Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / Flash Memory Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Flash Memory Camcorders or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
5 out of 5
4.727 out of 5
4.625 out of 5
4.25 out of 5

Customer Reviews for XA10

XA10

The new ultra compact XA10 Professional Camcorder is designed for situations where mobility is critical while shooting. This feature-rich, professional model records Full HD 1080p using an AVCHD codec.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
17 out of 20(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for XA10
Review 1 for XA10
Nickname: Andrew
Location: Kansas City, MO
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Big things, Small package

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, internal 64 gb solid state drive!
Cons: can't change lens., slight rattle in handle requires exterior mic, stability requires tripod monopod or shoulder rig.
Don't let the price or its newer big brothers fool you. This camera is a sophisticated workhorse of enormous quality, a true pro cam that delivers on so many levels: an excellent image sensor, low light shooting, a wild assortment of menu options, and a wonderful 64 gig internal solid state drive. The XA20 & 25 do not offer the drive but rather a wifi link. Trust me, the drive is flat out awesome. Coupled with two card slots and you've got hours of filming ahead. The image quality is astounding, but that's to be expected on a Canon. This is the same image quality that one would expect from a 5D Mark II, but unlike the Mark II, the XA10 has pro audio XLR inputs built right in. This a small, compact, run and gun ready camera that succeeds on so many levels. Yes, there are more sophisticated cameras with interchangeable lens and a significant bump in price, but the XA10 is a proven commodity that delivers on quality, value, and performance. Try it, use it, play with it, master it, you'll be hard pressed to pass it by. You will want to add a high capacity battery or two for extended shooting. You'll also want a good tripod, monopod, or shoulder rig for maximum image stability... And don't forget to add an XLR microphone for great pro audio.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for XA10
Nickname: Adam W
Location: Turramurra, Sydney, Australia
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Promises but doesn't deliver

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold
Cons: Poor image quality, Short battery life, Poor Color Reproduction, Poor sound/audio, inconsistent performance
I purchased the XA10 for it's pro-quality image output and, due to the type of shooting I mainly do, it’s accuracy on auto as it is described as having very accurate auto-features for face and subject tracking and for coping with changing lighting conditions etc - 'Smart Auto'. These features are important to me as I shoot almost completely outdoors and I film myself so obviously manual control of focusing etc is out of the question.
I have not been able to get this camera to perform to anything close to what I would expect or how Canon describe it on anything but a couple of occasions.
It seems to be unable to cope with situations of strong light outdoors with colours and highlights blowing-out and in areas of contrast darker or shadowed parts of a scene will lose all contrast and become black-holes.
Worse still the focusing is just terrible. Face tracking and subject tracking are very hit-or-miss with accuracy that I would put at less than 50%. Often it will show on the display that it has achieved face-lock but on playback on your computer (because the LCD screen on the camera isn’t quite accurate enough to pick it up) you find that focus hadn’t been achieved so you only find out well afterwards that you’ve missed a shot.
I’ve had situations in normal light with the presenter in centre frame and clearly separated from the background where it has taken the camera over 20-seconds to achieve focus. This makes spontaneous shooting impossible for a camera that’s widely promoted as run-and-gun.
Often, especially in bright daylight, entire scenes will just drop out of focus, everything will go ‘soft’.
Additionally I’ve found footage can be incredibly inconsistent with material from the same shoot looking like it’s been shot on different cameras. For example – camera set on tripod, good outdoor lighting conditions, presenter clearly in centre frame etc. One take will be of acceptable quality, stop recording, next take, restart recording less than 1 minute later with no change in light or presenter position and the footage will have blown colours be lacking dynamic range and have soft focus. This makes it impossible to smoothly edit scenes or takes together as the material is just too different - one take will look like its been shot on a reasonable camera, the next will look like it was shot on a sub-$200 point-and-shoot handy-cam.
I gave the camera to Canon to inspect, they had it for a month & insisted that there is nothing wrong with it yet when it came back all of these problems persisted.
All-in-all it’s been a very disappointing purchase and frankly an expensive mistake.
I'm a long term Canon pro-DSLR user and I’ll certainly never be buying a Canon video camera again.
I need reliability and consistency in a camera and the XA10 just hasn’t delivered.
25 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for XA10
Nickname: cnjvideo
Location: Central New Jersey
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent image and quality in smalle package

