Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / Flash Memory Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Flash Memory Camcorders or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
5 out of 5
4.727 out of 5
4.625 out of 5
4.25 out of 5

Customer Reviews for XF100

XF100

The XF100 is geared for a wide range of applications where high image quality, extreme portability, and efficient workflow are of the utmost importance. And with infrared recording and true stereoscopic 3D production capabilities, the XF100 allows users to explore new creative outlets and emerging markets.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for XF100
Review 1 for XF100
Nickname: digstilld20
Location: Anthem, Arizona
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camcorder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2012
Pros: Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: nothing yet
I was looking for an update to my previous camcorder and researched the XF 100 and 300. I need a very mobile camera with high quality results. You will not be disaapointed. I have had it for only a month and half and the footage at 50mb will blow you away. I have a lot of people amazed when I show them the size of the camera after they see the footage. I use it for documentarys and events. I use CS6 Premiere Pro and it goes right in . For almost half the price of the 300 it is a bargin
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for XF100
Nickname: Gregh42
Location: Northwest Ohio
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Extraordinary Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, expensive
The Canon XF100 was on my wish list as my former HD camera (semi-pro, early HD vidcam) was starting to have problems with ccd's. I researched this camera (and others) for over 8 months before I purchased it. The Canon XF100 was a fairly good size investment but I am extremely happy I made the choice.
Filming is not my primary profession, but I do a lot "on the side" and I want to be proud of my footage (I also use a 7D for photography and occasional DSLR HD video). Consequently, I wanted a camera with pro-level features that would not be a limiting factor. I film weddings, church events, small short films, school activities, dance and sporting events. I am still learning on this camera (have owned for around about two months), but I have been quite happy with the overall quality. While I have shot with some success using auto settings, this camera really shines in manual mode.
On my most recent project, I shot landscape as well as several interviews. In all scenarios, the quality was amazing (1080, 60i, 50mbps). I initially had problems with noise using higher gain in low light settings during some of the interviews. When I set the gain manually, the noise was better. Lower light shooting is far better than my previous camera, but not as good as I had hoped. I think for a camera this price, a larger senser (or multiple) to handle light would be more appropriate.
I also recommend using a microphone. The onboard mic is decent, but you'll get a lot better audio using the XLR and a mic on your subject. I've also used a Rode Videomic and it works well.
I use Final Cut Pro on a Macbook Pro (2011) and the MXF files that the camera produce come in very easy with Log and Transfer. I've never had any issues and the workflow is very simple. The mac can handle the video files just fine. It is also quite easy to back up your video using the bundled XF Utility.
If you are looking for a versatile, high quality camera and shoot in a variety of settings, this is the best camera for the $$'s in this range/ feature set. If you are primarily shooting in low light you may want to consider the 305, but be prepared to pay quite a bit more.
25 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for XF100
Nickname: Starbuck
Location: Palm Springs CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Most Excellent

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2012
Pros: Great sound/audio, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: short focal lenght
Canon did it again. I have several Canon cameras and I like them all. This Video Pro Camera is a great value because it is compact enough to take it almost anywhere without looking like a news cameraman taking video for the 11 O’clock news and it gets the same kind of results like the bigger more expensive cameras. The video quality is amazing and has enough manual controls to tweak it to get the best results needed for that special shot. Remember it’s a mid line Pro camera. If you need a higher end camera for long range shooting then you may want to consider the XF-300 series camera. This camera should be enough for most people who just want a great looking video from close to mid range shooting.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for XF100
Nickname: BCW
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Remarkable Camera, Another Classic from Canon

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2012
This camera is another in a long line of incredible handheld professional camcorders from Canon. Dead simple to use, brilliant features, professional broadcast codec, and best of all - beautiful images. As with any camera, you get out what you put in, so take the time to learn how to use the camera properly, how it's myriad settings work and where the camera controls and functions are located. Once you have that down, nothing can stop you from taking professional video whenever you need. It has an exceptional form factor for travel, documentary, BTS & journalism - but enough punch to go far beyond that!
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for XF100
Nickname: eyeidea

Amazing camera! 50MBPS!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Great sound/audio, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: 60fps difficult to transfer
I absolutely love this camera. I also had an awesome XF300 but returned it for the XF100. Great quality picture, compact run and gun design, lots of great features, good price. I wish that the 60FPS was 1080 rather than 720, I also wish Canon would bump up the slow motion feature to at least 120FPS progresssive (240 interlaced). The interval feature works perfect! I would also like to see "special record" moved out of the menu to a more accessible button on the side. MXF files that are 60fps are still a pain to get into the MAC, regular 30fps footage transfers into FCP with no issues.
27 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for XF100
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: San Antonio
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Good in Daylight

