Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX130 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SX130 IS

Smart, sleek and creative, the PowerShot SX130 IS is the perfect companion to all your good times. Now you can capture every detail of special moments in crisp, stunning 720p HD - even while using the high-powered 12x Wide-Angle Optical Zoom!
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(154 Reviews) 154
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (154 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
44
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 star
14
115 out of 154(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX130 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SX130 IS
Nickname: Parrot :)
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera For Anyone

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, more advanced
Cons: Short battery life, moderate low light performance, moderately heavy
I have used many different cameras like this and I think this one is specifically nice to use. For people who want to go more advanced, there are manual modes like aprature and shutter speed priority which work pretty well. For beginners, the camera is also great because of the guides and good explanations that pop up. However, regular alkaline batteries don't cut it at all. All this this time I have owned the camera, I've used advanced lithium batteries but don't worry, they are not hard to find. Also, at first, the camera seems to be slightly heavy and bulky but you get used to it over time. One more note, I have dropped this camera off counters, on ship decks, and on asphalt many times and it has nicely survived them all.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX130 IS
Nickname: Oakwoodlands
Location: San Francisco
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

great camera but flawed

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2012
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, Flimsy Construction
Ive had Canon Power Shots for several years .. good service.
The short battery life is compensated by the fact that you can get Lithium AA batteries almost anywhere.
BUT.. be careful.. easy to scratch lens and the battery door latch ( plastic) will easily break if the camera is dripped on its corner.. even from a few inches . No replacement and this will make the camera virtually useless.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SX130 IS
Nickname: Redskin
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not my Best Canon Camera

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2012
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life, Heavy/Bulky, no auto flash.
This is my 3rd Canon Camera and not the best only because of battery problems. First of all needed to purchase separate rechargable batteries and the charger. Disposable AA is not an oprion at all. Even more annoying part of it is, When the flash is on, it frequently says 'Flash is charging'. Well, not all the events going to wait for it to be charged. Also, flash needs to be turned on/off manually.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX130 IS
Nickname: Xerxes
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

All You Need To Know

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Dim LCD
Highlights
1: Decent image quality for this price range (I can tell Best In Class) Well controlled Chromatic Aberration, Purple infringement and very low distortion level.
2: Impressive 720p video quality with rich colors and detail and very clear sound.
3: Acceptable battery life if you use high capacity rechargable batteries (2500 mAh Ni-MH is the best for this camera)
Cons
1: Very annoying vertical highlighted line in night video recording if the light source placed in the frame.
2: Low resolution LCD that you cant see any detail specially if you want to manual focus.
3: Very slow and noisy zoom function while recording video.
Review 5 for PowerShot SX130 IS
Nickname: Knight Rider
Location: Erie, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

This camera is worth every penny.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2012
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I'm glad I got this electronic device. I still can't believe I found a nice digital camera. I like that is packed with great features. My favorites 12x digital zoom, 28mm wide lens, 12.1 mega pixel, huge LCD, and video recording with great sound. The main reason I got this camera was mostly luck and the price.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SX130 IS
Nickname: LM
Location: Omaah, NE
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nothing but problems

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2012
Pros: easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance
The left side of every picture taken is blurry beyond recognition, the right side is much clearer, I've changed settings, etc. to see if the picture would get clearer and perhaps it was the user error/problem, I've read the manual, changed settings and done all that I can to make the full picture crystal clear.
I'm very disappointed with this camera, I have a ticket into Canon, we'll see if they stand behind their product. This is the first time I've had problems with Canon, generally the cameras have been excellent.
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX130 IS
Nickname: Bernie
Location: north wales, pa
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Best gift ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
My son gave me this for mother's day a year ago and its the best present ever - I am thrilled with it. Never taken a picture that was not good. thanks
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX130 IS
Nickname: Inspector Jim
Location: Connecticut
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Mr

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2012
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable
I use the camera almost exclusively for my business of inspecting houses. I also do on occasion use it for leisure, shooting family, outdoors / nature photos. I have bought several camera over the years of all different brands in the same price range. The Canon has out performed all of them considerably. I am VERY hard on cameras, taking several hundred photos a day in all types of whether and conditions. So far the Canon is still going strong after a year and tens of thousands of photos. It's an all around great camera and a super value. I highly recommend the SX -130.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX130 IS
Nickname: Mike
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Exceptional performance and value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, chdk compatible
Cons: slow flash recycle time
I use CHDK with the SX130 IS and develop images which are typically indistinguishable (when shot at ISO 80) from those from a DSLR. If you can still find this model in stores (it has since been replaced by the SX150 IS) grab it! One more thing - use "hybrid" (also known as "pre-charged") batteries in this camera and you will typically get 300 shots per charge.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX130 IS
Nickname: Alex
Location: New York
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love Hate Relationship.

