Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / SELPHY Compact Photo Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop SELPHY Compact Photo Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SELPHY CP800 Black

SELPHY CP800 Black

The SELPHY CP800 Compact Photo Printer brings photo lab quality to your memories as you can bring your printer from room-to-room with ease.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
21 out of 26(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SELPHY CP800 Black
Review 1 for SELPHY CP800 Black
Nickname: gwz

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2013
Cons: unreliable, paper jams
paper jammed after 60 prints.After getting it un jammed it would not print photos. The 60 we got, we were very happy with.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SELPHY CP800 Black
Nickname: MrsG
Location: Georgia
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Purchase, Great Product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
I purchased this printer as an addition to what I have at home so that I could specifically print my photos. I have to say that it is worth the money. The Quality of the the photos is excellent. Definitely recommend this to someone who is looking for just a photo printer.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SELPHY CP800 Black
Nickname: OB
Location: Lawrence, KS
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

All 5s with a cravet.....

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
I love the printer and the software. I'm surprised how great the prints are especially those at less than great DPI. Plus the software has the ability to do much more "modification" to them than I imagined. The thing that worries me is Canon's disclaimer (now) that they can't guarantee how long the prints will last! I'd sure like to see more information about expected longevity.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SELPHY CP800 Black
Nickname: Junison
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great Portable Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2012
Love this printer. We also have an earlier version the CP740 - needed a second one for some pet photo events at our animal shelter. Like the 800 model better because the screen pops up, unlike the 740. Other than that, pretty much the same. Small and portable, you can carry it anywhere. Don't need a computer, just an electric outlet to plug in. Easy for anyone to use - you don't need to be computer savvy. Pics come out clean and crisp with great color in a minute's time, and, it's kind of fun to watch as you see the picture in the making. Only thing that's missing that we would find helpful is cropping capability. Ability to print larger than 4X6's would also be a plus. But if you just need it for basic photos, this printer can't be beat.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SELPHY CP800 Black
Nickname: colorful
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos

I Love It!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
I love this little printer! Absolutely a pleasure to use. Easy, great looking prints that are bright, durable and smudge-proof.
The unit it SMALL!
It can fit in your camera bag or purse.
Its everything a photo printer should be.
The tilt screen displays your photos and just looking at the print-outs, you can see the prints are true to what you see on the screen
I am able to get paper/ink and have prints for 27cents each.
Goodbye huge, expensive, -other brand- complicated inkjet!...the Canon Selphy CP800 is a remarkable little printer. I love it!
24 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SELPHY CP800 Black
Nickname: Newjerseypete
Location: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very handy with a Wow Factor

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
This printer fits in my camera bag and goes with me everywhere. I can't tell you how many times people who I have given prints to right after an event have said, "How did you have time to get these developed?" The quality is great and the durability of the prints is excellent. The only thing I wish is that the backs of the prints were marked up as postcards like my wife's ES40's are.
To the reviewer who ran out of ink after 5 prints...that was the starter cartridge that came with the printer and Canon stated that in the documentation.
As for the cost per print, it's not bad for what it is. If you buy smart and do the math, it's about 27 cents a print. That's less then the larger, heaver inkjet based 4 x 6 photo printer from the other company. And with the Selphy, you always have the right amount of ink and paper, never any surprises.
The Wow Factor of being able to give a print to someone a print in the middle of a park or at a school or church event is priceless. Use this as a plug to purchase the optional battery.
This printer is worth the investment and just plain fun. Keep it with your camera and bring it with you everwhere.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SELPHY CP800 Black
Nickname: canon4Life
Location: Irving, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent and Fast

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2012
Pros: fast, beautiful pictures, inexpensive, consistent prints
Cons: no built in wireless, power adapter required, extra battery just as much as printer
Best portable 4x6 printer I've used. Everything in camera accessories that I have are Canon because I trust their quality and craftsmanship and this printer does not disappoint. I purchased this printer because I needed to do quick printing for on site wedding shoots and the pictures match my 27inch calibrated iMac screen! Comes out flawless every time without a hiccup and takes less than 40 secs for a single print! Average cost per page is around .30cents is it's lower than the company I send it to to print my photos but I get it instantly. Definitely recommend this if you are into scrap booking or needing a carry around printer that prints great pictures.
24 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SELPHY CP800 Black
Nickname: Vegas
Location: Las Vegas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Don't Buy It!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2012
Terrible printer. Will not recognize any photo that has been even slightly edited on a computer. The paper has to be Canon's 'odd sized' paper so regular 4 x 6 won't work. After I found a photo that had not been edited, I printed 5 pictures and the ink cartridge was out of ink.
I have used many many photo printers and this is the worst. It went in the garbage today.
15 of 39 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SELPHY CP800 Black
Nickname: WillPG

