Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX30 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SX30 IS

The PowerShot SX30 IS has got you prepared for your next extreme photo opportunity.
Average Customer Rating:
4.446 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(195 Reviews) 195
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (195 reviews)
5 stars
132
4 stars
32
3 stars
20
2 stars
8
1 star
3
167 out of 195(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX30 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SX30 IS
Nickname: Gabbie
Location: Phila. Pa.
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Easy!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2012
Easy to use for anyone from the casual shutter bug to a pro. Change your settings or allow the camera to do it all for you. If you have any problems Canon is always there to help you. I would highly recommend this for all.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX30 IS
Nickname: Viper
Location: San Antonio,TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2012
Best camera I ever spent money on. I Love this camera it shoots the best photos I've ever taken.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SX30 IS
Nickname: JT
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Perfect for an African Safari and MORE!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012
Pros: big zoom, no need for extra lenses
Cons: burst mode is slow
I purchased this camera in September 2010 when it first came out. The shop was sold out of the camera I had chosen and they had just received three of these. All were sold before I left the shop! I wanted a camera of manageable size that could perhaps get close ups of wild life on safari. It was perfect, our guide in Tanzania, purchased one for himself after taking some shots with my camera. It was a lucky choice for that trip and I am still enjoying it.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX30 IS
Nickname: Sniper
Location: NC
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Something in-between a traditional P&S and DSLR

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2012
I love this camera it is a excellent long range zoom camera, something in between a traditional P&S and DSLR. This camera has a lot of handy features for everyday and also for semi-professional photography. The display is huge and lets you narrow your zoom object. This camera is mart investment, another excellent product from Canon.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SX30 IS
Nickname: Tsgtviper
Location: San Antonio,TX
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best camera for not being an SLR

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2012
Great for indoor use and Excellent photos for bird watching, sporting and when hiking.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SX30 IS
Nickname: Nate6431
Location: Lancaster,Pa
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best camera for People!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2011
Pros: great video
This Camera includes a Fish eye effect. You could only find that in a DSLR camera but now its on the canon SX30 IS.Best camera for the price. Great video quality!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX30 IS
Nickname: jwarf
Location: Atlanta
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Pic quality not good at all

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2011
Pros: love the movie!
Cons: poor picture quality
Still trying to get some help from support. I obviously have the incorrect settings ( I hope!!!!!!!).It would be good if you a forum for some of these issues. I hope your support will be able to help...Im hoping the issue is me. I have a couple of SLR's but this pic quality is so disappointing.
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX30 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years

An OK camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2011
Pros: 35x zoom, color, manual mode
Cons: autofocus slow, manual flash, image quality, slow performance
I find that the SX30 IS performance is fine, but slow. The color is good, but I find that the pictures are grainy and soft. Zoom is actually pretty fast but the autofocus isn't. The flip screen is actually cool, along with the other functions of the camera, like the manual mode and video modes. But I find the manual flash to be bothersome.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX30 IS
Nickname: My Canon
Location: Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Glad I bought Canon

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2011
I got this camera a week ago just in time for the Thanksgiving celebration. I'm impressed with the image and color qualities using zoom lens. My favorite features are "M" and "P" modes, Normal and Macro focus. I'm still learning the F-stops, ISO, and shutter speed. I went ahead and order an additional battery, lens hood, lens converter, and Super Wide Angle Panoramic Macro Fisheye Lens. I know the camera already comes with the fish eye feature, but I need something raw effect. I got all these product cheap at amazon.com. I'm still waiting for the fish eye lens to arrive next week. I've always wanted to buy a digital SLR, but with my tight budget, this is as closed as I can of taking quality photos like a pro.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX30 IS
Nickname: Amanda
Location: Va
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2011
Pros: battery life, picture quality, easy to use
Cons: close up cannot use zoom
I looove this camera! i'm only 17 so i didn't want a huge expensive camera so i saved up my money and was very satisfied with this one! once you get to know it you'll do great and take amazing photos with this camera! The one thing that took me so long to figure out was that when your taking a close up picture you cant use zoom or it'll never focus!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX30 IS
Nickname: momof2boys
Location: Southern IN
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

best gift from an EX

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2011
Pros: easy to use, excellent quality pics
Cons: slightly bulky, zoom is a little slow
I recieved this camera as a Christmas gift last year. I had a smaller digital camera before this one and while this Canon is massive compared to my pocket type camera, the pictures that it captures are excellent! I love taking photos of my kids, especially action shots since they are involved in sports. I caught some really fantastic pics that look almost professional and I am in no way a great photographer. I didn't find the the functions too confusing, although I still haven't used the camera to it's full capacity. I especially like the ability to "flip" the LCD screen so that self timed portraits can be viewed prior to the shot. Sometimes the action shots are a little blurry but that may be my fault. The zoom seems a little slow for my taste. Other than that, this camera is fantastic.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX30 IS
Nickname: Alpha Dog
Location: North Central Texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Love it!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2011
Pros: really versatile, great autofocus, good battery life, love the super-zoom
Cons: doesn't use aa batteries
Bought this about a six weeks ago, and am extremely satisfied so far. I've even taken pictures of the moon in the waxing and waning phases with amazingly sharp detail. Haven't had to recharge the Li-ion battery yet after having taken a busload of pictures, so the battery life is a definite plus.
The quality of the pictures is outstanding. The additional monocular viewfinder is a plus, as is the rotatable 2.5" viewfinder. The widescreen format video recording is the reason I bought this, and the autofocus during zoom does a reasonably good job of keeping up. Got a winner here.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX30 IS
Nickname: Mimi
Location: Columbia, MD
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

just what I wanted

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, easy to use
I've had a few little pocket digitals and I do carry my camera taking snapshots like a journal of my life. But I've been disappointed with trying to get nature closeups or zoom a distance shot- or of grandkids' sports. A trip to the Canadian Rockies inspired my purchase. I realized that I was NOT interested in something too complex, but I wanted more than what I had. I gave up on the removable lenses, and settled on this camera. My pictures are stunning! I probably have used only a fraction of what it can do but I am very happy and have made some photo books with wonderful results. Only complaints: is that it is a little heavy around the neck while hiking! And my fingers fumble with the lens cover; and my thumb keeps pushing another button on the right side while I am taking pictures. But I'd buy it again in a flash! I do find my little pocket camera is not being used- I'm just using the camera phone for those casual pix.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX30 IS
Nickname: Sequim
Location: Sequim, WA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Good Camera, Bad User Guide

