Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown

Significant technology upgrades and a richly sophisticated design make the PowerShot SD4500 IS Digital ELPH camera so easy to say "yes" to.
Average Customer Rating:
4.074 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
1
20 out of 27(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown
Review 1 for PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown
Nickname: Invisible Maven
Location: rural Minnesota
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Handbag Handy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2012
If i have my purse, I have my camera, and I only buy purses that have a pocket that I can dedicate to a camera.
I never know who or what will occur, and I may want to preserve its image. That's why I picked this camera. It is small, sturdy, and has lots of versitility---I can photograph a friend, a bird in a tree outside my house, or object indoors in dim light. My photos have been used in political campaigns, for business publications, on Christmas cards, and memory CD's. Some of my photos are on the internet. This small portable camera plus great photo editing software have replaced hours in a photo lab and dollars spent on film and paper where things didn't turn out quite right. Now I just use my computer. This camera has replaced a big SLR that cost twice as much.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: San Francisco, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best point-and-shoot ever!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2012
Pros: f/2, 24mm wide angel, touch panel
Cons: slower focus
My wife and I love this camera since its predecessor - Canon PowerShot SD3500IS. After I dropped the SD3500 too many times and finally broke it, I bought the SD4500 immediately to replace it. And it is the best point-and-shoot camera I've ever used! The 24mm f/2 lens makes it such a powerful little camera that can outperform so many of its competitors in many situations. Friends and family are always impressed by the picture quality. Btw, you can always show off it's cool "touch panel" features to your friends while reviewing the awesome pictures with them too!
I myself is a "serious amateur" photographer and I have quite a few professional photography gear. but when it comes to taking pictures at dinners, parties, or while traveling, this camera is simply the best! I have to admit that the ease of use and high quality of this camera makes me want use my professional SLR less and less....
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown
Nickname: Marsh
Location: Switzerland
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Amazing camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2011
This has been the best purchase I have made, when it comes to electronics. I have traveled the world with this camera and it has taken the best photos and videos. Not very far from a Professional grade video and photo quality. I am always on a rush since I work when I travel so when I go sightseeing this camera gives me no issues at all and I can move along very quickly snapping away and taking with me unforgettable images. The features are many and I have used all of them. I know I will use this camera for like 10 years.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown
Nickname: Spanky
Location: Houston Tx
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best quality for the price.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: slow shutter speed
The picture quality is great for the price,in auto mode you can get some great pics,even with the 10 x zoom good pics at a distance is not a problem.The only thing that I don`t like is the shutter speed people have to stand and smile for a little while before they see a flash,but if no one has to catch a plane and is patient you will most of the time get what you want out of this camera.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown
Nickname: goneracin
Location: upstate, ny
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2011
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
This camera does a great job at showing light as it is seen. Over all the quality of the photo are great. The zoom is a good size for such a light small camera. I have found that the program mode does a better job at auto adjusting then the auto mode. The battery sometimes last most of the day and other time it only last a couple of hours even when charged as recommended. The battery is also hard to find in stores. The handheld night mode is great if you have a very steady hand as it takes multiple shoots and combines them, this mode produces great photos of lights at night but the tripod or mono pole help. While there are small things that could be improved this is a great camera and dose the job needed.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown
Nickname: GuyFromTexas
Location: East Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

The best features for the price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2011
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, slow focus
Love the size! It does most of what the big cameras do PLUS if fits in your pocket. We travel, and like to get off the beaten path, we might have left a bigger camera in the room. I'm glad we were able to get all of our vacations. Do buy a battery, two should be plenty. I almost never use a flash as the low light shots are 10 times better than other cameras.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown
Nickname: Cameraman
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not What I Expected

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2011
Pros: Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Missing features/settings, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu
I previously owned an SD1100, but purchased this one because of the extended zoom. The camera takes a very long time to focus and there is quite a bit of shutter lag. It overexposed some flash images. Also there are no manual settings. There are better values out there for this price. The battery has the shortest life of any camera I have ever used.
52 of 54 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown
Nickname: Eric
Location: Vermont
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not Happy

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2011
Pros: excellent image quality, durable
Cons: Dim LCD, Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life, no battery life especially in cold weatehr
Pros:Good Picture, zoom is nice, stabilizer works well.
Cons: Battery, Battery Life is very short even with standard pictures, this is my 6th Powershot, will not get another one.
Batter Life is almost no existant in cold outdoor weather.
The shutter is VERY slow, in low light and just ok in day light.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown
Nickname: Sooner
Location: Kerrville, TX
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Many Settings

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, many settings
The camera is easy to use whether you use fully automatic settings or chose to use your own settings. It also has many options for the various condiltions such as low light, snow, fireworks, etc. These options make it very easy to use for someone that does not want to take the time to enter own settings. The picture quality is very good for all the settings that I have used. The battery life is very long and does not deplete when camera is turned off.
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Baltimore, MD
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2011
Cons: Dim LCD, Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Heavy/Bulky
All the bad reviews are true. My older Canon is 100 times better than this one. Only 1 out of 6-7 pictures come out good. Picture quality is poor at best and my Christmas picture also came out blurry. Huge waste of money.
9 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown
Nickname: CC
Location: Durango, CO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Best point and shoot I've owned

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2011
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: slippery case
This is my third compact digital camera but my first Canon. Without a doubt it has the best picture quality of any camera I've owned, particularly for indoor photos. My husband's and father's professional cameras can take professional pictures, eventually, but they always seem to miss the shot because it takes so long to get everything adjusted.
18 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown
Nickname: Chris
Location: Los Angeles
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst Canon ever owned

