Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG8120

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MG8120

The PIXMA MG8120 possesses superior quality, functionality and versatility combined with beautiful design.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
20 out of 28(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG8120
Review 1 for PIXMA MG8120
Nickname: Jack
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Very Expensive to Own

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2012
Pros: good interface, great image quality
Cons: atrocious ink consumption, doesn't scan or print 11"x17" paper
I bought this printer full well knowing that it consumed a lot of ink. I thought I was prepared. Nothing will prepare you for just how much ink this printer consumes. Perhaps it's the fact that the ink cartridges are small, but this thing costs hundreds of dollars per year just in the cost of ink. Granted it's highly engineered ink that's supposed to last forever, so maybe you can cut back on costs by substituting lower quality ink.
Everything else about this printer is very high quality. The pictures it prints are amazing, and it's got good software and an intuitive interface.
My only other complaint would be that it doesn't scan or print 11"x17" paper. It would be amazing if Canon would finally release a home printer that did this; I don't think it would be an issue since 11"x17" scanners are the same size as this printer.
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG8120
Nickname: smo310
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

CANON PIXMA MG8120 BAD PHOTO PRINTER!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2012
I have to be honest, I have been using this printer for over a year and as far as I am concerned, it is a HORRIBLE Photo printer. I constantly get washed out low chroma color prints, the ink runs out very quickly and it is always the one cartridge I DON'T have...Black and white, hey its great! But I am sorely disappointed in its Color prints. I have run every diagnostic, used brand new ink cartridges, pushed the vibrance in Photoshop to the top and still...it prints LOUSY! I get better prints using jpgs printed to PDF files then to the hard copy!
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG8120
Nickname: DAK
Location: Madison, Wi
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

a bit disappointed

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2012
I gather this printer is great if you're about photos, but I bought it to be our printer in a home office and to scan old slides. Set it up wireless and it works great, except when I tried to scan the computer said the printer didn't exist. Have yet to solve that issue. As for printing, it takes a long time to warm up when first turned on. A real pain for two sided printing. When printing something off the internet, it starts with the last page first, which is annoying if you don't even want what's on the last page. For two sided you put only one sheet of paper in the tray, print one page, then turn it over to print the next one. You have to fool it into thinking it's out of paper in order to do this. The print quality is otherwise very good.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG8120
Nickname: Louise
Location: Bethlehem, PA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

For starters, it cannot air print

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2012
Doesn't air print and no software upgrade available at this time.
Scanner is very difficult to figure out, not the least bit intuitive. MP Navigator program is difficult to bipass. In general, the software design is very poor. This will be my last Canon Printer.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG8120
Nickname: Dissident
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Avoid at all costs..

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2011
Cons: high ink usage, no scanning when out of ink, high replacement ink cost
I have nothing but cons for this unit..
It uses ink at an insanely high rate, and the ink is very expensive to replace.
It will not scan if you are out of ink! This has got to be the dumbest issue I have ever seen in a multi function device. If you run out of ink it completely locks the device until you purchase more.
If Cannon were to fix/change that one issue, I would totally reverse my opinion of this product, however as of right now I will avoid all Cannon multi devices int he future.
26 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG8120
Nickname: Marisa
Location: La Jolla, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Multifunction?

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2011
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: impossible to contact support
This is a great printer, don't get me wrong. I had a MP980 before this and I loved it, so when it came time to replace it, I went for another Canon Pixma. This printer prints amazing photos. However, unlike my last printer, there is a bug with the scanning function and it freezes every program, including the MP Navigator (which I have been using for years with no problems) as soon as I try to scan. It will make great copies, so I know the scanner works, but try to scan from the MP Navigator, Acrobat Pro, Fireworks, etc. the printer stops at 8% of the scan and the program freezes. How many hours have I poured into finding a fix for this, I don't even want to calculate, but if the scanner worked as it should, I'd be inclined to give a much higher rating of satisfaction. As is, I'm miffed because my previous 2 Pixmas worked perfectly.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG8120
Nickname: Jay
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Printer - Ink Hog

