Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA Pro Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA Pro Series or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for PIXMA PRO-1

PIXMA PRO-1

The PIXMA PRO-1 Professional Inkjet Printer is the quintessential tool for the professional photographer that gives you the ability to print the images you captured with your Canon EOS Digital SLR, exactly as you envisioned it.
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
8 out of 14(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA PRO-1
Review 1 for PIXMA PRO-1
Nickname: PixelProof
Location: Wisconsin
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love this printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint
First, like some other reviews stated, you have to calibrate everything and understand printer profiles to get ANY printer to print correctly. Nothing works "out of the box". And the comments about excessive ink usage, remember that the printer comes with starter ink. These are not full cartridges, plus the printer will suck up half of the cartridge on initial setup and priming of the lines. Once you get past the initial cartridges you will see that this printer performs better than the rest.
So with that said, I'm a photographer of 25 years and have used just about every possible ink jet photo printer since the very first ones. I was using the Pixma 9000 and thought that was great. This one blows it away. The prints I get are better than lab quality. My customers love them.
Yes, this printer is large and heavy. I didn't have the desk space so I bought a roller cart and just wheel it around when I need it. So it's stored in a corner of my office and wheels over to my desk when I print.
So in summary, all my other printers are in the printer graveyard in the garage since my purchasing of this one. It's worth the money and worth the time to get everything calibrated. You won't be disappointed.
20 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA PRO-1
Nickname: Jim
Location: GA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Not good on multi sumb net networks.

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2014
Cons: Difficult Setup
This unit is very difficult to set up on on a multi subnet network. Printer and Print Server must be on the same subnet. This limitation was not advertised in the sales information..
3 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA PRO-1
Nickname: diehardbrian
Location: Jacksonville, AR
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Being as honest as I can

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 25, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint
The PIXMA PRO-1 is heavy and covers half of my computer desk. The PIXMA PRO-1 so far has eaten the ink cartridges very quickly which is not cost effective. Now, I have to say that I have been printing on 13X19 high glossy paper, so that might have something to do with it. The reasons why I would not recommend this printer is because of the size and the speed of the use of ink. It is also slow at printing, but the clarity of the pictures are of a high quality. Set up was easy and changing the ink was also easy.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA PRO-1
Nickname: Me Too!
Location: Earth
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Professional Photo Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2014
Pros: quiet, great photo quality, built to last, beautiful to look at
Black and white images printed out of this beast is simply astonishing.
Be aware! You must have an understanding of "Color Management" and "Printer Profiling" and "Monitor Calibration" to get this or any other "Photo Printer" to produce beautiful images.
Once you have these factors setup, what you get out of this printer will blow you away! Well, it blew me away!!!
I use Adobe photoshop and lightroom with this printer. Using Photoshop to manage printer settings, the printer produces beautifully printed images when settings are right.
If setting are wrong, you will be disappointed in quality. Maybe that is why some people have given this printer low ratings... I Said MAYBE! So, don't hold me to my statement!!!
I have an imac with mavericks os installed, and used canon Pro Luster finish, and selected that paper "Canon Pro Luster" printer profile in photoshop and stated that photoshop should handle printer profile, and it produced very close to monitor output.
I'm ver satisfied with this product.
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA PRO-1
Nickname: George
Location: Santa Fe,NM
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Worst Printer Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2014
I spend much of my time trying to get this thing to work and print as advertised. Very disappointing.
2 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA PRO-1
Nickname: miahman
Location: CT, USA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Product replacement: No

Useless paperweight

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2014
Pros: durable
Cons: Difficult to use, Large Footprint, Low Quality Output, unreliable, product simply doesn't work, loss of time and money trying to troubleshoot prob
This is in reference to the PIXMA Pro 1. I cannot believe how useless this printer is. When I say useless I do mean unable to use. I was unable to get quality prints from this when it was working but now that I can't even get it to update to the latest firmware and drivers my computer wont even recognize it. This printer just sits there taunting me, reminding me how much I spent for this heap. I had high hopes for this printer but those have all since been squashed. There is next to no useful information online about the PIXMA Pro 1 and this includes the manufacturers own website. This product has been such a waste of time and money I actually spent time writing a review about it.
16 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA PRO-1
Nickname: Ron
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos

Unhappy customer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2013
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable, Flimsy Construction, excessive ink usage, ink disappears with no use.
I could not, in good conscience, recommend this printer.
Ink use is excessive and reliability is questionable and the cost per print is outrageous.
25 of 41 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA PRO-1
Nickname: EGGY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

GREAT PRINT

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed
THE PRINTER IS EVERYTHING THAT THEY SAID IT WAS. THE PICTURES THAT I HAVE PRINTED ARE BEAUTIFUL. GREAT FOR THE HOBBIST
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA PRO-1
Nickname: marcopollo
Location: Northern California
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Happy 9500 MarkII Upgrade

