Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM

EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM

15mm focal length range makes it the world's widest fisheye zoom lens 180° diagonal angle of view UD glass for superb image quality Newly-developed Fluorine coating keeps soiling, smears and fingerprints to a minimum
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM
Review 1 for EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: California
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

AWESOME LENS!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
great lens, just got it today and haven't put it down for a second. I am still wondering how to shoot in the circular fisheye mode that is shown in the second sample image section, would really like to know--why i bought the lens!!
3 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM
Nickname: kmmills
Location: PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

A different perspective of The Liberty Bell

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I recently went to Philadelphia for a day trip. My business partner had never been to Philly, so we went. We were at the Liberty Bell exhibit. I had photographs of The Bell, so I was standing off to the side watching her and a mutual friend photographing The Bell with the other tourists. I saw the park ranger standing on his little, padded floor mat. I walked up to him and said, "I know what the answer is, but I'll ask my question any way. I have a fisheye lens and was wondering if I could lay under The Liberty Bell and take a picture?" He said, "Yes, go ahead." I was taken aback. I yelled for my partner to help change my lens to the 8-15mm L lens and quickly get ready, I didn't want him to change his mind. So, I ducked under the display perimeter and crawled to The Bell. Once I got close I laid onto my back and pushed myself directly, centered under the striker of The Bell. Using my 5D Mark III in Live View, I focused the camera on the striker. The front of the lens was a mere inch away. I took three pictures of The Bell at 8mm. I crawled back out from underneath The Bell and walked back over to the side. I moved quickly so I didn't over stay my welcome. The Park Ranger wanted to see the photograph so I showed him. It was a once in a life time opportunity and I was so happy to have the right equipment and knowledge to get the shoot. I always want to be prepared and Canon allows me to be prepared. The downside to the story is, no one took my picture taking the picture!
I had the picture ready to post, but there is no way to upload! Dang, its a great shoot.
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM
Nickname: John
Location: Saddle River, NJ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Amazing lens!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I purchased this lens to be used on my 5d Mark iii and the image quality is amazing. You can capture an entire scene in one frame.
The lens cap does fit loosely but a minor adjustment helps it stay on tight.
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Colorado Rockies
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great Camera, Garbage Lens Cap

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: poor lens cap design
I had been looking at this lens for quite some time and decided that it was too expensive for my uses. I got lucky and received one as a gift and have had so much fun with the lens! I particularly love taking night landscape photos, and this lens is unbelievable for that purpose. The lens cap (as evident reading other 3rd party reviews) is absolutely terrible. From the first time I removed the lens from the box the cap came right off. It barely stays on with normal use. If the camera is around your neck and you hop, the Cap falls off. Great lens, very frustrating lens cap (exasperated by the fact that no UV lens cap can be used with the fisheye design).
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM
Nickname: patl
Location: Western New York
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, good weight to size ratio
Cons: lens cap fits loosely
Although I have owned this lens less than a Month, I've been very busy using my Canon 8-15mm F/4 L Fisheye lens for ceiling architecture and it has shown itself as a formidible contender as a pro lens. Being an architectural photographer at heart, this lens is a very good fit.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM
Nickname: nk
Location: upstate ny
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

super wfisheye lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: cant put protective uv on it, lens cap bulky falls off lost it twice at a falls
i love this lens takes great wide photos, i use it in landscape and large groups.i shoot concerts and love how i can get the whole group in the picture.the only thing i dont like about this lens is the lens cap does fall off easily.i went to watkins glen and it fell off in to the abyss.also dont like that you cant put uv filter on front already have small scratch on lens.to sum up its a great lens take great photos and not to expensive.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM
Nickname: sking17
Location: Roseville, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Amazing lends

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2012
We recently bought this lens for a trip to Hawaii and we found it takes great pictures. It allows us to take pictures which are a little different from what we usually produce. Previously we were limited by what we could get from our 16-35, the 8-15 is a welcome addition.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM
Nickname: saggio
Location: potomac
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Incredible lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2012
This lens is Amazing. I had doubts before to buy this lens. Now i'm really very happy with it and surprised about what can I get. i took pictures of wild gooses flying over the Potomac river and the results were incredible. It worth the price.
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM
Nickname: feldman
Location: Washington State
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Best money I have spent on camera equimpent

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2011
Pros: sharp, well built
Cons: lens cap and hood
This is the most used and fun to shoot with lens that I own. There were a lot of delays to get this on the market but it was worth the wait. I find all the images are sharp and the focus speed and build quality are fantastic. The only reason I gave the features a 4 out of 5 stars is because the lens cap and hood system are sort of clunky and the cap can easily fall off. I find myself not using the hood either because it shows in the photos. Other than that I have ZERO complaints about this lens.
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Amherst, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

WOW!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2011
Pros: versitality, quick focus, sharpness, video effects
Have had lens for 3 months. When I discovered this great lens I immediately looked for reviews. Do to the earthquake in Japan it came to market slowly. I found a supplier with the right price and made the purchase. This is my third fisheye lens and it is beyond my expectations. First test the gorge in Watkins Glen, NY. Used it for stills and unbelievable video on my 7d. Showed results to friends and coworkers who were WOWed! How did you do that was the #1 remark. The versitality in tight spaces is remarkable.
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM
Nickname: Nicky Shoes
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Lens with added Zoom!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, quality images day and night
Cons: lens cap could be redesigned a little
This is a great new lens! I have used it on both the 7D and 5d MK II....Great asset to your arsenal!! Have used it out on the water on my boat under bright skies and also at night to shoot auroras in AK!! I was hesitant to buy a fisheye bc I have never owned one before but glad I made the jump!!
35 of 38 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site