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2011
Pros: Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, looks
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, High Ink Consumption
Received this printer/scanner/copier recently and immediately set it up to work with my wireless network on my coffee table before moving it to a more remote location (my goal). Connection to the network was a piece of cake using the "easy" method (as long as you know your network SSID and passphrase). What took longer was scanning a document and sending it to my computer. Turns out McAfee was preventing the printer from finding the laptop. That was easily fixed and everything is working superbly. Scanning (color PDF), photo printing, color copying, are all perfect and easily accomplished. Colors on photo printing are superb and accurate. The supplied application software allows many more features and settings than I will probably ever use, but I will enjoy exploring. The machine is really cool looking with many touch buttons hidden beneath black plastic until needed. the pop-up screen is great and the on-screen alphanumeric entry system is wonderful. I like that the output tray can stay closed and will open automatically when you copy or print something. I would say the only tricky part of setup was loading the ink cartridge holder and the cartridges. Canon makes it sound scary, but once you get to it, it is easy. The "success" lights are really great. Also, the on-line manuals (loaded with the Canon software package) have complicated-sounding procedures that are really simple when you try them. Ink consumption is an issue as noted by orther reviewers, the only reason It did not get 5 stars across the board from me. Great machine - so far!
PS - for netbook installation, I copied the installation CD to a USB memory stick and it worked like a charm installing everything to my netbook.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG8120
Nickname: ChrisH
Location: Memphis, TN
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Sharpest Printer Out There!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2011
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use, sharp design
I've used this printer for several months now and the Canon MG8120 is still working great. I use the printer on my home network, and have had no problems. The printer setup was easy, and the quality of my prints and documents are great.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG8120
Nickname: RL
Location: Detroit, MI
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Nice printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2011
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Flimsy Construction
Works well for the price.
Slow to start up.
Some parts are made pretty flimsy.
No CD/DVD print tray
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG8120
Nickname: Kittydrew
Location: Iowa City IA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Third Canon --just as good

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2011
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky, High Ink Consumption
This replaced a 980 pixma which replaced an earlier Canon which was not compatable with a new computer. The 980 died in just 2 years.
All of them worked well. I especially like the quality of text and photos. They are sharp and clear, and the photos are almost as good looking as photos made on high end photo printers.
Both the 8120 and the 980 have/had a peculiar problem of switching paper sources and demanding more paper in the new source even after just filling the other source. Annoying, but tolerable.
Another annoying characterisitic is that the printers prime all the colors of ink whenever you change just one cartridge. Therefore they waste ink. And the printers will not oprate with one empty ink cartridge, so even if there is more than enough black to print text, if blue or red or yellow or gray is empty, the printer will not function. (Many office supply stores do not stock the gray ink.)
Despite these characteristics, my Canon printers have far surpassed other brand printers I have owned in quality. And I keep getting Canons when I need new printrs.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG8120
Nickname: home office user
Location: DFW, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

poor excuse for a MFP

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2011
Pros: Compact Design, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: High Ink Consumption, no fax, no adf, no usb cable
No fax modem, no ADF, and ink cartridges that are 30% less than previous model.
How can you have a MFP with no fax or ADF? These are 2 of my most used functions.
Also, ink cartridges are now 9ml. My previous Canon they were 13ml. That is approximately 30% less. The 13ml cartridges were used up pretty quickly. Now with them being 9ml you get even less use.
No USB cable? Do you really need to save the dollar it would cost to include it?
I would not recommend this printer. Have you looked at the price of replacement ink cartridges lately?
18 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG8120
Nickname: Mary
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excllent copy-easy set-up