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
You can't shoot it if your camcorder's not with you! The XA10 is ridiculously compact and provides excellent quality video and sound. I carry it around without the removable handle and I have to say that the built in microphone produces a high quality soundtrack. Canon has managed to provide a professional package whose weight and dimension eliminate the excuse to leave the camcorder behind because of its size. Its convenient, professional, and barely draws attention to itself allowing to function as the perfect run-and-gun camcorder.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for XA10
Nickname: Viking
Location: Southampton
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome Little Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: Flimsy Construction
You could not go wrong with this camera, its light and easy to use.
I selected this camera (I have 3 of them) for use on the run simply due to its size.
Our business is based around marine photography both still and video and our requirements are for light portable equipment that we can easily carry on aircraft so we picked the XA10 and 5D as our kit and have not been disappointed.
Sure in some reviews people complain about the menus being fiddly but this a small price to pay for the overall excellent camera Canon have provided.
We can arrive on the ground and start shooting in moments ... Thanks Canon!
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for XA10
Nickname: Derek
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Simply WOW!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Great sound/audio, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, xlr mic inputs with phantom power, dual slot xd card relay recording
Cons: cannot mix lr audio inputs to mono
We run a music blog and livestream concert events. This camera makes me look like a hero. With almost no effort, we get cinema-like imagery for our concert footage. When people see the shots from this camera they ask "What camera we're you using?" The size is very compact. The handles makes it a great mobile handheld shooter. Also, it has direct professional quality mic inputs, so I can go out with a couple of mics, a mono pod, and my talent guys and we can cover interviews on the street, or in some obscure corner of a building, with no power or additional equipment needed. I cannot tell you how much our team loves this camera and it is a must for any type of Internet broadcaster or someone who needs to capture long form video. DSLRs are great but most cannot run their sensors for long periods of time. This camera has DSLR type performance AND the ability to record for hours on end. My only beef is that when you are using two mics, you can only record them in stereo. We often have an interviewer and interviewee who both need mics and the resulting audio signal should be in MONO. You can have one mic in mono but not both mics in mono. Otherwise, a perfect camera.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for XA10
Nickname: Pete
Location: Denver, CO
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years

Great performance, good value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, easy to use
Cons: handle rattles
I use this camera to record action sports athletes, mainly snowboarders. In addition, I use this camera to record action sports related events. I use it indoors and out, in cold weather and warm. I have used this camera in below freezing temperatures for long periods of time with no problems whatsoever. The only cons are that the XLR controls rattle on the handle if you are moving it quite a bit (i.e. running) -and- the touch menu isn't quite as responsive as an iPhone. Pros; I am able to produce results comparable to cameras that cost thousands more, wide angle and tele lenses are available (and awesome), it is very easy to use, two XLR inputs and lastly it's quite durable.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for XA10
Nickname: CoalbinGeorge
Location: Coolidge, Arizona
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great Camcorder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Good Software Compatibility, Easy TV Connectivity, xlr inputs
You might call this camcorder "the little train that could." We use this camera and the HFG10 (same guts) in doing a lot of outdoor training videos. Both of them fit in a single medium sized padded carrying case. The video is simply outstanding. The first time you see it, your jaw drops.
The main thing about the XA10 are the XLR audio inputs. We use these with wireless mikes as well as 48v microphones. That way we get superior audio along with the video. It works perfectly and allows us to control gain and monitor input right at the camera. When we go to post all we need to do is a little tweaking.
The batteries last a couple of hours. We always have a few backups in the case and they are easily and quickly changed.
The camera gives you a lot of recording options. I suggest moving away from the automatic settings quickly to realize the full power of the camera. The "image effects" area provides some options with color and sharpness, which should be tried.
Incidentally, the first time the "face recogition" technology turns on it is pretty amazing. You just laugh and say "wow', this thing is smart.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for XA10
Nickname: Marie Kate
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: battery slot not good
I was so impressed with this camera. I had used it on our family vacation, very handy and great feature. The only thing I don't like about this camera was when I was changing the battery pack. The battery slot was actually open and being supported by a small like clip and if you're in a hurry and accidentally grab the battery it might slip your hand and fall off. Canon should have the battery slot closed and with lock. I like this camera and still thinking whether to return and wait till Canon have an upgrade on this model but that would take years from now. Well, I had thought about it very carefully and consider keeping the unit because it's really nice, lightweight and affordable.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for XA10
Nickname: Rob
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2012
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold
I have been using the Canon XA10 for 10 months now. I have been very very pleased with the quality of footage i've been able to get from this camcorder. For what was paid for this device and the picture quality and over all performance that it has demonstrated, i would recommend this camera to anyone and everyone! The only set back is that i wish it had come with both transfer utility disc's for Windows and Mac, as i work on both systems. Other than that i give this device an A+
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for XA10
Nickname: CannonFan
Location: Tallahassee
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Cannon XA10 / Awesome!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
This camera is the best. Indoor, lowlight, picture quality, xlr inputs, input into fcpx, and much more. It is very compact and fun!
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for XA10
Nickname: SLODave
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA, USA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great bang for the buck

