Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for CanoScan 9000F

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

CanoScan 9000F

Enjoy high-speed scanning for everything from photos to documents, to even 35mm film while also enjoying superb quality.
Average Customer Rating:
4.275 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
33 out of 40(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CanoScan 9000F
Review 1 for CanoScan 9000F
Nickname: maltbread
Location: Palo Alto
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert

Useless

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2014
Tried to download software. Slowest site on the planet. It knew my OS (good) but I seem to need to download 4 separate file. Actually seem to require only two but one will not open so cannot use my scanner.
Review 2 for CanoScan 9000F
Nickname: Reidsy
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Software failure

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: software driver won't boot up
The scanner itself works fine and I like it. But starting about 6 months ago the software failed -- it will not even start up, so in order to use the scanner I have to use Photoshop Elements 11 since the Canon software is gone. Canon support is unable to figure out what is wrong and the suggestions they make -- to remove other scanning and imaging software from TWAIN32 is of no use because there is no other software there. The other suggestion relates to changing administrators but this is a sole user computer and the administrator has not changed. Why would either of these matter since the Canon software worked fine for six months and then stopped but the computer setup has not changed? The Canon software must no longer be compatible with Windows 7.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CanoScan 9000F
Nickname: Chris
Location: Maine
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Family Photo Friendly

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2013
Pros: Fast Connectivity, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use, versatile
Cons: 16mm negative capability
Bought it to scan hundreds of family photos including vintage prints and slides. Some early photos dated to the 19th century and slides from WWII. Scanner is versatile, fast and handles everything with precision. Software can help clean-up most photos with minimal effort or experience. This is a great machine for amateurs and pros alike. Especially impressed with the slide and 35mm negative capabilities. Only wish it could handle the instamatic (16mm) negatives--unless I am missing some trick or additional film holder that would accomodate this popular (in the 60s - 80s) format.
23 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CanoScan 9000F
Nickname: Wick
Location: Venice, Fl
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2012
Pros: durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use, accurate
Best scanner I've owned and I've had a few. Fast, silent, accurate and true to the original. I challenge anyone to tell which photo is the original and which is the scanned copy. Remarkable, really.
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CanoScan 9000F
Nickname: Quilp
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Bravo!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2012
Pros: Fast Connectivity, High resolution, easy to use
Cons: a tad loud
The Cannon 9000F captured and restored thirty years of priceless memories with no fuss, no muss. Over 500 slides were scanned and edited producing a more vivid and enhanced finished product than the originals slides which in many cases were faded and yellowed. This is an excellent choice and very affordable.
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CanoScan 9000F
Nickname: pinpgaul
Location: Austin, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canoscan Shines Again

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2012
Pros: High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use, lid buttons
Cons: Large Footprint, requires close proximity to computer
The scanner works perfectly. Just one little thing to learn vs. my Canoscan that wore out: B&W documents scan as TIFF or BMP. Grayscale gives smaller JPG as an output option. Also, the scanner has to be located closer to the computer. My old Canoscan was at the end of an 8-ft. USB extension. This would not work unless we used just the USB cable it came with. I had to move the printer to a new location.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CanoScan 9000F
Nickname: VanderPix
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Good bang for the buck

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2012
Pros: Fast Connectivity, High resolution, easy to use
Nice scanner that I purchased recently because previous scanner had died. Handles all formats well, but is especially good for snapshots and B&W negatives It is easy to use and install and a great value for the money
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CanoScan 9000F
Nickname: dp
Location: Stillwater, OK
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2012
This is an easy machine to use: fast, quiet and versatile. I am pleased with my purchase decision.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CanoScan 9000F
Nickname: Max
Location: Norhten California
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Product!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2012
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use
Cons: manual
The scanner is easy to install and is immediately ready to use. The scans are good quality for both photos and film. I find the manual a bit tricky to understand. It would be beneficial to include more general guidelines for scanning and describe precisely what the actual resolution restrictions are.
The scanner is an excellent value for the price is more than a casual use needs.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for CanoScan 9000F
Nickname: Cindycat
Location: Atlanta GA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Objective achieved

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2012
Pros: High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use
I traveled extensively during the 1960's and 1970's and recorded these travels on 35 mm Kodachrome slides. Recently i visited some of these places again and the changes were mind boggling! I want to do a pictorial comparison of the changes. My internet searches led me to the decision to buy the CanoScan 9000F.I have digitalised my slides without a problem and I am very pleased with the results. The scanner has been very easy to use, and I was really pleased at the speed at which I got through copying all my slides. Now that I have copied all the slides I want to spend time experimenting with the various features. I have not yet attempted to use the scanner for photos or documents, but the instructions for using the scanner for slides were easy to follow so I anticipate it will not be difficult following the instructions for its other features.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CanoScan 9000F
Nickname: Ex Slider Hoarder
Location: Central Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Okay Hardware, Terrible Software

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2012
Pros: none evident
Cons: terrible software
I bought this machine to digitialize a lifetime's collection. I guess the machine is Okay, but the software is beyond terrible. On one hand, it talks to you like a 3 year old, on the other hand, it is incredibly obtuse, leads you around in frustrating 'Do-Loops', and you REALLY REALLY have to work at figuring out how to actually save your scans. Should have just taken my slides to a local processor and paid for the conversion.
16 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for CanoScan 9000F
Nickname: Wayne
Location: San Diego
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Got a faulty Scanner