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2012
Pros: excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, hd video
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult to use, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu, Flimsy Construction, importing to computer, zoom quality
I've been using this camea for 2 year now. When I first received it, I thought it was wonderful, but thats only because it was my first camera. I found the product very useful. The image quality is great and its very lightweight, but the battery life runs out in about 10 minutes with the camera being on. The zoom quality is terrible, whenever I zoom in it does not focus so I completely gave up on that. The only person I would recommend this to is someone who first experiencing with a camera, if not then I suggest a better Canon camera that would suit you. Have a good day.
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX130 IS
Nickname: DrCreep
Location: Austin, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Musician Band and Theatre Use

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 9, 2012
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life, slow autofocus
6/9/12 - I've been using this camera for over a year now and have come to some pretty clear conclusions and what I would like in the next camera I buy. All of the features that are described on this website are clear and work as described except two items. Auto-focus under low light circumstances is better than other companies I've tried but with the camera on a fixed tripod and the band or players on stage, sometimes it tries to refocus and it takes approximately 1-3 seconds. For the the cost I think its better than the others but could be better. The sound it pics up is incredible for even loud places like bars or festivals. I've actually used the sound as another track for mixing when i needed to catch the audience perspective. The biggest complaint I have is the governed 10 continuous minutes of HD movie shooting. When I'm recording my kids plays, I have to ask them where I can start and stop the camera within 10 minutes so I don't miss parts. I have a 32G card inserted so I could easily go longer than that if the camera allowed. Also the battery life is about 15 minutes when shooting HD movies. I don't do it unless I use the power cord (not supplied). Also, the camera cannot switch from battery to AC without shutting down and restarting.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX130 IS
Nickname: Kylie
Location: Boise, ID
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great camera for the beginning photographer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2012
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life, hard to navigate menu
I love how this small, handheld camera carries a 12x optical zoom! The different settings, such as landscape, portrait, and kids&pets worked well for their purpose. It became confusing when I experimented with the manual mode. When I switched from that to AV or TV, I lost control of my aperture and ISO, meaning I feel they didn't switch back to automatic. However that was my only problem. For just an everyday, point and shoot camera, this is perfect, especially for the price.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX130 IS
Nickname: lvnthecrzylfe
Location: Altoona, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

used again and again.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, takes clear zoom pictures
I got my camera for Christmas, a present from my mom, when the camera first came out. She had the 10 mega pixel and I loved that camera. I've taken thousands of pictures. I make sure I have fresh batteries at all times. I don't uses generic batteries, I've found that I'm replacing them after a few pictures. I took my step-daughters wedding pictures and they were better than the persons they hired. The zoom is wonderful. Pictures are clear.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX130 IS
Nickname: Gina
Location: Knoxville, TN
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Bad Bad Bad Battery Usage

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2012
Cons: battery life
Brand new batteries only last about 30 minutes. DO NOT BUY THIS CAMERA unless you own a battery company and have many on hand to replace every 30 minutes or so.
7 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX130 IS
Nickname: grovecub
Location: Spotsylvania, VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

The Best Cameras

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2012
Pros: price, ease of use, technology, features
Cons: unable to take still images whille in video mode
We use our camera a lot. It take clear images and well as sharp video with great sound. Everything about this camera is user friendly. Set up is easy to understand. This camera is great for a beginner to expert. Prior to this purchase, we purchased another brand name digital camera that was highly rated. It was a big disappointment! Canon is one of the best products for your multimedia needs. We have a much older powershot (2003) that still works great as well.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX130 IS
Nickname: steny
Location: MInot, ND
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

good camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2012
Pros: Very good qualitypictures, easy and simple to learn to use, durable (have dropped in a few times!) great zoom feature, easy to make movies with
Cons: Not a fast camera i.e: blurry pictures with movement, shutter speed very slow so action photos are delayed, carry extra batteries
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX130 IS
Nickname: caobhin
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Microphone died after less than 2 years

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2012
Microphone is dead - no sound is recorded on videos anymore, so that's pretty much useless...
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SX130 IS
Nickname: banjodad
Location: Denver, CO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

AA Battery eater

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2012
Pros: has a nice feel to it nice pictures
Cons: aa batteries
If I didn't have to carry tons of extra AA batteries with me, I might like this camera. It goes through them fast. If I had known this would be the case, I would have looked for a camera with easily rechargeable ion batteries, like my other camera. It seems like a decent camera, and I think another Canon would be better. The long time it takes to wait for the flash to build up is probably due to the high consumption of battery energy. I just will not buy another that uses AA batteries.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX130 IS
Nickname: Npr
Location: Gulfport, Fl
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love this camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2012
I went from a Cannon film camera to this little digital. Finally got myself into the modern world of not having to develop extra pictures unnecessarily. I wasn't sure if I would like it since I do a lot of scenery shots using a large zoom lens. The zoom on this camera is just fine for the shots I take. The quality of the pictures is amazing for a camera that fits into my purse with no problem. The 12 megapixel and 12X optical zoom is just enough. I have even taken shots at night with the moon over the water, and the picture has come out clear. The only down fall of this camera is the battery consumption. When I know I'm going to have the camera on to take several pictures, I bring extra batteries with me. I have recommended this camera to my friends.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX130 IS
Nickname: sweetd
Location: Chicago,IL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

This camera eats batteries

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 29, 2012
Pros: killer hd
Cons: everything else
Sorry but this camera is terrible I have never had to change batteries as often as I do with any other piece of gear I have ever owned its quirky and the facial focus can't be overridden if you take it back I will be more than happy to box it up I DO NOT like this camera at all I have had this camera since december in anticipation of the birth of my twins and I can't tell you how man shots I have missed because hte thing takes too long to process a shot, to power up, to save files etc etc etc I can even figure out how to turn the stupid time and date stamp off permanently it comes up every single time I turn the camera on when I DO NOT LIKE any time and date stamp features anyhow I'm here trying to upload to a macbook and guess what NO DRIVER save your money
2 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site