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, good night landscape images
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult to use, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu
I have an sd900 canon I bought about 2-3 years ago and it takes much better pictures indoors and out side. I bought this expecting a camera that had everything I'm used to plus nice night shots. It had nice night time landscape images, but low light pictures were horrible. Images in front of the Christmas Tree were blurry 75% of the time. Focusing took forever. All the "cool features" that the camera lists only operate at lower resolutions. It picks the best picture out of 5 automatically for you but only at 2.5 mp. Image quality overall was poor. My friend bought the sd940 at the same time and his pictures were of same quality if not better.
15 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown
Nickname: Dan
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Lack of Performance

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance
PHOTO: Extremely slow focus....don't expect this to be a point and shoot....more of a point-wait-and then shoot. The internal processor needs to be much much faster.
HD VIDEO: Horrible in lower light. Constantly goes out of focus and tries to refocus.
Poor experience as I've had nothing but the best to say about canon cameras in the past. this camera may take nice pictures, but the perforamce is lacking.
Not that it matters all that much, but the LCD quality is lacking.
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown
Nickname: Anon
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Best Camera ever. It takes amazing pictures. The video is iffy at times probably because I've rushed them and haven't had the camera on the right settings but the camera is great overall.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown
Nickname: bournestuff
Location: Orlando, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera, but wish a few things were different

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, capture stills while in video mode
I've had the new SD4500 just over 2 months now. Great camera (my third "digital elph").
The camera is very fast, and has many great lighting settings. I'm still learning all the features. I use the low light settings quite a bit. When I hit "function" to change the shooting mode, I often move up/down before moving right (selecting the shooting mode options)... in other words, it's easy to change the wrong setting, making people wait for you to snap the picture.
I love that this camera has the new HD video format. However, I think the video is a bit grainy, when viewed full size. The video from my old SD 870 looked better (color, detail), but it was a smaller format. The sound recording is great. I really like that I can be shooting video, and then click the shutter button and take a still ASAP (without manually switching modes).
I would recommend getting an extra battery. I think I've been using the video function a lot, so it seems the battery drains quickly.
Very pleased, but I think I just need to get used to a few of the features.
19 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown
Nickname: phototakingmaniac
Location: Oklahoma
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Seriously Cool Camera; Super Buy!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
After much research and thought, we chose this camera for our next purchase. After everything I read about it, it had a lot to live up to! Honestly, this camera exceeded my (high) expectations and gone beyond them! Insanely cool. I now have professional-quality photos and videos on a GREAT camera, all for an excellent price!
I have little ones, and I was always missing the best shots with my older camera. No more! I will never miss another priceless moment with this new purchase. DO IT. You'll love it!
Battery doesn't last long; buy some backups and the power adapter. I did this and it's such a small drawback to such a fantastic purchase that I don't mind a bit.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown
Nickname: JR
Location: Orlando, FL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Nice camera but...

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: hate the color; where's black?
Canon always makes nice products. I've owned one for years. I have a SD780 which is one of the smallestand durable camera I've ever seen. I've been looking for a camera that can do 1080P video with a decent optical lense and this has both. The only negative thing I have to say about this camera is the color. Yuck! Where is the black model???
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown
Nickname: steve
Location: Orange County
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Not of Canon Standards

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Lightweight/Portable, hd video
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Complicated controls/menu, Flimsy Construction, slow focusing, loses focus
I purchased this in October to replace my solid sd700is, mainly because I wanted HD video. After thoroughly testing for a few months, here is my review:
FEEL: Much cheaper feeling in the hands compared to my SD700 is. Feels like plastic and can break easily.
CONTROLS: Oddly doesn't perform as expected. Regardless of what mode you are in Auto/Photo/Video, Shutter release, is for camera, Rec is for Video. Seems understandable, but when in use, it would be nice to use the shutter button in video for recording.
MENU: Everything is hidden under a menu which you have to scroll through or click through. It is not quick to change between settings and get your shot off.
PHOTO: Extremely slow focus. Much slower than my old camera. Takes almost 2 seconds to fire of a shot sometimes.
HD VIDEO: Horrible in lower light. Constantly goes out of focus and tries to refocus. Round-trip to refocus can take up to 10 seconds. I have many HD videos now with many out of focus section in it.
SUGGESTION: Would be nice if camera light could turn on during HD Video recording.
FINAL NOTE:
I have tried other canon cameras in between this and my sd 700 and this by far was my worst experience with their cameras.
All of my cameras have been Canon, including my Digital EOS's. I am really disappointed with this camera and highly recommend you try before you buy or at least keep your receipt and return before your 30 days :)
I really do hope there is a firmware update soon to fix all these problems.
41 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown
Nickname: jblocke
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome camera for vacations & parties

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2010
This camera does not disappoint in low light shots. I just got back from a trip to Spain where I couldn't use the camera's flash - no worries, with this camera the pictures came out amazing (better than if I could have used a flash). I've received a million comments on the pictures from my trip. I love the brownish/metallic color of this camera - if you are a little "iffy" about it - don't be!
This camera has the ability to take professional-looking photos - No professional needed!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SD4500 IS Brown
Nickname: cameranut
Location: Baldwin, MD
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

My 9th camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, its a canon and has canon support
Cons: Short battery life, no handy manual included
Very nice compact camera. Having large SLR cameras and lens etc. I have found that a small compact camera can satisfy recording memories on trips and in life in general very well. You can't get the same effects and results you can with an SLR and experience, but you can get beautiful consistently acceptable images and will not have to lug around a camera and worry about lens etc.
This is an extremely portable and handy camera to just have along. You get what you pay for so remember the service Canon provides is second to none. Also the ability to buy waterproof cases and take terrific underwater photos makes Canon a very wise choice. I haven't checked the availabilty of a water proof case for this camera but it is generally Canon's practice to have high quality waterproof cases available. I have used them in the past on several Canon cameras with tremendous success.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site