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold
Cons: poor headphone jack location, lack of agc with external mics, handle switches rattle
I am a part-time videographer who does mainly corporate and industrial videos. Years ago I was a TV news photographer so I know what to expect from pro-level equipment
Because of the part-time nature of my work, I wanted to get the best camcorder I could for less than $2,000. Most important to me was image quality, low-light capability, easy to import into Final Cut Pro X, XLR inputs, excellent sound quality, and usable viewfinder. The XA-10 fills the bill for me in almost all respects. Obviously, the price and size did cause some compromises, but I can live with them. The video and audio quality is outstanding, and it gets better and better as the operator gains experience using the camera.
There are three design choices that I don't agree with. The headphone jack should not be behind the LCD monitor when it's closed. The speaker should work when "headphones" is selected if there are no headphones plugged in. There should be an option for auto gain control when external mics are used. And obviously, the handle switches should not rattle; its a design or production goof that doesn't reflect well on Canon although it's only a minor annoyance in actual use
Overall, this is a lot of camera for a modest price and I'm really happy I bought it.
41 of 43 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for XA10
Nickname: Scott
Location: Boston
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

GREAT camera, Perfect Solution

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2012
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use, zoom quality
Cons: Short battery life
This is a great camera for those of us that are cresting the hill between entry level and professional video. It provides the bridge in features to ramp up to using all the manual controls. Read the manual front to back, use the camera, reference back as needed, use the camera some more and then read the manual again. You will have leaned a great deal of what you need to understand the basics that will result in some nice video and audio. Well done Canon!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for XA10
Nickname: Brian1121
Location: Simferopol, Crimea
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Works great for me

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2012
Pros: light weight, portable, full featured
Cons: crazy deep menus, jangly buttons on handle
I've been using one for almost a year now. It's an amazing camera. Even shooting two months in tight quarters, the jangly buttons on the handle caused no problem (although I was using external mics). The image quality is amazing. Negatives include some of the settings being hard to get to because they are buried too deeply in the menu system and really, as others have complained, there is no excuse for the jangly buttons unless they are going to include a roll of gaffer tape to stick on them. As a news videographer, this camera is the cat's meow.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for XA10
Nickname: Steve K
Location: Pennsylvania
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Focus issues