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2013
Pros: reliable, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint
Upgraded from the 9500 Mark II even though I loved that printer, too. The Pro1 is even better. Great images and nice large cartridges (although pricey). But worth it so that I don't have to change them as often and the price/ml is less. Even with the first cartridges draining faster, they still lasted a while. And they go for quite a while even after getting a warning from My Printer that they are running low. Never had one go out in the middle of a printing, so they must have a sensor or something.
Images are outstanding and discovered my new favorite paper (Canson Platine). Paper handling is nicer than the 9500 for large sheets (no more front feeding).
No complaints. Footprint isn't an issue as I have space for the beast. Takes a while to get primed sometimes, but most times I'm not in a hurry...it is worth the wait!
26 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA PRO-1
Nickname: Printer Pro
Location: Va
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excelent Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint
As a former owner of a 9500 I researched other printers but went back with the Canon because if you send canon your own picture they will send you back a print to view while other companies will send you a print of their choice not yours.
If you are looking for a simple printer to print the occasional photo then save your money and buy a cheaper version but if you are looking for a printer that produces professional results the Pro 1 is a great printer. As with any photo printer you need to be familiar with using ICC profiles and driver settings to obtain the best results when printing. The included profiles are great and when compared to other prints are superior but if you have the capability to create your own profile then the Pro 1 just keeps getting better matching skin tones flawlessly. Once profiled the Pro 1 prints consistent colors across all of the print media that I have tried while the stock profiles seem to perform better with canon papers.
Pigment based ink printers are designed to be used frequently and I imagine that the Pro 1 is no different so again if you plan to use it occasionally a cheaper printer may be better suited and even the dye based inks will dry in the printer head if not used for a long period.
A lot of negative reviews about ink usage but I cannot see that the Pro one is using any more ink than other printer models of this caliber. If you are familiar with print driver settings and profiles then the ink usage is kept within reason but the wrong driver not matching the paper can cause some additional ink being used but like stated ink usage is no more than other printers in this class. I have noticed that my print cost has gone up .01 on a 4x6 and .03 on an 8x10 but the cost is minimal compared to the quality that you get.
When getting into printers of this quality they get large in size and this one is no exception with it being substantially larger than my old 9500 so make sure you read the specifications to verify you have adequate space for this printer.
I would highly recommend this printer and as of now I am pleased with the Pro 1, if you are an experienced user I would not hesitate to purchase one, if you are new to printing then start reading up on software, driver settings and ICC profiles and purchase the Pro1.
78 of 79 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA PRO-1
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2012
Pros: High Quality Output
I've printed a few hundred 4"x'6" and think the quality is great. Re: Ink usage. The set up instructions say to expect that the first cartridges are going to go fast because it takes a lot of ink to prime the system. That's been true. Otherwise, I haven't noticed excessive ink usage and do appreciate that the cartridges hold a lot of ink and I'm not swapping them all the time. The print speed is not as fast as my old I9900 but that's not so important to me. It's big and heavy so you need some room to spread out in.
15 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA PRO-1
Nickname: Joseph
Location: San Jose, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Poor Quality, High Ink Usage

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2012
Pros: easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint, Flimsy Construction
The printer came new with scratches, small cracks in the case - this was not from shipping, but the way it was built and shipped like that. The printer uses a lot of ink. I already replaced most of the inks once, and the inks are getting low again. I print a few sheets a week. This printer will cost you more in ink and paper supplies per month than the most expensive iPhone plan. The printer wants to cycle its head after a dozen prints, which uses up a lot of ink. Think twice before buying - this printer is very heavy, too. I would not buy this printer again.
57 of 88 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA PRO-1
Nickname: Ridgewood Ru
Location: Ridgewood, NJ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Stunning prints exception

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 3, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint, expensive ink cartidges
The quality of the prints is excellent. Just superb. As good as anything one gets from a professional printing house. Now for the bad news: One, the printer is half the size of my first car, the VW Beetle, and Two the price of the ink cartridges is out of sight. To replace all twelve cartridges is almost half the price of the printer.
27 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA PRO-1
Nickname: Tomcat
Location: Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

High Quality Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2012
Pros: quiet, high quality, great images, disk printing is great!, very quiet
Cons: ink usage is very high!!!!!!, heavy
This is a tremendous printer, and printing results are astounding! I am disappointed with the ink usage that seems to be inordinately high with this printer. There must be a problem here, or else I'm doing something wrong, but after very little printing, I am already having to replace all of my ink cartridges. This isn't good and I hope this problem can be resolved.
106 of 110 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site