Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA Corporate & Graphics Art Printers Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA Corporate & Graphics Art Printers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA iX6520

PIXMA iX6520

For those who seek a single function printing solution up to 13" x 19," the PIXMA iX6520 Inkjet Business Printer will seamlessly become a member of your office team.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
23 out of 30(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA iX6520
Review 1 for PIXMA iX6520
Nickname: tina
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Having problems with uneven white border

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint, unreliable
The printer worked great for about a year, but now I keep getting a small white border at the right and bottom of photos I print. I use this printer almost exclusively for photo printing and this misalignment makes it so I have to crop my photos down. I've tried cleaning the printer rollers and align the print head to no avail. I'm not sure why this problem suddenly arose, and I cannot find a solution….
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA iX6520
Nickname: Anna
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Good overall

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: needs to be plugged in to the computer, no scanner
I'm a graphic design student and wanted an all-purpose printer to use during school. My main concern was when printing images I needed quality and color-matching, and this printer is great. I also love the ability to print on various page sizes, but for the price it would be amazing to have a scanner or Wi-Fi capabilities for sending print jobs. Be sure you do not want those extra features.. otherwise it is a great buy for students and casual use/photo printing.
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA iX6520
Nickname: indigo_dog
Location: Boston, MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Limited paper compatibility

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use, quiet
Cons: unreliable, narrow range of paper compatibility, seems fragile
1. This printer absolutely will not make a decent print on anything except photo paper. Of course I'm a graphic designer so decent means something different to me than to an average user. It makes beautiful graphic prints on photo paper, so my portfolio looks fabulous but I cannot print on any kind of cardstock; it absolutely will not print well. So my Christmas cards look bad.
2. Also, it refuses to print envelopes; they always feed crooked. I have to print about ten to get just one to look decent.
3. I have had instances where the color will suddenly print wrong. I was printing a portfolio the night before a job interview and it suddenly refused to print high quality, and everything was purple. Thankfully I had a backup, but it's unreliable.
4. The print head will also skip around if there is a misfeed and you risk it coming off track and needing service.
5. Uses A LOT of ink.
6. The print driver will not allow you to add custom print sizes in some programs, including Adobe InDesign.
In all, the print quality is excellent if you only need simple paper prints. If you are a designer and need more options, look elsewhere.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA iX6520
Nickname: PhotoMarketingUSA
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Broke

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use, low ink usage
Cons: unreliable, case shows finger prints and smudges
Well, to start with I found this printer on-line to replace a 6 yr old Canon iP6700 photo printer that died due to a surge. The iX worked for 8 days then quite connecting with the computer. The USB port on the printer is defective. Otherwise, it's a really nice printer when it first arrived.
2 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA iX6520
Nickname: zeek
Location: USA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Eye piercing blue LED

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2013
The eye piercing blue LED is a big distraction. They should've done red or green for a power on indicator.
1 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA iX6520
Nickname: cinema retro
Location: NJ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Unit But an Ink Hog

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: uses ink up fast
I wanted a no frills basic printer, as I print a lot of photos. This one is very good. Prints fast with excellent results, though I have not had need to try printing in oversized formats as of yet. The one complaint is that this is an ink hog. The canisters are very small and thus run out very quickly. The expense adds up very quickly. I've had to do basic printing in B&W from an old Canon unit and it still feels like this one sops up the ink incredibly fast. If you only print sporadically it will be fine. Just be aware of the ink expense.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA iX6520
Nickname: Zuni
Location: NW AK
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Favorite ever printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Gorgeous to look at, easy to set up. Fast, quite printing, and not that bad on ink. Fits perfectly on the Costco wire chrome computer desk, under keyboard, on first shelf, with the backup battery. Easy access to ink replacement. Done huge amount of prints. Amazed at the software printing options very easy to figure out. Couldn't be more pleased. No known "con" found.
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA iX6520
Nickname: hyundai guy
Location: Oak Park Il
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

What a disappointment

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2013
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: unreliable
I ordered this on line from a shop that carried this . I received it on December the 6th . Printed up 20 of the 11x14 photos. They looked awesome . Today January the 1st I went to print up some smaller ones and the printer keeps flashing the blue and orange lights with ink running low. It will not center so that I can change them i had to physically move the head in the center to change all of the inks . Now they wont light up to show they are installed . I have unplugged and reinstalled the printer head and inks but no go . They unit appears to be defective in less then a month and only printed 20 photos . What a huge disappointment.
30 of 37 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA iX6520
Nickname: Ralph
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great printer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
I've owned my ix6520 for 3 months now. I wanted to give it some time to use it before my review, which is of course, my opinion of this printer. I cannot find ANY fault with this printer WHATSOEVER. It is a fantastic printer for the price. This is an especially great printer for someone who desires to print an enlargement as a 13x19 photo as long as their camera is of a decent megapixel rating, and not printing enlargements often enough to warrant an expensive photo printer.
24 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA iX6520
Nickname: Vasu
Location: Washington
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Stopped printing black after 6 months

