Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD4000 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SD4000 IS

Loaded with first-of-its-kind features and high-end capabilities, the Canon PowerShot SD4000 IS Digital ELPH gives ELPH lovers all new reasons to step up.
Average Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
26 out of 32(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD4000 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SD4000 IS
Nickname: Austin
Location: Menasha, WI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Extremely High End Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2010
Pros: crystal clear pictures, great quality low light shots, hd video recording, crystal clear 3" lcd screen, high quality metal camera body, superior everything!!
Cons: not one comes to my mind
I have had this camera for about a week now and am in absolute love with this camera. I have always been a fan of the Canon Digital ELPH series, and this is their best camera to date! The low-light capture blows my mind for the size of this camera. When I expect graininess, I get clarity, super Amazing. The Aperture and Shutter priority controls are extremely fun and useful, along with the countless other features that make this camera superior to any other model of any other brand. The body is fully metal except for the screen, buttons, and lens barrel, and has a rustic metal feel to it, which is great because it will prevent you from dropping it when using it one handed. The flash range is surprisingly large and when combined with Canon's HS system, the picture results with superior clarity. In the movie mode, which features 720p HD and Slo-Mo video recording, you are able to use optical zoom while shooting video, not only digital, which results in crystal clear HD videos, ready to be shown through the HDMI port with an optional HDMI cable. Overall, this camera is the best point and shoot camera I have ever owned or tested and would HIGHLY recommend it to a friend. Don't let the current price turn you away, it is 110% worth the money and you will not think twice.
176 of 180 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SD4000 IS
Nickname: fllins
Location: ny
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

decent pocket camera

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu
overall the camera is good... the main problem i have with this camera is the battery life.... it hardly lasts a day with continuous shooting... and when we use flash and take portraits the skin tone changes in to some weird rosy shade... it makes them look like they have a sun burn or skin disease... that's the worst thing i hate about this camera... everything is great.. the IS is very effective...
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SD4000 IS
Nickname: PIlotguy
Location: Alabama
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I bought this camera to take to Israel with me in Nov. 2010. Trip was 10 days long and I didn't want to carry around a large, heavy camera. I bought 2 8GB high speed cards to go with it. I took just over 700 pics and maybe 45 minutes total of video. This camera exceeded my expectations! Battery life was a little less than I'd have liked but I made it through each day with excess capacity. ALl my pics were great. I did touch some up with software to print them out or share but really didn't have to. Since then I have used it many times and learning to use more functons. If this camera is in your price range I highly recommend it.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SD4000 IS
Nickname: Nini
Location: Cabot, AR
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Don't Waste Your Money

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance
The image quality is very, very poor. I regret buying this camera.
5 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SD4000 IS
Nickname: Grandma D.
Location: Tempe, AZ
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Sad in Arizona

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2011
Cons: Poor image quality, poor focus quality
This is my 3rd (and last) Canon camera. In December, my husband and I wanted to upgrade our camera because we were going on our first cruise and wanted the very best pictures possible, so we asked our kids to purchase this camera for us for Christmas.
This camera is almost impossible to get a focused picture. About half our pictures are out in focus. Even after reading the directions and understanding that for the best focused pictures, press the shutter button half way down (lightly) until the camera beeps that it is focused. Well, folks, do you have any idea how may grandchildren have walked away by the time this camera beeps. To close, I would not recommend an anyone buy this camera. We are so disappointed in the quality, that I no longer take our camera to family events. For this grandma, this is unheard of.[ASIN:B003L77Y5S Canon PowerShot SD4000IS 10 MP CMOS Digital Camera with 3.8x Optical Zoom and f/2.0 Lens (Black)]]
3 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SD4000 IS
Nickname: Ru
Location: San Antonio, TX
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Point and Shoot for Low Light

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, good video quality
I am not a fan of flash on any camera... The low light performance is why I bought this camera. I was tired of my other Point and Shoots having very poor low light performance. This was particularly noticeable at concerts where I was not allowed to bring my XSi in because it is a DSLR (considered a professional camera). So, the smaller cameras were the only option. This camera excels in this department. Some of the low light shots are grainy, but overall performance is excellent.
I did notice that the video feature sometimes has an issue focusing during shooting video, but that is really my only qualm with this camera. Battery life isn't incredible, but it is still very good. This is my favorite all around point and shoot camera.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SD4000 IS
Nickname: jpp0883
Location: vineland nj
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

poor quality not worth the money.