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, almost worthless user guide
I notice that one of the most persistent points of dissatisfaction with this camera is not the camera itself but the User Guide, which is available only on disk. That really is a problem; not many people take a computer with them out on a birding expedition. But I believe that that might be the least of the problems with the guide. The guide is not only hard to use, but additionally, the information it provides is wholly inadequate.
Because the guide comes only on a disk Canon has practically zero publishing cost, and because they are a camera company they must know something about photography, so why such an ugly little thing, with only the crudest of pictures, all in black and white? To me it seems obvious that a company would want to show off their product, say by having some good quality color examples to illustrate some of the many features of the camera. As it is, any comic book looks better than the Canon User Guide.
Everywhere they use tiny, crude, un intuitive icons instead of words. Here is a typical set of instructions, where "*" stands for an icon or pictogram:
Turning the Flash On
1.Raise the flash.
2. Choose *.
- After pressing the * button, press the ** buttons or turn the * dial to choose *, then press the * button.
- Once set, * will appear on the screen
Remember this is on a disk, so it's being read with some kind of reader that has a find function. So now how does one find "*"? Would it not make sense to sometimes use the names together with the icons, so that the find function could be used? If they are going to use icons would it not make sense to have a chart somewhere that showed all the icons in one place, along with their names and descriptions and references to the pages where they are used? And why are the icons so small and hard to see? If this were a pocket guide there might be some excuse for keeping it small enough to fit in a pocket, but it's not.
I came across a footnote somewhere that said something about a restriction in "*" mode. I blew it up and "*" looked something like a car parked in front of a building. I searched through the guide for a long time before I happened to come across the mysterious "*" again. Such a waste of time. Such an unnecessary inconvenience.
The guide is ugly, but no amount of improvement to its appearance would be of significant help because of the basic inadequacy of the technical information it contains. It says "Do this, then that", but this and that hardly scratch the surface of the information the user must have to use the camera effectively. The guide does not even begin to cover many features of the camera in enough detail to make them useful.
I wanted to use the FE Lock feature. I followed the directions (after figuring out what all the "*" meant) and it worked, the first time. The second time it didn't work; raise the flash and press the * button and a menu comes up, not the option to choose *. I tried repeatedly and sometimes it worked and sometimes it did not. I contacted Canon and explained exactly what I did and what the results were, and they instructed me to pack up the camera and return it for repair. But I decided to keep trying, and one day I came across a footnote someplace that revealed that if the * button is held for more than one second the menu comes up instead of the normal screen. I don't know where that footnote is because it is identified only as *. On page 45 of the manual the * button is identified as the "(Flash) Button", but these words appear nowhere else in the guide.
I do not think that having a hard copy of this guide would be any significant improvement. It would take a complete re-write even to make it merely adequate.
46 of 53 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX30 IS
Nickname: kidpics
Location: Ventura, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: slow shutter speed
Ease of operation and ability to produce high quality pictures from close to long distance. Like not having to change lens for telephoto ops. Multi picture setting is too slow and too slow for action shots.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX30 IS
Nickname: MO
Location: Potsdam, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love this camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: i hate that the manual is online!
I've only had the camera for a month, but I love it! I took it to Maine on vacation and came home with some awesome shots and videos. The sound of the ocean on the video made me feel like I was there. The telephoto zoom is amazing, but a little difficult to hold steady when fully extended. So far the only thing that I do have an issue with are the 3 buttons on the upper right hand side of the back of the camera. I often accidentally hit them when holding the camera.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX30 IS
Nickname: Chaz

Best Camera I've ever had.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, good flash, amazing zoom
Cons: occasionally a bit blurry
I got this camera about 3 weeks ago and it is AMAZING quality. The images are clear, the flash is bright, and the zoom is INCREDIBLE!!! Also, the buttons and menus were simple to use and I learned them within about one day! I would definitely recommend this camera to anybody!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SX30 IS
Nickname: Nitin
Location: Hartford,CT
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, 35x optical zoom
I bought SX30IS after getting a recommendation from friend and reading online reviews and blogs. To be frank , all pointers writtten about this camera were really true. This camera is for those who dont want to buy a SLR but still need the SLR like features.
The 35x optical zoom is like hubble telescope in Compact camera's world. Infact i was able to capture a very detailed picture of Moon with its craters (when i extended the zoom to 100x-though it took bit of pain to stabilize the camera to focus correctly but the end picture was mindblowing). Highly recommended who is like me i.e. goes on sightseeing trips ,capture images but then do not want to carry a bulky SLR but still needs high quality images. Highly Recommended.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX30 IS
Nickname: Ken
Location: Sparks, NV
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera except for:

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
This is a great camera...except for the location of some of the buttons on the right side of the camera. You can not help but hit some of those buttons with your thumb as you set up shots and it is more than a little irrating. Could have come with better placement.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX30 IS
Nickname: lovepics
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I love this camera! Pictures are great, easy to use.
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site