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2011
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: heavy for me to move
I am an averagely skilled computer user and usually need help setting up new equipment. This printer was easy set-up and could have been done by someone that never used a computer---essentially set its self up and alerts me in a clear manner if I need to make adjustmnent for the document I am printing. Output is clear, color exceptional and quality equal to the large corporate color printer I use at work. Highly recommend this printer to all.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG8120
Nickname: bear3232
Location: Gaithersburg, Maryland
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best printer ever!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2011
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
MG8120 Best ever! Good price! easy set-up. Nice speed and ok ink consumption. Very good quality!
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG8120
Nickname: fjordrider
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Quality Product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2011
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Was very impressed with the companys fast delivery (less than 48 hrs w/o extra charges). Set up directions were clear and concise. Easily accomplished (I was a bit worried by other reviews as I'm not a technician). The instructions for the entire setup were clear and easy to follow and setup took no time at all.
The quality of the printing, both text and photos, is very professional looking.
The only 'little annouyance' is it's just a bit slow to start actually printing ~ not a big thing.
Price was excellent. Much cheaper than my local big box store!
Quite happy with my purchase and my new Canon MG8120 printer!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG8120
Nickname: timtam
Location: Tallahassee Fl
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Quality Product

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2011
Pros: Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Heavy/Bulky, High Ink Consumption
Previous Canon product owner, including Pixma ip4000 printer, and a video camera. Currently own Power Shot A75 camera. Took several weeks reviewing similar printers by other manufacturers, concluding that Canon had the features I wanted at the best price. The only real problem is the high ink consumption. I have printed 4 4x6 photos plus numerous articles and already need to replace several of the tanks. Have used the scanner for several projects, including the the film strip with no problems. Overall the printer has lived up tp my expectations except for the poor ink usage, and the cost to replace the tanks.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG8120
Nickname: Airdale
Location: Missouri
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Printer I Have Owned Yet

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2011
Pros: Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Great looks , print quality excellent, ink consumption is a little high but the print quality helps to offset this. Overall I am very pleased with my printer.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG8120
Nickname: BARBIE
Location: INDIANA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

DEFINATELY A QUALITY PRODUCT

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2011
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, a quality product
THE PIXMA MG8120 WAS SO EASY TO SET UP. THANKS CANON FOR THE SETUP BOOKLET. PRINTING PICTURES WAS SIMPLE AND THE PICTURES CAME OUT SO PROFESSIONAL LOOKING. VERY EASY TO USE. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE EVERTHING ABOUT THE 8120 PRINTER!!!
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG8120
Nickname: Bob
Location: Maryland
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Crafts/Scrapbooking
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Ink Hog

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2011
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, High Ink Consumption
While the quality of the photos it produces is excellent< the cost comparison over time is horrible. I’m extremely careful to select gray scale printing where possible, but even though I print very low quantities of photos, my ink costs are through the roof. Do not buy this printer unless you have stock in an ink company. Ink speed during the print cycle is good, but warm up time inbetween standby periods make the printer experience drag on for 3 - 5 minutes or so.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG8120
Nickname: New Buyer
Location: USA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Copying
Product replacement: Yes

Just Unpacked

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2011
Pros: durable, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky, Difficult Setup
I just purchased and unpacked this printer, and the USB connection fell apart every time I moved the printer. The connection is two small holes in the left rear and the connection is not very secure at all. Also, why the buyer has to put in the print head instead of it comming already firmly part of the original product escapes me. It seem that every time you want to print or copy you have to press 40 buttons to get one sheet of paper out. I hope that after I get used to it I'll love it, but not yet.
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG8120
Nickname: Javalogical

Good all in one for our family of 6

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2011
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, good price, great scanning of negatives
Cons: not especially mac friendly
We bought this all in one printer several months ago. After several weeks of research, this is the one had everything we were looking for. I am happy with the speed, the quality of printed pages, and the ease of use. It is networked with 2 PC's and Mac. The printer is much more user friendly on the PC's. The Mac print menu is seen and utilized through a series of drop down menus that are a bit cumbersome and take some time to learn and understand. I have also scanned many negatives and photographs and forms. I am very very happy with all of those functions! Scanning negatives takes some time, but the results are worth it. I'd buy it again for sure.
Biggest issue (not a deal breaker) for me is the ink level guide. It has been telling me I am low on ink for almost a month now. And yet it continues to print as well as ever. You can check the ink level on the printer itself and it seems more reliable than the pop-up warning.
44 of 44 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site