Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Scanners Reviews / CanoScan Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop CanoScan Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for CanoScan LiDE210

CanoScan LiDE210

The CanoScan LiDE210 Color Image Scanner features the quality, speed and ease of use that will bring your electronic filing system to another level.
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
23 out of 34(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CanoScan LiDE210
Review 1 for CanoScan LiDE210
Nickname: Boatman
Location: Amelia Island, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great with Windows 8.1

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 26, 2014
Works GREAT!
Using with Microsoft Windows 8.1 .
Also works GREAT with Nuance PaperPort V14.5 scanning software.
I bought one for at home, and one for the office.
Review 2 for CanoScan LiDE210
Nickname: Super Chief
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, easy to use
I scan a lot of photos and other documents for genealogy purposes and this scanner is the real deal. It is small enough to fit in my laptop case and still leave room for the computer. It does not require a clunky separate power supply allowing me to set up and scan anywhere: libraries, family homes, etc., so it goes with me on all family and vacation trips. The CanoScan model 200 I purchased in 2010 quit communicating with my computer so when I went looking for a replacement, a new Canon was my first choice so I bought the CanoScan model 210.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CanoScan LiDE210
Nickname: MD Terp 66
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Be a techie to use

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, one cable operation
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow-speed scanning, Low resolution, poor documention
Better be a techie to install and use this in Windows 8. Installation can't find Windows 8 as OS (doesn't offer Win 7 either). Has addendum for running on Windows 8. Installation does not build a icon, so you have to create shortcut yourself, by finding a file name not used in the documentation. Box stated 4800 dpi, but I have not found a setting greater than 1200. Box states runs in Win 8, but documentation is terrible. Box states 10 second scans, but best I did was 30 seconds.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CanoScan LiDE210
Nickname: The best there is
Location: IN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

BEST job, little scanner!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use, smart design
I had no idea I would use this scanner so much nor did I realize how nice it is to scan directly into a PDF no more GIF or JPEG - scanning of documents.. This scanner is light, easy to plug in and out if you don't want to keep it around it is light weight, VERY efficient and SUPER easy to use as easy as "push this button that says PDF" or "scan and email" no worries.. need to print from scan? Go ahead push "print" and it will send the scan to your printer... need I say more? Go ahead spend on the best investment out there.. I had another one I gave away to a friend, that's how much I love this scanner... I bought this one and had it for over 3 years!
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CanoScan LiDE210
Nickname: kathy
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Unusable

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2014
Installation was easy and was looking forward to organizing the paperwork until I tried to scan the first document. Every document had a 1/2 inch of unscanned material. A solid black area was in it's place. Will return.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CanoScan LiDE210
Nickname: Tom
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not for advanced users

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2014
Pros - Easy to use for average users. Single cord - no need for a power cord or power supply brick. This is a major plus if you're traveling with this scanner, or occasionally need to place it in the middle of a large table to scan large items.
Neutral - Not any faster than the 12+ year-old scanner it was replacing.
Cons - The simplified driver software is too simple - you have to go through multiple screens to find the settings you want, and even then, there isn't much control over the settings. (what if I need to disable auto-color balance?) Overall, this makes it slower and harder for me to use.
Recommendation: Best for normal users, not for advanced users.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CanoScan LiDE210
Nickname: Mohabee
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

LiDE 210 Software Incompatible with Win 7

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, High resolution, High-speed scanning, lightweight
Cons: Difficult to use, software not compatible with win 7
I purchased this scanner for its "easy set up and satisfactory scanning," which was touted by an online retailer. Reviews seemed favorable at that site, and the price was right.
Unfortunately, the software that accompanied the scanner is apparently not compatible with Win 7 Home Edition,on a 64 bit laptop computer. The hard drive on this machine is empty, and this software was the second installed, after the security software.
I get a continuous "Navigator has stopped working" error message, when I try to use the scanner with its factory software. Many attempts to restore or remove the software, updates via the Canon wevsite, and consultation with Canon service reps have not solved this problem.
So I'm going with a laborius work-around, which is unsatisfactory for scanning multiple photos or documents in one "session". Not satisfactory, since this is not fast,and my time is money.
Overall, the scanner is compact, is lightweight, and has features I wish I could use. So I give this scanner a "2" for its overall lack of usability.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CanoScan LiDE210
Nickname: Tom
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great scanner, lousy software

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, High-speed scanning
Cons: Difficult to use, lack of simplicity
Horrible software packages. Finding the right way through complicated, over-sophisticated menus to find a simple way to scan a document and save it is a big hassle.
After reinstalling my PC I thought it would be a shortcut to download the software, but I still had to download, try, delete a couple of packages.
Why does it have to be so time consuming to get going with this scanner??? I don't want any of the sophisticated geek features, I just want to scan a document and save it as a jpeg - simple and easy!!!
24 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CanoScan LiDE210
Nickname: loveit
Location: Florence, KY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

easy works great

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use
I love this scanner, simple and works great. This is the second one we owned, both were cannon's. we couldn't get new drivers for the last one but it never did wear out. I like that there isn't a separate power cord. I use it with my laptop. windows 7.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for CanoScan LiDE210
Nickname: Tomah Cheesehead
Location: Wisconsin & Arizona
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Ideal for Travelers