Not Mac Os X 10,7 Lion Support

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2012
I regret my purchase because although it prints well from sd card, it is useless in my desktop computer for printing my photoshop work because it don't have mac os x lion support
37 of 40 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SELPHY CP800 Black
Nickname: sparrow5779
Location: Manchester, TN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2012
Pros: very easy to use, great prints, portable goes anywhere without a computer
Cons: none
My first printer and I love it. I am an scrapbooker so I wanted a printer I could take to crops to print those pics I need to finish a layout, that was not connected to the computer, this printer is wonderful, first class pictures and easy to use, I love that it is small and portable and I can use my sd card in it and print away. There is also a program to connect to your computer if you like. Overall I am thrilled wiith this printer and sooo happy I bought it. I would recommend this printer. It prints 4x6 and smaller, even an index which would be great for locket pictures, you can print two diffrent smaller pics on the same page, 4 or 8. alot of options for your diffrent needs.
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SELPHY CP800 Black
Nickname: Minimalist
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Software feature downgrade

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2011
Everyhting is ok but got frustrated when doing the printing. Canon have removed one of the most important features in the software. You cannot do ID printing, 2 photos in one card, etc. from a PC. You have to transfer photos to a memory card to do the said kind of printing. Photos are saved in a hard drive and is the best place to search for photos to print. This makes it so inconvenient...really don't know the reason why they don't include this feature in the printer software. Hope Canon can do an update on the software.
17 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SELPHY CP800 Black
Nickname: grommit
Location: Los Angeles
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Does not work with OSX Lion

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2011
No drivers for OSX Lion are available, indications are that they will not be offered in the future.
33 of 35 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SELPHY CP800 Black
Nickname: tutuscrapper
Location: central new jersey
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Crafts/Scrapbooking
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

cute, clever, and functional

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2011
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use, black & whites/ sepia too, makes it's own collages
Cons: High Ink Consumption, pricey ink refills, pricey paper refills
compact, cute, clever, and perfect for small photos, especially for mini albums, card inserts, and wallets.
it's portable and easy to use, but refills for ink and paper are very pricey.
i recommend it's use for tiny prints, but not for making regular size 4x6s as this will use too much ink and photo paper, and is not cost effective.
22 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SELPHY CP800 Black
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great compact printer.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2011
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption
Purchased this printer to print pictures of my kids. Have a lot of pictures but never printed any. This printer is exellent, Quality of picture can't be beat. Small footprint maked it easy to use and set up. Does print slow and the ink and paper cartridges are expensive and hard to find. I get mine direct from Canon. But the pictures are worth the weight and expense. Very pleased with product. Also very small size fits in my camera backpac along with all my other equipment so I can print pictures almost anywhere. Am going to purchase battery so I can print anywhere.
20 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SELPHY CP800 Black
Nickname: JoAnne
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Quality small photo printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2011
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: no computer cable, place away from tv, unique paper size, place away from electromatic sources, need to unplug when not is use
I was looking for a small compact photo printer to print 4 x 6 inch prints to replace an older compact printer that I used for several years but no longer worked. The qualify of print is very good. I was surprized that it doesn't use the standard photo paper, but requires special paper that has detachable ends that the printer used in its four pass print process. I was also surprised that it didn't come with a cable to connect to the computer, but I was able to use the cable from my old printer. I was planning to use the photo paper I had left over, but now I have to buy more and I will probably buy the kit with 108 sheets and a new cartridge. The printer was easy to set up and the driver and software was easy to install. I am happy with the printer, but didn't like all the precautions listed in the manual, especially about not placing it close to a TV or to any source of electromagnetic force and the warning to unplug it when not using it.
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SELPHY CP800 Black
Nickname: Louie
Location: Stratford Ct.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Selphy CP800

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2011
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use, expensive paper and ink
Let me start by saying it is not the fastest printer out there on the market. But what the Selphy does is lay down separate color ink passes that you will not get in a all in one printer. The 4x6 picture quality is superb. The cost per picture is around 30 cents. Uses a dry ink formula, all I know is my wife had given up on our all in one printer and her daughter purchased her a Selphy 800 for Mothers Day. After a few developed prints she was in Love! The only complaint I see is the available setting choices when not attached to a computer. I would recommend this product to a friend, the quality is well beyond conventional all in one printers. Oh yeah, It's portable too, so you can take it with you. I sugggest a camera bag, lots of parts and pieces! I just wish they had a model for 5X7 and 8x11. Great Product!!!
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SELPHY CP800 Black
Nickname: KRTEGRL
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great Printer!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2011
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption
I bought this printer for our wedding. We took digital photos as our guests arrived at the ceremony and reception. We then printed them out and made our own guest book. This printer was easy to use and pretty good quality. After our wedding, I was able to read more about the features and love that you can print 2 up and different finishes.
For the money, this is a great product!
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SELPHY CP800 Black
Nickname: tiny elvis
Location: California
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

It is so much fun

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2011
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed
Just bought this and am having so much fun with it
the quality of the prints are amazing My family discovered how easy it is to use and I am having a hard time keeping it away from them so I can use it myself.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SELPHY CP800 Black
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: OH
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Very Good Snapshot Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2011
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: no connecting cable
If all your are looking for is a snapshot printer, this is one that should be considered. Produces clear & sharp prints. Features allow for some picture manipulation. The only complaint so far would be the lack of connecting cable.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SELPHY CP800 Black
Nickname: gvr
Location: Oklahoma City, Ok
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great product,fun and easy to use.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2011
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Pros-Fast learning curve. Prints great photographs. Fun to watch photo paper slid in and out of printer and develop into a beautiful picture. Be sure you have enough room behind printer for paper to slide out.
Cons- Have not found any yet. Works as discribed.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site