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality
Well let me start off im a huge fan of canon have been a fan since the canon powershot sd990is let me tell you this sd4000is does not compare to the 990 at all the pictures have a softness to them. the colors, there is alot of yellowing in the photo tried program mode it is the worst camera and should be addressed with some kind of firmware update to fix these issues and even a f2.0 apperature didnt help the sitution i own a s90 and that is way better then this.
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SD4000 IS
Nickname: Kent
Location: Honolulu, HI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Focus is hyper active

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD
Cons: terrible video focus
Overall, the still photography is fine. I am very disappointed with the focus when taking videos. Trying to film Hong Kong Harbor during the nightly Light Show, the focus jumped out every time a new light was turned on or off, leaving me with video out of focus for more than half of the show. Trying to film children's birthday party, focus jumped out every time new light entered the lens. I have to say, the camera is virtually useless for video, it is out of focus most of the time!
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SD4000 IS
Nickname: bruceW
Location: Snowshoe, WV
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

outstanding image quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2011
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, shutter lag
Bought the 4000IS for it's low light capabilities and it has not disappointed. It's loaded with lots of great features... AV, TV, second curtain flash especially useful. Image quality is much better than I had expected. Prints up to 5x7 are comparable to my G-10. Only small negative is shutter lag with flash.
This is the perfect small take with anywhere camera.
Review 10 for PowerShot SD4000 IS
Nickname: quilter
Location: New England
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Difficult to use, Complicated controls/menu
Received this camera for Christmas and although it was a little difficult to figure out, because an instruction book was not provided, and I am not great on a computer, I called the Cannon Company and they were nice enough to provide me with a printed copy. Then I started really enjoying my new camera and have been very happy with the shots of our beautiful winter, with lots of bright snow scenes. I have not been able to get clear action shots of my grandchildren playing sports, but I will keep practicing as I know this camera can do the job.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SD4000 IS
Nickname: Brandi18
Location: IL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I love the picture quality, especially inside and low light pictures. Easy to use, small and compact. I've had this now for 3 months and so very happy with my choice.
Review 12 for PowerShot SD4000 IS
Nickname: iowapipe
Location: Iowa City, IA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Many great points, focusing has a problem

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2011
Pros: low light, wide lens, compact size
Cons: focusing in low light is bad too often, shots in low light with flash unfocused too often
Let me say up front; bought the camera because of the good low-light capability, wider lens, size and durable feel. (would have liked RAW and avchd but there are always compromises)
Love the low light capability - does a great job. And pictures in good lighting are usually excellent. On those fronts in am very very pleased.
Major problem = focusing. There are 2 points where this crops up.
1. In good lighting, it seems that if I just push the button too quickly, the focusing isn't always accurate. I seem to need to 'pause' at the 1/2 way point and let it settle before I shoot.
2. In lower light, I have found many times that while a picture seems decently focused on the screen, once I download it to edit, it is obviously not in focus, not even close enough to be useful other than to post to Facebook for laughs.
I have had the camera since November and will be calling Canon to see what they recommend. My only solution so far is to be very very patient, and tell people to 'pose'. No candid shots. Photography is a nice hobby for me, so I know the basics very well. Wouldn't call myself a pro, but I am not an amateur either.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SD4000 IS
Nickname: JAG

