger. Would definetly NOT buy again.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX210 IS
Nickname: Ozfever
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Product replacement: Yes

Good feel, poor pictures

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality
Purchased on-line. Camera has a good feel to it and all controls operate smoothly. Unfortunately, the pictures were fuzzy and had an yellow tint to them. Couldn't track down anyone who could/would offer a suggestion as to why, so returned it for full refund. No hassles.I will take in a storage card and physically try my next camera before buying.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX210 IS
Nickname: Don in SE Tx
Location: Beaumont, Tx
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great for general use

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, slim line profile
Cons: slow shutter responce
Great camera for general use. Slim profile is just right for the pocket. The 14x optical zoom sold me. I've used it weekly for four months with great pics.
It is slow on shutter responce.
Bad location for flash; where finger is.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX210 IS
Nickname: nancy
Location: San Antonio, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2011
Pros: Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor image quality, Difficult to use, Complicated controls/menu
This camera is a disappointment. I bought this camera because I needed to replace a camera and I need the 14x zoom. The photos are not crisp and clear. The image stabilizer does not offer much help. I am trying to locate a printed copy of the "Camera Users Guide" that comes with the camera on a CD. So far, it seems that I must print the 180 pages to have it handy when I am using the cameras. A condensed version is available with the camera. Cheaper cameras that are owned by family members produce better photos.
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SX210 IS
Nickname: csu
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

not as good as it sounds

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2011
Cons: Poor image quality
This camera sounds wonderful. Buyer beware. It does combine the point and shoot with the SLR options. It looks great on the 3inch LCD...put it on your computer and you see a grainy image with nearly zero depth of field. I have bought Canon Point and Shoots in the past and have been more that happy with the AUTO option. Either I have recieved a malfunctioning camera or this line is highly disappointing. It did not take long to upload images as other reviews mentioned. I bought this camera because I just wanted the option to play with the SLR side of it but intended on relying on the AUTO feature.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX210 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Columbia, SC
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Almost perfect

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, exceptional zoom
Cons: flash location
This is ALMOST the perfect pocket camera. The 14x optical zoom is unusual for pocket cameras and very handy for wildlife or for cropping photos on the fly. The 14.5 megapixel is also outstanding and provides the ability to make high quality prints. The variety of settings makes it easy to select the proper setting and the multi-focus capabilities helps ensure everyone is in focus.
So why isn’t this camera perfect? The flash is located exactly where you put your left index finger when you are taking a picture. So, when you turn the camera on, the popup tries to move your finger. I know, from a photographic perspective, having the flash directly on top the lens is taboo, but it would be a better location from a usability perspective. Perhaps having the flash embedded in the front would be a better place. I’ve learned to live with the minor quirk and continue to tell everyone about this ALMOST perfect camera.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX210 IS
Nickname: zq

Awesome Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Over all this camera is an excellent choice. I think some of the features are hidden and you have to really search to use them.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site