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, High resolution, easy to use
Cons: clunky software
As a snowbird traveling in an RV, I bought this LiDE 210 scanner because it is light, compact, and USB powered (no power brick}. The excellent quality of scans surprised me. I use it for scanning documents, photos, and checks for electronic bank deposits. Altho the GUI interface appears clunky to a Mac OS X user, it gets the job done - that is the only "con" I have noticed.
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CanoScan LiDE210
Nickname: Bushman
Location: Lauderhill, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Does what I need it to

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use, creates pdf's
Cons: Flimsy Construction, no encryption available
I bought the 210 for it's compact design, not knowing that it feels a little fragile. I suppose if I wanted sturdy there were other bulkier models available.... and hand scanners - no way, I shake too much. When I took the scan for the first time it seemed to be of poor quality until I enlarged it where I could see that this was exceptional imagery. 4800 dpi means nothing when the pdf's can only be 300 or 600 but for pictures you'll get your money's worth.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for CanoScan LiDE210
Nickname: Tom in Acworth GA
Location: Acworth, GA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not Satisfied

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2013
Cons: Low resolution
Never would scan @ 4800 dpi as claimed
1200 dpi was max and then only a few times.
Downloaded driver and software from Canon
but 300 dpi is best it will do. It is out of warranty
and I am either going to throw it away or give it
to someone who needs another problem in his/her
life. My next scanner will not be a Canon.
15 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for CanoScan LiDE210
Nickname: Mom50
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Scanner

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2012
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use
I've used these little scanners since the Lide10, have upgraded a few times. I am able to take this with me on trips as it fits right in my briefcase with my laptop and allows me to copy photos or book pages at the library, able to scan multiple photos and keep as seperate files without having to cut, paste and save. No need for a seperate power cord. I just pack and go.
34 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for CanoScan LiDE210
Nickname: larrym3711
Location: Austin, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

It's Windows 7 compatible!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2012
Pros: Compact Design, Fast Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: noisy, no mention of win 7
Received the product OK and installed easily. It worked immediately after the CD was finished (and the system was rebooted). It will default install on drive C. If you want another location, go for the custome installation. Worked as expected just using the Microsoft Scanner Software (Document Imaging)...however, they include a lot of different applications should you want custom scanning. Registration asks for the user O/S but does NOT include Windows 7 in the list. Product is somewhat noisy compared to previous models. Good Function for cost.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for CanoScan LiDE210
Nickname: PASAPPER
Location: Warminster, PA.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

REPLACEMENT SCANNER

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2012
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use
Cons: control software confusing
Scanner purchased to replace an exvellent, working LiDE 30 scanner that was not compatable with a software upgrade. This is an excellent scanner but there was no good reason that my LiDE scanner should not work with an upgrade to my operating system.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for CanoScan LiDE210
Nickname: wolfgang53
Location: Haverhill, MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Can't beat it fir the price.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2012
Pros: Compact Design, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use
Cons: clunky manual
Except for the rather "clunky" repetitive on-line manual, I have no complaints so far. The software is pretty straight-forward and the scans are great. I think the built in OCR is a great feature, as is the direct to e-mail function. I haven't used this unit to it's full extent yet, but if it lasts as long as my last Canon, a 620B, I'll be quite happy with it. I'm running Win 7 and had no trouble with installation.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for CanoScan LiDE210
Nickname: Matt

Bulb out after a month

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2012
This scanner was great while it was working. Problem is it doesn't work anymore. I had it for about a month, used it very rarely, and now the bulb is burnt out. The scanner basically sits in one spot on my desk so not sure why this would happen - it's not from being jarred or anything. I saw someone else had the same issue so I assume they just have poor quality bulbs in them.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for CanoScan LiDE210
Nickname: INeedToScan
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Broke after 20 scans

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 9, 2012
The bulb in the scanner would work on an off. Now after about 20 scans the bulb never lights up. How can this thing be broken after barley being used.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for CanoScan LiDE210
Nickname: turtle
Location: New York
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Correcting Misinformation

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2012
Pros: it just works, small!, usb powered, quick compared to my old scanner!, you can stand it up sideways, so it stays out the way, i now have two scanners, the other is a fujitsu scansnap 1500m, its an auto doc feed absolute heaven
Cons: pretty good machine.
Just to state that As a mac user, you can definitely take this scanner out the box, plug it in to USB only (huge plus, powered by the usb) and scan to iPhoto, Aperture, or anywhere you wish. Image Capture is the built in software that allows this. Run software update, as Apple provides the drivers instead of you having to go find them on the Canon website (where they are also available.)
26 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for CanoScan LiDE210
Nickname: Dandi1
Location: Washington state
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

LIDEs just keep getting better

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2012
I have been using Canon's LIDE scanners since @ 1999. Each time I have been very happy with the purchase as this is a very low cost scanner with a very big end product. I do genealogy and am currently digitizing all my documents for use on a tablet. I have just upgraded to a new computer with Windows 7. Then I checked out the Canon LIDE 210 and discovered it had a PDF capability needed for docs to be read on tablets. And it was still at the same price as the first one I bought in 1999. The PDF capability works like a charm. I have always used my Canon LIDEs for both documents and photos. My only problem is that I read where non-windows users have some options, I don't for direct scanning. to a "Cloud" program on a different Canon scanner. Hope to see that capability in a LIDE 210 update in the future.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site