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2012
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Large Footprint
At first I was very happy with this printer. The print size of up to 13" x 19" was a great feature. It printed fast with vibrant colors. As I print a large amount of color photographs, I thought that this was finally the printer that I was looking for. Unfortunately, after 6 months it stopped printing with the black dye ink. No amount of cleaning would fix the problem. I am on the hunt again for a good printer.
26 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA iX6520
Nickname: Stach
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Terrific Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: a bit noisy
This is my fourth Canon printer. I also have an iP4000 and love them both. I use them to print my clubs small newsletter and am currently working on an album of my grandsons Bar Mitzvah. What I particularly like about the IX6520, is that I don't have to do much correcting of my digital photos. A bit of sharpening and then print. Very few reprints. Beautiful prints first shot. Saves time and money. THANK YOU CANON.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA iX6520
Nickname: lichen
Location: san francisco
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Pretty Good Printer

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2012
Pros: fast print speed, easy to use
This pretty good printer has a major plus: it accepts 11x17 paper. It is also pretty fast, both in lettter sized paper and the larger size. With only Magenta, yellow and cyan tanks (plus black) it is pretty good at printing pictures, especially when printing with text. The price is right for the printer; however the price of the cartridges is steep. Three refills equals the cost of the printer.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA iX6520
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Abq., NM
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great prints for an outstanding price.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2012
Pros: Easy Setup, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Like I said in the title: Great prints (output) and for a great price. I use one at home, and one at work (engineering/manufacturing firm - for semi-conductor industry) for production floor. Small footprint, fits on my desk (cube desk). Can't beat it.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA iX6520
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: washington, dc
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

new canon printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2012
Pros: Easy Setup, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Large Footprint
Minimal use since getting it but so far so good. Some quirks in getting it to print on occasion, plus unclear why/when it automatically shuts down followng use. Hope to use it more for photo printing, esp. interested in larger format photos, but have been trying to get the hang of it first.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA iX6520
Nickname: Doughdh
Location: Champaign, Illinois
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office

Simple and inexpensive

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Great, simple printer - no frills. I needed 11x17 printer for architectural design printouts and this fits the bill perfectly. Works fine with 8.5x11 as well. Quiet, fast, quick startup, easy to install. Photo printing is above average. If you print 11x17 size, you will need 30 inches of depth on the table with all the paper extensions pulled out. No problems so far after using for about 4 months. Highly recommend.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA iX6520
Nickname: Denny
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Really First Class!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use, two sided printing, looks great
This is my first Canon printer, and I am really impressed. Excellent performance, great capabilities for the price, good speed, crisp printing with outstanding color. I am particularly impressed with two sided printing capability -- works like a charm and really saves on paper. I would recommend this printer without any reservations.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA iX6520
Nickname: oshaal
Location: Fairfield,CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

My BJC 5100 finally gets retired

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint, much bigger than my 5100
This unit was purchased to replace my BJC 5100 that I've been using for over 20 years to print large scale patterns for cutting scrollsaw fretwork. To say it does the job is an understatement. Another example of why Canon printers are the only printer I'll use.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA iX6520
Nickname: Chief
Location: Southern California
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Love the printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
I have had this printer for a few months. I got fed up with one of the other brands for consistent paper jamming. This printer has not had a single problem from the first page. it is easy to operate, easy to change cartridges, and to feed paper. I'm even happy with how long the print cartridges seem to last. The photo printing is as good or better than any previous printers I've owned. Overall I am glad to give it a thumbs up and recommend it to anyone. Great product for the price.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA iX6520
Nickname: lrjff
Location: Van Nuys , CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Really really great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
I was planing to get a ip9000 mark ii printer for photography, but I found this printer at a local retailer and decided to give it a chance. I was really surprised with the print quality. I've tried canvas, cotton rag paper, luster photo paper, etc. all with beautiful and sharp (really sharp) results.
My only concern is that it seems that it uses the color inks to print in greyscale and I can't find an option to make it use the black ink only. Either way, It can make some really beautiful B&W prints.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA iX6520
Nickname: TypeGuy
Location: Eastern Oregon
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer! (one reservation)

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2012
I've been using my iX6520 for about a month now (I purchased it to replace my aging iP3000 and expand -- literally -- my printing capabilities). The printer is gorgeous (I know, beauty is in the eye of the beholder) and seems very well made (heavy-duty plastic used throughout compared to the iP3000s of which I've owned a number). The printer is fast, paper handling seems great, and the quality for text, graphics, and photos it excellent. Very well done, Canon!
Now for my complaint: This is a large-format printer, so can be expected to use quite a bit of ink. Unfortunately, the cartridges are small. I know Canon has to make their money somewhere, but the discrepancy in this printer is obvious and (to me) disturbing. Some heavier-duty desktop inkjets have high-capacity, remotely located ink tanks feeding ink to the print heads via tubing and that is exactly what a printer of this size should employ. I really wish Canon (and all inkjet manufacturers) would do the right thing and make their built-in inking systems economical and appropriate to the task at hand.
61 of 62 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site