Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP4820

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA iP4820

The PIXMA iP4820 Premium Inkjet Photo Printer possesses the high-quality, performance and ease of use for your various home printing needs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP4820
Review 1 for PIXMA iP4820
Nickname: A155MM
Location: Milwaukee
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer but........

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 10, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use, photos are exceptional
Cons: cost of ink
I got this printer from Canon when my ip4000 died after years of great service. The 4820 produces surperior photos; but it has small expensive ink tanks that are also black. If you believe the screen menu; you are out of ink every two weeks. Actually; you can print till one or more colors streak. THEN you install the expensive little cartridge to replace it. This is strictly a photo printer; so don't expect to do any serious resumes on it
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA iP4820
Nickname: Hal
Location: Enterprise, AL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Good Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2012
Pros: overall value
Cons: ink price
I have had this printer for about a year now and pretty much like it except when starting up it takes a while for it to settle down and print and the ink cost is too high for the size of the ink tanks.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA iP4820
Nickname: raul
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

excellent value - and fast

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2012
chose ip4300 years ago because of its speed and law noise.
broke down on me sfter about 5 years (avarage 35 pages a day, dusty environment...).
i was so happy with it that i replaced it with its replacment the ip 4820.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA iP4820
Nickname: Michael
Location: Glendale Az
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good printer for trhe price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2011
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
My old Pimxa IP6000D finally died. I called Camon for a recommendation & they felt tthe IP4820 would be a good
replacement.
They were right. Love the printer.
Bought direct from Canon & could not be happier.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA iP4820
Nickname: OutofINK
Location: Lake Charles, LA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

To Small INK Cartridges

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2011
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: High Ink Consumption, small ink cartridges
This ia a great Printer. But Cannon messed it up on purpose
making the INK Cartridges too small so they hold less INK.
The cartridges are much smaller than in My last Cannon Printer a IP4500. They did not have do do this. They many plenty of money on regular size Ink cartridges.
27 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA iP4820
Nickname: PEORIAMOM
Location: Peoria, AZ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

BEST PURCHASE EVER!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2011
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
This is a compact printer with a fast printing speed. It is easy to load & easy to use. I highly recommend this to anyone!
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA iP4820
Nickname: villanoe1981
Location: lancaster,ca
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

best photo printer ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2011
Pros: Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
best printer i buy this printer few weeks ago and my pictures coming out so prefect so crisp very good printer i allways use photo printer from other brand but when my old printer die , i decided to buy a canon and let me tell you guys canon the best ...thanks canon
12 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA iP4820
Nickname: PADDIE
Location: Falls Church VA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Why the darkened ink cartridges?

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2011
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed
Cons: High Ink Consumption, can't see ink levels!
My one serious con is not being able to see the level of ink in a cartridge. Sometimes the sensors are incorrect and we loose the use of ink still in the cartridge. I would like to see that change. If the sensor is NOT working and it runs out of ink - how do I know? I put a small post-it note on the side of a cartridge and keep track of how often I have to change that cartridge. I record the date on the post-it. Once I figured out how to re work the paper trays and create my own preferences of printing - life was truly improved.
This is a good machine. It's not flimsy like some I've seen. I've used these at work: I860, 4200, 4300 and a 4200 (5yrs) and now 4820 at home. I will certainly remain a Canon customer.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA iP4820
Nickname: bluetwo
Location: Massachusetts
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Top-notch printer (with some annoying quirks)

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2011
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: high ink cost
I am a graphic artist who has owned many printers over the years. Canon photo printers have consistently been the best.
Print quality of the 4820 is excellent (with good paper).. The printer driver interface is quite a bit better than the last version I used with the 4300,
The change in the paper path that another reviewer spoke of is very annoying for those of us who have spent a lot of time setting up our last Canon printer for different types of paper.
Also, unfortunately, the "Ink Wars" continue.. The wonderful transparent Canon cartridges are now solid black -- to make things more difficult for those of us who refill our own. Of course the Canon cartridges are very expensive and don't hold much ink.
But when all is said and done, the 4820 is an excellent choice.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA iP4820
Nickname: LindaFMG
Location: Montana
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Product replacement: Yes

Too Many Changes

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2011
When my Pixma ip4300 died, I replaced it with an ip4820
Likes: Duplex printing without having to turn the pages is nice.
Dislikes: The paper feed being under the paper output is inconvenient & difficult to access. I prefer the simpler design of all paper, envelopes & labels feeding from the back of the printer.
Printing envelopes has become more complicated. The 4300 held the envelopes on the right & the 4820 centers them in the printer, which means that I have to redesign all my envelope graphics & labels so they line up. Frustrating.
I would recommend this product to a friend, but with a warning & reservations.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA iP4820
Nickname: photoguy
Location: Buffalo, New York
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

picture quality plus

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2011
Pros: outstanding print quality
I just recieved this printer for Christmas; All I can say is wow!! My family thinks that I send out to have my photo's professionally printed. It also helps to use the really good photo paper.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA iP4820
Nickname: NN666
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

The color RED

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2011
Pros: fast printing and easy to use
Cons: prints everything with a red cast
Loved the printer - hated the photo prints. Every photo I printed had a distinct red cast. Photos were very susceptible to the ambient light casing color shifts. I know the color temperature of the light used to view things have have affect on the image but other photo prints from other printers did NOT have the large variation that the cannon did. I tried 3 brands of photo paper with the same result.
Unfortunately I had to return the printer and I am now looking at other manufacturers. Sigh...It seems with ALL manufacturers we get more useless features but with less printer reliability and quality!
13 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA iP4820
Nickname: canon fan
Location: fort fairfield, maine
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

best printer yet

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2010
Pros: top quality, name speaks for itself, easy to use, attractive
Cons: none
once again canon has nailed it, my ip4000 was just about worn out so i read up on the 4820. i knew it was good just by the brand. elegant, sleek, performance unexcelled. it is feature friendly, easy to use, beautiful in design, and performs as well as any printer i have seen. performs better than printers i have seen for 5 times the price. so if you want good quality look no further, CANON is the only way to go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
122 of 136 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site