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2012
Pros: good quality negative scans, plenty of scanning options
Cons: malfunctioned after a few negative scans
Bought the CanoNOscan 9000f to digitize and archive my 35mm negatives. The neg holder can hold two six-frame strips of 35mm negatives. The scanner only scans the right side of the neg holder (six frames) and does that well, but the left side is only partially scanned. I tried reloading software, read every blog and FAQ and there is no mention of this type of error, so I'm assuming I was delivered a bad scanner out of the box. Bought it thru Amazon.
10 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for CanoScan 9000F
Nickname: Jim in Marquette
Location: Marquette, MI
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great product, great service

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2012
Pros: easy, fast, versatile
Cons: needs 2 each of film strip holders
I bought this scanner because I couldn't find a film scanner which would handle 120 film. This is my first scanner. So far I have done a collection of 40+ year old B&W negatives and some far older family negatives. All of the scans have turned out beautifully. Even odd sizes can be done with a little work around. The provided software is flexible enough to let me do most things. The color transparencies I have done have also come out very very well. When I ran into a problem, the Canon service folks were quick to respond with just the answer I needed. I have a very large collection of color transparencies in both 35mm and 120. I can't wait to get to them. Fantastic product and pretty easy to use.
24 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for CanoScan 9000F
Nickname: eagle110
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Best thing I purchased in a long time.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2011
Pros: durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint
I have about 10,000 slides from the old days to scan and was not sure about an inexpensive scanner but this one has changed my mind. I have been impressed so far with the products easy to use and learn. I have never used Photo Shop Elements but within hours I am comfortable with it and doing some great corrections and keeping photos that I may have lost otherwise.
65 of 67 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for CanoScan 9000F
Nickname: RP
Location: PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Best money I ever spent !

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2011
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use, i set it up myself in 5 minutes or so i am a 78 ye
I just finished scanning 30 or more carousels of 100 each 35 mm slides These slides were from 1948 up until 1979. The quality of the scanned product is unbelievably good. I have printed some out from 1948 and they are very good. The scanner is user friendly and sooooo easy to use. When you scan the four slides at a time they come up on the monitor large enough to see the images in detail. It is so great to bring back all the memories from the past and know the photos are preserved. I plan to transfer them to DVDs and flash drives for my family I love this scanner!!
23 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for CanoScan 9000F
Nickname: Tim
Location: Yelm Washinton
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

One star from perfect

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2011
Pros: Compact Design, easy to use, good engineering
Cons: neg. size limited to no bigger than med. format
This scanner works great! Excellent quality. Very easy to set up and use. The only minus of one poins is that if was cable of large format slides or negatives this woulb be a excellent scanner for all uses. (example 4x5 or bigger negs.) It does cater to 35mm and medium format which is nice but one star from great!!!!
12 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for CanoScan 9000F
Nickname: JIM
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

An excellant product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2011
Pros: Compact Design, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use
The product was purchased because we wanted to scan several hundred 35mm slides and transfer the images to DVD's. So far, the device has performed very well and we are almost 50% done with the scanning. The output quality is excellant particularly considering the age and questionable quality of the slides. It is a rather slow process (four slides per scan), but it works well and as advertised. Learning to perform this task was easy for an inexperienced operator.
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for CanoScan 9000F
Nickname: Dr. K
Location: US
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

I Could Not Be More Pleased

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2011
Pros: durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use, advanced scanning features
Cons: didn't get it sooner
I have used a Canon 8000F for many years and did not want to replace it-I loved it. However, I was not able to obtain a driver for it for WINDOWS 7-64 bit. Since I was a little upset with Canon over this, I shopped around extensively for a new scanner. I soon reached the inescapable conclusion that Canon still makes the best home scanner and purchased a Canon 9000F for a large scanning project--six large bins of a hundred years of family photos. The MULTI-PHOTO, AUTO-ALIGN advanced features along with the speed of the 9000F are making short work of this project! We scanned over 10,000 pictures in just two afternoons. (Only 20,000 to go!) The pictures, negatives, and slides all produce high resolution crisp, sharp, acurately colored photos. The new one-botton features are also so useful that we use them daily. The installation was flawless, and the 9000F has not missed a beat through this heavy use. I COULD NOT BE MORE PLEASED. I hate to say it, but thank you Canon for not having a driver for my old 8000F.
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for CanoScan 9000F
Nickname: corida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

from an illustrators point of view

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2011
Pros: durable, Fast Connectivity, High-speed scanning
Cons: can not scan at 8.5 x 11 at 1200 dpi
DO NOT BUY THIS if you are an illustrator and need to scan at 1200 dpi on a consistent basis. this scanner WILL NOT allow me to scan my illustrations at the resolution i need to make the images the size i need for the end result.
other than that, this scanner is excellent. if you need a scanner to do the basic stuff it is a fine purchase, but if you need it to go above and beyond don't get it. you will have problems... and they are problems that can't be overcome (i know this because i just spent 40 minutes on the phone with a very helpful support tech).
16 of 37 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for CanoScan 9000F
Nickname: tinkerbell
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Works wonderful for negatives

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2011
Pros: High-speed scanning, easy to use
I haven't used the scanner for anything but negatives, but it is wonderful for that. I scrapbook and finding old negatives is such a treasure. I am most impressed with the quality of the photos.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site