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2012
Pros: a lot of features, compact size
Cons: problems focusing, face detction focus doesn't work, servicing item didn't fix problem
I purchased this product back in November of 2011 and everything seemed fine and I was happy with it. A couple of months ago when editing a video I noticed that some weird focusing issues were occurring. I then sent the unit back for service and the focus issue still exists.
I haven't seen anyone else explain that they have a focus issue but mine is very evident.
Maybe I got a bad unit?
I used to really love Canon products, this will make me think twice about future purchases.
Very frustrated that I spent the money on this only to be worried that it will shoot out of focus video when using it at events.
15 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for XA10
Nickname: RL
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

firmware

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2012
Pros: great picture, great size and weight
Cons: no auto level on xlr inputs, custom button hard to get to, very low headphone volume
This great little camera need a firmware update. My biggest issue is that there is NO AUTO level when using the XLR inputs. Only the internal mics have auto level options. Also the output volume of the headphone jack is way too low. In a fairly loud area , the headphones are useless. This is something I use on all my other cameras with success. The tiny CUSTOM button is almost impossible to access while shooting.
15 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for XA10
Nickname: MAC
Location: NW Indiana
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding quality at a fair price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
I needed a small camera that would give me professional results, both in terms of video and audio. This camera has delivered both. The XLR inputs really make this camera useful as a professional tool. The video quality is outstanding, the images it produces are stunning. The sacrifice I made in buying the XA-10 over the XF100 is that I gave up easy access to manual controls, but with the XA-10 you can still access them through the menu system. The AVCHD format is also a life saver for my purposes. The proprietary format of the files produced by the XF100 meant I couldn't directly import video from the XF100 into Final Cut Pro X. I would have to convert it first, then import it. With the XA-10's AVCHD format I can pull files directly into FCPX which is a huge time saver. The color reproduction is spot on and the AF system I would rate at 9 out of 10. This is one very well thought out camera and the build quality is very good. I'm very happy with the purchase.
78 of 79 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for XA10
Nickname: Fred
Location: San Antonio, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great HD Camcorder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2011
Pros: Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold
Cons: Short battery life, Poor sound/audio, xlr switch rattles
Great, great Camcorder! I have been using this for almost a month and love it! The image quality is superb! The XLR terminals do rattle a little, but I do a lot of my shooting w/ a tripod and this corrects the issue. Also the battery life on the small battery pack is not that long, so I strongly recommend buying the BP-827 battery pack.
The size / ergonomics are wonderful. You are basically getting a Pro Camcorder in a consumer size! The drawback to this is having many functions in the touch screen menu rather than physical buttons.
Finally, I did not like the manual, it is a bit confusing. Should contain better explanations and more examples.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for XA10
Nickname: Mr. Donohue
Location: Laurel, MD, USA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Good image, Bad design flaw

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Poor sound/audio, Flimsy Construction, xlr handle doubles as a baby rattle
I have purchased so far 4 of these and had to return all of them due to the fact that the XRL handle has faulty switches that rattle and make so much noise, you can't even take a step without the noise carrying over to the audio that's being recorded from the mic. The image is amazing, but serious design flaw on the XLR handle rendering the entire camera useless.
45 of 55 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for XA10
Nickname: Adam H.
Location: Ashland, MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camcorder for the price.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
I bought this camcorder a couple months ago. Originally i was going to go for the XF100 however, for $1000 more you get just about all the controls from than camcorder in the XA10. I'm glad i got this camcorder. I use it for all my video's and it is very reliable. It has all the manual controls you need and the touch screen is very easy to use.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for XA10
Nickname: Lilfurbal
Location: San Antonio, TX
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camcorder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2011
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold
Cons: xlr switches rattle, dynamic is causes weird effect
I've been using this camcorder for a few months now and have to say that I love it. Coming from the HF M30 camcorder, this is quite a jump. Picture quality is fantastic. Extremely clear, rich in color, with a very large dynamic range. Low light performance is superb. The fewer pixels in the sensor really did make a difference. Very low grain, bright colors, very sharp. Manual focus ring feels very smooth and responsive. The manual focus button makes it easy to transition to manual focus mode. The kelvin white balance mode is extremely valuable, along with the zebra and peaking modes. The entire camcorder feels very well made, with an exception. The XLR switches and controls on the handle, they are rather loose and tend to rattle around. Using the internal mic it can easily be picked up in recorders, however using an external mic tends to help in that regard so it is not a problem. Also dynamic IS seems to create a weird wobbling effect when used at full wide angle with certain movements. This can be avoided by only using standard IS, which works great. Other than that, great buy. I am very pleased. This camcorder is capable of some excellent things.
138 of 141 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site