Fixing the video focus problems -sometimes-

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2011
Pros: low light performance
Cons: no chdk yet
To fix the problem with autofocus when shooting video, you can just press the shutter half way and lock the focus with the dial -press left-.
It will simply not change the focus, something that for some videos can be a solution...
Only drawback so far: no CHDK available (yet), i.e. no RAW, no control over flash intensity and no Super Quality JPEG files.
The Low Light feature delivers outstanding performance in my opinion, 2.5MB only, but really worth it.
I hope it helps.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SD4000 IS
Nickname: Anonymous

video mode goes out of focus

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2010
Cons: video mode goes out of focus
Be aware! Video mode on SD4000 has problem with auto focus. If you don’t care about shooting video with this camera, buy it. Simple birthday party video where people move slowly will go out of focus every several seconds. I couldn’t believe this at first. I read manual, tried all settings, no luck. Then, I went on several forums to find out other people have same problem.
I own two other Canon cameras (Rebel and small SD1000) and two DV camcodcers, no problem. This camera should never made it out with such poor auto-focus in video mode.
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SD4000 IS
Nickname: got2ride
Location: Morris County, NJ
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Buyer Beware - not Canon's best atttempt

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2010
Ok - I have been a Canon Fan for a long time - going way back on the early realeases of their SD line. I have had numberous ELPH's - and I can honestly say besides its excellent low light capability - the rest of the features and picture quality = leave me wanting.
I have had problems with the camera trying to focus, startup delays, color satuartion, and flash "bleach". Too the camera just does not feel like a canon. Someone it feels very cheap. When compared to my older DS990IS - the 4000 just comes up short.
I am not done with Canon - I think they still have some of the best technology on the market - but need to focus...all puns intented back on quality photos not just new features, colors, and names to keep me on board.
18 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SD4000 IS
Nickname: omarthediver
Location: Key West FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent compact camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2010
Pros: sharp fast optics, excellent video, excellent macro, excellent low light performance
Cons: no camera raw, no 2nd curtain sync
I purchased this camera as a replacement for my flooded SD780 IS. It leaves that camera (and most other compacts) in the dust. The image quality is excellent and the video is absolutely stunning. The F2.0 lens and sharp optics perform well in a variety of lighting conditions. At the M1 setting, it delivers excellent photos up to ISO1600 and at M2 up to ISO3200. When housed, this camera delivers excellent results underwater.
However, the only thing missing is the ability to shoot camera raw, which would have been fitting for a camera of this standard.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SD4000 IS
Nickname: Rex
Location: Lansing, MI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera, Worth The Investment

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2010
Pros: controls
Cons: none
The camera was bought for everyday use and convience. I based my puchase on the name Canon, the camera
s features, and the reviews at this site. The image quality is great in all settings and occasions. The size of the camera is perfect in the pocket or on the belt. I set the camera in the Program mode where I have more control of it's features. The camera can be left in auto mode where it takes very nice photos. The image quality is wonderful, and the color balance looks very good, and when used in the auto mode the camera will choose the best setting using the proper ISO, Aperture, and Shutter settings.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SD4000 IS
Nickname: Lewis
Location: Stamford, CT
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Where is the digital macro

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2010
Pros: easy, fun, quick, also serious, and professional, picture quality is amazing with proper lighting.
Cons: no digital macro, unhappy that there isn't a 60 fps option at 720
I love this camera. I find that I was overall happier with the canon sd 550. But this camera pack a punch with some great features. Face recognizing feature is great to work with. I am always flying so to take pictures using the miniature function during take offs and landings has been a wonder. These shots are always so interesting to have. I do wish canon would have included as a part of the video a 60 fps option, as the sd 550 had this option. The body design is nice and the bold colors are great.
If I could make a personal request to the team at canon, I would request the 60fps and a stronger macro setting.
A overall pleasant camera to work with and enjoy on the go.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SD4000 IS
Nickname: tokki
Location: new york
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

the greatest camera in the world.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2010
Pros: crisp pictures, slow mo video
i received this camera as a present this morning from my dad. this camera is out of this world, brilliant. the shutter speed is so quick and the picture quality is beautifully crisp. the low light feature is pretty cool and the slow motion video is so much fun to play around with. i LOVE this camera SO MUCH i just can't seem to put it down. the camera also has this coating around the camera that makes it feel very comfortable to hold. the "auto" feature located on the top of the camera takes VERY crisp and detailed photos. this camera makes me look like a professional!
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SD4000 IS
Nickname: sergio
Location: Canton Michian
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

BATTERY

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2010
camera is really great but miss battery indicator , looks not like a final product , pictures , exposure , IQ are really very good
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site