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Easy Computer Connectivity, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Poor sound/audio
This little camcorder will produce an impressive, beautiful picture in good light, ie. exterior locations, but inside, in regular house light, it gets very, very, noisy and the video just falls apart to the point of distraction. However, the features, controls, response, image stabilization, are outstanding. I've only shot one project with it and am very pleased with the results and the quality of this camera. Don't forget to buy a good quality external mic. the internal on - board mic in not the best.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for XF100
Nickname: jjlaw
Location: Illinois
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: making manual adjustments could be improved
Just found one of the remaning XF100 cameras on line. I just shot a wedding with this camera and the ability to shoot in low light is amazing. Shot the entire wedding in 50 mbps HD and the results were very good even in low light conditions. The lens is good, nice wide angle. I used a mono pod for many shots and because of the cameras light weight I was able to grab some great shots. If you can find one I would really recommend this camera.
Thought about purchasing a digital SLR but by the time I purchased all the compnents it could have costed just as much. This camera offeres a diverse selection of resolutions and bit rates. The XLR connectors are a nice plus and you have the abiblity to switch each input from mic to line level. If you do any night shots you can switch the camera into night mode and take advantage of the built in infrared light. Has built in waveform, color bars and tone for those who like these features. It also takes pretty good still photos using a seperate SD card.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for XF100
Nickname: Alberto
Location: San Juan, PR
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Dont zoom, it'll vignette!

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, great neck-strap
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Poor sound/audio, vignettes, inaccurate color in view finder
I wanted what the venerable GL1 gave me 10 years ago; a compact, light body with great image quality and the option of full manual control. The XF100 gave me that, until i realized this camera's shortcomings. If you zoom in past the 1/2 mark with the ND filters enabled you get a horrible vignette (dark corners). I also realized that the miniscule view finder has great resolution but horrible color. It is also hard to use if you wear glasses. At the end, you can say I am disappointed. The camera has potential, but not being able to zoom-in with the ND filters enabled makes this a less than perfect product. That's why I give it only 3 stars.
21 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for XF100
Nickname: xlankex
Location: Ogden, Ut
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Totally blown away with awesomeness

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 25, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, makes everyone else jealous
This is an absolutely amazing camera. I love showing up to shoots and everything pawing my camera. Everyone is jealous and often times my camera is the one that we end up using as the main camera for every project, where usually people anticipate it to be B-roll. Compact, lightweight, great battery life and the workflow with the Compact Flash cards is easy and enjoyable. It's cut my editing time in half. No more capturing. That alone is worth its' weight in gold. I can't believe I even considered getting a Mini-Dv camera again.
9 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for XF100
Nickname: FCG-CEO
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent Professional Camcorder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold
The XF100 is nothing short of amazing! We have been actively shooting with this camera for about two weeks now and are using it both in-studio and on location. The camera is used in concert with a XH-A1 and produces wonderful images that compliment the A1s HDV format very nicely. The Canon MXF format is a real joy to edit and offers significant latitude in color and dynamic adjustment both in camera and in post-production. Chroma Keying is a delight and the optics are astounding. Low-light performance is outstanding and the new high definition pro sensor excels at capturing both light and motion. The camera itself is very well constructed and nimble. When used in conjunction with a quality wireless audio interface we have found it to be an excellent tool for production of documentaries and event videos. I would highly recommend this camera to anyone looking for compact pro camera.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for XF100
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Indianapolis
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold
I just umpacked this little gem yesterday. It will replace a Canon GL2 standard video camera. My first impression was that it was a better build quality than the GL2. Not that I had trouble with the GL2, just that my first impression of that camera was that it might be a little "flimsy". That turned out not to be the case and the XF100 gave a more favorable impression right out of the box. Having been using Canon camcorders for some time, I was immediately comfortable with this camera. In short order I had learned the location of various controls and have been experimenting with them. Not making any custom changes yet until I figure out what I like and don't like in terms of control placement. I feel confident that this camera will make my GL2 look like a toy in terms of image quality, and will blow away my Vixia HF S10. The only advantage to the S10 will be it's portability. Really looking forward to using this baby!
18 of 20 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site